If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I think the real question is where did Beasty acquire this gaff which can hold half of Leitrim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,359 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Yeh which is where the Red Cross come into it surely ? To make sure those in Beastys house are capable and able

All these vacant houses are the same and the RC will need to sort it out not Beasty . Beasty offered shelter the rest is not his problem to be fair . Seriously you need to stop seeing problems in everything anyone does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Problems already? You should get on to Minister McEntee and everybody else up in the clown factory because they see no problems arising from their ridiculous problematic virtue signaling plan whatsoever

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Problem is the Red Cross doesn’t have the people power. They are only too well aware of the problems on the ground. It’s not simply a case of sending x number of people to Beastys or iamwhoiam’s houses and leaving them to sink or swim. Putting large groups of traumatised strangers into a property without support is a recipe for disaster.

And putting them bundled into a large sports hall isnt ?

It’s not ideal, but they have support there and it’s (hopefully) for a relatively short period of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭airy fairy

You're telling me that out of 30k refugees landed here, not one family has extended family.

And tbh, they'd want to cop on pretty smartish if they're not getting on with each other if they have to live in a communial setting, because we ain't got much more, you're making them sound like very demanding rather than needy, even picking and choosing to their liking rather than take what's on offer.

The fact that the Red Cross are happy to place people into HOMES with Irish people, but not house Ukrainians together doesn't sound great does it?

How can it be short term if the pledged homes are not good enough . You are talking in circles now

But maybe I am wronging you . So what is your solution to sort all this out ? We cant built 20 k houses tomorrow so how do you see this working out ?

Though in all fairness I very much doubt that the refugees are half as fussy as you are about housing .

I bet if Beasty opened his house tomorrow he would have a queue forming for it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

PhDs in Science are not sitting exams. It is about publishing papers. Published papers will have a certain "impact factor" depending on the reputation of the journal and a number of citations. So there is a huge difference between different PhD holders. Some just don't know what to do with themselves and stay in college. Some are highly skilled and making great contributions to their area.

Actually, considering the help that they need (which you've mentioned), bundling them into a large sports centre might be the best option, because it allows the community of Ukrainians to help, but also, and perhaps more importantly, it's putting them within reach of health/therapy professionals.

It makes more logical sense to have the professional go to a place where they're congregated, as opposed to travelling all over the area to meet them (or them travelling to find the professionals). Ukrainians who are isolated in someone's home, are likely less well off than being in a sports centre surrounded by others who speak their language, and appreciate fully what they've gone through.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Just on the size issue. When I pledged this place I indicated it would suit an extended family or group of friends. You could imagine a couple of grandparents, 3 or 4 daughters and 7 or 8 kids - it would be ideal and still have capacity for more, be that other friends/family or some of the menfolk still in Ukraine

I also realise it may not be put to its best use if it had 3 or 4 families who do not know each other. They may get on or they may not.

This is what I said when making the pledge:

"Please note this could accommodate one very large extended family or indeed 3 or 4 families - 4 double beds but bunks can be put in other 3 and extra beds in double rooms. 1 reception room could be made into bedroom. One room is a very large kitchen/dining/sitting room. Also 2 extra rooms above garage can be used as playrooms. Could house 15+ people particularly families with younger children. Approx 1km walk to [local town]. This will be ideal for families with English speakers who can support each other, and perhaps still leave some room for men who cannot travel at present to join up at a later date. I think such families would also receive a lot of support from local communities [snip]

The point I keep re-iterating is the complete lack of any communication. Even if they were to say we think it's better if we hold this back for the right family/group

I don't want to go independent. I want this to be put to best use. The problem with the lack of communication is I have no idea if they have given any thought to this, which is likely to be one of the biggest private property pledges they are likely to have received.

When I first spoke to the Irish Refugee Council they were talking about something being available for at least 3 months. That was 2 and a half months ago! I've said to the Red Cross it's available for at least a year. The point being that gives the Irish government time to work out how it can handle this situation. It may well be we extend it to 2 or 3 years. Obviously there are major factors that are completely out of our control at play here. It may end up being long term accommodation, but equally at some time it does need to be sold as it's a large part of what will fund my pension.

Whereas many papers are peer reviewed, and the community generates the credibility of the ideas contained with. Oh, I'm well aware of what goes on with the PHD crowd. There's layers of corruption, bias, agendas, etc within various different disciplines. I'm not saying it's universal, but it's often there nonetheless. I've sat with many professors who talked about getting their PHDs but more importantly, their publications so that they could get/maintain their university positions.. and I wasn't impressed. It's a knitting circle, in many ways.

And yes, some are making great contributions.. After all, it's where a lot of research is done, but not all research should be done. There's a lot of justifying their own positions and being seen to be busy. However, I would agree that there is a lot of good done too. It's just not as clear cut as people want to make it out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,565 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

One big side affect is the gigantic costs of hotel rooms now.

It will be interesting to see how this affects our tourist reputation.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

It may well be a similar situation across a number of EU countries - visiting the North may not be such an issue though!

The biggest issues facing the tourist industry is not occupancy levels which are sill not back to pre pandemic levels, it's the cost of energy, food and chronic staffing shortages.

The costs of hotel rooms were "gigantic" especially in Dublin long before that dickhéad Putin fired any missiles into Ukraine.

They've rocketed up again to ridiculous prices even for midweek.

Many of the large Dublin hotels have been taken over for refugees like the Red Cow.

We are at about 80% pre pandemic levels of occupancy, roughly 5% of hotel rooms nationally are being used by Ukrainians.

Even the industry are saying that it won't have that much of an effect unless the numbers drastically increase at Peak summer.

The gouge now has little to do with refugees, but they will be used as an excuse to gauge more in the coming months.

Also it's not like these hotels are not getting reimbursed for their services, it's still a challenging market.

Post edited by Boggles on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Easy money for those with the ear of the govt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Soviet expansionism in 2022 was never going to be consequence free.

Also expensive for us as the euro is so weak. Would expect more inflation in the tourism sector is EUR USD goes to parity

Where are you getting those occupancy figures? I suspect they'll need updating.

Most hotels in Dublin are packed at the weekends now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

They maybe packed at weekends and in Dublin but they are certainly not Monday through Friday and occupancy levels generally in Hotels outside Dublin are very low. Notwithstanding poor occupancy levels , other services are suffering, Bars, Restaurants, Leisure facilities etc.

On top of this, Costs have sky rocketed, Labour shortages still an issue and now Government extending the 9% VAT rate. The airwaves filled this morning with Hospitality business owners struggling.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Thought the vat rate for hospitality had gone up already. Hate to see the food prices and room prices for hotels if it was back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,200 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

No, Vat remained at 9% for hospitality sector and now extended, but yes that didn't stop prices increasing substantially and they'll continue rising .

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Hi all

Thank you for pledging accommodation for Ukranian Refugees.  As part of the process, all those who have agreed to take anyone aged under 18 with a parent have to be Garda Vetted.  The first step in this process is to verify your identification. To this end, a Zoom meeting will take place on Thursday May 12th at 8.20pm (link below) All members of your household aged 16 or over need to attend and have ID with them.  Each ID document is worth a different number of points and you need to get 100 points or more for the verification to be valid.  The best documents are two of, passport, driving licence, public services card.  However lots of other documents are also acceptable though attract lower points, work ID, bank cards, club ID, student cards etc.  For those under 18, a passport or birth cert will give them the required 100 points.

I appreciate this is short notice and you, or some of the members of your household may not be available at this time.  If not, just let me know and we can make alternative arrangements. You are receiving this email because we understand you are offering shared accommodation in your home that you live in and are willing to take child(ren) under 18 with a parent.  If this is not correct, you do not need to be Garda Vetted.  Please let us know if this is the case and we will update the lists.

The Zoom link is below. If you are not in position to join a Zoom link, please let me know and we can make alternative arrangements including arranging for a local volunteer to meet you face to face.  You may have received an email alerting you that this email would be on its' way and giving you your pledge ID number, or it may follow this email. If so please make sure to have your Pledge ID to hand for the Zoom meeting as it will facilitate moving the process along. (If you did not receive the email with your pledge ID, don't worry, we have a list of them.)  When you join the zoom meeting, you are assigned to a breakout room with an individual ID verifier who will go through the process with you, you will only be asked to show your ID to them. There is no group element to the meeting.

Kind Regards

So 2 months after pledging rooms for refugees we get the above email. We need to pass a points system for identification no less. I'm shocked with the nonsense involved in taking in refugees. My daughter & other family members are in childminding & they don't have to jump through so many hoops for basic Garda vetting. Obviously the government taking advantage of the crises & created yet another QUANGO. To say we are disheartened would be an understatement ☹️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Glenomra

That's bordering on daftness. You are a very determined person if you see this process out to the end. I certainly didn't have the stamina to do so.

We officially gave up on the Red Cross last night. We are doing what we should have done 2 months ago. We are sourcing a family through one of the Facebook groups and bypassing the Red Cross nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭airy fairy

They're not making it easy for you, are they? It's like having to prove your self worth after being so generous with your offer. What would be so wrong with Garda vetting and a house check?

Rather than offering a space in your home, it's being turned on its head as if it's a foster or adoption situation.

I'm sure lots won't be bothered with that rigmarole.