If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Nope, Putin's weaponization of refugees relies on a chaotic out pouring of millions of people into Europe and the EU with the various countries fighting amongst themselves threatening to close borders and sticking them in massive camps with little reliance on care, etc, etc.

The first thing the EU was pass a directive to give them similar temporary rights of all EU citizens, Denmark passed separate laws and directives likewise as did every other country who pledged to take in refugees.

It was a massive fúck you to Russia and Putin. It still doesn't stop his bot farms spreading malicious information about refugees, they will take all our houses, health care, jobs, they are all skin head gang members, corrupt welfare tourists who will bleed the place dry, etc. Unfortunately the same dribblers will see it pop up on their feed and spread it like wild fire.

But again I am surprised you are struggling with the concept, it the opinion of the EU High Commission and NATO. So you don't have to rely on what people are saying here, but if you are refuting it, you'll have to give reasons why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Something, something, think of all the Ukrainian food restaurants we'll get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Rubbish. The Ukraine conflict is a proxy war between US/NATO and weirdly the EU vs Russia. The refugees are collateral of that proxy war and we are suckers to absorb those costs without some serious quid pro quo from US/NATO.

Well no, not really the thread for it, but the war is essentially to prevent Soviet Expansionism and ultimately weakening of Europe's overall security and every other negative that would come with that.

That's your quid pro quo, you can thank the bravery and unmeasurable sacrifice of the Ukrainians for that. 👍️

Or you can píss and moan all day about refugees and do the Russian bots jobs them, either way it's up to you.

Maybe you've been following a different war than I as the evidence shows that Russia is a paper tiger and outside it's nuclear arsenal, poses no actual threat to Europe. Why would they? They need people to sell their oil and gas to.

Yeah, we definitely have been following different wars. They just invaded one of the largest countries in Europe but for some reason they are no threat to Europe.

I think we will leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭pancratic

Look at this :p

Yeah, 17 year old, you've "squandered your head start" in being able to afford accommodation for University.

Yeah, 67 year old, you've "squandered your head start" in having to wait inordinately for necessary healthcare.

Yeah, 29 year old, you've "squandered your head start" in being unable to find appropriate employment due to housing costs.

Yeah, 30's couple, you've "squandered your head start" in finding available school places for children.

Yeah.

As Michael Martin said in the last 24 hours, the single biggest factor in the housing crisis has been the population increase. Oh well, that's that so. More the merrier.

Just don't forget, it's YOUR FAULT, Irish men and women, for "squandering your head start" against the waves of migration screwing the country. Your fault :p

They've invaded one of the poorest countries in Europe and how's that working out for them?? I think we'll leave it there.

Well no, they invaded one of the best countries in Europe militarily.

But by most western security analysis they now have their potential eyes on Moldova.

Either way the idea that they are no threat to Europe is absolute batshít.

The invaded their former partner for the last couple centuries. There has never been an independent nation state called Ukraine until 1991.

Absolutely bad of Russia, but the 2 are long intertwined and this conflict between Ukrainian nationalists and ethnic Russians in the east has similarities to the Balkans wars. Zelensky should be nudged toward acceptance of a non-aligned, Federal Ukraine with autonomous regions in the east, if it's not too late for that.

Accepting all Putin & Zelensky's refugees is going to prolong the conflict and risks escalation as other global powers like the US and UK use it as a proxy war.

Rand Paul that you? Lol. That's okay then.

There is only one thing prolonging the war and it's certainly not helping refugees, it's Putins aggression and his misjudged effort to bring the old Soviet Union back together before his head exploded from botox, they found the way in, they can find their way out.

Now they can do that, our they can spend the next 10 years being decimated military and economically and becoming eventually a vassal state of China.

Either way at this moment in time I don't see further Ukrainian partition as the more logical path.

Nobody said 'that's okay then'.

What i posted is called context. It matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Nearly every view you hold about Russia and Putin seems to come from your superior power of mind reading. Whatever about holding these views as theories, you seem to hold them all as facts, which they aren't. It takes a high level of hubris to be so sure about things you can't be sure of.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

pancratic threadbanned

Jaysus all you seem to do is past judgement on other posters whilst offering nothing to the actual topic of debate. It's weird.

I fundamentally disagree with Blue Planets opinions but at least he is attempting to debate the points.

Anyway there is an ignore button there for you. Fill your boots.

What you did was give a small one sided history lesson.

The context is a sovereign European country was invaded by a lunatic who wants to get the old Soviet Union back together before he písses off.

We could forgive or "context" every country in Europe invading every other country if you want to get into historical "ownership".

Ukraine was the poorest nation in Europe, with the worst economy. It certainly didn't have the best military in Europe... Corruption at the State level ensured that their military was ill-equipped to deal with Russian aggression..

Russia is of threat only in the short term, and realistically that threat only extends to the border states of Europe itself. Eastern Europe. Russia doesn't have the logistical capacity to extend military operations, in the manner that would be required to directly threaten Central/Western Europe, and the Ukrainian conflict has shown just how vulnerable armoured units are to infantry groups. Of which Europe has plenty, in addition to having a wide range of air assets fully capable of taking on the Russian forces, which Ukraine didn't.

You're exaggerating the threat of Russia to any nation with a half-decent economy. Eastern Europe could easily slow down any military advance long enough for Western Europe to equip and train a counter force capable of halting, and taking the fight to Russian territory. Russia is incredibly vulnerable on the world stage... the limited aspect of the Ukrainian conflict should be taken into account.

But it's irrelevant anyway. The Ukrainian conflict is chewing up Russian military forces, and causing them to lose far more equipment than expected, equipment that the Russian economy or industrial base is ill-equipped to replace. They're far too reliant on foreign sources of high-tech components, and the sanctions prevent importation of such, which prevents any rapid production of replacements.

TBH at this stage, it would be great if Russia invaded Moldovia, because then NATO would have their hands free, after months of being able to prepare. Russia would be destroyed very quickly against the combined forces of NATO and the US.. and their already struggling economy would shatter from the logistical bombing that NATO forces could commit. It would end Russia.

The invaded their former partner for the last couple centuries. There has never been an independent nation state called Ukraine until 1991.

And I'd never heard of Ukraine being described as being part of Europe, until this conflict occurred. Certainly not with any serious relationship between culture, values or whatever. Maybe a geographical reference, but now.. suddenly.. Ukraine is as European as Italy. I always find that interesting when I look at these discussions.,. how quickly the perspectives shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,505 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

This x10000…

the country and its Irish citizens are screwed…. And they / we are not to blame.

nobody truly appreciates yet how absolutely Donald ducked we are

Ukraine was the poorest nation in Europe, with the worst economy. It certainly didn't have the best military in Europe

I didn't say that though did I?

Also it's not my opinion. Obviously I can direct you to some sort of rating system that indexes military strength, etc. Or I can just point you to what happened the past 3 odd months.

Also North Korea are one of the poorest countries in the world, wouldn't like to invade them though.

TBH at this stage, it would be great if Russia invaded Moldovia, because then NATO would have their hands free, after months of being able to prepare. Russia would be destroyed very quickly against the combined forces of NATO and the US.. and their already struggling economy would shatter from the logistical bombing that NATO forces could commit. It would end Russia.

Moldova isn't in NATO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭Field east

I see the whole refugee thing backfiring on Putin. I see it cementing / strengthening relationships between likeminded/ friendly nations. For example Irish people will get to understand a bit / much more about Ukr and the Ukrainians, how resilient they are, their exports that are important to us, the hill the country has to climb to become more democratic having come from ‘ a communist way of life’ with its inbuilt corruption, etc, etc. getting to know some a Ukr. Personally. It will have created a lot of sympathy for Ukr for the foreseeable future and hopefully this will be shown through financial aid, more people going there for holidays, volunteers going there to help out, etc. Don’t know if Putin realised any of this?

SO they are a huge threat to Europe, but their intransigence with Ukraine, is going to decimate them within a decade and leave them a vassal state. That's some logic hahaha.

Yip.

There is a saying, how did go you bankrupt?

Very slowly at the start and then all of a sudden.

So this deadly threat to Europe will be bankrupt/destroyed militarily before it even gets past the first country on the way to Europe.

Good lad. Iron cast logic there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,076 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Wtf is it with these two bit politicians from Ireland off on their war tourism jollies (at your expense) to Ukraine for photo opps? Absolutely tone deaf weirdos.

What is some gombeen from Tipperary going to be able to do to help Ukraine in any tangible way?

https://twitter.com/garretahearn/status/1522477596277157888?s=21&t=Pu3ZGnUwwOxESHwEkMlUKg

I didn't say that though did I?

Um, I quoted you: "Well no, they invaded one of the best countries in Europe militarily.". Your words. Nothing was changed.

Also it's not my opinion. Obviously I can direct you to some sort of rating system that indexes military strength, etc. Or I can just point you to what happened the past 3 odd months.

Would this be the rating that places the UK at the top, followed closely by France?

As for what happened over the last 3 months, it shows just how old-fashioned the projections regarding military power were, but then, it was understandable. The majority of Russian losses have happened in or around Urban areas, which is not what most military projections consider. They tend to look at conventional armies meeting another conventional army.. Also there's been little appreciation for the effects on anti-tank or the advances in small unit weaponry over the last few decades.. Nations tend to look at the tanks, ships, fighters, bombers, when estimating military power. Old-fashioned I know.

Also North Korea are one of the poorest countries in the world, wouldn't like to invade them though.

Ahh yes, pick a nation that has been preparing to be invaded for 50 years.. and one that is one of the few ideologically driven populations remaining on the planet. What? You're going to pick Israel next? You're not comparing like with like.. but little surprise there TBH.

Moldova isn't in NATO.

It doesn't need to be. Any further conflict near Europe will result with NATO intervention. The stage has been prepared. Three months ago, Putin could have invaded them without much protest, but we live in a very different world now.

Going to leave this here though, before a mod smacks me for discussing what should be in the Russia thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,505 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

They did... however the wellbeing of citizens and taxpayers isn't their primary interest any longer or a priority..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

That post is only looking for a scapegoat to blame for any and every inadequacy or failing.

Yeah, 29 year old, you've "squandered your head start" in being unable to find appropriate employment due to housing costs.

I've never asked anyone in an interview about their ability to afford their housing or used it as a screening criteria.

If someone has lived here their whole life, and they can't afford to pay for X (granted it might be expensive), how on earth are you going to blame that on someone else coming in from a country where the average wage (according to some other post on here) is about 280 a week? That girl coming in here isn't going to be beating you in a bid for a house.

I think it's more that they've become focused on short-term band-aid temporary solutions rather than planning for the long-term, and seeking cost-effective answers. It's the way western politics (and the civil service) has gone over the last few decades. Like with the HSE, the changes are done to offset the problems rather than to solve the problems entirely. Rather than invest the monies needed to fix problems completely, chunks are invested over longer periods, to hold off disaster..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Well it's hardly number one on my own destination of luxury places I'd like to visit. No harm for politicians to go over and see the reality of these places on the ground and see real places and real people. I suppose the same way that people go to visit the likes of Auschwitz and still feel shocked by the experience as going there makes it more real.

The funny thing about the post is the big cheesy smiley head on him getting his photo taken and siding up to the dark haired girl. He probably wouldn't have seen too many like that in Tipp. Maybe he'll bring her home. Not quite Melania grade but I'd still sort her out with a green card if she wanted to come to the US.