If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

The ukranians will now become perma scroungers as our welfare is better than their working conditions thats the point they wont ever go back & their soldiers will be allowed to join them with desperate PTSD from the horrors. Then we will have some messed up dangerous folk here and no chance of seeing any physiologists or head shrinks as we are short of them for our own disturbed and bullied children .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Apparently Ukrainians get priority treatment over Irish people. Though that's probably just rumour mill right now. Let's see if a whistleblower surfaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

You are conflating income with living standards. Their cost of living would have been much less. Someone who was educated and earning average wage over there likely isn't going to be happy on the dole here.

Consider all the families here who had a comparatively decent standard of living here 30 years ago or more with only one income coming into the house.

Or apply it to yourself, if someone gave you $1000 a week for free but you had to live in Manhatten or SF, do you think you'd be happy out with that?

They also get "super dole" of a thousand quid a week, along with unlimited coke and hookers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

So just to confirm any country who starts a war in another country is responsible for a refugee crisis? Or you believe it's just its Putin personal plan everytime.

Is Blair and the Sarkozy responsible for the Libyan refugees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,959 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

As bad as Putin is he hasn't started every war in his life time.

Weird tangent.

You can't give an honest answer but apparently Putin is responsible for refugees. Take your head out of the sand.

The Ukrianinans are here because the EU and NGOs are bringing them. Not Vlad.

They do, I have seen it myself, just rock up to any A&E, tell them you are Ukrainian and you are instantly brought into the VIP lounge.

Keep that to yourself. 😉

If that is the narrative you are comfortable with, good for you. 👍️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

I hope Ireland is flooded with millions and millions of Ukranian refugees, then you whinging as*holes on here can carry on griping and throwing your arms up in shock horror even more.

Oh, and I also hope that if Ireland was ever to be invaded and a similar scenario to Ukraine happened here, and you were then a refugee in another country... that a fcuking big prick stabs your conscience, and you would be eternally grateful that there are some decent people in the world.

And before anyone starts bleating about the cost to the economy, not enough housing for our own, health system will collapse, we're paying them more than our own people, etc, etc, etc.... just remember, the Irish government made the decision, not people on Boards. So take it up with them.

I can't believe there's 77 pages of whining, whinging, soulless comments from posters on this thread. Humanity to your fellow man who has lost absolutely everything shouldn't have a price put on it. You'll still have your car, a roof over your head and food in your belly. But you'll still get on your soapboxes. Pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

If Ireland got invaded (LOL).

Why wouldn't we just throw our lot in with the invaders? They might do a better job of running the place afterall.

You obviously don’t have any idea of the cost of living (pre war) in Ukraine. Refugees are shocked at the cost of living here. It’s roughly twice as expensive here compared to Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭bertiebomber

Are you connected and well paid in an NGO organization or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭goldenmick

That was said tongue-in-cheek to put my point across, but I'm sure you know that.

And yes, I agree with you, the invaders likely would do a better job than the current lot who are a shambles.

I don’t think that the Irish would put up as much resistance as the Ukrainians!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭pancratic

I'm speaking to the larger point of population increases, of which the Ukrainian situation only adds.

Don't be purposefully ignorant, playing pretend. It's neither humourous or witty.

No. I never said that. But you are weighing up the balance of good in those circumstances. Do you refuse to help anyone in emergency need - even though you know that the majority are actually genuinely in need, just because you are afraid that some of them might take advantage?

Well, now we're on something I never said. I've never suggested not helping them.. in fact I've said many times on the thread that we should. However, I do believe we should be doing it with our eyes wide open... and not forgetting what Ukraine was like before the war.

And what I said is not weighing up the balance of good (whatever that means), but something directly related to what you posted.

They're not coming here to scam the welfare state. They are coming here because their home has been destroyed.

When you take them in in an emergency, you can keep track of them and make sure they are behaving and if they aren't then they can be put out as soon as possible.

Except the history of the Irish government in following through on deportations is abysmal. Look at the 30k ish illegal immigrants in this country, who Justice decided to legalise because they couldn't be bothered to find/deport them... most of whom are eligible for citizenship because their illegal stay in Ireland is counted towards the three years basic requirement.

Or maybe we shoudl do that for everything. For example, with the fire brigade. If there are people trapped on the top floors of a burning building, we'll tell the lads to hold off on tuning on the hoses just in case someone in the lower floor makes a false claim that their non-existent ipad was destroyed by water damage they cause

Leave off with the extremes. There's no suggestion of any extreme reaction in any of my posts, so don't throw that crap at me. Just as there's nothing emotional in my posts either.

Why don't we do it for every affected country in the world then that has a war?

Oh because the Ukrianinans are white I guess.

Let me guess you stand with Manchester ect. And your profile pic have a blue and yellow flag on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

make sure they are behaving and if they aren't then they can be put out as soon as possible. - Funniest claim on the thread yet!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I can't believe there's 77 pages of whining, whinging, soulless comments from posters on this thread. Humanity to your fellow man who has lost absolutely everything shouldn't have a price put on it. You'll still have your car, a roof over your head and food in your belly. But you'll still get on your soapboxes. Pathetic

Your whole post is riddled with the worst of spite, but this part is particularly egregious. Eventually thousands of people won't be able to afford to pay the costs of running a car, and people will end up homeless. It's beyond fantasy to think that people will just suffer a bit, instead of the reality that many will suffer greatly. Many in the upper and middle honestly seem to live in a fantasy land, a land where no one can reach the very bottom, but they can and they do, and their numbers will grow daily.

Once again too, we hear the preaches of "humanity, from people who don't seem to have any care for their own.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

Well if those foreigners who aren't native English speakers, and didn't have the advantages you had of growing up in Ireland, can come over and pass you out, then you are to blame for that, not them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭pancratic

It's all grand and well these supporters of more and more people coming into the country. Again, I'll point to this as a recent example..

There isn't a shadow of a doubt in my mind that these types of people are all in the "I'm fine, doesn't impact me, who cares about the price?" category.

It's an observed phenomena in nature that avian species have a limited ability to count. They can "count" to about 5 or so. If they lay 8 eggs in the nest, and a predator takes 3 eggs, the bird literally will not realise what has happened. Limited intelligence and forethought. Or it could be interpreted as "I have 5, who cares about anything else?"

Similarly, I'm sure that a lot of the bird people advocating for population increases have the guaranteed security of their "nest", and they couldn't care less about the cost because someone else, some nebulous "other" ( read, Irish people going into the future) will pay for their myopia.

It would be an interesting exercise if these people were presented up front with costs. That their "guaranteed" private pensions will be reduced by x amount per thousand extra people, that the social pension will be reduced by x amount per thousand. Starting now.

In other words, THEY pay for their flippant disregard of reality, not "some guy, later".

Oh but there'd be a change in tune :)

It's as clear as day that the numbers don't add up. The pensions scheme as stands will require up to 4 million extra people by 2050. Housing Situation is a dead man walking. Healthcare is diminishing. You name it.

And if these avian hominids think that they're going to get away with exceptionally stupid decisions to fleetingly please their sense of ego with no price attached, they're dead wrong. Exceptional begets exceptional.

Everything is going to be on the table. Expropriation, pension relinquishment, social welfare reductions, forced movement out of "empty nests". All the stuff they think is locked up airtight for them. It's coming, put money on it. And then we'll see who's who and how they dance very, very differently with the bills attached.

"Uhhh, that's different", indeed :p

That is beyond woeful, even for our ponderous glacial systems.

I imagine the bulk of the 6,000 which have "withdraw for reasons" are the ones housing the 10,000 odd that have managed to get accommodation.

I hope Ireland is flooded with millions and millions of Ukranian refugees, then you whinging as*holes on here can carry on griping and throwing your arms up in shock horror even more.

We don't need millions and millions of Ukrainians as an excuse for that. The current Irish policy towards mass immigration, refugees, and DP is plenty. You are aware of the population increases that a variety of Irish politicians have come out with? They're not going to happen by natural reproduction.

I would note that the actual concerns, sorry whinging, that people have pointed out... haven't been countered. I've yet to see any poster really address the costs involved in this generous but incredibly badly planned response. In spite of the waiting lists and problems with the HSE, I've also yet to see any solutions to the existing problems in Ireland.. by those so enthusiastic to host the Ukrainians here for a year. And I could go on... pointing out, sorry, whinging, about a wide range of serious issues that already affected Irish people before the conflict, which have not been addressed by posters like yourself.

Nah. It'll be grand. We've got problems, but we shouldn't talk about them. At all. Zip. Nadda. 30k new people who will be supported by the State, coming from a 2nd world nation, with dubious ability to integrate into our economy.. nah.. it'll be grand. And if another 30k or a 100k come in from a Russian new offensive in Ukraine? Well.. it'll be grand. Hush now.

And before anyone starts bleating about the cost to the economy, not enough housing for our own, health system will collapse, we're paying them more than our own people, etc, etc, etc.... just remember, the Irish government made the decision, not people on Boards. So take it up with them.

Why thank you for your moderation, although I would point out (nope, not whinging this time) that we all come to boards to discuss topics. However it's so nice that you've self-appointed yourself as the moderator of who should post on boards, on what topic, and better yet, from what approved (by you) perspective. Awesome.

I can't believe there's 77 pages of whining, whinging, soulless comments from posters on this thread.

Ah well, I can well believe that you read two pages of the thread and decided to grace us with your judgment over us all. Tends to happen with certain kinds of posters who don't want to actually engage in a discussion.

But you'll still get on your soapboxes. Pathetic.

You really should be careful of such statements... because that could easily be applied to your own post.

Let me guess you stand with Manchester

Harsh, last night was tough for them.

It's a completely false equivalence to be comparing people fleeing an actual war zone with someone arriving off a plane at Dublin airport, having somehow "lost" their documents on the walk between the plane and the immigration desk, and declaring themselves to be from somewhere where they neither look like the local population nor can speak the local languages while asking for "asylum".

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Sorry, but that deal remains solely for Site Administrators

Donald. Stop it.

I didn't compare Ukrainian refugees with illegal immigrants... and you know well that I didn't. (it would be difficult to confuse them considering the way the post is split up with quotes and responses)

If you don't want to have a mature/honest discussion with me, fine. Say so, and I'll stop quoting or directing any posts towards you.

But don't start this BS of deliberately misrepresenting posts or taking points out of context.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty