Sex-starved marriage

Its also not fair to say she should have told him way back when, that she was not interested in sex.

She, as well as he, probably thought that it would come more naturally to her in time, but it obviously didn't.

The OP has now clarified they only realised she was asexual in the last few years.

Not everyone has everything about themselves figured out at a young age.

The good thing is, they know now, and the OP is still young enough to find someone else if he does decide he needs to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

""Also saying she has body autonomy only goes so far, she entered into a relationship with somebody where intimacy is normal and natural, even expected.""

I wouldn't agree with that. Bodily autonomy is absolute, and marriage does not give one an entiltement to use the other's body for sex without freely given voluntary consent. If a wife, for whatever reason, does not want sex then she totally has that right to refuse to grant him consent. And the husband just has to accept that .

Like what you are saying is that there is an expectation or entiltment to sex in a marriage. So if bodily autonomy on goes so far then where do you draw the line? I know what you are saying is definitely not the pre 1990 situation where a husband legally rape the wife in a marriage and not be at all at risk of prosecution. But to suggest that there is an expetaction and that body autonomy is not absolute, well the attitude it certainly is a step in the wrong direction towards the pre-1990 days of legalise marital rape.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

Jaysus, I hope you picked that up wrong. I'm hoping, in the context of this thread, they are saying the OP isn't obliged to stay in a relationship just because of 'bodily autonomy' being a reason to stay, like illness. Bodily autonomy should 100% be respected, but so should the OPs ability to walk away.

I see. But the wife's bodily autonomy would have no bearing on the husbands right to stay in or leave the marriage. Just as she has bodily autonomy, he has the right and autonomy to either stay with her, or leave. The rights of both don't interefere with each other.

I don't think anyone has suggested he has to stay, or he doesn't have the right to walk away?

Of course he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 p19dew

The wife has mentioned I should find an absorbing hobby too but can it truly help? For me sex is a natural urge like hunger. Can I suppress my hunger by golfing?

Is visiting an escort technically legal here? Maybe it is a first step in discovering if an open marriage will work?

Buying sex is illegal in Ireland. If you were caught you'd be prosecuted. But it is unlikely you'd be caught.

Please don't do that anyway as you would be feeding the human sex trafficking criminal gangs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I do find her to be too much of a neat freak and puts her friends above me (she'll spend all day cleaning and preparing for a friend's visit but won't even make an effort to buy me a Valentine's Day gift). It just feels like we're good co-workers, not a romantic couple.

The fact I don't even want to spend my birthday with her says a lot too

your posts are very sad to read, tbh. You are clearly stuck in a loveless marriage and just desperately hoping that things will get better. My heart goes out to you but you need to make a decision here about your own happiness.

Something she reminds me about each time we have the talk is our marriage vow "for better or for worse". She compares her asexuality to getting a disease or having an accident. Would I leave her if she was terribly injured in a car crash and we could never have sex again? Things are the way they are and we have to work around it.

that’s not even remotely true. Accidents and illness are unfortunate things that happen. Sexual orientations aren’t the same, not at all, and she’s basically gaslighting you by saying the above.

If she truly loved you, she’d leave and set you free rather than forcing you to think this is your problem. Right now, she has her cake and is eating it too and you have nothing. Literally nothing by the sounds of it, not even a satisfying romantic relationship. It doesn’t even sound like you have a decent friendship.

Im sorry to say but this marriage is over, and has been since before it started, I’d reckon. Your only choice now is stay and be unhappy or leave and risk experiencing happiness and a fulfilling relationship. You sound like you’re somewhere between your mid 30s to early 40s. You’re probably not even halfway through life. Do you really want to be this miserable for another 40 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

For some reason, I thought divorce was an arduous process (from seeing someone go through it - but who knows what barriers were raised by either side ). I knew there was an alternative that could be brought by one side only, and so my brief search brought me to judicial separation.

I'm always sad for people who break up, and honestly feel that all possible efforts must be made to find solutions. I'm also conscious that we're in the Relationships forum, and try not to be blasé in my responses. But, occasionally speaking from the heart instead of the head has landed me in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭tjhook

Just to say, I disagree with some of the previous posts about expectations and bodily integrity. OP has every right to have expectations - expectations about the nature of the marriage, the level of physical intimacy, or anything else. OP's partner has the right to body integrity. These two rights are not necessarily in conflict. The OP cannot force her to act the way he wishes, but there's no indication that he has done so.

It's ok to have an expectation and to voice displeasure when that expectation isn't met. Just because something is a right doesn't mean everybody has to nod in approval at how you exercise that right. My right to bodily integrity means I can spend my whole weekend in bed watching Netflix if I want, rather than mowing the lawn. It doesn't mean my wife has to refrain from commenting!

OP, I agree with the majority of posters here who say your marriage is probably over. She doesn't want to change, you can't make her, and there would be no point even if you could. So you're in or you're out. I would agree with whoever has advised you to speak with a good solicitor before declaring that you're out. The family courts can be a cold place for husbands. You'll need to get advice on possible outcomes, and how your immediate actions (e.g. moving out of the family home) are likely to influence those outcomes.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

As has been pointed out earlier to you, your advice on this thread is a bit all over the place and not very helpful to the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

This is one of those situations where paying for sex might have suited couples in the past. But paying for sex is now illegal and cannot be advised here, even though it might be a solution that serves best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭CrookedJack

OP I think you need to examine your feelings here more so than your partners. Is it jut sex you feel is missing or is it sexual intimacy, romance, passion? Because you keep focusing on the sex part but some of your comments (like about he not getting you a present) lead me to think it's not just sex. It's very common for men to couch sadness over a lack of intimacy and love, in terms of lack of sex

This is important because maybe you can have sex with someone else in an open marriage without issue, but if you're looking for other things then you're really looking for a new partner.

I think the idea of just finding a hobby is a bit silly and shows her lack of understanding of sexual people - which makes sense if she's asexual herself.

You need to be honest with yourself about what you ACTUALY want to be happy in your life, I strongly suspect a bit more sex is not enough.

Oh yes, intimacy, romance, and passion is lacking too. Just that feeling that I'm desired more than for just housework. That's why this whole COVID Work From Home experience has been depressing. So many opportunities to surprise me but none taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Have you looked into sex robots? They're supposedly getting more advanced all the time. Obviously not a perfect solution but comes without the significant downsides and risks to any of the options involving extramarital sex with an actual woman...

Thank you for the kind words, Faith. It really does hurt especially as I'm just longing for something basic that most other couples do. Made worse by the fact I let it drag on for so long.

She does genuinely love me but can't give me it. I can't turn off the urge nor should I, I have the right to pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Horn_of_Africa

I would surmise that your wife never actually fancied you. I think this is more likely than her being asexual.

One thing is certain, your well being and happiness is not a priority for her, otherwise she wouldn't dismiss you as she doea. This tells me she doesn't actually love you. You're a convenient person to have around to help pay the bills.

Ask her outright is she fancies you, ask her if she loves you and ask her if she is in love with you.

Whatever you do, don't leave the family home. If anyone leaves the home it should be her, as she is effectively ending the relationship by withdrawing intimacy.

I would suggest she looks for somewhere else to live of that is feasible. If not, then go out and satisfy your sex drive, don't feel guilty about it. Put your own well being first, you deserve to be happy.

The wife suggested something like this already (proof she has been doing research to help me). Lots of toys on the market but it's just masterbation in the end which feels hollow.

Besides, what if the kids find the doll in the closet or something. Trauma forever. :P

No I'm positive she's asexual and never see her flirting with any other man.

One of her brothers is very much like her actually. It's unusual to hang out with a male and not comment about an attractive female in a pub or even tell a sex joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭marilynrr

Lots of women are open to friends with benefits, but they probably wouldn't be open to it with someone who is married, for a start most people probably wouldn't believe you had permission and also they'd probably rather someone single for lots of other reasons.

There are plenty of women in your situation who would love a FWB arrangement too, but their partners won't allow them to open up the relationship.

"COVID amplified the situation. House all to ourselves during the day for two years and she constantly rejected me."

You already know how she feels so you shouldn't be putting yourself in a position where she rejects you and you shouldn't be putting her in the position where she has to reject you either.

"Oh yes, intimacy, romance, and passion is lacking too. Just that feeling that I'm desired more than for just housework. That's why this whole COVID Work From Home experience has been depressing. So many opportunities to surprise me but none taken."

She's not going to surprise you and you're just going to end up feeling more disappointed waiting for a miracle to happen. You need to either make peace with it and accept there will be no sex or intimacy etc and stop asking or end the marriage.

There's no way I would be staying in a relationship without sex or intimacy.

Ok if that's the case you still need to satisfy your sex drive. So don't waste time, get started.

So if you realised you were gay tomorrow you'd still have sex with your husband? and you'd be ok with him having sex with you when he knew you didn't want it because you had signed up to be married?

She has offered an open relationship. The OP has been unable to find someone on tinder willing to go along with a FWB arrangement.

If I had a husband and he said he was gay I would absolutely feel duped, I'd be angry at the dishonesty, years wasted and so on and end the relationship.

And if we decided to stay together as a friendship or marriage of convenience I wouldn't still think he should have sex with me because that's what he signed up to! I wouldn't even want him to force himself to have sex with me!

What more is there to discuss? She has said she's asexual and doesn't want sex. She probably doesn't want to end the marriage herself, but she can't stop him from doing so. You can say the onus is on her to sort it out and she should leave, but saying what other people should do (people who aren't posting here for advice) won't change anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,835 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

You've made it clear that you're not getting those things in your marriage either. I think what CrookedJack was asking is how important they are to you, which isn't completely evident from your posts, which are largely focused on sheer sexual frustration. You might be able to assuage that while remaining within the marriage but it's hard to see how you will get those other things outside of a new relationship. A nice, genuine FWB might provide some approximation, but as others have pointed out good luck sourcing one of those as a married man.

It's not that hard to find it as a married man. It just depends if the OP is any good with women.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

An utterly bizarre response to my post that suggests you didn’t even read it. Where did I mention having sex with anyone against their will?

if I realised I was gay tomorrow, or asexual, or any sexual orientation that meant I could never provide my husband with a mutually satisfying, mutually respectful sexual relationship, then I would leave the marriage for his sake. I would leave. I wouldn’t manipulate him into staying or just try to wait it out until he got angry or frustrated enough to leave or cheat on me. I certainly wouldn’t blame him for the issue or suggest it’s because he doesn’t have a good enough hobby.

OP, ask your wife why she married you.

It's interesting that her asexuality didn't prevent her having kids. Seems she has everything she wants and doesn't give two sh1ts about you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭spontindeed

"not the pre 1990 situation where a husband legally rape the wife in a marriage and not be at all at risk of prosecution. But to suggest that there is an expetaction and that body autonomy is not absolute, well the attitude it certainly is a step in the wrong direction towards the pre-1990 days of legalise marital rape"

No husband could legally rape his wife pre-1990. I read that 1990 law but I think it's too overly broad and blunt because the situation pre-1990 wasn't quite as you portray it. There were other laws in place prior. Nowadays, the definition of consent keeps changing all the time whenever the female Justice Minister comes under pressure from foreign-funded NGO's masquerading as 'women's rights groups'.

OP - you shouldn't feel ashamed. Sounds like you're better off leaving her given she doesn't reciprocate your love for her. You've been extremely patient and loving towards her but she has continued stonewalling you. She will likely struggle to find another man because a lot of men tend not to date single moms. Chin up but don't make your decision known until the time is right and you have a copy of all the past paperwork around the house to defend your equity.

I tried to quote your other post in that post too but accidentally deleted it.

You said "I’m wondering at what point she revealed her asexuality? If it were after marriage and children, I’d be feeling pretty duped. Whatever sexuality a person is is fine with me, but I wouldn’t be fine with a person pretending to be heterosexual to achieve a goal (marriage and kids, perhaps) and then later declaring their true sexuality and expecting me to just live with it."

I'd feel duped too and wouldn't live with it. But the thread isn't about how he should feel, it's about what he should do.

You're saying the onus is on her to fix it and to leave because you yourself would leave, but most of the time the low libido partner doesn't end it or leave. Whether that's right or wrong is irrelevant. And she's not the one on here looking for advice. So he's the only one who could take action. Now he could suggest to her that she should be the one to leave, but the chances of her doing that are very slim.

What's the point of giving advice to people on here telling them what their partners should do??

People who stay in these relationships feeling anger waiting for the other person to fix the problem rather than taking responsibility for their own happiness themselves inevitably end up even more miserable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭vegandinner

This highlights how unfair divorce is in Ireland. The OP is not unreasonable to think that sex is part of a healthy marriage. Yet if he encourages her to see if there is counselling available or check if it’s medical he is branded as a controlling conversion therapy promoting rapist. If he seeks sexual realise on the side he is either a cheater or if he see professionals he’s human trafficking.

If he walks out he looses his home, she gets to keep it despite her moving the goal posts, he will be limited in how he can see his kids. He has so much to loose.

Op be careful, if you move out she might move a new fella in pretty quick, you’ll be lumped with the mortgage and child support while her “asexual” boyfriend plays daddy.

get the most expensive lawyer you can find.