Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Slava_Ukraine

Every other day at this stage a new one arrives.... The troll farm must be mobilising early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Dim minds love meta-theories to explain the world.

Easier to process there is a cabal of puppet-masters in the US-UK NATO axis tricking the peaceful Russian soul into launching wars than to actually fire up their brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭dybbuk

"ore of a peacemaker and less of an invader than any major European nation". More than?

You read? Do or desist! No major European nation was peaceful or it wouldn't be a nation, never even mind "major". OK? MORE THAN!

Look at the environmental record of NATO members! The empire, our democratic role model, leads the way to not just mass suicide, but a complete destruction of life as we know it through chemical pollution.

Stop blaming the Russians! You are your own worst enemy! Your greed, your righteousness, your anxiety, fake sense of belonging, entitlement and more greed is what poisons your mind. You will win nothing by debating with me. And I will not debate for it solves nothing. It's either dialectics, violence or deceit. Debate is only a part of the latter: mainly self-deceit in fact. Once you twist my words, it is no longer dialectics. So I won't waste my time, unless of course you learn.

No one is "learning" anything from your ahistorical Charles Manson in the penetentairy ramblings.

And if you're not here for the "deceit of debate", what exactly prompted you to to set up an account and unload this fecal matter on the thread?

We've had more than a few share of lunatics dropping by this thread. You haven't even done us the favour of being a particularly memorable or notable one.

Won't be long now until you're banned. Don't bother with a new account. We're not interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,959 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Chernobyl occurred in the USSR. And then the Russians shelled it in this war of aggression. Yet you introduce - irrelevent even by the standards of whataboutery - whataboutery about pollution!

As for peace, yes, look at Grozny. Russia loves peace. The peace of the grave.

We win nothing by debating with you, because you are obviously brain washed and impervious to logic facts and reason. And have a completely blinkered distorted one sided view of history.

The thing is, we're not debating you. We're just correcting the record on the thread of your obvious disinformation and historical delusions and Russian propaganda.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,504 ✭✭✭circadian

"You will win nothing by debating with me. "

Yep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,416 ✭✭✭sjb25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

"If the Brits keep provoking Putin, he can fire one on London from a sub right in Dublin bay. There will be no one left to write "he wrote 60000 posts on boards.ie" on your tombstone."

Or no one left to write on yours for that matter.

The idea that Russia can use nuclear weapons as an offensive threat, as a weapon of war against other nations is so totally abhorrent, that it must surely reveal the depravity of your thinking. The whole idea of nuclear weapons is as a defensive deterrent, a last resort. And no one, no one is threatening Russian territory at the moment. Unless you have a Putin view of the world, in which all your neighbours are really Russian. In which case, f**k off.

This thread has actually been a very good resource with a lot of very high quality contributers.

It has only survived because...

A: Mods have done a good job nuking the re-reg accounts and one-track numbskulls trying to pull it down.

and...

B: Fools aren't suffered gladly by contributers posting in good-faith.

It's immaterial if you think people are wound up or not. This thread has been hostile ground for trolls because of A. and B. Long may it continue

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'm not a moderator of this forum.

"Historically Russia has been more of a peacemaker and less of an invader than any major European nation" That's what you wrote and it's a patent nonsense.

Was Russia "drawn into" a pact with nazi Germany to carve up Eastern Europe for themselves? Of course if you're Russian the Great Patrioitic War didn't start in 1939, it started when the first German jackboot crossed into Russia. Handily avoiding Stalin's pact with Hitler. Was Russia "drawn into" carving up Eastern Europe for itself after the war? Was Russia "drawn into" invading Czechoslovakia in '68? Was Russia "drawn into" invading Georgia, or Chechnya? Maybe there was some "contract" involved...

Maybe I can view your sources endorsed by the FSB, or the KG used to B? And more of this Russian hard on for talking about destruction and H-Bombs, you must love Russian TV at the moment. You go on about Russia not starting wars or poisoning the world etc and at the same time get so easily upset when your narative is questioned and are so quick to talk about atomic annihilation coming to destroy me and all life in London(where I'm not so map reading isn't a strong suit). Does the Russian word for 'irony' translate correctly? It seems not.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,412 ✭✭✭✭listermint

What the actual... ?

The poster I quoted has been asking all morning is giving weapons to Ukraine the right thing to do. He has been told numerous times why it is but continues to ask the same question.

So I asked them directly (not you btw) what their solution is since their scoffing at the notion that quite simply arming Ukraine to the teeth and pushing Russia out is pretty much the only option .

So back to you and your absolutely ridiculous response to me . Read the thread , read what I wrote and read the poster I'm corresponding with before you throw out of hand crap like that.

Gluk. Horse.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Look at the environmental record of NATO members! The empire, our democratic role model, leads the way to not just mass suicide, but a complete destruction of life as we know it through chemical pollution.

China is a major pollutor, one of the worst on the planet, but since they're not NATO members I suppose that's OK. Sweden and Finland rank very high in environmental efforts so when they join NATO will they magically become bad? Americans are the worst consumers on the planet. You'll get no argument from me there. However Russia isn't exactly clean, not by a long shot. Ever hear of the Aral Sea?

Just two years ago Russia broke its own records for air pollution. And if we go back to Soviet times we have the slight issue of a reactor going bang. Though a couple of Russians, Belarusians and one Ukrainian have told me that this was yet another CIA plot. Over the years I have found both the Russians and Americans to be as bad as each other for fears of external influence, conspiracy(they had their Reds under the bed phase, now it's Muslims and Mexicans) and the need to justify their own misadventures. As for the CIA. They've proven themselves time and time again to be as much amateur as professional, but that doesn't work as a boogyman for tthe masses. The Yanks thought the same of the KGB and they were equally wrong.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

Why get bogged down?

Putin is committing terrible acts right now and needs to be stopped.

"But heeeey man, no one's all bad" - so what?

If ever there was a situation where the end justified the means, this is it.

You get awful annoyed about what we discuss on here . For someone claiming to not really care at all.

Ive never come across a poster claiming to be so chill about the subject give out so much. Oh wait, no I have it's as common as trousers .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,959 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

And yet you are here.

I guess you didnt want a 'good' resource.

Its social media. What were you expecting? Maybe you take your own advice?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,142 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

If true it’s shameful.

We swore concentration camps would never happen again after the bastard nazis.

Just go in and finish Putin and his shower of evil **** now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,778 ✭✭✭Homelander

Not sure where exactly you are going with these comical I-dont-care-but-clearly-I-actually-really-do posts.

We should never be allowed discuss something unless we're qualified experts? That should eliminate around 98% of human interactions on a daily basis.

Really ? Which station. That's good news. Amazed that it could occur though giving Putin ignoring pretty much everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭zv2

It looks like history is starting up again.

Earlier in this thread I noted my interactions over the years with Russian folks I know. All but one(a complete dickhead that you'd find anywhere) were and are very nice people by the way. Politics and history didn't come up very often. Well it can get uncomfortable for any bunch of people sitting around chatting. The first time I really remember was around May the 9th one year and WW2/Great Patriotic War came up and I had mentioned relatives of mine involved in fighting the nazis and they were sharing their family stories of that time and how so many of their family had been killed in that. A truly awful time.

But the talk went into the Russian history of it from their side. I found this interesting as one rellie of mine who'd been involved remarked when I was a kid that it was a war where the propaganda never stopped after it was over. And he wasn't too wrong. Each side has their own story, much of it wartime propaganda. EG afterwards everyone had been in the French Resistance, when in reality bugger all had been. The British would have had to really try to lose the Battle of Britain, yet very nearly did, or it got close to a draw and Dunkirk has been turned into a victory when it was an arse kicking defeat. The Americans seemed to think they were the only ones involved in saving the "Free World" to the degree I'm surprised the Germans and Japanese even get a look in.😁 I'd never really heard the Russian side of it, but they had their own propaganda still running strong. The Stalin Ribbentrop pact was a "peace" pact, like Chamberlain's that the Germans broke. Zero mention of Stalin and Hitler carving up independent states between them detailed in the same pact. Allied help in the form of Lend Lease was played down, as was Stalin's blunders and purging of the best of his generals before the war. There was also an admiration for Stalin I didn't expect. The post war carving up of Eastern Europe and the "Iron Curtain" was glossed over.

There is also the wider feeling that Russia never starts wars, that Russia is always under threat of invasion and "outside influences". This feeling goes back centuries too. Part of it down to geography. If you stand in Moscow and look west there are bugger all natural barriers between you and any enemies that want to invade you. All empires throughout history have a fear of invasion and "outside influences" that take them down from within, "decadence" is usually the biggie, so Russia is hardly different here. The American empire has it and it has two huge moats either side of it and has really only been attacked twice on her own soil, Pearl Harbor and 9/11 and they resonate deeply in the American psyche. The fear that trump revved up about "Mexican rapists" from outside played into that. As did McCarthy's Reds under the bed long before him.

So I'm not exactly surprised at Dybbuk's take on things. He's just following the narrative he believes. Now as I've also said a few times in thsi thread and got static for it from some; we also follow the naratives we believe of course. The major difference being that we have far more narratives to choose to believe in and more, we are allowed to believe them. Oh sure we may get hassle for believing different ones, but we won't go to gaol for believing them, we won't get poisoned, we won't get shot in the street. We can even publish these beliefs in traditional media and online.

While I can 100% understand why Daly and Wallace got ridiculed for their beliefs - and just so I'm clear for the hard of thinking I do NOT agree with them - I was also glad to see it. For all the support from Russian supporters for them, the same thing couldn't happen in Russia. There are no Daly's and Wallace's in Russia. NO dissent from the popular narrative.

Another day.

Another General gone.

Well into double digits now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Preparing for the Moscow may 9th parade .

This is beyond belief

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,075 ✭✭✭✭briany

It has been a good resource because not only do you get some interesting and informative analysis of events in Ukraine, but you also get plenty of links to news articles about the war from a diverse range of sources of which the BBC would be one. There's not a thread on the front page CA forum which comes remotely close in terms of view count, so it suffices to say that it is more than a bunch of armchair generals in it.

It's not going to change the world. I doubt too many are under the impression that it will. However, nor is it exactly p*ssing into the wind because trolls wouldn't make such an effort to spread misinformation in threads such as this, and the rest of the Internet, if that were so. People read that misinformation and take it with them and they spread it to other people and that can eventually lead to informing actions of real consequence, like voting, and we have seen that in recent history. This is at least one corner of the Internet where trolls will get well called on their bullsh*t. For that alone, the thread is worthwhile.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,850 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Not Jews nor chemtrails but dynasties worried about market controls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,157 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Lot of trouble to go to numbering every armband

Nazi's anyone? (tho somone says its from 2019)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,114 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

There are no nuances to this situation. It's as black and white as it ever gets in world affairs. There are no subtleties with which to attempt to play mental gymnastics and to try and concoct possibilities that there are shades of grey from. It's binary, left and right, up down, on or off.

You want it to be other than it is so you can game it for some verbal sparring and entertainment. That dog don't hunt 'round here.

This is not a situation or place to make any attempt at playing devil's advocate, unless you want to be tied to a stake and immolated.

What does this say to ye lads and lassies? I called out a few of the hardcore warriors on this thread and they ran straight to the mods.

That really sums you lads up.

Boys, try to be a bit more like Zelenskyy and less like a little bitch pretending to be a hard man military strategist hiding under your duvet.