Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How can we integrate Unionism into a possible United Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,683 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

That made me laugh out loud to be honest.

'You are entitled to your belief'....BUT.

Repudiate what the poster says with your own facts blanch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,692 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

Jumped ship? Just call me the pre-Unification vanguard or emissary, Freddie! 🤣

So in summary, no you can't actually address any of the points I made, you're reduced to low grade trolling attempts and you're STILL an absolute f*cking eejit without half an ounce of lived experience to know what he's talking about?

I'm not surprised at all that you've served in your armed forces, you're a perfect example of the sort of poor unfortunate idiots who were sent across our way, shooting at children because they were on a hair trigger from absolutely p*ssing themselves and jumping at shadows. Superb indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭FraserburghFreddie

You still haven't replied with any credibility regarding Ireland's massive influence within the EU and judging by your offensive language in this post you might well have had one drink too many.

Pot, meet kettle.

I've pointed out multiple examples of Ireland's greater influence per capita in the EU than NI's influence in the UK, you've swanned back in with low grade trolling.

You haven't made a single point of substance, purely attempting to play the man instead of the ball.....and now you're having a wee whinge when you get a bit of the same treatment back.

Do me a favour, Freddie....don't bother replying to me, I've read enough of your posts to get plenty good measure of your character. You're not the type of person I have any interest in interacting with any further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

This mightn't be too good for your blood pressure. https://www.economist.com/europe/2020/07/18/how-ireland-gets-its-way

On a per-head basis, Ireland has a good claim to be the world’s most diplomatically powerful country. Its finance minister, Paschal Donohoe, last week won the race to become president of the Eurogroup, the influential club of euro-zone finance ministers, despite the French and German governments backing another candidate.

In June Ireland won a seat on the un Security Council, fending off Canada, another country often flattered by comparison with a bigger, sometimes boorish, neighbour. Barely a decade after a financial crisis saw Ireland bailed out, Philip Lane, the former head of Ireland’s central bank, is the main thinker at the European Central Bank.

In Brussels, Ireland’s commissioner Philip Hogan is in charge of trade, one of the few briefs where the European Commission, rather than eu governments, is supreme. And the eu’s position on Brexit was shaped by Irish diplomats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

You didn't understand my comment. I suggest you re read.

The topic was why would people want a UI.

Well it was a new example. No debate required. My point being maybe there are people in NI who want a government that makes decisions based on what they vote for. Rather than a foreign, albeit British, government overriding their democratic wishes?

There are also people, Irish people, who never signed up to partition, within NI. Its not a simple case of a UI being an idea foisted on your part of Ulster, as you know.

Your comment shows a complete misunderstanding of mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,680 ✭✭✭✭downcow

I am trying really hard not to get sucked into a tit-for-tat what’s bad about each others country.

you are also being ridiculous and every poster on here can see your position is far from reality and therefore impossible to debate with. eg I mentioned roads and phones and you suggest that I needed to be in Donegal in the 1930s to experience that disparity.

I travelled to Donegal quite often both for water sports and hillwalking in the early 80s, let’s examine what I experienced on my visit re roads and phones.

we always allowed 3 hours for our journey. 1.5 hours for the 100 miles in ni and 1.5 hours for the 35 miles in roi. A significant amount of our ni journey was on a 20+years old motorway while there still wasn’t a single mile of motorway anywhere in roi.

when I got there I would try to phone home. Bear in mind we had nice shiny red phone boxes in ni that simply always worked on the drop of a 2p down the slot . It was quite something to experience the roi phones and the dual button pushes which rarely succeeded in a connection.

so you are talking nonsense about 1930s - and posters will know this in their heart

roi has come on in leaps and bounds and it is difficult to see much difference in infrastructure in the two countries now

for you to suggest that roi is a success story and ni is a failure story is incredible. you have some of the most awful vile stuff has taken place in roi in that 100 years. ni has not been immune to it but it is not the British community that were up to their necks in it either as victim or perpetrator.

I would also hate my country to have taken a neutral position in the fight against Hitler. Again there are improvements in roi and they are helping in humanitarian ways with Ukraine but still uk is doing the heavy lifting. That’s important to me, that our country will put its head above the water for other peoples quality of life and not just our own.

I do be amazed in my chats with southern colleagues that you have to pay to visit your doc, I find this a disgrace. Also that you pay for medicines etc.

I could go on, but could you tell me something that you think people in ni might envy of roi? Just one or two clear examples will do

I don’t think the Irish are squeaky clean on the colonisation of India

That a disgraceful last paragraph.

why do you fear people commenting on ni. Do you ever do it about other countries?

Well there we go. It’s clear who won that argument.

One or two examples, Downcow? You maybe could've tried reading the very post you replied to.

Personally I'd look at the massive increase on my salary, political stability, massive decrease in socially regressive political representation, lack of sectarian enclaves, increased life expectancy, EU membership, the better education system for my children, the stronger social welfare safety net should I ever have the misfortune to require it, the massive decrease in d*ckheads marking their territory like dogs and lampposts, the thriving tech industry, the decreased likelihood of being assaulted, robbed or kidnapped or even the fecking scenery of the West Coast as a few examples among many that many people living in NI would envy......it says more about you than it does about Ireland that you can't name one. There probably isn't a first world country in the world for which I couldn't name something I envy!

The NHS would've been the absolute top of my list of things I would've envied about the UK, however with a much better income and private health insurance down here, I see a doctor and receive treatment much faster than anyone I know living in the North, and at the end of the year, after paying for prescriptions, I still have a whole heap more money in my pocket than if I lived in the North. My own personal circumstances aside, the NHS is still in my eyes probably the single greatest achievement the UK has put together, so I won't be too critical there.

If you're telling me you travelled from Co. Down to Donegal and stayed on a Motorway for even half of your NI journey, I'm going to outright call you a liar. You absolutely didn't make it from Co. Down to the Donegal border in 90 minutes. I'm also happy to call you an outright liar that you averaged just over 20mph when you got to the Donegal border.

I'll also point out that what you ACTUALLY said was that it was single lane tracks (though we could both point out a few of those either side of the border even now I'm sure) and donkeys. Believe it or not, even Donegal had cars and two laned roads in the 80s. I can assure you I spent a damn sight more time in Donegal in the 80s than you did, Downcow. The roads were certainly worse, I pointed that out myself, but you're talking absolute hyperbolic nonsense......and the square root of f*ck all of that is relevant to our RIGHT NOW comparison, even if you weren't lying through your teeth or misremembering your magical ability to conjure motorways west of Dungannon and your jet car that suddenly turned into a pedal bike when it touched Irish soil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,523 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Wait, what? Your father wanted to relocate to the south and join the Garda Siochana, not at the time of partition, but some time later? Why did he want to make the move? And when was this?

Irish was compulsory in national schools from 1926. Therefore anyone applying to the guards from about 1940 had learned Irish, unless their parents had kept them out of the national school system or they had been educated abroad. I'm really struggling to see this as any kind of religious discrimination .

People can comment all they want, Downcow, but not all opinions are equal.

I'll certainly have an opinion about other countries, but I'm not stupid enough to think that my opinion carries the same weight as that of someone who has actually lived there.

I'd love if you could tell me what exactly was disgraceful though? Was calling him an eejit too harsh, or was pointing out that he doesn't have an iota of lived experience with NI the unpleasant fact that crossed the line for you?

I note you've remained entirely silent on that poster's blatantly trolling comments towards me. I'll remind you when others were trying to make issue of your own identity and lack of Irishness, I stood in your defense despite our lack of agreement on most things, but I'll note your own lack of gumption to stand up when the shoe is on the other foot.

You'll excuse me if I'm not terribly upset that you think the eejit who just happens to agree with you, 'won' the debate even though he didn't actually address a single point that was being debated. Maybe aul Freddie is one of your Republican work colleagues that you so regularly survey.

You are pleasant tonight so I’ll keep it short.

I called my doc about a minor issue yesterday (fri) 3.30pm. I have a consultation with her Monday morning. It won’t cost a penny and meds won’t cost a penny. That’s the case for everyone in ni

google says it is 1hr 32 mins from Belfast to castlederg.

of course I didn’t tell you that I was on the motorway for half the journey. That would just be silly and make me a 🤥

of course I disagree with most of your list and don’t see anything I envy.

what might be of real envy to you given you posting style tonight. A bottle of Bucky is 14 euro in roi but you would only pay £7.99 for it in ni.

Belfast to Castlederg is 84 miles, not 100, Downcow. Never mind the fact that the roads have been improved since the 1980s, that Castlederg is still 3 miles from the border and even THAT shortest of journeys is from Antrim, not Down (so we really couldn't be more generous in our interpretation of your claim) is already over the 90 minutes you stated.....and you still haven't told me where in Donegal you were averaging circa 20mph. As I said, you were talking sh*te with your hundred miles in an hour and a half, 35 miles in an hour and a half.

I wouldn't know about the price of Buckfast myself, buddy. I'll leave the Lurgan Champagne to your crowd. I prefer a rioja if I'm drinking at home, or a pint of solidly Protestant Guinness if I pop out for one.....and the last time I made it up North, a pint was up at £5 in Belfast. I pay €4.60 in my local. Your snide b*llocksology is noted and ignored though.

I note you rapidly skipped by the, 'points of envy'.....Most of those were statements of fact. Was that too difficult to address when you realised what a fool you'd made of yourself asking for one or two examples in reply to a post that gave significantly more? Given your reading comprehension, perhaps you should look a little closer to home when wondering who might have enjoyed a tipple or two this evening.

I'm glad you were able to get a quick GP visit, though given the waiting lists I hope the issue remains minor and you don't end up on a waiting list that will take a few years before you can see a specialist like my father would've. In the end, I had to book him in for a private appointment in The Beacon in Dublin. Fortunately you often get what you pay for and he's doing much better now.

My reason for asking you for one or two real examples is because you had posted a list of subjective nonsense that I could have systematically taken apart if I had have had half a day to spare. Hence I would like your top two to debunk for you?

back to my all island employer. All northern employees have just been given private health cover by the employer. They tried to set up similar for the southerners but it was going to be approx 10 times the cost because of the lack of free care. The basis of the system is that you go under nhs and if wait is more than 5 weeks then the private health steps in. So there is a very clear tangible measurable evidence that a health company sees nhs as superior. You can check for yourself (Benenden)

….and your nonsense continues ie you are comparing a Belfast city centre pint with your local. This is why you need to do some self reflection before entering a discussion like this.

as for which is best, we could trade that stuff all day and I could make an endless list. It’s pointless. You love living in Ireland and I love living in OWC. Neither of us is going to be convinced to the contrary.

he’s an independent view. https://www.irelandbeforeyoudie.com/5-reasons-why-belfast-is-better-than-dublin/ In summary he says “Sorry Dublin, but the North’s capital just does it better.”

• "I called my doc about a minor issue yesterday (fri) 3.30pm. I have a consultation with her Monday morning. It won’t cost a penny and meds won’t cost a penny. That’s the case for everyone in ni"

It most certainly is not dc. Prior to covid my longest wait for a GP appointment was 7 working days. I brought my child to A&E once and was still there 24 hours later. My elderly father called the out of hours service at 11am one morning and got called back at 3am the next morning, when they tick the box that says they contacted everyone. The NHS is broken for some areas of N. Ireland, especially A&E. And post covid it's got a whole lot worse, most people here don't get to actually see a GP now, it's all phone calls.

Cleverly moving away from your 90 minute hundred mile, 90 minute 35 mile story that was falling apart at the seams there I note.

As for subjective, most of that list is quantifiably objective....the only subjective examples were my personal salary and my preference for the West Coast scenery.

But let's stick with just two examples, when you fail to systematically take just two examples apart, I think we'll sufficiently demonstrate the truth of your claim that you could do so for the entire list.

1) Political stability. Let's compare how long government has been collapsed both sides of the border as an easy way of identifying which area has greater political stability.

2) Better education system: Ireland has a much lower percentage of people who have failed to complete post primary education, NI has the lowest rate of tertiary education in all the UK and Ireland. The Northern Ireland Department of the Economy specifically pointed out how the low education standards in NI was limiting their ability to attract FDI. I don't think they're likely to be throwing out Republican propaganda myself.

The Irish education system specifically targets disadvantaged kids through the DEIS programme, NI has a widely documented problem with education for disadvantaged groups, in particular disadvantaged Protestant boys.

As for ten times the price for private healthcare? Well first of all, you aren't describing private healthcare, you're describing a semi-private healthcare. The average cost of private healthcare per adult under 65 in Ireland is €1342. I'd love to see where you have a quote for private healthcare at ~£110 for the year to match your ten times the price claim. That would certainly be evidence that your company thinks healthcare in NI is CHEAPER (a point I'd agree with), it says nothing of which is better....and that is without even touching on the fact that while free at the point of service, you're still paying for the NHS anyway through taxation.

Comparing pint prices, I merely pointed out the two most recent places I've bought a pint either side of the border, I accept the comparison between Belfast and somewhere less urban is unfair. If we tilt the field completely in your favour, the last time I was in Dublin I had a pint for €5.20, slap bang in the city centre. Last time I was in Enniskillen, £4.40. That's still a bit more relevant to me than the price of Buckfast, which seems to be a sticking point for you.

As for your independent view provided.....well you'll excuse me if I don't take a soft puff piece aimed at tourists as reflective of the experience one would have living in a place. That being said, I've about as much interest in living in Dublin again as I do Belfast, Maggie Mays is absolutely cracking and the Ulster Fry is vastly superior to the fry anywhere else in the world.

You really do have me on the fry up point.

People accuse me of trolling and yet they're frantically editing their posts at least twice in an attempt to remove the embarrassing foul rants,I notice looking at a number of posts aimed at you,he doesn't hold back with his OTT insults either.

I stopped reading his rambling posts when he proceeded to try to tell you how it is in Donegal!

Post edited by FraserburghFreddie on

All colonial powers from the beginning of history have been guilty of heinous acts.Ireland was described as the"strong right hand "of the empire back in the day as part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and IRELAND

your post in summary (and I am getting tired of this as 95% is subjective)

yes my travel times were estimates from the 1980s. They were pretty close. I was travelling with a club from Belfast. We regarded the Donegal border as little more than halfway timewise.

your salary and access to healthcare. Yes I got your ‘I’m alright jack’ approach , but I let it slide

political stability. I really don’t see how it has any significant impact on my quality of life.

education system. I’d like to see a massive overhaul of the selection process and yes there is a problem of certain groups being disadvantaged by our system. I can’t believe roi does not suffer from the same (remember the most discriminated group in Europe lives in your country, for example - maybe, I’m alright jack, again)

you say “private healthcare at ~£110 for the year to match your ten times the price claim. That would certainly be evidence that your company thinks healthcare in NI is CHEAPER (a point I'd agree)” - here you go then https://www.benenden.co.uk/alternative-private-healthcare/

Alcohol prices. Here’s the full list from where I found the Bucky. But I think I’ll change to your tiple of choice, when I see you up posting again this morning after the tirade you subjected a few of us to last night. (In fact the fact you are still here is Evidence, if it were needed, of that other little sensitive matter we were discussing yesterday)

Now, there is an entire thread for this rangers/Celtic type competition of whose got the best country. I respectfully suggest you take it there.

You don't get how Stormont collapsing has any impact on your quality of life, Downcow?! REALLY?!

And you can't believe Ireland doesn't have the same problems as NI with regards to education? Well I'll have to tell your Department of the Economy they're mistaken and Downcow says they're not having problems attracting FDI due to lower education levels.

So much for systematically dismantling points; so far we've got an ostrich act of pretending not having a sitting government doesn't impact quality of life and hand-waving incredulity that Ireland doesn't suffer from the same education issues despite the evidence of relative education levels.

To take a direct quote from the Benenden page you linked to;

We're not a health insurance provider.

So no, you're not receiving private health insurance at a tenth of the price of someone in Ireland at all. At best, you could describe it as partial access to semi-private healthcare (That being said, I do think that Benenden system looks like a great idea in conjunction with the NHS, and I appreciate you bringing it to my attention).

As for the rest of your decreasingly comprehensible diatribe, the report function is there, work away (or don't and continue stewing in your own perceived victim complex). If you think my describing someone that someone who doesn't and hasn't lived in NI as 'an eejit without an iota of lived experience' is comparably offensive to some of the absolute filth that has led to you being banned from multiple threads, perhaps a bit more self-reflection would help. I won't be discussing moderation any further, as I suspect we're both steering towards conversation that isn't allowed on threads.

Also funny that you'd tell me to take my examples off thread after specifically asking for examples for you to, 'systematically take apart' and then failing to do so spectacularly.

• The UK spends around 25% of it's tax budget on healthcare, so take someone who's been in IT for 10 years, earning a decent salary of £40,000, of that £10,000 goes in tax / national insurance, so this person would be contributing £2,500 of their salary per year, or £200 per month, to healthcare. Not exactly free. Which is fine if it all works ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,683 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Interesting conversation. I think we are getting an insight into why Unionism is in the strategic mess it is in. Built on a bedrock of myth bitterness and false bravado.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,439 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

@Fionn1952 do not post in this thread again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,002 ✭✭✭growleaves

These comparisons are all in "narcissism of small differences" territory imo.

For perspective, Haiti and the Dominican Republic are another two countries which share an island. They are like separate universes in almost every respect.

In reality, southern Irish people have (deniably) absorbed a lot of Protestant assumptions about work and wealth through contemporary forms of atheism-materialism (which carry a lot of undeclared assumptions, the origin of which no one thinks too much about) and saturation in Anglo - especially American, but also British - entertainment and media.

• Do you not think Ireland's close ties to the more socialist EU countries (compared to US/UK) swings the pendulum back a bit ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,002 ✭✭✭growleaves

Not by much imo. We're so much in the cultural train of US/UK mainly for language reasons. There's no deep immersion in any continental culture, though of course there's a lot of goodwill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

There are not two countries on the island, there is one country that has had the northeast section cleaved off to thwart the democratic wish of the Irish people, thus Ireland is described as partitioned, thus the contested nature of the northeast, thus people living as if there is no border, thus national and international pushback at the threat of rehardening the division of our country.

Tom do you believe There are not two countries in North America? Ie there is one country that has had the northern section cleaved off?