If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Kildare farmer objects to €8bn Intel investment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Brian? wrote: »
    Longer than that. I left in September 2018 and they'd started digging the hole before that.
    The hole they're digging is for the new fab. Seems they want all fabs on the same level, so gotta dig down through what I believe to be rock to make the new site for the new fab.

=-=

The construction that I speak of is on the reclaimed land. Of course, they could be just putting whatever they're putting together there, before moving it elsewhere. But it's good that they are building.

=-=

It'll be interesting what Blaystore Developments will do with Collinstown House, now that it's out of view.

Good bit of talk around of all the vendors hiring again soon anyway. Good dosh for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭FFVII

Good bit of talk around of all the vendors hiring again soon anyway. Good dosh for a few years.

Dosh... haven't heard that word in ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭eiei0

Intel owns no land, it's all owned by the IDA,

and your man is a crank just objecting for the sake of it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭PommieBast

Yes work started 13 months ago.
    I probably ought to drop by there sometime. Lot seems to have happened since I left in Feb 2019..

Supreme Court refuses to hear appeal over €3.7bn Intel expansion

Leixlip farmer Thomas Reid failed to meet criteria for an appeal, court said

It looks as though Doofus's last stand is over; although maybe he'll go on hunger strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

Calling him a doofas is massively underestimating him. He is anything but. He is a very smart man, if rather ececntric. Whether he is a good or bad farmer or a good or bad hurler, or golfer, or alpaca wranglers is of no relevance whatsoever. He has every right to make a submission on a planning as many applications as he sees fit, no more or less right than any one of us.

He has single handedly, without the aid of a team of planning experts or lawyers, taken on Intel and the IDA in the courts and largely won. He has kept his land. It might be a mild setback or inconvenience for intel, but it is a total victory for Mr Reid. He had clearly self educated himself on plannning and evironmental law to the point where he could take the matter to the Supreme Court.

Is there any one of ye here who could achieve a similar feat?

Who is the doofas now?

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It might be a mild setback or inconvenience for intel, but it is a total victory for Mr Reid.

Actually It is a victory for the people of Ireland because it shows that an individual can stand up for their rights against the might of government agencies and the multinational company they sought to assist. Don't get me wrong, I want Intel to continue in Leixlip but those seeking to advance the development can not and will not have the ability to undermine the constitutional rights of any person.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

The man is a hero. Took on a shower of chancers lying through their teeth trying to steal his property out from under him and beat them in the Highest Court of the land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

He's not a doofus, and I think it was good thing that he defeated the CPOs 7 years ago. I think he has the right to ownership of his land.

But I don't consider him a hero and I'm satisfied that he has lost now. He is continually trying to halt any Intel development, and our system has worked correctly.

The reason he defeated the CPO was that the IDA were trying to CPO his land for no actual official reason. They tried to pretend that they might just need it. They stuck to that line and eventually the SC found that it was a load of sh1te.

The IDA wanted to take the land (private property) in order to then hand it over to a private enterprise. But they couldn't admit to that. So they pressed ahead anyway and basically refused to admit what they were doing. They thought that they could bully and streamroll the "thick farmer". But he beat all the well paid teams of managers and consultants and legal teams.

Let's consider a slight extrapolation of what they wanted to do. Your neighbour Jim buys a second car and wants to widen his driveway and take in a piece of your front garden. He knows you won't consent to that. But the following Monday his buddy Tom from the Council arrives out and tells you that the Council need to CPO a 2m strip from your driveway for strategic reasons.

You know what's going on - they're going to take it from you and then hand it over to the neighbour. But the Council buddy Tom just lies to your face and says "nope. We know nothing about that. Ah my buddy Jim, no, sure I never met him. We need it for strategic reasons. You'll be hearing from our solicitors next week about it"

I'm unsure why you felt the need for the lengthy "explanation" at me there Donald.

I know exactly what happened.

And as I said I think it was right that he won against the CPOs.

But that case and this case are not the same thing.

It wasn't "at you". It was adding to yours. There are obviously other posters, as evidenced by posts above, who didn't understand what went on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,224 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Obviously you missed the first bout which he won by a knockout.

They made a bad enemy in Thomas Reid.

If only there were more like him.

You really think people dont know what went on? I think at this stage most on here are well aware as to Mr Reid's battle and victory against his CPOs. I'd have thought that by now the only misunderstanding (as evidenced repeatedly here) would be from people labouring under the impression that his recent case was still him fighting the IDA to keep his land and that Intel were still trying to take it from him.

The thread was revived after 2 years by someone who appeared not to know the history and made an ad hominem attack on TR.

I think a summary of the attempted heist was very much called for.

Well, it would appear that plenty don't understand what went on.

You might know, but there is no need to get triggered or annoyed if someone posts something that you already know.

Do you survey everyone before each post you make yourself in case "everyone knows" it already or not?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

More like him? Who object to every development possible?

He was right to battle the CPO. Every other time he was wrong.

Who exactly made an enemy of him? Definitely not Intel, they weren’t the ones who CPO’d his land. But he objects to every development they request permission for. Developments that bring thousands of jobs.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

It's beyond rational argument that he fully deserved to win the first court case that he took; the one against the IDA. But sadly, his victory went to his head and he started acting the clown. His subsequent cases have been petulant, childish, pointless and a complete waste of the Courts' time. Bear in mind that in recent years the higher Courts have consistently shown themselves to be strong supporters of the citizen against both the State and Big Business - hence, if there had been any merit in his case, it's very likely that he would have won in either the High or the Supreme Court, or in both. But he didn't. QED

Incidentally, it's pretty obvious that you completely missed the fact that this thread isn't about "the first bout" as you describe it. And the reason that it's been inactive for two years is because that's how long it took his Supreme Court verdict to issue. So next time, instead of trying to be smart (which you're clearly not), let's see a bit more thought and a lot less nonsensical kneejerking. You probably have the ability - but only if you try really hard.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

I was curious and questioning as to why you felt the need to quote me and explain, at some length, what happened in case number 1 when I agreed with you that he deserved to win his CPO case. Maybe because I didn't agree with your opinion that he's a hero? Because I really don't think he is a hero.

That doesn't equate to being annoyed or triggered, although maybe it does in your head.

And surely then, since justice was seen to be done first time around, then you will agree that justice has been seen to be done this time too, when he has been allowed use the full extent of his constitutional rights in his case? The fact that he was ruled against doesn't mean that justice hasn't been served.

He is a hero for taking his CPO case.

For the other issue, he is as entitled as anyone else to object to any development he wants. Same as you or I should be.

If I was forced to go through what he had to go through. Including the financial risk he had to take when those trying to steamroll him had access to limitless pots of (other people's - not their own) money, then I'd reckon I'd probably be taking every opportunity to make their lives a little more difficult afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

The CPO case was one thing, and he won that fair and square. But to be fair, this current case did not affect his land. He was going after the IDA/Intel here as more or less as a vendetta to inflict more hassle and pain on Intel for the hassle they caused him.

To be honest, I think the more that can be extracted from the likes on Intel the better. Even legal representation for them, is usually local or Irish law or consultancy firms so that is more money flowing into regional economy. Intel do not give 2 sh!ts about ireland or irish people. They are a corporate behemoth here for their own convenience. We owe it to Ireland and Irish people to milk the intel cow for all it is worth while keeping it just sweet enough to stay in our field.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,005 ✭✭✭Feisar

If it were me and they tried to CPO land I'd be objecting to them changing lightbulbs. Feck em, try to do me like that and you've made an ememy for life.

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,057 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Except Intel didn’t initiate the CPO of his lands. They made him a generous offer he refused. They let it go. Then the IDA tried to CPO his land.

So his beef is with the IDA. That beef is over.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Sometimes a wrong cuts so deep that the response goes beyond rationality.

Those who tried to put him off his land fail to recognise this.

Thomas Reid wasn't bothering anyone when they went after him.

They are responsible for what followed.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

TR made many appeals against developments on the Intel site, many of these appeals went in his favour. That is completely the fault of Intel and their planning team who should have made sure that all of their i's were dotted and their t's were crossed. Reid might not be a hero (nor was he ever looking to be) but he has shown himself to be quite astute - that a single person living in a house without electricity in his spare time can find obvious holes in planning applications compiled by well paid teams should be concerning to Intel senior management.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

I’m curious, who is going to pay court costs for this case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭mcsean2163

Only for those that have it, which is now a very small proportion of the population. Almost impossible to get if only a worker and not already a landowner.