Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭maebee

I read somewhere earlier today that this video could not have been taken this week, after the ship "went on fire and sank", because of the tree foliage in April and the height of the sun. It had to have been taken last summer. Plus no injuries to any of the lined up yokes, in their immaculate uniforms. Nothing to see here. Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,427 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Seems to be 2 definitions, our constitutional definition: Article 49 of the 1922 Constitution of the Irish Free State stated, "Save in the case of actual invasion, the Irish Free State ... shall not be committed to active participation in any war without the assent of the Oireachtas [parliament]"

So sending weapons to Ukraine would not be an active participation in the war.

Then I suppose the other definition, well, more in the eyes of the world is neutrality in regard to sending support in the form of weapons to Ukraine.

So sending Irish soldiers would be against our constitution, but sending weapons/tanks/anti-armor etc.... would not affect our constitution.

Seems the government are taking the 'oh our neutrality' as an excuse not to help with arms to Ukraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,919 ✭✭✭GM228

Stricttly speaking our neutrality is one of policy, not law - with the exception of a common EU defence policy which is a constitutional issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

That's what I was thinking , have a look at the screen shot I posted ,you see sailors all lined up and pretty much the same height then all they almost disappear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭KilOit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭Dufflecoat Fanny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,919 ✭✭✭GM228

The 1922 Constitution was revoked in 1937.

As per Article 28 of the 1937 Constitution (similar to the 1922 one) it is a matter for Government.

The 1937 Constitution was more concerned with sovereignty than neutrality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭KilOit

Yeah, always find soviet or Russian cartoons unnerving

Not sure if this was posted already. Catapults, get your catapults........

https://twitter.com/Mauro_Gilli/status/1515686259657691139?s=20&t=qkyuTNcT8N2Y99cP17eUxA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,099 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Astonishing you lauding Irelands efforts for taking in Ukrainian refugees when you are doing a great job of pretending to be in the, 'sorry, can't afford it and Ireland's full squad':

"It's not sustainable K, it's clear the government bit off more than it can chew and are working on the "plan" of Sure It'll Be Grand. After a pandemic(which is still ongoing even if the Ukraine flag has replaced it in short attention spans)and the massive costs of everything that came from that like PUP, a looming recession, inflation and the cost of living going north, a prexisting housing crisis, health service crisis and one of the largest social welfare bills in the EU. But yeah let's bring in 200,000 people visa free, unchecked and give them medical cards, full social welfare, housing(if we can find it) and Sure It'll Be Grand.

But the eejits who came up with this plan are protected by the Won't Somebody Think Of The Children!! defence. To suggest that the numbers promised were daft and actual numbers coming in are already unsustainable, will get you flamed for being a heartless, kitten strangling putinbot who supports nazi rapists." https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/118914593/#Comment_118914593

They can just stay in the western parts of Ukriaine, no need to come here:

"Our services aren't just strained, they're broken. The difference between the health service here and Germany or Poland or pretty much anywhere else in the EU is stark. And we spend more per capita on it than most. The housing crisis seems to have magically gone away overnight. Like covid 19 and the billions that cost us, attention spans now temporarily focused on Ukrainian flaglets and misery porn. So let's keep shoveling more of our taxes into the black hole. That clearly works.

And I hate to break it to you; the west of Ukraine an area double the size of Ireland is effectively conflict free. Even moreso since the Russians buggered off from Kyiv. Nobody is getting "slaughtered" there." https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/118915017/#Comment_118915017

And irony of ironies, I'm in that same thread advocating for the intake, the exact opposite of you, suggesting holiday homes alone make it doable, and getting attacked for it, of course.

While we don't have the equivalent of Bofors etc like Sweden, military exports from dual usage and R&D developments from Irish companies are worth about 30 odd million annually.

In terms of hardware, rifles etc we used to sell them on to other countries when charging type, like when the Steyr replaced the FN, not sure if we still do.

So like you say I don't believe that it is an impediment to selling them any, other than we have nearly feck all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭firemansam4

I wish people could tell the truth when trying to compare the cuban crisis to this. It was a completely different scenario involving the immediate deployment of nuclear weapons to cuba. Anyone trying to draw parallels between the two situations either dont know what they are talking about or are just not being genuine at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,062 ✭✭✭✭briany

I find it hard to believe that any serious Russian military strategist looked at the idea of invading Ukraine and thought the act would be a net discouragement to Finland or Sweden joining NATO. The same Russia who gets credit for engineering political unrest in the west can't make as basic an assessment as that? Not saying it's impossible, but it does seem awfully strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Nats9314

A tough watch misery spring should have look at, though he probably would enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Cheerful S

Putin will end up with a state funeral that’s it. The rest never going to happen. This is not some island country or some background country with limited resources. This is Russia a world power. A permanent member of the security council of the UN.

George Bush and Blair did not end up in The Hague. Putin not going to either. 

Doesn't stop us buying from other countries and just sending them to Ukraine.

The neutrality argument the Government use seems to be a crap excuse.

If they don't want to send them for what ever reason, they should state it.

That's not to say the 23k Ukrainians who have arrived in Ireland and given a PPS number/medical card/right to work the second they arrive is worth nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The FN fals are still in storage along with Bren guns and Lee Enfield rifles ,

An American company who sell modernised FN fals offered to buy all of the old FN fals after upgrading a batch for army sniper teams they were told sorry not for sale ,

We Also have anti tank weapons several different varieties and high powered precision rifles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,818 ✭✭✭threeball

Why do we even have so many Javelins etc. If we ever are attacked it sure as hell won't be by a tank offensive. If we're going to buy arms at all they should be SAM'S and harpoons. They should be giving what are a useless weapon to us to Ukraine

The G7 is:

Canada

France

Germany 

Italy

Japan

United Kingdom

United States

Even the EU gets some representation, but I don't see Russia on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,043 ✭✭✭Polar101

It's a blunder all right. But neither country was interested in joining Nato until the invasion - the PM of Finland said in January "it's very unlikely Finland will join Nato during the term of this government". And if Russia had won the war in a couple of days, then Sweden and Finland might have stayed neutral in case they thought joining Nato would bump them up to #1 and #2 of Russia's "who to invade next" -list. Now it seems like they can both join since there's no realistic threat of a Russian armed invasion while they are getting hammered in Ukraine (or in immediate aftermath of the war).

So those Russian military strategists would have needed to be fairly clever in order to 1) predict the war plan is sh** and 2) that instead of scaring Sweden and Finland into submission, they'd both suddenly change their defense policy.

They didn't get 1) right, so how strange is it really that they got 2) wrong too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,806 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

image.png

Flagship

More like a piece of s h it

Wasn't much to look at beforehand in all fairness.

I believe the countries/companies that we purchase arms from are for the most part sending arms already, but for what ever reason the government don't want to be seen to be breaking with the traditional stance of not sending arms to a country at war.

While in no way equivalent to the Ukraine and their war against Russia's invasion, the government have refused a number of export licences of dual usage materials from Irish companies to countries like Saudi Arabia due to the governments concerns about their use of these materials.

While these companies might have other customers that people would have issues with them dealing with, so far from what I can find no refusal for export licenses have been issued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,023 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

From the Guardian:

Russia attempts 'ruble occupation' of Kherson and Zaporizhzhia, Zelenskiy says

The regions of Kherson and Zaporizhzhia in Ukraine’s south are being transferred to “the ruble zone” and subordinated to Russian administration, Zelenskiy claimed in his latest address.

The Ukrainian president said Russia’s actions in the territories are following the example of the so-called separatist republics of the DPR and LPR.

The occupiers are also trying to tear off the Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions, following the example of the so-called DPR and LPR.

This territory is being transferred to the ruble zone and subordinated to the administrative machine of Russia.”

The answer to the attempted “ruble occupation” of the Kherson and Zaporizhzhia regions must be full coverage of the Russian banking and financial systems by sanctions, Zelenskiy added.

Speaking to Ukrainians directly, he urged residents in the regions to resist Russian orders.

Sabotage the orders of the occupiers. Do not cooperate with them. Protest. It is necessary to hold on so that Russia does not manage to distort life in other cities of Ukraine, like it did in Donetsk and Luhansk.”

If Ukraine had collapsed in the first week, this would have been the whole country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Just to add, the '22 Constitution meant very little for issues like that insofar that it could be basically modified at will anyway

As you know, the current Constitution does not prohibit soldiers being sent anywhere. As evidenced by participation by many UN missions.

Relevant Article for those that don't know:

War shall not be declared and the state shall not participate in any war save with the assent of Dáil Éireann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,806 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

So could Ireland join NATO without needing a referendum? If not why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

The reason we are not in NATO is because of British occupation of the North. Nothing to do with the Constitution. That is a historical thing pre-GFA and Articles 2&3 changing

He should have mentioned his sons name in the tweet. Every little helps.