Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Covid 19 Part XXXV-956,720 ROI (5,952 deaths) 452,946 NI (3,002 deaths) (08/01) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,506 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

"Socalise safely"

Would they ever drop this patronising nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,313 ✭✭✭amandstu

Has anyone got any idea why the UK figures for daily deaths on worldometers have been rising quite noticeably over the past few weeks even as daily case numbers are falling fairly precipitously over the same timeframe?

Some statistical quirk?l

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,350 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The same most definitely wouldnt have happened in 20 and 21 and to suggest it would have shows a blatent disregard for science, logic and critical thinking.

Cases and hospital numbers are dropping with absolutely no lockdowns, restrictions or masks in place.

The same thing happened in Sweden in 2020.

So you seem to be suggesting that what happened wouldn't have happened... Almost like rewriting history to suit your own narrative.

Many more people would have died without interventions in 20 and 21.

The virus was different back then. This current strain causes less sickness in people. That coupled with a better immunity towards it make it less of an issue for us. Not the case before.

At the peak in Jan 2021 we had hospitals at capacity, many deaths. You reckon no lockdown at at time would have meant dropping hospitalisations?

Get a grip.

Sweden? This Sweden?

https://www.google.com/amp/s/abcnews.go.com/amp/Health/scathing-evaluation-swedens-covid-response-reveals-failures-control/story%3fid=83644832

Yes, cases and hospital numbers would have dropped back then as they are now and like they did in Sweden in 2020.

Lots of people worked hard to try and make Sweden look like a blood bath but the excess deaths never really confirmed it. Their excellent health service is the reason they have so many people in the at risk demographic.

Nobody is suggesting we should have all copied everything that Sweden did. But they certainly proved that severe lockdowns and restrictions didn't have the impact that many believe.

The harsh reality is that we all got a little bit too hysterical and became obsessed with Draconian restrictions that actually did very little other than leave us with huge debt and inflation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The UK report all deaths within 30 days of a positive covid test, as opposed to deaths caused or probably caused by covid.

It means that the UK death figures have been functionally meaningless since late December because millions have a positive covid test in the last 30 days.

Nonsense. At what point would they have started dropping back down? When ICU hit 300 or 400 or more? At some point numbers would drop down, no doubt. But based on the illness that the virus was causing at the time, without restrictions many more people would have ended up in hospitals and died. I don't think you appear to grasp that the current varients are different to the ones being dealt with previously.

Again though, looking at Ireland right now and Sweden in 2020, I don't believe many/any more would have died.

Otherwise the likes of Sweden would have been a blood bath when they actually had much fewer deaths than lots of countries.

I don't even really mind that we locked down in spring 2020 or winter 2021. It's more the other 14 or 15 months that annoys me. When everything was grand but we insisted on nonsense severe Draconian restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Yep, also i think it’s 1 in 13 people have the virus at the moment in the UK so it’s not surprising that if you die in the UK from a heart attack or struck by lightning some will be positive.

Our hospitalisations are nicely down this morning to 811 from 904. Nice little drop. Unfortunately because of the long bank holiday weekend and with less discharges we’ll probably see a bit of a rise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Very surprised, it dropped by 20 overnight, which is rare. I'd say a load of test results came in overnight that were clear, so people got removed from the covid list.

There'll be a decent drop again tonight, hospitals will discharge as many people as possible to get them home for Easter.

We can stop looking now tbh, hospital numbers don't matter any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Micky 32

Hello BA.2.12. 23% growth advantage over BA.2 so we can expect another f****g wave. The wave itself doesn’t bother me but we’ll have to listen to the zealouts again.

We already had our BA.2 wave. BA.2.12 has some interesting mutations but it's really just a sub-lineage. I don't see why it would cause a wave all on its own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,853 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,521 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Jac's musings on Sweden and restrictions has all been debunked before, it is of course total nonsense but some people can't handle being consistently wrong for 2 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭robbiezero

State of the Late late show audience in their handed out masks.

Easy see why apes like Covid Claire and Paranoid Pat get such traction.

I spent 2 years telling people that cases would drop without restrictions.

Was called everything from a granny killer to a far right lunatic to a conspiracy theorist.

Apparently only lockdowns and restrictions would bring cases down or bodies would pile up in the streets.

Of course in reality here we are with with cases dropping and no need for lockdowns or restrictions.

I didn't have to resort to name calling. Just had to look at the data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,332 ✭✭✭✭Jim_Hodge

They didn't drop without restrictions though. They dropped following restrictions.

Don't you get tired beating the same drum every day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Stormyteacup

But does it not merit a closer look at Sweden’s policies. Their drops in cases after waves in early pandemic times were not due to restrictions - so what was happening there? They did implement restrictions when there was a possibility of healthcare overload, but aside from those periods, restrictions were benign.

All counties experienced waves regardless of level of restrictions. Those waves passed without exception, regardless of restrictions. Some countries with poor healthcare capacities opted for more stringent restrictions, necessarily, but all waves peaked and ebbed at some point, per nature. Understandably healthcare provision needed to be protected but the idea that restrictions stopped waves of the virus in its path is total nonsense.

Restrictions mitigated serious illness and death but only through reduction of contact and/or ‘cocooning’ - the only way to interrupt an airborne virus. Both unsustainable for an entire functional society, except for in short bursts, but both entirely optional and possible for any individual at risk or in fear, as a long term mitigation of serious illness or death.

We may have paused or flattened the curve of a wave through restrictions, but to claim that waves abated on account of restrictions (other than no contact lockdown) is nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,506 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Hospital numbers down to 732 tonight, big drop. ICU 52

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,162 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Micky, you really need to get off the internet I think! If you keep looking for this sort of information, you'll find it. I rarely hear about any Covid stories anymore, apart from the odd venture into this thread. Most people don't know, nor care, about these variants and sub-lineages anymore. I'd argue that these are things for medical experts to monitor, not the general public. Such as it was pre-Covid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,785 ✭✭✭celt262

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,157 ✭✭✭StevenToast

The next 2 years are crucial

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭TracyMartell

What’s the craic with getting a test these days? Do you have to pay for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭john why

Are the hse still sending close contact messages, a friend got one and was wondering if its a scam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,521 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Literally (and I mean literally) everything you posted was systematically and completely debunked by numerous posters and literally everyone else has already moved on from COVID apart from yourself who still seems to be obsessed by it, watching the news for signs of mask wearing, keeping an eye on people going to shops to try and show some outrage.

And everyone called out that this would happen, that some posters wouldn't be mentally able to handle being so wrong for such a long period of time that they would keep banging the drum reposting already debunked nonsense and here we are.

It also turned out that a number of those posters turned out to be putinheads and conspiracy theorists of which zero other people were surprised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

You have the memory of the goldfish if you think that hospitals never had huge issues in winter. It is quite normal for bed capacity to run out even.

And resorting to one of the typical phrases of the doom merchants, "get a grip", points to a lack of evidence for one of the incorrect assumptions on which a lot of our restrictions were based.

If it's normal for bed capacity to run out during winter time what do you think having a few additional thousand Covid cases in hospital and a couple of hundred more (with restrictions in place) would have meant? Get a grip? Very frustrating trying to have an adult conversation based on reasoning with some people. Apologies for the use of the term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭Amadan Dubh

Don't need to apologise, just don't use it as it is hard to take a side I disagree with when I see "cop on", "do the right thing" and "get a grip" as arguments, personally speaking when I tried to discuss the logic behind restrictions the last two years!

Great to see hospital numbers dropping by over 50% in just a week or so. We're very lucky we held our nerve. Can you imagine if we'd caved and brought the mask mandate back... For the next decade we'd be hearing calls for masks or restrictions.

Thankfully we can see now that they aren't necessary.