Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ukraine (Mod Note & Threadbanned Users in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,396 ✭✭✭corkie

@circadian

To Putin's unhinged essays, including the one from last summer decrying the same and throwing Orthodoxy into it and claiming that the Ukranian Orthodox Chuch is illegitimate and that the Russian Orthodox Church is the true religious authority in Ukraine.

Saint Vladimir: Is there a religious angle to the invasion of Ukraine?

One of the theories doing round with Russia's invasion of Ukraine is that Putin wants to revive the grandeur of the Great Russian Empire or the Soviet Union the least. Another theory taking roots is Putin's quest to re-establish the Russian Orthodox Church.

What is worst an 'unstable' Putin or a 'fascist' leader on some religious quest to restore/create some “Holy Russia Motherland” and “Third Roman Empire”?

But that has as much connection to the war, as does the quest for Oil/Gas reserves in Ukraine?

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

To veer off into this for a moment..

Pretty much every country condemned the violent oppression and brutal crackdown during protests in Syria. That violence only escalated. Over the years Assad carried out an estimated 70 chemical weapons attacks total. After one chemical attack, Obama went to congress to get a greenlight to hit Syria with punitive strikes, he didn't get it. After another chemical attack later on, Trump just straight up ordered limited strikes on an airfield. That's pretty much it. The "West" and most of the world criticised, sanctioned, and even soft-armed (badly) Syria but there was no largescale military action (except for Russia in support of Assad). After Iraq 2003 and then the Arab spring, the Western world has learnt that if some dictator starts to slaughter people, no matter how black/white the situation, we can't really intervene militarily on any large scale, and certainly not preemptively (Bush and co put paid to that). Separately Russia, the US, Israel, Iran and most countries did however work together (independently) to fight ISIS, however that was a unique situation, and ISIS was identified by everyone as a critical regional and global threat that had to be dealt with.

There are always geopolitical interests and complexities, unfortunately there are some individuals always assume the worst geopolitical intentions possible in every scenario. Likewise they cherry-pick history and generalise about complex situations in order to consistently paint certain countries (or groups of countries) in the worst possible light. In some cases going to far that they end up indirectly (or directly) supporting totalitarian leader or brutal dictators.

I took part in marches against the Iraq war, and followed it on a daily basis. Despite being opposed to that war I understood that Bush and co didn't want to "destroy" Iraq or "conquer" it, they were just on a very naive and ill-informed mission to liberate the Iraqis from systematic dictatorship and had notions that somehow it would set a domino effect in countries in the region with dictatorships. It was botched from the start, a horrendous mistake, they used faulty info, and they indirectly created a much larger mess. However any comparisons between that and Russia/Ukraine are far and few between.

The problem is that certain individuals lazily portray that situation as e.g. the "same" as Russia invading Ukraine. Their agenda being to systematically paint the US/West/whatever as "the same" as Russia (or worse). This is a technique that Putin consistently uses himself. This constantly false equivalence. They are invading Ukraine? "So what, look at what America did in Iraq, Libya". It's a deflective technique that hides context. It's also a big red flag.

In terms of the current war, Russia under Putin is invading Ukraine, a lot of the unconnected past is simply whataboutery to satisfy some partisan world views and often has no place in normal objective discussion.

When I switch on and see that Irish MEP, whatever her name is, it's immediately clear she is obsessed with blaming the West for everything, assuming the worst geopolitical intentions, absolutely fanatical and partisan in her world views. Unfortunately I see some of her (and Putin's) talking points mirrored in these thread. It's fine to criticise administrations (they absolutely deserve it) but within reason. When individuals step outside that it's a slippery slope.

Anyway back to the Russia/Ukraine situation..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Nordner

"As for the rest of your post, I have no idea what it has to do with this thread"

I was using the Syrian pipeline war (disguised as a Civil War) as an example to illustrate my point in relation to Ukraine.

We are told: 'This about the freedom of the Syrian people'

or (in the case of The Russians in Ukraine) 'We are liberating them from Nazis and protecting ethnic minorities'

Or (The Wests stance in Ukraine) 'We need to protect the Ukrainians from the crazy Russian dogs. Our arming and training Ukrainian military for the past decade or so and flirting with the idea of them joining NATO did not provoke Russia in the least'

Meanwhile it is all, once again, about fossil fuels and exploitation of natural resources.

Truth is, neither side gives two **** about the ordinary Ukrainian people.

Expect similar things between Turkey and Greece over reserves off Cyprus and between Israel and Lebanon over reserves off their coasts as well.

Water wars in Africa seem inevitable as well...

Such is the way of the world...

I would have thought the parallels would have been obvious but

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭liamtech

With the Caveat that this is entirely my opinion - off the top of my head

I dont really buy into any of the supposed 'religious goals/crusade' angle- I doubt Putin personally gives a rats about Religion in general. The Russian Orthodox Church is a useful tool for Putin, and he has used it for years.

An obvious example is Russia's mistreatment of the LGBTQ community.

• The church are 'naturally' opposed to the community
    • Putin sees a way of bringing Church-goers into his base
    • Laws are passed against the community
    • Voila - job done -

Now there are those within his administration that probably are rather fanatically religious - but again i would speculate that this is merely useful idiots for the 'dear leader'

Putin engages in a kind of 'catch all' political machination - if a large group of people in Russia (or a powerful group like a church) believe something - then, he believes it, and provided it doesnt overlap with his own plans - he will adopt new views at the drop of a hat.

Its shallow, pseudo-populism of the lowest kind. And its been going on for years. During Euro 2016 when Russian hooligans ran rampant in France, a Russian state official (dwell on this for a moment) - responded saying the French police are probably used to dealing with gay's, as opposed to 'real men'

A senior Russian police official has claimed his French counterparts were unable to handle Russia’s “normal” football fans in Marseille this weekend because they are more used to policing “gay pride parades”. Vladimir Markin, a spokesman for Russia’s equivalent of the FBI, made the comment on his verified Twitter account. His comment follows an earlier outburst from a senior Russian football official and leading politician, who apparently praised his country’s hooligans for defending Russia’s honour. “I don’t see anything wrong with the fans fighting,” read a post on Twitter on an account in the name of Igor Lebedev. “Quite the opposite, well done lads, keep it up!”

Its depraved populism - it disgusts me. I cant think of words some times - selfish disgusting populism

@corkie I get what you are saying btw - and don't misunderstand me, its a valid question. I just think in all likelihood, given your three options

• Fascist
    • Unstable Leader
    • Religious lunatic

Its probably none, or perhaps all, of the above? I think fascist is appropriate if i am honest. And yet if you think about fascist leaders, they usually HAD AN ACTUAL ETHOS/IDEOLOGY? I dont think Putin has

I think he is an imperialist - pure and simple

All IMHO of course, and interested in your thoughts

Sic semper tyrannis - thus always to Tyrants

I had a brief conversation with someone just after the invasion who opened with "Ahh, I'd watch the news but I form my own opinions on it" and funny enough I knew exactly where he stood. :P Couple of bits of back and forth and I suggested he try to make a point that didn't mention America in the first 2 lines. We haven't spoken about it since. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

While there is technically nothing wrong with what he said there are certain phrases, like that, that are typically warnings that you're about to hear some dreadful opinions:

• "I like to do my own research"
    • "I think Ireland would be better off out of the EU"
    • "You can't trust any media - they're all a pack of liars"
    • "gravy train"
    • "The Nazis were obviously bad but..."

I completely agree, those statements are usually followed by some seriously bizarre ideas and opinions - was very true during the pandemic. I have the misfortune of knowing quite a few conspiracy theorists

- and il raise you

• 'You should be more open minded' (usually stated just before a crazed conspiracy based thesis is offered)
    • 'How do you know they aren't lying' (usually stated in response to one having offered actual evidence from a credible source - frequently thrown at me about the Vaccines having been endorsed by the CDC, WHO, ECDC et al)
    • 'Listen that's all true... but' (followed by a theory that is mutually exclusive to that deemed correct in the prior statement)
    • 'Its well known that <Insert credible official> is funded by <insert institution or organization>'
    • 'Yes Russia is the aggressor in this war, but its no different to...' (followed immediately by something that is factually different and not at all comparable)

Iv a very good friend who is smart, and very decent (a good salt as my granddad would have said) - But he is struggling on this topic. He is just so used to the US/WEST/NATO being at fault. He tends to be less obnoxious than some we have encountered here. And he is good faith. However he just cant wrap his head around the fact that this is a 'Black and white' situation- I think this is the real unforeseen collateral damage of the War on Terror Era. People really are struggling to understand that the west is not to blame.

I usually try and get them to realize that they can continue to fault the west for Iraq - while recognizing that this situation is unrelated -

image.png

Just an FYI - this special is on in 20 mins - Not exactly sure if its worth watching. It could be a complete train-wreck of an interview - but anyway - worth a watch (maybe??)

image.png

From BBC and SKY - Russia has been suspended from the UNHRC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,419 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Good news at least.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,672 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I dont know why Sky News give even an inch of time to Putins Spokesman

Your basically letting them air their lies and propaganda

I tend to agree - but Mark Austin is giving him a good grilling

He is holding him to account here - which is good

But yes everything coming out of the Russians mouth is ********t

I find those interviews a bit pointless at this stage. You know how they will go.

The Russian's tell a pack of lies and the interviewer tries to nail them at every opportunity.

I'm not sure what purpose they serve but at this stage I'd nearly prefer not to give these people airtime even under these circumstances.

It's the broadcasting equivalent of trying to argue with some of the bad-faith posters who have popped up on this thread.

yea - i agree

Its hard to watch

Fair play to Mark Austin though - you can tell he is seething - and he is going through everything with him btw -

But Peskov is a moral lunatic - he is literally rambling - if you replace the accent and the topic - this guy would sound like a Qanon follower

But i agree it is pointless - bewilderingly still watching though and blood pressure is increasing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Remember, no matter what, that the ultimate goal of most media, especially for-profit ones, is drawing viewers. They have no interest in doing the "right thing" or "getting to the truth". They broadcast things which they hope will drag in the most eyeballs.

Eviscerating a Kremlin mouthpiece in an interview is going to be entertaining watching for their target market, and that's why they do it. Even if they are actually doing more harm than good in the process.

Look I watched it. Yes Sky is a commercial organization but it is also a reputable news agency. I cannot see that it did any harm, as such.

Its an example of Free Western Journalism - Sky interviewed a Kremlin spokesman live and Mark Austin did a fantastic job of going through all of the lies, and propaganda. And yes Mr Peskov just waffled, and disgraced himself, and Russia.

I think it harsh to suggest Sky News have 'no interest in doing the right thing, or getting to the truth' - They are a very straight shooting news organization - commercial yes - but straight shooting

Now if you had been talking about FOX or GBNews - i would be in total agreement

You would have to ask the question - Why did Peskov go on there? What purpose did it serve him or Russia?

My opinion

• Distort the facts
    • Feed the Conspiracy theorists in the west (some of whom we have interacted with on this thread) - gives them something to point to (remember that said theorists have no interest judging sources in a credible way. So to them, the interview was bread and butter - to you n me - it was blood boiling i dare say)
    • Offer a highly edited dubbed version in Russia where 'Peskov stood up to western Propagandists' - and 'defended the honor of Russia'

I mean its nonsense - he is not convincing me, or you - i dare say he will convince no one - but remember there are people who just dont buy any of this so - They probably watched that interview and cheered Peskov on. They are already convinced that NATO/EU/AMERICA/UKRAINE are to blame

@Brussels Sprout I get what you said earlier - and i felt weird watching it. Part of me wanted to switch off, it was disgusting- but i watched it, i kinda made a point to get through it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Did anyone watch that "Road to Putins War" documentary that was on RTE a couple of weeks ago? It was a brilliant watch.

I felt like that with Zelenskys appearance at the Dail yesterday. We all knew how it was going to go. Zelensky thanks for the support, says we need to do more, Irish lads condemn Putin, say how terrible it is and we stand with Ukraine and we'll do X and Y.

And of course the standing ovation which is just for show. Seems like the whole thing was just done so everyone there can say they were there when history was made when photos are shown in 10 years.

It's to galvanize support for Ukraine. Zelensky is now in a battle to keep the conflict in people's minds, so that Ukraine keeps getting support.

It's the main story on every media channel in the country every day? How is it going to go out of peoples minds?

That doesn't usually last. Once the conflict slows down, people (naturally) start to lose interest, which of course is not good for Ukraine and their efforts.

Also the international countries impetus and stomach to tackle Russia wanes. Glad to see it's still somewhat holding up after almost 6 weeks, but if the conflict drags on, this will naturally drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭eire4

I think there might have been a bit of post war thinking at play here as well. Ukraine will be wanting to join the EU and will need our support to help make that happen.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

They may want to be a member, but I would be shocked if they get anywhere near the bloc in the next 10 years. A shattered economy and not like the prewar issues of corruption and so on will have gone away. There are probably a half dozen countries in the region in better shape - and even then. It's nothing but a personal belief yet I hold that Hungary and Poland have given many in the EU pause about accepting any more ... work in progress countries east of the Danube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭eire4

I hear you about Hungary and Poland and the various anti democratic moves made by both countries domestically. I think what this will do is make the EU negotiate in cast iron democratic principles as part of any new countries accession treaty and punishments if they break them. I would expect that as the norm going forward. No doubt it will be some years before Ukraine do formally become an EU member. Poland for instance took 10 years from the time of application in 1994 before officially becoming a member in 2004. I do hope Ukraine ends up joining though. I think in the long term they would become a valuable member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭ilkhanid

It needs to be nailed down. On democratic principles, NO BACKSLIDING.

Comprehensive piece by Mark Felton on everything Ukraine gave up in terms of Nukes at the end of the Cold War - not just Nukes - lots of really decent equipment that would have been useful during this conflict

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The dirty toe rags in the Socialist Party didn't clap, couldn't applaud a Jew who is fighting Russia and waving a national flag.

That's not an earner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

The EU leadership will never allow Ukraine to join, ever.