Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National Hurling League 2022 Discussion

1131415161719»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,153 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I'd love to believe galway are going to be useless because then kk will probably get a handy run through Leinster and just have to hope to avoid Waterford and limerick in the semi to have a very good shot of sneaking into a final.

But galway aren't going to be anything like as bad as the League. Shefflin had no time at all with those players before it kicked off, I don't he targeted it in the least. Add into that he missed a lot of it due to the tragic loss of his brother and you can read nothing into galway yet. They lack a bit of scoring up front but I really don't expect them to play one dimensional hurling in the championship (someone earlier saying he is just applying what worked on kilkenny, obviously never watched his ballyhale team play. Would be shocked if they went route one all summer tbh)

Post edited by Realt Dearg Sec on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,579 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

If you think you need to sneak anywhere you probably are not good enough to win the All Ireland in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭farmerval

Waterford were incredible; Cork were a shambles; but only six points in it at the end?

Saturday night was a strange game. Full of mini patches of dominance for both teams. The third Waterford goal completely ended the game. Cork seemed to have no plan on how to create goal chances it was all either plan A. really slow passing s=around defence before finally a long ball into the corner for Hoggie or Connolly, this yielded 3-4 frees for Hoggie, that was the total return. Plan B. Carry forward and shoot from distance. Plans A or B didn't allow for goal scoring chances.

Mark Coleman won a great ball and stopped the ball going out for a 65, regained his feet and sent a super ball to Barrett crossing the Waterford 65, first early ball Cork got into their forwards, he ran forward and popped a point. If the same early ball was delivered to the Waterford forwards would they have settled for a point??? I don't think so.

Waterford are currently extremely fluid, Patrick Curran scoring from distance and popping a goal from 10m yards, Stephen Bennett scoring from close range and 90 yards, there is great fluidity within an extremely cohesive structure, in every situation they all seem to know what each other are doing, they're all on the same page. Cork look the opposite, when the version of hurling they want to play isn't working out, they look lost, like under 12's who can't understand why they're losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭_NAGDEFY

If I was a Waterford person I'd be very annoyed with Derek McGrath saying they're the team to beat.

Whatever you believe, in your own mind, you don't start putting pressure on your county in public. The Kerrys and Kilkennys play themselves down, stay out of the limelight and keep the heads down. At one stage I thought McGrath might have been jealous of Cahill and blowing Waterford up for a fall.

Certain counties are 'hype' counties, prone to getting carried away. My own county Laois, is one. When we won minor all irelands in football in 1996 and 1997 Sam arriving soon was only natural! The two biggest hype counties since the mid 1990s are Mayo and Waterford. Back in 2017 John Mullane was losing the run of himself going to ride naked in Waterford if they won. Fan were beyond hyper. Some of that effects teams. Players have to live in that environment. John Maughan or David Brady, without fail will announce Mayo are going to win before an AI final. Mayo and Waterford share that manic support. Now it's great craic etc but it only leads to a roller coaster. Too much energy ends up being invested in this side show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,061 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Wonder did Cahill let the lads out on the piss for a few days, hopefully he did they deserve it!!

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,153 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I know we're not goog enough to win the All Ireland, not sure how that contradicts what I said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

The hurling league is completely unfair on the likes of Laois, Antrim, Offaly and Westmeath. These counties need to be competing in the old Division 1B. Whatever format is good enough for Division 2A should also be good enough for Division 1B.

Division 1B counties have previously won the All-Ireland. It was evidence that 1B was providing competitive hurling before the Championship.

I know that 1A managers were fighting tooth and nail to avoid 1B. That was their fault for not finding the right balance between competitiveness and development.