Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,500 ✭✭✭circadian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I'd disagree with that assessment. The only trump card Russia has atm is energy supplies but the West is now seeking alternatives to those supplies and will continue to ensure they are weaned off Russian energy totally. As for general commerce Russia has shown itself to be a risky, devious and wholly unreliable business partner and unless there are serious wholesale changes to its regime, policies and governance I highly doubt businesses will be flocking to them.

As regards reparations to Ukraine some of those can be taken from the state funds frozen and the oligarchs assets that have been seized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,023 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Putin has Russian people and politicians poisoned and murdered. They are kidnapping and even murdering Ukrainian mayors, raining bombs down on men, women and children. I would be surprised if the Kremlin wasn't trying to take him out, this is how they operate.

I would disagree on short memories, e.g. Cuba is still under sanctions.

Russia is toxic and will likely remain so for a long time. They will likely default soon, they are stealing leased planes, stealing foreign company assets, the mask is fully off and they've burnt countless bridges. Yes other countries will step in to fill the void, but they will exact a large cost on Russia just to do business, would you lend the Ru govt money? would you invest or setup house in Russia knowing what it does with foreign assets? It's going to get very, very expensive for Russia to do normal business with the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

You are talking about a guy that has scored quite an amount of them already.

Besides in his mind he is the one keeping score and he is 10 up.

I think if he does manage to kill Zelensky his family in Switzerland will be taken out.

Gary Kasparov spoke about this, after he got thrown in jail because he challenged him for presidential election.

According to Kasparov he doesn't bother with the chess board, but just tries to find ways to take his opponent out.

He is anything but a genius, he is a thug pure and simple.

He tries to find weaknesses in opponents, no doubt using the old KGB blackmail and buy off tricks and when that doesn't work if one is lucky he throws one in jail on trumped up charges (ala Khodorkovsky or Navalny) or he has people simply assassinated.

He rules like a mafia boss, through fear and rewards.

The wholesale looting of Russia by himself and his cronies is coming back to bite him as the military is looking like a bit of a shambles.

All one has to do is look how much the Sochi Olympic Games cost and how billions were siphoned away to some in his inner circle.

Not sure if his son-in-laws family business was one of the major beneficaries?

Likewise with World Cup.

So if that was done for major one off state expenditure, imagine what has been done with military budget over last 20 years.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Jaysus wait until old Vlad fins out they are linked to company in Belfast.

He will nuke for sure then 😮

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,668 ✭✭✭secman

Ordinary Joe Soap Russians seem easy to have their eyes wiped. Senior KGB essentially civil servants divided up State owned businesses and many multi billionaire were created. In the meantime state funds from those businesses were not available to reinvest in their military and the **** show is there for all to see, not fit for purpose military equipment...running out of fuel...couldn't make it up and meanwhile Super Yachts running for cover around the globe..

Mushrooms.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,575 ✭✭✭rogber

Exactly. Macron and UK already said Europe doesn't want regime change in Russia and sanctions will end when Russia withdraws from (most of) Ukraine. In no time at all they'll be back to lining each others' pockets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 270 ✭✭Perseverance The Second

It appears the Russians are starting to take lessons from ISIS and other assorted Syrian fighters with the introduction of technicals.

The Tweet translation

"Interesting development.

Russia is beginning to adapt to the Ukrainian strategy of asymmetric warfare.

No heavy tank formations, but fast, mobile units - here with heavy machine guns on Toyota Hilux off-road vehicles.

A "syrification" of war."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Reading between the lines I would say given the absolute clusterfuck that the Russians have made invading and prosecuting the war that there is a very high probability that they will be dealing with someone new in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,441 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I don't see the sanctions being lifted quickly at all and they could be in place for years. A mere ceasefire in Ukraine and halting of fighting would be nowhere near enough to get them lifted. Russia was already under heavy enough sanctions since 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

But there has to be some incentive for Putin to withdraw, bottom line is morally that everybody wants Russia to stop killing Ukranians asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,801 ✭✭✭✭josip

Things are not as bad as you make out for the Ukrainians. Only the top right is a Hilux. Still a serious escalation from Russia in terms of tech and capability. It's what many feared, that they've been keeping their higher end stuff in reserve. It will all depend now on how many Hiluxes they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,337 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Where has it happened? Yes Russia is big and Russia has a lot of resources people need but it's a long time since any country has done something like Russia has here. It is quite outrageous and it rips up + takes a huge **** all over "international order", idea of sovereign states & peoples and their rights etc. that US and West more broadly have (generally) been supporting since WW2.

Conquering your peaceful and unthreatening + democratic neighbour, levelling its cities, killing & expelling its people + taking territory like Genghis Khan or similar, basically because you have the "power" or think you have is not supposed to be on any more.

As regards Will Smith giving someone a slap I see it is below the fold on BBC website and smothered by Ukraine news. Maybe I'm wrong but I really think on a normal slow news day one of the award winners getting up and smacking the Oscars host in the mouth over a bad joke he told would have been at the top ... Whatever about the US, for us in Europe this is not going away I expect.

Post edited by fly_agaric on

Closing in on 2,000 pieces of Russian war machinery put out of action..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Economics101

Looking at FR24 just now there are 4 US plus a Swedish Electronic surveillance aircraft over Poland and Romania, + a tanker or two. This seems more intensive than previously. Antything up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,062 ✭✭✭✭briany

@Glenomra

Do you honestly believe that. The western world have such short memories. Why today virtually all American media are talking about an incident at the Oscars not about the war.

It's a bit like saying that a man who is recovering from a broken foot, masturbates one morning, and for a few moments forgets about his pain, so that must mean he's over the thing. No, the pain will return. Similarly, a brief buzz about Will Smith slapping Chris Rock does not indicate that concern about events in Ukraine has abated. It indicates that, shockingly, human beings can think about more than one thing at a time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,919 ✭✭✭GM228

Well, they can certainly ask, but, I'm not sure they will ever get the answer they seek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,104 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

I'd say they have a very good chance. The same for the stolen aircraft, watches, businesses seized and ships full of grain - all will be able to take Russia to court and demand compensation be taken from Russia's frozen foreign assets. I'd say there is a chance they won't get anything back as the losses and claims will likely exceed the amount frozen.

Of course they likely will try and make them a condition of any peace process so that might mean no one gets compensated.

Seems Sergey Laverov, Russian foreign minister has announced that we’re all effectively banned from entering Russia, as citizens of ‘unfriendly’ countries.

It includes the entire EU, UK, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Switzerland, Iceland, Japan, Korea, Taiwan and several other places that also make the ‘cool’ list.

Surely the embassy on Orwell Road is a bit unnecessary in that case and I don’t see what we need more than 1 diplomatic rep Moscow for. Whole thing should be drastically scaled back.

There's a lot more than that (around 15), pretty much normal of late, most I have counted so far in a single session was circa 30 military planes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭JoChervil

Putin is far from being a genius. His mental abilities are like of any mediocre middle level manager in a big company creating a net of cronies. Such people are usually street smart. That's all. They need to create such nets because on their own they are much weaker than average. Companies luckily can deal with them and throw them out, if company stops performing. If not company is usually going down. Some companies are so scared of such people that have a rule even not hiring married couples.

If such net is at the top of the country, so only the whole country can go down with them. It is very difficult to remove such net of parasites. So I suspect a prolonged sanctions will be needed to starve the whole country to finally starve and deal with these parasites....

It's like a whole country taking a chemo to get rid of cancer.

For those of you that think Russia will be welcomed back into the international club any time soon... based on some vague Capitalist reason - You do remember they threatened many western countries with nuclear attack? I don't think that's quite sunk in with some of ye yet. Russia as long as Putin and a few others are in place will remain FUBAR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭jolivmmx

Wouldn’t you be embarrassed not to be on that list? I have a feeling this list of nations will be well regarded by history

It's not that simple as saying take them to court and use seized assets to pay for damages, there would be huge legal questions over jurisdiction to start with, recognition of the courts and enforcement of any orders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Anyone commenting on Russians should watch this, its auto narrated in English, which is annoying but it explains the big differences between Russians and the west.