Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,288 ✭✭✭brickster69

A good video to help people understand the situation. Just spend some time and listen to what he is saying and then you can make your own mind up.

"if you get on the wrong train, get off at the nearest station, the longer it takes you to get off, the more expensive the return trip will be."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,067 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

It helps tie the Rouble in to a tangible asset that is rising in price.

There is talk that they might accept gold.

Russia and especially China have very large stores of gold and commodities built up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Lads I don't know about the oligarchs and the connected ones deserting the sinking ship rumours.

Most of them were smart enough to move their own ships, sorry yachts, out of harms way to safe destinations like Turkey, Maldives, etc.

Actually very interesting to see how two of Abramovich's mega yachts made it through the Med and to Turkey.

Once EU sanctions kicked in they stayed in international waters, skirting totally around Greek waters, until they reached Turkish coast.

Quite a few boats, including some linked to Putin himself made it back to Kailingrad or Maldives.

They other thing they have been doing for months is turning off their mandatory trackers.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,548 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I imagine he was referring to those 2 lobotomised fúcknuts who "represent" us in Europe.

1 Hour and 20 minutes.

Could you just give us a breakdown of the stoned lad that looks like he is streaming from a soup kitchen?

No fun having a 7 star hotel on the water if you can't dock in the prestigious places you are used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

The patreon is called "coach red pill" so think will maybe give it a miss + save 1hr 20 min.

Also saw this: but I have not had time to read it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

TBH he has a point. We have weapons gathering dust that will never be used in anger (hopefully!) that would aid their efforts against the Russians. We're not neutral in this fight. We are squarely on the Ukraines side. We should give them everything they need to defend themselves because the reality is they are also defending Europe and Ireland from the biggest threat to our peaceful existence Putin's Russia.

Do you honestly think the Russians are going to treat use differently because we only supported Ukraine with non-military aid, bollix we're in with everyone else who have provided any aid at all to the Ukrainians. We need to stop this pearl clutching and go all in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭ronivek

I randomly picked a couple of points in the video and listened for like 30 seconds: I'm pretty sure he has fundamental misunderstandings about things like oil production and grain exports which would render any of his conclusions worthless. Also in general I find it a good rule of thumb to avoid people who can monologue for literal hours on end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,990 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Ugh your posting the alt-right sex tourist again?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nada emotional about it Raoul, I can happily suggest someone should fúck off quite dispassionately. 😁 Even though we're the furthest geographical distance in Europe from Ukraine we've done more than most in practical real world humanitarian help for Ukrainian people and were quick of the mark to do so, are in the vanguard of pushing for their EU membership, are fully behind sanctions against Russia and are open to more. All of which Zelenskyy has apparently acknowledged and thanked the Taoiseach for, so I dunno where he's coming out with this "almost with" Ukraine bollocks.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

I agree, my wife and I have been helping out the Ukrainian refugees in the town here as much as possible since they arrived. She probably put a good 30-40 hrs in last week organising with them, signing up for medical card, finding schools to take the kids etc. So I feel we are helping as much as we can, but I wouldn't begrudge him the swipe at Ireland with respect to the military supplies, especially given the situation he is in. We can and should do more.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,023 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

The article misrepresents what was actually said; aside from anything else.

There's also an argument to be made that diplomatic and potentially peacekeeping efforts through the UN would benefit from an Ireland who didn't send lethal aid to Ukraine. Granted we're nowhere near the same league as Israel or Turkey in terms of access to Russia but it's still likely our diplomatic and humanitarian aid could be more useful in the long-term than whatever tiny amount of arms we might supply in the short term.

I'm all for emptying our warehouses of non-lethal aid if that's something Ukraine actually wants and needs.

Neutrality is not about supporting one side or the other, it's about not militarily supporting one side or the other. We can be 100% behind Ukrainians, poliically and humanitarianly and it's very clear we are, or should be very clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

The Ukrainian invasion defence seems to have entered a new phase.

The Russians have always appeared to be able to rain ARTILLERY missiles down, with impunity, on anywhere within range but as they're pushed back out of range, all they will be able to do is further destroy those cities and towns still within range.

Therefore a no-fly zone is becoming more relevant as it could deter AERIAL bombardments, and it's becoming more politically feasible to call it a humanitarian action.

Unfortunately, the Russians have shown themselves to be filthy, dirty, bsatards who would be quite capable of employing chemical weapons now that their arses have been branded. On the bright side, they have been warned, so are possibly fearful of the kind of further humiliation that would ensue.

Also, it has to be remembered that this dark age excuse for a nation is still a superpower based on its volume of nuclear warheads alone.

It is cruelly unfair that the Ukrainians have had to do all the heavy lifting for the "West".

If a Ukrainian ever asks me to kiss their boots, I will thank them for the privilege.

I doubt Zelenskyy woke up this morning thinking "Right, if I can talk the Irish around we'll have this sorted in a week". Maybe there's an eye on the future as well but he'll be aiming more getting it picked up elsewhere.

Another summary of the situation days 26 to 29 (light pinch of salt, but generally in line with most assessments)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,805 ✭✭✭✭josip

I think they'll have severe difficulty going any further than Kherson, I would expect the Russians to blow the bridges at Kherson and Nova Khakova if they lost control of the north western bank.

I don't know why the Ukrainians hadn't the bridges mined and blow them when this all kicked off. Apart from a railway bridge, the next road bridge across the Dnieper is Zaporizhzhia, 350km upstream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Also Ireland imo are taking the correct approach re Ukraine joining the EU. Ukraine as it stands is a divided country, Crimea + Donbas regions. It would make no sense accepting a country that is currently in that position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke III

He's not talking about military supplies (of which we have bugger-all anyway, even if we were constitutionally in a position to offer them, which we're not).

He's talking about help with fastracking their EU membership.

The British bombed German cities first and Germany then started 'The Blitz'. Not sure if Germany were bombing other cities before then.

But, Dresden can't be excused. Go start another thread if you wish to discuss further. Or riddle me why Omagh was a terrorist attack and Dresden wasn't. But, in another thread.

There's also an argument to be made that diplomatic and potentially peacekeeping efforts through the UN would benefit from an Ireland who didn't send lethal aid to Ukraine.

This. What weapons we could send would be in the tupenny hapenny place, but longterm the positives from not doing that will outweigh the negatives. IMHO we should be leveraging our decades of UN peacekeeping and humanitarian and developmental aid to many countries. Since we've chucked out the Church we've sadly also forgotten how thousands of Irish men and women and not just clergy either who "went on the missions" after WW2 and helped build post imperial nations in what used to be termed the "third world". There would be quite the number of older folks in regions like Africa who haven't forgotten that help.

Our position and perception of being one of the very few European nations that didn't have an empire, indeed being one of the few that was under the thumb of one should also play a bigger part in our international politics and actions. We're pretty unique as far as these advantages go and we should be doing more along those lines and not just in Ukraine, but very much in Ukraine after the guns fall silent. We should be among the first to go in to help rebuild the country, something that would benefit them and us enormously, including for the bean counters economically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Mike3549

What about Cyprus? Its in EU and part of it is occupied by Turkey

I mean people still bang on about the no-fly zone which has been categorically shot down by everyone and their dog; whereas what Ukraine badly needs is anti-air capabilities:

• Slovakia has been given two or three Patriot systems by NATO and still don't seem willing to hand over their soviet stuff to Ukraine.
    • The likes of Finland, Egypt, and Greece have systems which Ukraine could immediately use but there doesn't seem to any movement there even though Egypt were allocated a bunch of fighter orders recently.
    • We're a month in and NATO/EU could have been training Ukrainian crews on one or more NATO systems but I guarantee that hasn't been done either.

The "best" we've seen from the West in terms of further anti-air support is the Starstreak system but that is both short range and only available in very limited quantities; and from what I've seen they have only just started training Ukrainians to use this system in Poland.

And the latest thing is we're hearing about anti-ship missiles which I don't believe the Ukrainians have ever asked for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Curious_Case

I am delighted to read that the russian "rabble mob" has chosen to "dig-in" defensively

This is another in a litany of stupid decisions and the Ukrainian Military will have no problem (with satellite assistance) routing them out

I think Kherson was advanced on very quickly at the start. Also it's probably very difficult for a defending army to convince itself to blow up large pieces of infrastructure; especially in the first days of an active defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,448 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

It ought to be noted though that Zelensky has been very direct and outspoken in his live address to nearly every Parliament and is not someone afraid to speak his mind. His attitude is 'We're at war and we're being bombed every day, it's no time for niceties'.