Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,754 ✭✭✭threeball

You keep on talking about a nuclear strike by Putin. This is the same lad who sits 50ft from his own staff for fear of dying from a virus. Do you really think that someone so fcuking cowardly would voluntarily sign his own death warrant by launching a nuclear strike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

At the risk of going Godwin, wasn't old Adolf essentially a meth amphetamine addict?

If Pootz has a steroid abuse problem, he's projecting big time talking about Ukraine being run by drug addicts (is he trying to say Zelensky is one? I don't get it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Admits that civilians are fleeing the Russian forces - doesn't quite tie in with them going in to "liberate" the country from Nazism.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I personally think the talk of NATO on both sides is a red herring. Putin's already got NATO on his doorstep. As Bayonet noted above adding Ukraine to his Russia will add more borders to the NATO presence. The talk of NATO is a boogyman for Putin to frighten his subjects.

Again personally I think the EU is much more of a threat to Putin. He can try to paint it as a boogyman, but he doesn't want his subjects looking too closely, or worse going West. If Ukraine was left to join the EU in say five years, ten years later it would almost certainly look and be a much nicer place to live and do business in than it was and a much nicer place to live and do business in than his precious Russia. Threats of NATO aggression can twist people in panic, but a vision on their doorstep of what to them was a 'part of Russia' with free elections, better rule of law, less corruption, clean streets, better infrastructure, more amenities, better jobs, a better future for their kids and two shiny new VW's in the drive of their little house is a much much bigger threat to Putin's Soviet dreams.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,708 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

When a decision is made, the president identifies himself or herself to military officials at the Pentagon using codes noted on an ID card known as the "biscuit." The order is given, and the weapons are fired.

Except is isn't that simple.

If the President has given an order for the nuclear option to be used, it has to be within a legal framework. That generally means that the US would have to be at war with the country he wants to nuke. Other than that, you fall afoul of a whole lot of previous treaties and conventions. This is where the President's order can be legally over ridden by the chain of command. It's whole point of Command and Control.

It's absolutely not the case that one man gives an order and its automatically carried out, no questions asked. Such a scenario is absurd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Bayonet

Deleted - I think it's fake news. Apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

So far having the opposite effect.

Moldova is one thing, but the Baltics is NATO, completely different kettle of fish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

He already tried to call in a favour from Kazakhstan requesting troops, but they refused.

Doubt any of the other treaty countries really want to throw their sons into the meat grinder for his lunatic war. The organisation could fall apart as they may be more nervous about his intentions for their country.

He could well get the security map redrawn, but not in the way that he thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Botrys

This was reported earlier but by unofficial sources

Now it's the Associated Press

1 General down.

The Ukrainian army just delivered a massive blow to the russians.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,907 ✭✭✭eire4

The current Russian invasion shows just how right the Baltic nations were to join NATO. Would not be surprised to see Finland as a NATO member soon as well as a direct result of this Russian invasion maybe even Sweden too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 496 ✭✭Gile_na_gile

If any of you watch Oliver Stone's Putin interviews which conclude in 2017, he still has that charm that helped him win over the Russian people earlier. He is, of course, very selective about the truth but he defends himself ably. The best part for now is the final part where Stone pushes, a little at least, on how power can corrupt a person. This is the one point where I did not see him able to reply clearly, and he basically had no prepped answer for this other than "the people will decide".

On the balance, while capably of cruelty, he is calm and collected. He enjoys the good questions and the small talk, and occasionally breaks out into English and makes jokes. He is very sharp and an expert in one-to-one discussions, quickly making witty responses or understatements, or subtly owning his achievements. Other times, like the car-driving part, likes to play down his own importance as an individual. I just don't think he is the same person now. Had he retired before the last elections and nominated a successor, he would have been untarnished for Russians.

As a lifelong servant, and master, of the State, he cannot live outside of it and now it has corrupted him too much and it shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,978 ✭✭✭✭Dohnjoe

Called this earlier in the thread

Vladimir Putin has accused Ukrainian forces of using civilians as “human shields”.

Next in the playbook is to start referring to them as "terrorists". If the conflict prolongs, every dirty propaganda trick will be used. "Nazi's" will be discovered, any Ukrainian atrocities will be zoned in on (atrocities inevitably happen in conflicts), possible false flags (Russians shelling Russian villages and claiming it was a Ukrainian attack), you name it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

"Vladimir Putin says Ukraine and Russia are 'one people'

"We have a long history of exterminating our own people, and I have every intention to continue that great tradition."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭snowstorm445

Honestly even when COVID took hold I didn't feel the same sense of dread that I'm feeling now. A rambling loon living in his own delusions and reaching Stalinesque levels of paranoia is in charge of one of the biggest military powers in the world, who are butchering thousands of innocents, spinning a web of lies and projecting their own anger and insecurity onto the world around them. And as the Russian political class stare down the barrel of all of this there doesn't seem to be a backbone between them. The lunatics have really taken over the asylum.

I doubt they'll ever officially take Belarus on paper, easier to have that mess outside with (reeeeeally stretching the meaning of the next word) plausible deniability indefinitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,011 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Apartment blocks are shields. This is well known in Russia.

The News networks are beginning to beginning to dial back a bit now, they can sense their viewers are becoming weary after a week of 24 hour rolling coverage of the war. As public rhetorical dials back so too will the political will to do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

We probably won't be able to help Ukraine properly but we can do something for Moldova. I couldn't give a shite about domestic regulations, laws and alphabet rights. This needs to be done now. The rest can be worked on later. Same with Georgia.

"We are only targeting the Ukrainian military but people, nurseries, apartments, hospitals keep getting in the way"

Must try find it, but there was an expert recently on Twitter explaining the Russian version (known as Cheget I believe), IIRC it said unlike the US Putin does not have the sole power to use it and it requires the authorisation of four people, so we just need to be worried if it came to it would the other three be just as mad to make that decision.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,312 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

As opposed to the proof that Putin provided of Nazis and Ukrainian citizens being used as human shields, of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

For me it looks like he has a health issue that means he is immunosuppressed. Potentially a chronic or terminal illness. He looks like he is puffy which is a sign of steroids which could be part of his treatment. He was an evil piece of excrement before this illness but it appears to be evil X 2 now.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,544 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

It's absolutely not the case that one man gives an order and its automatically carried out, no questions asked. Such a scenario is absurd.

I'm not arguing that point. You could say the same in Russia though. The only input the Chain of Command in the US get is whether or not it is a legal order. That is it. Had Bush decided "**** it" and ordered a nuclear strike of Iraq during the invasion it would have required an illegal break in the chain of command to stop it. I think that would have been likely, and perhaps that would give time for congress/cabinet to step in but that is what you are relying on.

The fundamental point underlying all this is that you do not need to follow an illegal order - but that is true the whole way up and down the chain of command in both US and Russia. The US system has absolutely terrible oversight in general and there is a reason that many are pushing to change it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Ninthlife

My point being something as extreme as a nuke wouldnt be necessary to cause disruption.

Anyway again its fantasy stuff. The thread is far better when facts are being discussed and there are updates from the various social media platforms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭eggy81

cant go in all guns blazing. We all die in that event. Have to concede, live to fight another day and develop a plant to take the bastard out somehow.

That's Georgia and Moldova for EU membership, who's next?

Sadly many Russians will believe it. According to my Russian colleagues, many Russians know their own leadership aren't angels, but they always assume the West is "just as bad" and up to the same or worse dirty tricks. There wasn't much of a gap between Soviet brainwashing and the modern brainwashing of the Putin regime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,049 ✭✭✭Mecanudo

This was the the statement delivered by Russian Foreign Ministry spokeswoman Maria Zakharova last week regarding Sweden and Finland joining NATO.

"if Finland and Sweden join NATO, which is first of all a military organization, it will entail serious military-political consequences, which would require retaliatory steps by the Russian Federation,”

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Mad how 'his people' are fleeing in their hundreds of thousands, but not to their brothers in Russia. Funny that....

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.