Liveline: Thread with no name, Host with no shame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,199 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,256 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,810 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Does she sound beuuuriful and gorgeous though Katie?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

This is one serious can of piss.

a death by proxy, so to speak

It's a harsh reality. I employed numerous people of the years with special needs in the hospitality sector. I was able to fit them in, mentor etc but constant supervision was required and in the real world, that is just not practical

The PS/CS is pretty good good for employing people with special needs i have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭Deeec

I hear what this lady is saying but the work environment is very different than school. Most employers require employees to do a job not half a job some of the time - thats the issue - other staff cant carry them along in their work. Most of the mammys on seem to want them to be paid normal rate aswell.

Its only certain jobs these people are suited to. Employers are not being mean by letting them go - its just they were not up to the job.

Do you know, I was only chatting to someone over the weekend and we wondered if a virus similar to Ebola became a pandemic, could you just imagine the fear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

We pay for a world class health system yet get a complete ball of sheite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

The government might make it very hard for employers to get rid of people with special needs, even if they are crap. They should all be given 6 month temporary contracts, before being made permanent, like everyone else

You sound a bit ‘clenched’ to be a front of house person, if you don’t mind me saying.

Yes I've heard that , I guess in a high pressure environment, like a busy restaurant, factory, etc it's not so easy

the local super valu's at towns both sides of me are great, and they get the same wages. people have to be practical about their children's limits ..

There was a girl in my class who was always kept at the back, she couldn’t keep pace with subjects and was very quiet except the odd time when she would start singing out of tune and wouldn’t stop. Most girls did their best to be friendly with her. Later on she got mugged, and by coincidence my faaader was the one who found her bag and brought it to Garda station where my Dad said “oh that’s a girl who was in my daughter’s class”. The guards phoned her to collect her bag which still contained stuff, and she got talking to my Dad. She had studied commercial stuff and languages so had caught up fairly well academically even though not passing school exams. Sadly she died of an illness in recent years and I saw in the death notice where her brothers made a suggestion to donate to an Autism organisation. That way the girls in our class got to know retrospectively her condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Or in other words - no one owes you a living. You're not entitled to a job. That's the reality for all, not just those with more 'challenges'

Find it hard to believe this is the talk of the nation, more likely the FB groups lit up yesterday and the word went out to love bomb Katie.

Actually, yes, a reasonably close supervalue does the same and an absolute credit .

My impression however , Asburgers and Autism may be additionally challenging in a work environment, but I'm open to correction.

Ebola is genuinely terrifying I read that book the hot zone...would recommend

So many children go through school now with an SNA to help them out. I dont now how these kids are going to cope after school with no special needs assistant by their side. There are no SNAs in the workplace. There is so many work from home jobs though now that may be suitable for some people with disabilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,530 ✭✭✭PieOhMy

Suprised that this topic got a second day.

It is refreshing all the same to hear a presenter speak with actual genuine compassion and empty.

I worked with Gordon Ramsey , he was clenched , but normally involved his fists and customers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭mumo3

Is there a possibility of over diagnosis? I understand when we where in school, there was no such things as ADHD, Dyslexia or not a sight of an SNA, and I get these conditions did exist back then but where not recognised for what they where. But my concern here is are people/doctors too quick to stick a title on their children and medicate them? Maybe some of these kids are just socially awkward and others struggle with emotions.... we all definitely struggled with some subject or other in school.

what do they want out of this ?? a haulage company to ring in offering them a start driving an artic ? pick and choose the college courses they want ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Never having met him I can't say with any degree of authenticity, but perhaps you can.

Was he a total arsehole in real life, or was that just a screen persona?

My cousin (brain damaged from home birth by cord around her neck) was employed in Wicklow by a horticultural organisation and given sheltered housing, which proved a great solution. There’s a few such places in the south-east, including the Delta Sensory Garden in Carlow town, where they have a similar kind of thing.

Yep, nasty , a friends younger sister is a doctor and was brave enough to go to Africa with the WHO to help with a monitoring group a few years ago, amazing person, now specialises in infectious diseases.

Jaysus, that prick….. hope you canted a bowl of Mulligatawney soup into his wrinkled chops.

All accusations withdrawn……

Yeah this is what used to happen in the 80's and 90's and seemed to work great. The work suited the people and there were carers on site to meet their needs and understand their issues. The people who attended these facilities done worthwhile work and felt valued.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I likes a good stew.