Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Prince Andrew in jep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭BattleCorp1

Ah, it'll be a hit to his pride. Having his medals, titles removed will hit him hard. But cest la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,200 ✭✭✭StevenToast

To conclude...one of the windsor royals is a paedophile....

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

On tv3 news it said prince Andrew WOULD ALSO be making a substantial donation to the fund to help trafficked girls....so Roberts looks like she did get her own settlement award from Andrew

It's a shame it's been settled. I would have loved to see him sweat in court....oh wait 🤔🥵🤭

There are two ways of looking at this.

One is the $300 the girls got per…. er massage.

The other way is these girls were in American parlance “Trailer Trash”. In other words poor and vulnerable. There’s no doubt they were blinded by the money and good life on offer. In that respect, they were victims of grooming.

There are no winners here. Andrew’s name is mud. He was never the most popular Royal and came across as a pompous oaf.

Virginia comes across as a gold digger. She’s supposed to have made $160,000 from the photo as well as whatever Epstein paid her to keep quiet.

It's a win for Andrew. It'll be forgotten about in time. He'll still live the high life. In public the royals will make out that he's out but secretly he'll still be funded a wealthy lifestyle.

The age of consent in the UK is 16. So no, even if he did have sex with her, it wouldn't make him a paedophile, in the UK at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,898 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I sincerely doubt people will forget about it. I think it will literally be the first thing people associate with him forever.

He was going to live the high life regardless. He will need to get mummy to keep funding him I doubt he will get many other cosy gigs now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭TooTired123

The Royal Family will have to look after him. They've no choice. Can't have a broke Royal going around selling stories to the media to survive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Hego Damask

So it WAS about money in the end ...

shame, basically gets away with it.

He'll still be living a high life - albeit quietly.

I thought it would be close to $20m. I will be surprised if that £7.5m figure turns out to be correct.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,817 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

With who? Nobody will want to be seen with him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

for her it seems, if she was sexually abused and as a matter of principal of which she spoke about endlessly you'd think she'd dig her heels in and demand that it be brought to court, but no she took the paycheck ..speaks more about her than him i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,776 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

If its £7.5m thats a fair wedge of the 17 millon euros he just made by selling his Swiss chalet last month. He had to return 5 million of that to the previous owner as he hadnt fully paid for it.

There is reports that Guiffres lawyers were just a couple of weeks away from flying to London to cross examine him in front of cameras. Given how disastrously his last interview went in front of cameras £7.5m was easily worth it to lessen the blow to the Royal Familys reputation. One of their own going through a paedo trial in the Queens jubilee year would have been an unmitigated disaster. The Queen is reputedly a billionaire so £7.5m is loose change for them in the grand scheme of things.

Id say there will be radio silence from him for the rest of the year. Though I wouldnt rule out the Queen re-installing some of his patronages before she dies, he is still her favourite son and she only cut him loose becasue the very existence of the Royal Family could have come under threat.

The optics of this are absolutely awful. Has really dragged the Queen into the mud. Doubt the British taxpayer are too happy either.

Not good although the alternative trial probably far worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,954 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

It almost certainly speaks about her arrangement with her lawyers.

First point to note is that the huge majority of civil cases settle. For a civil case to go to trial is very much the exception, not the norm. This case was always likely to settle.

The real question was what kind of admission by Prince Andrew was the settlement going to contain?

What Giuffre would ideally have liked was an admission by Andrew that he had sex with her, knowing that she had been trafficked to London for that purpose.

But that was never very likely because - as Giuffre's lawyers will have pointed out to her - such an admission, in court proceedings, would leave Andrew exposed to criminal proceedings. Having sex with a trafficked child is a crime. And Andrew was never likely to settle the civil proceedings on terms that could later be used as evidence against him in criminal proceedings.

So, if Giuffre's bottom line was "there must be an admission or a finding that Andrew had sex with me, knowing me to have been trafficked" then the case was never going to settle. It was always going to trial.

And this is where the lawyers come in. Because, of course, to take this case at all, and certainly to take it to trial, Giuffre needs lawyers. She needs lawyers who would cost far more than she could ever hope to pay out of her own resources.

So, what she has is what is normal in US civil litigation; she has lawyers who work for her on the basis of a contingency fee agreement. That is, she has agreed with them that they will get a percentage (normally 33%, but I have no idea what has been agreed in this instance) of whatever she recovers from Andrew. If she recovers nothing, they get nothing.

And here we have the beginnings of a tension. Because, while Giuffre may be primarily interested in an admission or finding of Andrew's guilt, the lawyers aren't interested in that at all. 33% of an admission of guilt is useless to them. They are interested in the award of compensation.

The lawyers, being experienced at this kind of thing, will have foreseen the problem and will have addressed it in their contingency fee agreement with Giuffre. The agreement will contain a section that says something like: "If we are offered a settlement of $3 million or more with an admission of liability, you agree that you will take it. If we are offered a settlement of $7.5 million or more, with or without an admission of liability, you agree that you will take it."

I'm picking these figures out of the air, but something of this kind will have been included in the contingency fee agreement. If the settlement is generous enough, and approaches what might be secured in a trial, the lawyers very strongly want to accept it, for obvious reasons. And there will have been discussions beforehand, and a prior agreement with Giuffre, about the parameters within which the case might settle. Which mean that, if Andrew offered enough money, plus a statement that vindicated Giuffre while falling short of a direct admission of anything that would be criminal, Giuffre had no choice but to accept it. If she hadn't agreed in advance to accept such a settlement, she couldn't have brought the case at all.

Andrew came up with the money, and was willing to affirm Giuffre in coded terms that did not include an admission of criminality. So the case settled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,954 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

The age of consent in the UK is 16 for straightforward boyfriend-girlfriend sex, but not where sex work is involved. If Giuffre was trafficked to London to have sex with Andrew then that's an offence regardless of her age. And if she was under 18 at the time, not 16, that's a child sexual offence under UK law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,365 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Ohhhhhhh 

The grand old Duke of York

He borrowed 12 million quid

He gave it to someone

He’d never ever met 

and for something he never did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,075 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

so looks like there’s a temporary ban on either side commenting on the case throughout 2022 while the Queen has her jubilee - which gives Giuffree enough time to get her book written in time for the Christmas market

i see estimates of the payout are now around 12m STG - a phenomenal amount of money by all accounts. I don’t think history will treat Andrew very well and I do wonder, “what else” did he “not do”- there could well be people waiting in the wings patiently to see the outcome of this case - would not at all surprise me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,199 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I'd almost guess it's unlikely others will come forward with accusations against Andrew, because there is still a threshold to cross to be able to prove they met him at all. The photo between Andrew, Giuffre and Ghislaine Maxwell was key to Giuffre's case because it meant he absolutely did meet her, and Maxwell who has now been proven to have been involved in Epstein's crimes was there, and they were at an Epstein property. Giuffre has also been making the claims against him for years, whereas others could be seen as trying to take advantage of Giuffre's settlement rather than having a legitimate case to bring themselves.

For accusations against Andrew to be taken seriously or to have any kind of weight behind them, there needs to be some kind of proof to start the ball rolling on it. I would say the chances of others having that kind of proof is slim. Such proof could have been in Epstein/Maxwell's possession in terms of security cameras, photos etc which may mean the authorities have them, but whether anything comes from that (or others if the rumours of Epstein using evidence against people who he trafficked these girls out to and used such evidence as security/leverage) remains to be seen.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 8,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

0EF42284-45A5-42C8-8FFF-D9C4AA8105C1.jpeg

Found this on YLYL.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 8,427 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭Cal4567

Politico summed it up thoroughly this morning.

ROYAL WRONG ‘UN: Queen Elizabeth II will help her son Prince Andrew pay an out-of-court settlement of more than £12 million to a woman who accused him of raping her when she was a child, in exchange for her silence and to prevent him from facing a jury trial. The sordid deal is the final disgrace for the queen’s third child and ends his prospect of ever salvaging his reputation or returning to public life. It raises searching questions about why Britain’s monarch is funding a settlement that saves Andrew from having to defend himself against Virginia Giuffre’s sexual abuse allegations in court. Andrew always claimed he had never met Giuffre and only weeks ago vowed to prove his innocence at a trial. Instead, he got his mum to pay her off. There is also the grim reality that since that the queen, Andrew and the royal family derive much, if not all, of their wealth from the British public, it is essentially us who are paying for Andrew to buy his escape from justice. All in all, Tuesday was probably the most humiliating and damaging day for the royals in their recent history.

I see the UK media still reporting this in a very deferential tone. Facebook and Twitter etc, quite different.

He is going to attend a service for Prince Philip at the end of March apparently.

Other than that I doubt he will be seen out and about very much.

https://www.independent.ie/world-news/europe/britain/prince-andrew-to-pay-accuser-more-than-12m-using-money-from-queen-elizabeth-41351178.html

Also bear in mind that, while it has long been widely understood that Andrew will sleep with anyone and often does, it hasn't been suggested that he has a general predilection for underage people or sex workers. He has a number of advantages - wealth (or at least a wealthy lifestyle), fame, the glamour of royalty. It probably hasn't been all that difficult for him to capitalise on those advantages to chalk up quite a number of notches on the bedpost, but there's no reason to think that most of these notches won't represent willing adult partners, who don't have any legal action against him arising out of their, um, encounters. I think whatever happened with Giuffre happened because Epstein put Giuffre in Andrew's way, 'cause that was Epstein's thing, but I wouldn't assume that that relationship is generally characteristic of Andrew's sex life.

Tl;dr: the guy could have slept around a lot without thereby exposing himself to a bunch of lawsuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Deregos.
    Time to put childish things aside.

He got away lightly so far, 12M is pocket money to the Royals. The queen better prepare the royal cheque book cause there's bound to be more young ladies that randy Andy has come across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,199 ✭✭✭✭Penn

And yet I'm sure The Sun and Daily Mail will still blame Harry & Meghan if there's a single photo of the Queen not cracking a Joker-wide smile during her Jubilee.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,298 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

They're fabulously wealthy across many generations but that level of generational wealth is usually tied up in very longterm investments, land etc, rather than liquid assets. The money coming from the public purse would be allocated to things like logistics and security and the like and would be highly regulated, or regulated enough that millions going walkabout on pedigree chum for the corgis would be noticed. I suspect they'd have to go through a few of their pockets to come up with 12 mill in actual cash.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.