Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

System is overbalanced in favour of clubs... You must be having a laugh 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I think the problem if you take the approach of excluding college players from County panels then you'll have a load of lads who will exclude themselves from Sigerson in favour of playing county. Pretty sure that happened a few years ago, some lad in DIT on the Dublin panel decided to opt out of Sigerson. I'm sure if you were to ask Tommy Conroy if he'd prefer to play Sigerson or County, that he'd have opted to play last Sunday as he did, and sit out the game last night.

I think the issue is fixtures and how they are congested. Realistically there should be no reason for Sigerson to run the same side as the league but having Club games played in the depths of winter defies logic too.

It doesn't matter what you do however as there will always be someone with their nose out of joint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,708 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

You leave it up to the colleges to name their panel, that way its not the players doing the choosing. If it became the norm county management would accept it. Sigerson is a great competition it should be protected.

I can't see any other time for Sigerson to be played, first semester they lads are only back, you'd have freshers who don't know anyone, any later and its getting close to exam time. Its a three week competition, it can't hinder teams that much not have access for 2/3 rounds of the league

I'm sure if you had someone like Tommy who's nailed down a place on the county team being told he had to play Sigerson as he was named on the panel and couldn't play county, or Clifford or anyone else, then they'd simply opt out of Sigerson, reducing the competition by removing some of the talented players in the pool.

I agree it should be protected and to do that, I'd suggest moving the leagues to start later. If we can have the All Ireland Final in July as we are doing this year, there's no reason the league could be shifted a few weeks to let the Sigerson be run. Have the pre-seasons (McKenna Cup, FBD etc) before Christmas in December if you need to have them, or at least have those as as your Sigerson participant less games during January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

Cruciate confirmed

The curse is real :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Was starting to feel a bit more optimistic about the year and now this. Hard to feel optimistic now. We have very few scoring options and none with Tommy's pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Bad luck on the lad wishing him a full and speedy recovery.

Mayo have Jason Doherty back and Cillian O'Connor should be back during this league campaign so not all bad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

One step forward, two steps back.

Gutted for the lad but time for someone to step up like Ryan O' Donoghue did to fill Cillian's boots.

On we go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Vish81

Awful news.

Cant help but feel we contribute to our own downfall sometimes.

Theses injury risks can be minimised if players aren't pushed too hard too early.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,579 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Disaster for Tommy C, hope he makes a full recovery. Not good news for the Neale trying to stay up in senior either.

For the Monaghan game, I'd like to see something like this:

Byrne

Swannie

Harrison

McBrien 

Keegan

McHugh

Callinan

Oisin

Aido

Flynn

McLoughlin

Hession

ROD

Doc

Orme

You'd drop Hennelly after how he played against Donegal?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭muddle84

I don't think it matters, he is not going to be dropped anyway. The fact that Byrne has never got a look in when Hennelly is fit or available suggests that Bryne is well off the mark.

I won't go into whether Hennelly should be starting goalie or not, I doubt anyone's opinion is going to be changed at this stage.

But what happens if Hennelly gets injured in the last league match? We're left with two goalies who have three apperances for Mayo between them, its f**king wreckless. And its ridiculous to talk about players getting dropped for a league game, the league is there to try out players and work on systems, not flog your starting 15. We know what Hennelly is at this stage, another league isn't going to change that. I'd sooner they try new goalies, even if it meant losing a match or two

Completely agree. Hennelly is obviously favoured by Horan but its a complete lack of foresight not to be blooding a second goalie!

@Blackjack , this basically.

It was mentioned on Ah Ref last year that Bryne has only played once or twice for Mayo since 2018. If he's good enough, give him a few games in the league or else blood someone younger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Fanofconnacht

It is probably past time for GAA to start researching \ keeping stats on major injuries of Intercounty players with a view to understanding if can be reduced by taking steps under their control. E.g if more likely if play a lot of games ( solution manage game time), caused by state of pitch (solution raise standard of pitches \ be more stringent in considering them unplayable).

I may be talking rubbish as I have no hard stats but I would expect that every county panel has at least 2 season ending injuries every year. TC is very unfortunate but unlikely he will be only Mayo panel member to have a major injury before AI starts.

While TC unfortunate it gives an opportunity for someone else to step up and deliver. One of the reasons for large panels every county has is to ensure cover available for injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭blowitupref

Mayo team and subs for the Monaghan game.

1.Rob Hennelly

2.Brendan Harrison

3.Padraig O’Hora

4.Lee Keegan

5.Paddy Durcan  

6.Michael Plunkett

7.Eoghan Mc Laughlin  

8 Conor O’ Shea

9.Stephen Coen

10. Fionn McDonagh

11.Diarmuid O Connor

12.Bryan Walsh

13.Aiden Orme

14.Jason Doherty

15. Ryan O’Donoghue

SUBS:

16.Rory Byrne

17. Donnacha McHugh

18.Sam Callinan

19.Ruairi Keane

20.Rory Brickeneden

21 Aidan O’ Shea 

22.Jordan Flynn  

23.Fergal Boland

24.Conor Loftus

25.Paul Towey

26.Frank Irwin

Should we not be waiting until Division 1 is secured before trying out someone else?.

How many games did Sean Currie or Evan Comerford play for Dublin while Cluxton was available for selection does anyone know?. Very few I'd guess.

That’s the point. Comerford is f**king useless. It’s the league. The year we won the league he tried a ball of new players, not sure why he has such a blind spot over goalie

I stand to be corrected here as I am going off memory but Comerford played all the league games in 2019 and 2020. Cluxton only played championship.

Jaysus that's a bit harsh on Comerford. We had Clarke the year we won the league, he played in Goals as many times as Robbie if not more that year.

Personally from what I've seen from Byrne and Reape, neither are close to taking Hennelly's spot as first choice keeper because neither are at his level.

I can see a lot of people still have hang ups about Robbie, but until someone better is available, I don't see why we should be giving someone a run out when we still have to secure Div 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭eastie17

Its illogical to think a lad can get to inter county standard without games. How are they expected to get to that level sitting watching the match? Granted if they are clean useless then you dont play them, but then they shouldnt be there

Absolutely. If they're not good enough, don't play them, but if they are the best you have available for subs, what other option do you have. I just wonder how much of peoples concerns about blooding a new keeper is down to genuine hope for the experience of a another keeper rather than hang ups they have about the existing number 1.

I think its a bit of both. If we had beaten Tyrone that would be that, Hennelly forever more, but alot of the reason people(myself included) want to see another keeper developed is because Hennelly has yet to prove himself to be as reliable as Clarke.

But for now to your point he must be the best we have!

You haven’t answered what happens if Hennelly gets injured during the league? We’re absolutely f**ked.

I personally don’t think Hennelly is good enough, I think he panics in big games but that’s not why I’m suggesting this. If he was the best keeper ever we need to be blooding a replacement. He’s inter county for 10 years now, we know what he delivers. It’s not like we’re asking for walk-ons here, the two lads have multiple county titles.

i don’t think Reape is ready yet for the Mayo jersey but he could be with experience. He won’t get that from where he is currently.

If you don’t like Reape or Byrne then Jennings is meant to be having a storming season for Sligo IT

If Hennelly gets injured during the league that will make many folks who have the hang ups very pleased and then Byrne or Reape or Jennings will get their chance. I'd hope that they would acquit themselves well, but if they didn't, I'd also hope they didn't have to put up with the absolute sh*t that's been thrown at Robbie.

Its not that I don't like Reape or Byrne or Jennings. I've nothing whatsoever against them. They may have county medals but they play for different teams who all have different attributes. From what I've seen of Byrne, his kickouts are poor enough and that's been demonstrated most recently when he got his chance in the FBD game against Galway. Reape has a better kickout than Byrne but is prone to error. I do think he's better placed to be ahead of Byrne, personally, but neither are in my view, near enough to Hennelly. It's an opinion - one I know that some won't share because of their hang ups with Hennelly. I get it. And for the record, I've nothing to do with Breaffy and I can probably count on the fingers of one hand the number of times I've set foot in the environs of Breaffy. Just getting that in there before that gets levelled at me.

Look if we secure division one status early Horan can throw on the under 12s for all I care - my view is that the time to experiment is when you are certain of Division 1. You can have challenge games all year round for that as well.

"If Hennelly gets injured during the league that will make many folks who have the hang ups very pleased"

That's a bizzare take tbh.

Anyway, moving on. It'd be nice to see a few scores from the HF line, Walsh needs to start showing a bit of composure in front of goal, I'd say a few scores would give him no end of confidence. DOC & McDonagh could do with getting back to where they were 4 years ago, they used to be good for a couple of scores a game.

I'd have liked to see McHugh getting another game at 6, I don't think Plunkett is the man for that position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Last week I correctly predicted a draw vs Donegal. This week I am predicting an away win in Monaghan. How do I know these things?? Well let’s just say a certain octopus named Paul told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Jack Livingston from Breaffy will be no. 2 for the no. 1 spot. That's it settled, move on lads 🤣

But on a serious note. Byrne and Reape probably aren't going to be good enough at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Don't want to over egg the Dublin problems as it's early days yet and I know we all have our questions about Horan, but it seems like Dublin are currently struggling to manage the transition period after a number of retirements, and it puts into perspective how good a job Horan has done on that with Mayo. We all will still have our criticisms of him but a rebuilding job is something he has always had a knack for.