Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

The GAA needs to look at time wasting. Donegal players went down twice in injury team yet the referee didn't add on time. Even though we were down to 14, I felt it was there for the taking if there was another couple of minutes.

Huge effort from the players in the last twenty minutes, deserved the draw. Great to see Doherty back. Full forward is where we might see him this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Good to see Doherty back in the flow of things. Overall encouraging 2nd half performance despite being a man down.

We were giving out here about the camera visibility but i didn't realise how bad things were for the poor cameraman up there. Shocker of a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I think he would have added an extra minute and a bit for it if we hadn't equalised.

Understanding extra time difficult at the best of times, but if one team has just equalised, they'll usually blow it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I wonder will we see Coen at full back again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Today exemplifies why I've always said Jason Doherty is my first name on the team sheet every time. Out of action for such a long time and he comes back and scores three from play, looking better than ever. He's as strong as an ox and brilliant around the breaking ball. He has been missed.

He struggled badly I'm afraid. Midfield was also a mess, but I suppose Mattie is missing at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭muddle84

Ah I wouldn't be too hard on him considering who he was marking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

I've always suggested Coen would end up at full back, but Christ I'll have to reassess that.

One thing though, a few of those Donegal boys would want to have a look at themselves. Shameful play acting and the ref bought it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭flasher0030

True alright. But the comment that was made that "he struggled badly" sums up his day. I could never see him as a full back. I definitely think he has a role to play further out the field. But I don't think he has the cuteness and composure for a full back. And he's not really that physical when you have a large full forward. I'd be afraid to think what Rian O'Neill would do if Stephen is in full back for the armagh match. Actually, Keegan is probably the only man for that job. Or maybe O'Hora. I think O'Hora would foul too much though. SHure we'll see.

Great comeback today. Some heart shown, and a man down for almost all of the last quarter. Fair play to Robbie Hennelly. That was some kick. He'll be having sweet dreams about it tonight. And some magnificant saves including a penalty. Great day at the office for him. I think that last free should have been brought in further. If the Mayo players were a bit cuter, they would he remonstrated to the ref about the keeper holding on to the ball after the free was given. But didn't do that. Would have made it a lot easier. At least, I think it was for the last free. But then again, we were lucky to get some of the frees near the end. Whilst it was great harassing from Mayo to get turnovers near the end, some of the tackling was bordering on the extreme. I think it was Michael Murphy had the ball one time, and Diarmuid O'Connor and Jordan Flynn practically wrestled him to the floor. But Murphy got done for overcarrying. But we'll take it. Very important point to get today.

Some clever play from Ryan O'Donoghue. Would have been lovely if he had lobbed the keeper with one shot near the end. And as usual Tommy Conroy had spurts of danger in him.

Eoin McLaughlin got a great point in the first half, but looked at times like he wasn't sure that there was an overcarrying rule. The first one was bad. He took off on sprint and took about 12 steps. Forgot completely about the hop and solo rule. But the second one was bizarre. It was like in slow motion when I was watching it. He had acres of space, no pressure. We were like - go on do a solo, please do a solo; why won't he solo it??? The ref had no choice to blow for it he made it so obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,898 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

So I guess I got to see two great comebacks in the end!

But the second one was bizarre. It was like in slow motion when I was watching it. He had acres of space, no pressure. We were like - go on do a solo, please do a solo; why won't he solo it??? The ref had no choice to blow for it he made it so obvious.

He kind of adjusted his feet a few times, must have thought those didn't count as proper steps; he held up four fingers to the ref after he was whistled...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Ya, but it's not just steps. It's also based on time (as far as I know) - the equivalent time that it takes to do 4 steps. I guess he could have a defense argument on that one if he wanted to bring it though the courts - it's subjective, in that how do measure the time taken to do four steps. Depends on how big the steps are!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Poor judgment to stick the camera there facing into a westerly wind with driving rain not sure why they didn't put it above the stand.

The scoreboard didn't work. Turning it off and back on didn't work the first time not sure why it would work 10 more times.

The tannoy was only for the stand and couldn't be heard outside of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Blackjack

I don’t know that they could have put it on top of the stand. It was on the media tower so I expect that’s where all of the appropriate connections and equipment would be located.

Was at the back of the terrace on that side and you’d have to feel for the Cameraman for having to try to work in those conditions.

The scoreboard and tannoy issues were a bit of a joke alright but given everyone has more technology in their phones than NASA had to land men on the moon with, keeping up with the score from the multitude of available apps shouldn’t have been an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,937 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I just cancelled 2 rooms on booking.com in the Creighton Hotel, Clones on Sat night if anyone is interested in booking, should be showing up as available soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,720 ✭✭✭irishgeo

It was behind the goal, you would have needed wipers for the phone too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 MrPickwick

does anyone know when tickets go on sale to the public for the league match vs Dublin on Feb 19th ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Tommy C carried off tonight here in Dangan at the Sigerson game, knee injury. Please god nothing too serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

Ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

That’s crazy . Only 2 days ago togging out for mayo and he plays tonight. Hope he is ok. Massive blow .

It doesn't really sound very good and have to say the management of his college team wouldn't fill you with optimism. Hopefully it's not serious but being carted off to hospital doesn't bode well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭lillielad

Feck Mayo have no luck with injuries, hope Tommy is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Vish81

Conroy now with a potential season ending injury..

Will we ever catch s break..🤬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,071 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

They seriously need to look into protecting players, especially the younger ones involved with college football, more.

There are just too many demands placed on these young lad's bodies. Playing 2 games in 3 days at that level is complete madness.

And in the depths of winter to top it all off. Hardly any games in the summer months when pitches are dry and then they expect fellas to play 2 games in 3 days on heavy pitches in winter. I don't know what big brain thought up this schedule, but its ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,463 ✭✭✭✭km79

Knee injury on a heavy pitch is generally really bad news

Hopefully not but I fear the worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,140 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Very frustrating.....playing two high profile high intensity matches in three days at this time of the year is absolutely bonkers.

He's young so hopefully there's a quick turnaround

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭MfMan

Of course it is. The solution is to push the NL and championship back out to their proper, traditional slots and condense the club season a bit. GAA is in thrall for some reason to providing too much importance and leeway to the club season and players; there's plenty of time on odd weekends during the year and post-championship to fit these in. For those against this, ask them how many club games they actually bother to attend.

System is over-balanced now in favour of the clubs versus county (which is where the real popularity and, yes, money-spinning is).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭HBC08

You'll find very few who agree with that.Theres no county without club.

I say that as someone who has no interest in club and only goes to intercounty games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,708 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Thats some take, terrible suggestion in my opinion, literally couldn't suggest worse, majority of players being asked to set aside their lives to train for a league & championship crammed into a few months. Club is the bedrock of the GAA, if you neglect it you'll see the affects long term. The split season is a great idea, although the business end of the championship gets played in terrible conditions.

Conroy shouldn't have been playing for Mayo on Sunday, anyone on a Sigerson panel should be excluded from a county team while their college is still going but intercounty managers have the power there. The issue is its the younger players so its deemed acceptable to flog them.