Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is someone you inexplicably can't stand?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 26,115 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Well this thread was fun while it lasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Influencers - the bland leading the bland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,023 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Owen Wilson. He's seems a dick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I have a similar feeling towards his brother. Unexplainable to me, but I can't stomach anything his brother Luke Wilson is in. Only exception is Idiocracy, but that's also inexplicable. (Many of the actors in it I'm not a fan of).

I do know that Owen had some horrible treatment from people he thought were friends. (Steve Coogan 'allegedly' supplied him with drugs that almost killed him. Hence why Coogan's Hollywood career ended almost as quick as it started. And Lance Armstrong stole his girlfriend, Kate Hudson. This was not too long after Armstrong had dumped Sheryl Crow while she was undergoing treatment for cancer. Wilson turned to drugs to cope, and Coogan allegedly supplied them.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

Michael Lynah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,860 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Whoopi Goldberg !

At least someone can say they like it....even if i inherently disagree and think the pass isnt a skill for anyone above age of 7,its basic hand/eye coordinations of catch and throw.....catching a ball mid-air/while running is,or should be, mastered at national school level in any sport,yous may find it exciting,but yous been oversold basic stuff as being highly skilled

Throwing lads up in air to catcha ball isnt and never will be skilful,may be a visual spectacle,but not skilful .and the scrum just seems utterly pointless from a neutral observer

You are bang on as regards the culture of respect for the ref,if only their support would be same and not indulging in team-of-us wankery and abusing anyone who dare suggest its too prominent on tv for size of its playing population....no mind stop harassing TDs to have a kids game played during worst of covid aswell

Rooting and tearing on the ground,or "breakdown" for a buzzword isnt skilful,frantic/exciting maybe,but not skilful

Im sorry,but you cant honestly believe that sean obrien clip was skilful😅brute force and strentgth maybe but not skilful,any of polish lads in work would be able to do it

I have never said it isnt tactical/athletism and all over positive notions,just simply isnt skilful,people cheer when their team kicks ball outta play ffa,

Its been oversold to people via hype (irfu regularly bans journalists for spurious issues),kids are being inticed then to play a game,that isnt good for their health,leading them into a lifetime of drug taking to reach size to compete and horrendous injuries

I was told before,this was 100% safe and brilliant game,yet they are bringing more rules around the scrum this year....to make it safer and people are unnecessarly putting their kids in harms way for a game still experimenting to make it safe.....it shouldnt be forced onto the public via tv imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,103 ✭✭✭StevenToast

I used to love this thread...

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,913 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Ewan MacKenna.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Hardly inexplicable? I get the feeling not everything is well with Ewan. Rather like Patrick Cosgrave. Lockdowns did something to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Custard donuts annoy me greatly.

Badly folded newspapers get on my wick in a serious way. Outrageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,023 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

God you'd hate my place. I love custard doughnuts and there's the reminants of the weekend news papers lying on the sofa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

I dunno if its inexplicable, but I cant stand rugby twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,994 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

All doughnuts annoy me because I just don't see their appeal, but they aren't people, so probably don't belong on this thread. 😉Although I think I've heard people being referred to as 'doughnuts' in an uncomplimentary way. 🍩

Eoghan Corry, the sports and travel writer, annoys me. Since the first time I saw him being interviewed, I took an immediate dislike to him, so when I saw him on Ireland AM last week chatting to Elaine Crowley and calling her 'Muireann', I quite enjoyed it. (I know that's very petty.) 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Ryan Turbridy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,709 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Shane Horkan, a rugby twat of the highest degree. I would include Heaslip can’t remember his first name in that bracket too. Their posh voices alone make me throw up in my mouth.

Also Horkan’s sister Sharon. She us so overrated, all her tv shows that I tried to watch are dreadful. She’s not much better than Amy Huberman but thinks she is some sort of Oscar level actress just because she moved to London.

I quite like Brian O’Driscoll tho he doesn’t seem to be a rugby twat at all. I guess that is because he was reared in Dublin north side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,585 ✭✭✭jj880

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Conor Pope,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

John Delaney and Beverley Cooper Flynn, what a power couple they would make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

I call him Conor Dope. He rehashes the same rubbish all the time and gets paid for it. I wouldn't mind his job 😁

He was brutal on Claire Byrne the other night, same nonsense.

Remember the time a few years ago when he had egg all over his face by suggesting that people could save on average 2k on their yearly mortgage by paying it fortnightly and not monthly - he miscalculated that there are 26 bi-weekly payments in a year and not 24! Dope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,103 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Ian O'Doherty

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

The cùnt who does the voiceover ads for PaddyPower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Oliver Callan.

Especially when he tries to be serious and give his opinion like I could give a fcuk what the twat thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Those artsy folks that dress up every year on Bloomsday, and done so today too to mark the 100th anniversary of Ulysses. And those sort of "tourists" that visit a place just because it featured in a tv show or whatever.

It's only fiction lads. And if Ulysses is so great, how come so many say they find it difficult to read, and why hasn't there been a mainstream television adaptation of it?

I have a vague memory from my childhood of a cartoon called Ulysses. I think it was set in space or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,356 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Do you really want to see Amy Huberman playing Molly Bloom?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,913 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I’ve never understood why so many people “give up” on ‘Ulysses’, either, C. I get that the punctuation disappears near the end but, overall, it’s a great read.

The book, itself, is made up of different “episodes”, if you try read it through without realising situations have changed you’ll just end up confused and annoyed.

I should, also, point out that lots of great works have been deemed “unfilmable”, that shouldn’t take away from their, overall, worth. Would be interesting to see how the Nighttown scene in the ‘Circe’ episode would go down, though. It gets, quite, graphic…and strange.

Whatever about the pageantry of ‘Bloomsday’ the book, ‘Ulysses’, is an exceptional and, ultimately, rewarding work.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Rob Lipsett. This complete twat is making a living out of filming himself living his best life, and is considered an athlete because he goes to the gym obsessively and has a few muscles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Ulysses 31, French/Japanese cartoon from 1981, Greek mythology nothing to do with the book. 92% on rotten tomatoes apparently , the cartoon, that is