Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is someone you inexplicably can't stand?

But you can understand why others enjoy it?

Whereas noone can quite articulate why they enjoy rugby.....ive tried and tried,but whole culture and hype about it irks me...something seriously wrong with a sporting body styling itself 'team of us' banning journalists for asking obvious qs

• Registered Users Posts: 16,443 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Street buskers.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Still a shite song. Time won't make it any less shite.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,624 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

That’s as may be, but there is a generation coming through who like it and like to sing it.

Most “modern anthems” are pretty lousy anyway, you can’t get too controversial. Look at the french anthem, calls for the blood of their enemies to water their fields. Couldn’t be putting that in these days.

As far as modern anthems go ‘Ireland’s Call’ isn’t the worst and I think it would be great to have it as the anthem for a united Ireland, when that happens.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

Ryan Phillipe

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Freddie Mcinerney

Shamoboc

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭Freddie Mcinerney

Elaine fuckinn Crowley....bites lip 🤬 Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 40,320 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I'm surprised nobody has called you out on the bullshit in this post. you're comparing the top level of soccer with the second tier of rugby. absolute nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

He’s at the same bullshit every year - hasn’t a clue what he’s talking about, just an enormous chip on his shoulder.

Do not bother.

Comparing club matches....likely first occasion anyone ever refered to LOI as top tier

It shouldnt be on tv as much,as simply its playing population is too low to justify its presence,over hyped nonsense

What have i wrote is inaccurate?

The fact not a single rugby supporter can defend their wee game and each and everyone has had to resort to personal attacks or only like rugby simply to annoy others,

speaks volumes to the type of "support" this game attracts

it is the top tier of domestic football in this country and is mostly professional or semi-professional. AIL is the second tier of rugby and is semi-professional at best. Now compare LOI to the likes of Leinster and Munster rugby and the comparison is not flattering to the LOI. They get much bigger crowds.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Munster Leinster are provinces tho. Bigger attraction for crowds compared to soccer clubs . I am sure if Dublin or Leinster had one soccer club it would have a big support

and either of them probably get as many fans through the turnstile as the entire LOI in a season. And yet somehow there is no demand for rugby so it shouldn't be shown on tv?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Is that a serious question? You don't think any rugby fan knows why they like rugby? Or (even more ridiculous) they only like it to annoy others? Do you know how silly that sounds?

I reckon I'm probably mad to attempt to respond to you in good faith when you will clearly just move the goalpost somewhere in order to justify your baseless prejudice against the sport...but anyway here we go:

I absolutely love the level of specialisation in rugby - there are 15 different positions all with varying roles and nuances to them. It is fascinating to see players who are so adept in their respective positions performing their key roles and responsibilities to the highest degree. Better still, not every player in the same position plays the same way, so you see their different interpretations of the different positions, different styles to bring about the same end - watching the best go about it is endlessly interesting

Related to that point, and something of a cliche regarding rugby is how it really is a game for all shapes and sizes - it's certainly not all about size which is a common misconception about the sport (in fact the current world player of the year Antoine Dupont is only 5'8''). There are few enough contact sports where you'll see 5'7'' 180lb fellas like Cheslin Kolbe competing on the same pitch and expected to tackle (and be tackled by) 6'8'' 280lb monsters like Will Skelton, each being as valuable and important to the team as the other. Moreover I hugely admire how well the big guys manage to get around. None of this American football playing 5 seconds and then off the pitch again for a breather. Even 120+ kg props worth their salt would have 80 minutes in their locker.

Getting to the gameplay itself, there are endless aspects that can delight the spectator. The set piece parts of the game provide their own game within a game - the coordination of the lineout, jumpers and lifters seeing huge men thrown into the air competing for the ball in a spectacular visual display, all timed to the hookers throw and call while the opposition do their best to decipher the other teams calls, predict and spoil/steal their throws. Or the scrum - nearly a metric ton of manpower on either side pushing with all their might against eachother. The rush when one of your props gets the better of his opposite and you see your opponents driven off the ball or so destabilised that a penalty is awarded against them.

Open broken play provides an even greater array of impressive and thrilling spectacles.

A flyhalf taking on the ball, scanning the backfield ahead looking for space or a defender out of place, calculating is it best to run it, pass it, or kick it (a sly chip over their line of defenders? A difficult-to-recover grubber stabbed through along the ground? Maybe a long distance touch finder to push play back into their half?) in two seconds afforded to them before the onrushing tacklers of the opposition reach them. Or a fullback soaring to pluck a high ball out of the air at full speed and slicing open the defence with an exhilarating counter attack.

The variety of passes - short pop passes to a teammate running an inside line, or a last millisecond offload behind the back as you're being tackled leaving your supporting teammate a clear run. Spectacular long distance cut-out passes running at full tilt and timed perfectly to hit their mark (you say rugby isn't skillful - you have no idea how difficult this is). Take a look at some of these and tell me there's no skill.

Whatever about the passes, what about when they actually get the ball?? Watching scintilating speedsters exploit space and burn defenders on the outside, or skip right past with some dazzling sidesteps and footwork, leaving the defender scrambling in the dust.

Or what if you're not arsed running around them? Just run through them. There is something so amusing about seeing these massive men going in for a tackle only to be swatted away and sat on their arse like a child. Some players are just so hard to bring down, they bring a whole additional dimension to the game - they often need to be defended by multiple players...which leaves space to be exploited in other areas of the field. Whether a big bosh or a hand off, physical ball carrying is always great to watch.

And then on the defending side things can be equally compelling. Fantastic displays of heart and grit as your team pull together and give it their all not to give a single inch to their opponents. Going phase after phase of exhausting pummeling before forcing an error from the other team or stealing the ball with a lifesaving last second turnover. The timing, technique and skill of reading the oncoming attacker and picking the perfect moment to produce a hugely satisfying crunching tackle, accompanied by the roar of the crowd in response. Few things like it.

Let's not forget the often overlooked, but absolutely key skills around the breakdown after a tackle: where the tackling team gets a split second to compete for the ball on the ground while the attackers try to clear them out. Some players are incredibly adept at spotting and exploiting these moments, setting themselves over the ball and latching on with all their might, either ripping it away and stealing it outright or forcing a penalty against the other team for not releasing (all while enduring huge impacts from the players clearing out). These players, referred to as "Jackals" or "poachers" are worth their weight in gold if they can do this consistently.

Likewise seeing your teammates clear out a would-be jackaler with venom so that they might think again next time is a heartening sight. Clearing out effectively requires technique, timing and power all applied effectively - watch Sean O'Brien here clear three full grown men out of the way in a single movement like they were nothing.

There's the heart stopping drama of a last ditch drop goal or penalty kick to snatch a win for your team in the dying moments of the game. The clock in the red, everyone near out on their feet. The elation of watching that ball sailing through the posts when you thought all was lost is hard to describe. Only equalled by the devastation of having it happen to you - the faces of these Frenchmen paint a better picture than I ever could.

There's plenty of other bits and aspects that I'll not touch on, this post is already longer than I meant for it to be. On a final note I hugely appreciate the culture of respect towards the ref and officials in rugby. Any back chat is swiftly dealt with. I like how for the most part the players just get on with it. None of this rolling around on the floor pretending to cry like a child. They just get up off the deck and get ready to go again - players milking penalties or feigning injuries are widely derided and held in contempt by other players and supporters alike.

Rugby is a game for everyone with great shows of athleticism, heart, skill, grit, tactical smarts and teamwork. That might not be your cup of tea or perhaps you choose not to see that...I just don't understand why you'll so bitterly complain about other people taking joy in it. What's the harm? Just don't watch it if you're not interested.

Anyway there you go. You said nobody can say why they like rugby, there's a bit from me on what I love in the game. I'm sure the millions of other fans around the world could add much much more.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 24,785 Mod ✭✭✭✭Loughc

Well this thread was fun while it lasted.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

• Registered Users Posts: 867 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Influencers - the bland leading the bland

• Registered Users Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Owen Wilson. He's seems a dick

• Registered Users Posts: 8,293 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I have a similar feeling towards his brother. Unexplainable to me, but I can't stomach anything his brother Luke Wilson is in. Only exception is Idiocracy, but that's also inexplicable. (Many of the actors in it I'm not a fan of).

I do know that Owen had some horrible treatment from people he thought were friends. (Steve Coogan 'allegedly' supplied him with drugs that almost killed him. Hence why Coogan's Hollywood career ended almost as quick as it started. And Lance Armstrong stole his girlfriend, Kate Hudson. This was not too long after Armstrong had dumped Sheryl Crow while she was undergoing treatment for cancer. Wilson turned to drugs to cope, and Coogan allegedly supplied them.)

• Registered Users Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

Michael Lynah

• Registered Users Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Whoopi Goldberg !

At least someone can say they like it....even if i inherently disagree and think the pass isnt a skill for anyone above age of 7,its basic hand/eye coordinations of catch and throw.....catching a ball mid-air/while running is,or should be, mastered at national school level in any sport,yous may find it exciting,but yous been oversold basic stuff as being highly skilled

Throwing lads up in air to catcha ball isnt and never will be skilful,may be a visual spectacle,but not skilful .and the scrum just seems utterly pointless from a neutral observer

You are bang on as regards the culture of respect for the ref,if only their support would be same and not indulging in team-of-us wankery and abusing anyone who dare suggest its too prominent on tv for size of its playing population....no mind stop harassing TDs to have a kids game played during worst of covid aswell

Rooting and tearing on the ground,or "breakdown" for a buzzword isnt skilful,frantic/exciting maybe,but not skilful

Im sorry,but you cant honestly believe that sean obrien clip was skilful😅brute force and strentgth maybe but not skilful,any of polish lads in work would be able to do it

I have never said it isnt tactical/athletism and all over positive notions,just simply isnt skilful,people cheer when their team kicks ball outta play ffa,

Its been oversold to people via hype (irfu regularly bans journalists for spurious issues),kids are being inticed then to play a game,that isnt good for their health,leading them into a lifetime of drug taking to reach size to compete and horrendous injuries

I was told before,this was 100% safe and brilliant game,yet they are bringing more rules around the scrum this year....to make it safer and people are unnecessarly putting their kids in harms way for a game still experimenting to make it safe.....it shouldnt be forced onto the public via tv imo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,435 ✭✭✭StevenToast

I used to love this thread...

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 10,624 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Ewan MacKenna.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Hardly inexplicable? I get the feeling not everything is well with Ewan. Rather like Patrick Cosgrave. Lockdowns did something to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭McGinniesta

Custard donuts annoy me greatly.

Badly folded newspapers get on my wick in a serious way. Outrageous.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

God you'd hate my place. I love custard doughnuts and there's the reminants of the weekend news papers lying on the sofa

• Registered Users Posts: 7,998 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

I dunno if its inexplicable, but I cant stand rugby twats.