Connacht Team Talk Thread VI - Some like it TOH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Why? Why would they want to move? Ye already have 10 or so Leinster players. Why weaken Leinster? Makes no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Glasgow got four back from camp. It was pretty even Connacht were down six and Glasgow down seven to international squads. Glasgow had 12 internationals which reflects their depth.

Theres certainly players who didn’t deliver. But need to get depth right, whether that’s on Connacht or IRFU backing. Having a good 25 or whatever figure you want to make it isn’t enough to be competitive at top level.

Fifita just shouldn’t be starting, shouldn’t be signing a 32 year from D2 in France, shouldn’t be signing a 28 year old prop from NPC in New Zealand. No disrespect to them but if they were capable of playing at this level, they would be already at their ages.

Greg McGrath is similar, he’s younger in fairness but he’s not up to this level currently, certainly not for starting.

Three backs on the bench have 14 appearances between them before today, they are all promising players and could have big futures but having three 20-21 year olds as your back line options from the bench obviously not ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,318 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

It was a fairly recognisable Glasgow team to be honest. Stronger than I thought it would be given it’s 6 Nations time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jimdemp

You could see after 10 mins the difference in power. When Connacht are not up for a game the dont have the size or know how to grid out a win like munster. Same as the Dragons game. When Prendergast is not around he Line out always struggle. Heffernan is lucky to be 2nd choice at this stage. Backrow is very weak and would lose most games minus Oliver and Prendergast. TOH should not get a new contract, it amazes me how he can finally put some games together when his contract is running out. If he resigns i would expect him to be injured again until the next contract renewal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,318 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Probably the most pissed off I've ever heard Friend after a game.

https://www.the42.ie/connacht-glasgow-2-5668283-Jan2022/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭Zeugnis

Connacht have look to themselves, and the players need to step up to their responsibilities, rather than blaming the IRFU and whinging. We are all aware of the resource inequality, but that's no excuse for pathetic performances like this evening. Fortunately, Andy Friend shares that view, as is clear in the article from the the42.ie linked above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭TRC10

I thought Cathal Forde looked very tidy for someone making his pro debut at 10.

He looked composed, took the ball flat to the line well, his passing was good, solid in defence and kicked his goals.

His kicking from hand will get better, but he looks like a great prospect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

So weaken the provinces over all and force players to move when they don’t want to? To what end? Make some Connacht fans happy? All things aren’t equal, this isn’t about participation awards. It’s professional sport.

Ya he looks very promising probably the best of the young 10s in the Country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭TRC10

If the Union represents the 4 provinces and funds the central contracts the players shouldn't be stock pilled into the biggest province.

So things in that sense should be equal. You want the central contract then you play where you're told. There should be a min numbe per province if the funds comes from the organisation that funds the 4.

But seeing that they tried to disband Connacht 20 years ago it shows it's not very equal. I'm sure over time Munster and Ulster will get bored of it as well as their chances of winning anything now have turned remote.

They are not stockpiled. They are produced by Leinster. The IRFU don’t move these players to Leinster. Something that seemingly goes over your head.

Leinster produce the most players for the national team. The funding for those contracts comes from that process. Forcing players to move away from their province will ultimately negatively affect this. It could also lead to players deciding to leave the system completely.

As I said what you are looking for is the equivalent of a participation award. We know you’re no good but we’ll give you a medal anyway.

The way things are at the moment works perfectly fine for the IRFU. All 4 provinces including Connacht are producing at U20 level. 3 provinces are competitive in both the league and Europe. Leinster are also capable of winning the HC. Which again is extra revenue for the overall organization.

So what you’re suggesting has no upside for the IRFU. It is pretty much a suggestion for the IRFU to shoot themselves in the foot. Just so one province might and it’s a big might, be more competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,116 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Seems like the best way to drive your best players abroad tbh

Connacht have a glut of Aussies and Leinster players? It could be that the coaching is shite? If young players want to move, they will. There's several lads that don't make academies that can be grabbed. Tim Corkery is an example.

Blaming the union is understandable. Nucifora brought in Friend. I think they should look for a new coach.

Leinster have 3rd year lads in the academy that could be available. Martin Maloney for one, Liam Turner is another! Connacht could pick up some good players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭ClanofLams

Can we stay in the realm of the possible here? IRFU aren’t/can’t move players.

I would agree with earlier point that Andy Friend gets a soft ride from the media who don’t follow Connacht as closely as most on here. Connacht need to finish season hell of a lot better.

Also agree that some senior players didn’t deliver yesterday.

But this league is getting tougher and starting Greg McGrath with Tuimauga coming on to replace him isn’t gonna get it done. Losing Quinn Roux and replacing him with a 32 year D2 player isn’t gonna get it done.

At the moment Connacht have a decent 30 (maybe), unless that number increases significantly Connacht are destined to be towards the bottom of the table.

On the plus side, the only signing we know about for next season, assuming Irish Times are correct, Josh Murphy is a far better signing than any made last summer bar Mack Hansen.

I'd agree with the Murphy signing. Quality player, although discipline is dodgy. There are players available! Munster have a 3rd year 2nd row who will struggle for match time. Paddy Kelly, why not poach him? I think there's plenty of options for Connacht.

It's a pity James Cronin left last tear. He could have been an asset for Connacht. I agree with the sub par signings like Fifita. Sometimes the answers are in front of you. Dowling is an example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

I'm less and less inclined to read the provincial threads, even the Connacht one, because of stupid provincial sniping like this. There are a couple of posters for every province who post drivel, ignore them - it's simple.

It's also why I very rarely if ever check look at the Ireland thread at all these days.

Prendergast must be a even better player then i thought because when Connacht dont have him they get mauled. Connacht lack size and the smaller men gas more often. Throw in a weak bench and your in trouble.

Looks like the are pissed with papaili and made him a full time water boy. They will need to look for another one like him and hope it works out. look at Jordan Mailata went from a one-year contract worth $5,000 to play for the North Sydney Bears to a four-year $64 million contract with the eagles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭AccidentallyOnside

They are absolutely stockpiled, whether they produced them or not. The central contract system is a way of financially doping primarily Leinster but also to a lesser degree munster (Murray on a central contract? Nonsense!). Leinster are already at a huge advantage due to their larger population and greater commercial revenues when you then pay for huge swathes of their players from a central fund you end up with a situation where one team can sustain a much higher calibre squad than anyone else in the league.

You're right that this isn't a problem for the IRFU or Leinster, just the other 3 teams and their fans. Once they can post their #TeamOfUs nonsense and the Aviva is full for internationals then they are doing their job.

If the central contracts were distributed evenly across the provinces that would allow the other provinces fairer access to central funds. Leinster would still be the richest team in the league, and if they could convince all of the players they produce to sign and stay within their budget then more power to them. If Connacht could have the wages of Carty, Marion, Hansen and Bealham covered that would leave us able to go out and secure higher quality NIQ players which would make us more competitive without adversely effecting Leinster at all.

The current system is working exactly how it was intended to, but that doesn't mean we shouldn't look to change it. Having more competitive teams in the league makes it a more attractive option for broadcasters and fans alike, but would be a threat to Leinsters hegemony so won't happen.

So you want to pay inferior players, extra money even though they won’t be making match day squads for Ireland? Of all the drivel I’ve seen posted here. That’s right up there at the top of the list.

I'd have Mack over Earls and Marmion over Murray every day of the week (on current ability), so it would seem your real issue is having "inferior players" subsidised for playing for connacht....which is telling.

That was purely using the current squads though, if central contracts were evenly spread you would almost certainly see more movement of players. This has happened before for a player on a central contract to move province....but that was someone moving from a "lesser" province to Leinster so that's OK.

The reason Leinster and Munster fans get so offended by the thought of changing the system is that it is currently so heavily weighted in their favour that having it made a bit more equitable (they would still have more money) is a real threat to them.

It's nobodies fault that Connacht has a small population! It's ludicrous to blame Leinster for Connachts lack of quality players etc.

I'm not doing that at all. I'm simply pointing out that the Irfu are running a closed shop; connacht are required to have almost exclusively irish players (like the other provinces), we are already at a disadvantage in producing those players due to lack of population, resources, history, etc. So Leinster are already at a natural advantage, marry that to their excellent infrastructure and systems and Leinster will always have the upper hand over basically every other team in the league. Fine, congrats to them, they are incredibly well run and will be successful because of it.

What isn't fine is the central governing body further advantaging them by then subsiding those players. That allows them to stockpile players in a way no other team in the league can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭freyners

I'd have Mack over Earls and Marmion over Murray every day of the week (on current ability), so it would seem your real issue is having "inferior players" subsidised for playing for connacht....which is telling.

Of course you would, you’re a Connacht fan and are completely incapable of an unbiased opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,116 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

While it would be great to make Connacht stronger, the central contract system is there for the benefit of the national team, not any or all of the provinces.

IRFU are not going to mess with anything that has even a minor chance of impacting the national team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

The problem here is that the IRFU giving Leinster less money makes it harder for Leinster to retain players and increases the chances of players going abroad. And that hurts the national team. And the national team funds everything. You’re asking for the IRFU to cut off its nose to spite its face. The IRFU haven’t set this system up because they love Leinster more than anyone else. They have it set up because it’s the best way from a national perspective to manage the game here. That may not suit everyone, but there is no solution that will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭CowboyTed

Josh Murphy would be a serious addition...

Would like Alex Sorka as well... If they want to call it a long term loan (i.e. 2-3 year) then I am happy with that... Sorka will hardly play 100 min of 1st team Rugby in 2 years... Connacht are giving out minutes... Sorka was rated higher than Cian Pendergast at underage...