Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,140 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Is there any chance the league game in Kerry might be moved to a different time?

It's currently on at 7:30pm on Saturday 12th March....not exactly an inviting time for travelling fans (I'm based in Limerick and even at that it's a tricky time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

This is why oshea has left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭HBC08

Please do tell what some other eejit has sent you on WhatsApp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭eastie17

Frantically searching the Breaffy club site to see whos on the executive and whos Daddy we are talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,462 ✭✭✭✭km79

No

They have floodlights

I have suprised herself with a nice valentines present now as well. Two nights in tralee

Im spoiling her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭eastie17

Christ man, if you got her to Killarney for one of the nights at least you'd have some chance of getting the leg over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,310 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The Dublin and Mayo games are traditionally at this stage on the Saturday night in Tralee.

A bit of a deal between Tralee and Killarney, Killarney gets the Sunday games Tralee gets the high profile Saturday ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,140 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Cheers lads....that's what I thought alright...I wouldn't think twice about taking the spin down myself but I'd be bringing two young fellas (6 and 9) with me.

I'd started bringing the older lad to Mayo matches before Covid so keen to get the other fella brainwashed as soon as possible :-)

The game on Sunday is most likely sold out according to the Mayo News podcast.Current capacity in Sligo is 12k (although it could comfortably hold 20k)

Exciting times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Anyone a bit concerned about Cillian? Round 5 or 6 of the league sounds a good bit out and I'd wonder about his sharpness coming back into the fold at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

Late night meeting called by Mayo gaa. God knows whats happening now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,708 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Apparently looking to get the league games back in the county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Reckon Mayo vs Donegal will end in a draw same way as it starts. In between both team will have leads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭MacDanger

Mayo team named:

https://twitter.com/MayoGAA/status/1486671083344478211?cxt=HHwWhoC-yafe26EpAAAA

First game for Doc in nearly 2.5 years; debut for McHugh from Mitchells at # 6

Ruttledge, Callinan, Irwin & Keane all on the bench and would make their (non-FBD) debut if they come on

Interesting to see who actually starts. I think 11 is Orme's best postition. I'd love to see Ruttledge get a run, I think hes very like Diarmuid in his style of play. Interesting to see Conor O'Shea back, hes been very good in club championship the last two years. Ruairi Keane is another man who deserves a run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Personally, I think Conor O'Se has had enough chances under more than one management, but listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭muddle84

Yeah I agree with this too. I thought it was the wrong decision to bring him back in but good luck to him all the same! Be interesting to see if Horan is back to the messing with starting a completely different team or sticking with the team sheet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Blackjack

There's a case to be made there alright, he's never shone in the County jersey, though I expect a lot of that might be down to which position he was shoehorned into on the team. That works for some players, not for all.

To his credit he's been excellent at Club level the last few years which is really what has justified his return to the County panel in my view. Plus we're no longer blessed with having the likes of Seamie and Tom as a midfield partnership, so with Mattie out for 2 games it's as well to try someone else in there to see how it flows.

It would be very demoralising to be be shining at club level and not get picked for county based on what happened four years ago. IMO wouldn't send out the right message to other lads

I'm not his greatest fan but what he does bring is the conditioning needed by an intercounty player, so he is built to play, even for A v B that makes him a worthwhile assest. After Jason Gibbons and Shane McHale hes probably been the best midfielder in the county the last two years so deserving of another chance

Thats all fair and I understand the justification for him getting another shot! I think Jason Gibbons is a good example too where he is probably the best midfielder in the county when it comes to Club but it didn't work out for him at county level. I hope he is left as named in midfield and lets see how he gets on!

I think Jason was just unfortunate with Injury most of the time - that said I'm fairly sure Holmes and Connelly just dropped him from the Panel for some reason better known to themselves, leaving us desperately short in Midfield that year. For all the talk of managerial mistakes made by Horan or Rochford, I've never understood why those 2 clowns got a free pass for their pre-historic managerial style and appalling tactics and match ups.

How do you make out they got a free pass considering how their time ended?

More how it's not discussed ad nauseum, such and anything Rochford or Horan have ever done wrong.

I get you, i think that's also because of how it ended and everyone accepts that it just wasn't going to work out! With Rochford and Horan I think people are more critical because they so close! I think Horan gets more flack because he still hasn't got as close of Rochford did!

Probably. That said there seems to be a cohort that believes getting rid of the 2 plebs was wrong. Some are those with vested interest, mostly though its folk who were clueless as to what went on both very obviously in the public domain but also to a lesser extent what wasn't made public. Their tell-all story with Brehany in the Indo didn't really tell all either, and was more of a hatchet job and sour grapes. It notably omitted some crucial details that were reported elsewhere, funnily enough. That's where my particular ire is held for the 2 gobshites - it wasn't enough that their appointment was a shambles and that they made a complete and utter balls of it while they were there, their efforts to poison the well afterwards were pretty unforgiveable.

Post edited by Blackjack on

Did you and the girls find any more gossipy fake WhatsApps or it that it for this week?

He has left the breaffy panel though hasn't he? I'm hearing that from what are usually reliable sources! I don't have a notion why!