Married Men - A Gay Lads View - Have you ever had an experience?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I used the word "waffle" as a part of my reply because it quite simply works as a description of your position and more, how you frame it. And yet again you add coal to the fire with this post. You ramble around whatever point you think you're making like a drunk man looking for his keys, quite happy in his wobbly quest. Though in one way I'm sorry I did use the perfectly apt description of waffle and ballsology because it gives you an out to keep ploughing that rut while avoiding my points and the bloody obvious holes in what passes for your argument.

Words change in meaning over time. Well no shít sherlock. The revelations are coming thick and fast folks. Well something's coming thick and fast... This means precisely nothing in this context. We could use the word 'bla' for a heterosexual, 'blu' for a homosexual and 'blee' for a bisexual and it would still be ridiculous to describe someone who chooses to be in blu as well as bla romantic/sexual relationships as a bla. Blee would work fine though and be actually and accurately descriptive. By contrast me saying "I'm a man living with the man I love in a warm romantic relationship and I'm Straight" is so ridiculous a statement it could well be a dictionary example of ridiculous. And yes people do use words differently to each other, but that doesn't mean they're correct in that usage. No matter how much they feel they are. They can self identify as whatever, but reality would beg to differ. BTW I included an Oxford dictionary definition of homosexual which agrees with my position and pointed out how one part of wikipedia concerning hetrosexuality pretty much renders moot bisexuality as a definition in another. If I can call myself Gay and yet choose to have Straight sexual and romantic encounters, or vice versa then Bisexuality doesn't exist. You can't even point to the point where a 'Straight' person who has 'Gay' sexual and romantic encounters(or vice versa) becomes 'Bi'. Of course you can't because your definitions are a nebulous nonsense. It's all 'fluid', which is a sure and convenient sign of someone with no concrete point to grab onto and as I said a fairly good indication that what's to follow is high powered pseud nonsense that only sounds clever to the speaker. This kinda thing is very commonly found in all sorts of woo and crankology out there.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,321 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Ohh stop it tax! Why do you imagine anyone should entertain your nonsense when you’re straight up telling them the whole thing is amusing for you? It’s bizarre, frankly, that you’re pretending to be offended.

Except simply claiming my position is "waffle" without actually rebutting it - does not mean it is. You are really doing nothing but restating an empty accusation. "It's waffle" "Why do you call it waffle?" "I call it waffle because it is waffle". Circular nonsense there and you know it.

So you can go on and on about "waffle" and "drunks" and "ballsology" and any number of 1000 other words without once rebutting or even referring to anything I actually said :) Weak.

But nothing you have written above rebuts or even refers to a single thing I have said.

The simple fact will still remain that the sentence you wrote "I'm a man living with the man I love in a warm romantic relationship and I'm Straight" remains a linguistically valid statement given the definitions of the words which I cited from the dictionary.

That those definitions seem ridiculous to you is an issue you have with those dictionaries - not me. But you taking issue with those definitions is a world of difference from rebutting my interpretation of those cited definitions. You want to keep doing the former - that's fine with me we can keep talking past/at each other.

If you wanna get around to attempting the latter however - it would make a welcome change.

"I'm a man living with the man I love in a warm romantic relationship and I'm Straight" remains a linguistically valid statement given the definitions of the words which I cited from the dictionary.

That's just patently not true

Ohh stop it Jack! I do not imagine anyone should "entertain" me. They choose to do reply to me of their own volition. I said I find it "interesting AND amusing". Interesting that you choose to cite one without the other in order to manufacture your little cop out ad hominem and personal attack here.

Yes I find some of the responses here quite comical. But more so do I find them interesting. The reactions to have someone simply say "Actually you know what - the definitions of these words actually say the following:" is really interesting. I have some theories on the basis of these reactions but I really don't understand them.

And no I am not "offended" I just think it is damn poor form and a simple cop out.

If you want to reply to / rebut anything I have said by all means do.

If you want to manufacture intentions on my part - and stop just short of calling me a troll - then that's on you and is indicative of absolutely no fault with me or my behavior here.

So which is it? Wanna discuss the topic? Or wanna just make it personal? I will not be doing the latter with you.

Except it absolutely is by the definitions I cited. And I have not simply declared that to be true. I offered and cited things, offered arguments and reasoning, and a conclusion.

Rather than just declaring by fiat it is not true - why not actually construct an argument to that effect? I can cite the definitions again for you if you want and you can show me where my interpretation of the cited text is wrong?

Or is "You are just wrong!" an argument these days? :) On Twitter maybe.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

So you can go on and on about "waffle" and "drunks" and "ballsology" and any number of 1000 other words without once rebutting or even referring to anything I actually said :) Weak.

I've rebutted your position consistently. You just don't want to read it. Instead keep coming back to this, with a new sideorder of a persecution complex:

The simple fact will still remain that the sentence you wrote "I'm a man living with the man I love in a warm romantic relationship and I'm Straight" remains a linguistically valid statement given the definitions of the words which I cited from the dictionary.

Which is more waffle and deflection - well I didn't say it, a dictionary and wikipedia did. I 'cited' other dictionaries that contradict this position. I also pointed out that the wiki page on heterosexuality and this enduring, but not exclusive take on it, renders the page on bisexuality on the same site kinda pointless. Saying it's 'linguistically valid' is more pseud avoidance. It's descriptively invalid.

Again if the above is valid how do you define 'linguistically' or otherwise bisexuality? You avoided that one. Why? Because your position holds about as much water as a sieve with extra holes and to attempt to define bisexuality would show this to be true. OK then; if Billy is sexually attracted to women but is also on occasion sexually attracted to men, even has had a long term relationship with a man but Billy says he is Straight. Fine. If Sean with the exact same background and experiences said he was Bi would you agree with that? You can't have it both ways. Shrodingers sexuality going on here. Same scenario, different definitions, depending on the observer. Though one is significantly more valid, because it reflects objective reality. Shrodinger's cat may be dead or alive depending, but it's still a cat. You're arguing around the former, I'm arguing around the latter.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

The issue is I do not think you have rebutted my position at all. You have rebutted the position of the dictionary. You have taken issue with what the dictionary says - not with what I have said. I have yet to see a single rebuttal of my position from you. Everything is just re-stating what you think the words mean without a single reference to my arguments or the definitions I cited.

And I "avoided" nothing. You have. Whole posts at times in fact! My reply very much does address your question on how I define these words. So nothing was avoided. Here is my position again. If you want to rebut my position not the dictionaries - by all means do so for once! I will split them under two headings so it is absolutely explicitly clear which is which.

• The citations my position is based on first (This is the dictionary not me):

1) "Sexual orientation is an enduring pattern of romantic or sexual attraction (or a combination of these) to persons of the opposite sex or gender, the same sex or gender, or to both sexes or more than one gender."

2) "Sexual identity and sexual behavior are closely related to sexual orientation, but they are distinguished, with sexual identity referring to an individual's conception of themselves, behavior referring to actual sexual acts performed by the individual, and orientation referring to "fantasies, attachments and longings." Individuals may or may not express their sexual orientation in their behaviors.".

3) "a person's identity in relation to the gender or genders to which they are typically attracted; sexual orientation."

• My position therefore is (This is me):

The definitions themselves (not me) specifically refer to "enduring patterns of attraction" and defines sexual orientation based on the "Genders to which they are typically attracted". They also explicitly differentiate between sexual behavior and orientation.

Given that definition and nothing else - if a persons enduring and typical behavior is heterosexual but consists of a single (event, or relationship) atypical exception then the text of the definition very much does allow their still being defined as heterosexual.

EXACTLY (not vague "thats waffle" or "no this is what I think the words mean") what is wrong with my interpretation of the text here? Do you find the locus of your reaction against this to be more focused on the bits under "This is the dictionary not me" "This is me" or some proportion of both?

But since you want me to explicity answer your question directly therefore - so you can not pretend that my answer does not already address your question implicitly - how would I define bisexuality? I would define it using the citations above. Specifically citation 1.

Please cite them again. I'm on mobile and can't easily see the definition which could possibly lead you to believe it could be true.

No problem - actually I just did in the post to wibbs above. In the post I was as clear as I can what things are coming from me personally and what things I am citing from other sources. As I think a few users are genuinely confusing which is which when they reply to me.

I hope it helps! I genuinely think a lot of the things people are taking issue with me - are not actually coming from me but the dictionary. I am merely saying what I think the dictionary says. In taking exception to much of this with me - they are actually taking issue with the dictionary.

Whatever else - to be fair to me - I think it would be kind if we stop and take a moment to be absolutely sure which is which. We might discuss whether the dictionary definition is a nonsense or bad definition or not. That's fine. But me pointing out what the dictionary says is different.

Again "Don't blame the messanger when you could go back and tell the message sender their message sucks". :) Are we arguing the definition is a bad one - or that my interpretation of the definition is somewhere inaccurate or unclear?

I'll look into that. Where did you get that specific definition, and by that definition, would you agree that an adult person who has sex with a child, only once, cant definitively be classed as a paedophile or that they can accurately class themselves as not a paedophile?

Ahh feck sake man, what do paedophiles or child molesters have to do with any of this? Completely different conversation, nothing to do with anything here. It’s ridiculous to shoehorn paedophilia into the discussion, nothing at all whatsoever to do with anything, linguistically, sexually or otherwise.

Definition 1 and 2 are from Wikipedia. Definition 3 has multiple sources as it is so commonly used. From a dictionary like "Lexico" and "Oxford Languages" to many articles (First result I find using it for example on google scholar is an article called "Pediatric Rheumatology comes of age".

I am not saying it is the only definition(s) out there either. All I am saying is given that definition my interpretation is valid. By another definition it might not be. But if my interpretation of the definitions I found is wrong - I am still waiting to hear how/why.

As for your second question - I think it is a better question than OEJs emotion response above suggests. And I appreciate you appear to be engaging with me a little better on the topic. Thank you for that.

The answer is "It depends". This same question came up earlier in the thread where I answered it at more length. But actually in the literature it is already recognized that not all people who sexual abuse a child are pedophiles. There are many other motivations and causal factors that can cause such things. Sexual activity simply does not in and of itself alone define sexual orientations.

Once again this is because as I have said a few times now with orientation (gay straight bi) as well as in sexual crimes (like pedophilia or rape) there is a distinction between orientations and behaviors built into this. And an explicit (it is in my citation above in bold) distinction to that effect is made in what I cited.

So short answer: Yes it is entirely possible someone who once off has sexual interactions with a child could validly be defined as not being a pedophile.

Ah lads, are ye still debating how many gender fluid angels can fit on the head of a pin. 😅

Sexual attraction and behaviour is one of the "parent" groups on which you are arguing that negates the well known and accepted definitions of gay, bi and straight are.

I am not in any way conflating any particular orientation to paedophilic tendencies, I am just acknowledging that by your reasoning, someone who hasn't a repeated pattern of attraction to children could reasonably consider themselves as not a paedophile. I don't think that's true.

I’m flattered you’re mixing me up with @[Deleted User] , but if our physical descriptions are anything to go by, we don’t look anything alike (I have no inclination towards a healthy lifestyle 😂), but I said nothing about parent categories or any of the rest of it. I keep categorisations simple -

Gay | Lesbian | Whatever.

Man | Woman | Whatever.

Simple.

My apologies oej. I'm typing as I'm walking home from work.

Trying to get the wife to agree to me going for a pint, trying to fix month end accounts and figure out how someone can say being in a same sex relationship and defining themselves as straight got me confused.

Know the feeling only too well man, no harm done 😁

So in essence, what I identify as is correct, even if I'm in a long term sexual relationship with a woman I can quite comfortably self describe myself as Gay? This is extremely subjective and terribly fashionable over the last couple of decades as part and parcel of identity politics, but when defining objective terms we can or should safely ignore that approach, save as a postscript on the sociological aspects of the position being taken.

And yes those definitions are still vague and again I would say that it's identity politics arse covering at work and a reticence to embrace the bisexual label on behaviour in favour of nebulous fluidity.

Again; if Billy is sexually attracted to women but is also on occasion sexually attracted to men, even has had a long term relationship with a man but Billy identifies as Straight. OK. If Sean with the exact same background and experiences but Sean identifies as Bi. If Paddy with the exact same background and experiences but identifies as Gay. Is all that also OK? If so in the 'linguistic' world you're inhabiting it is pointless to even have definitions as they're entirely self identifying, subjective and variable.

Which is fine if you want to describe the entirely self identifying, subjective and variable as a sociological or philosophical exercise, but not if you want to define a broader objectivity. You may as well throw out bisexuality as a term for a start. It's kinda pointless in this framework, unless of course someone wants to self identify as such, but then that's just as subjective. Again you've not answered this implicitly or explicitly. You're back to enduring behavior as a get out of having to. Again at what point is bisexuality, or heterosexuality, or homosexuality an enduring pattern? Even split between sexes someone is sexually attracted to equals Bi, or a sliding scale where someone can self identify as Gay/Bi/Straight/Other? They may as well do, because it's not based on the same patterns of behaviour the premise claims.

However the definitions I hold to be accurate do, because, well they're actually accurate for a start. In my framework Billy, Sean and Paddy above are on the spectrum of Bisexuality(and I thought we're supposed to embrace the sexual spectrum). They're Bisexuals. Simple.

"So in essence, what I identify as is correct, even if I'm in a long term sexual relationship with a woman I can quite comfortably self describe myself as Gay?"

If you say so? But that is not what I am saying. Nothing in that sentence above comes even remotely close to matching anything I have said :/

I genuinely do not know how many different ways I can describe my _actual position_ on this matter before you reply to it and not something markedly different. :/ I really do not think you a stupid person. Far from it. So at this stage I can only begin to suspect you are willfully pretending to misunderstand what I am saying.

What I am saying is that the definitions I have found suggest you can reasonably describe yourself as Gay if your Sexual Orientation shows a "typical" and "enduring" pattern of being sexually attracted to men and not to women.

If however you are consistently, typically, and normally attracted to women and not men the definition I cited would suggest you be labelled "heterosexual".

If you partook in a couple of entirely atypical homosexual experiences - or even a single solitary but relatively long term homosexual relationship - the definition I cited would seemingly (look at the wording yourself) also suggest you be labelled "heterosexual". For not 1 but 2 reasons.

If you at that point wished to identify yourself as bisexual - I am not sure who would take issue with it. I certainly would not. But the definitions I cited merely show that it is entirely valid and coherent for you to choose not to do so.

So if you are in a long term relationship with a woman and simply decide to call yourself gay? Have at it if you like. But the definitions I cited certainly would not suggest you do so - or offer a basis for doing so.

Really I have said no more than that. To point out what those particular cited definitions say/mean. So can we maybe stop pretending otherwise???

Tax the issue is that you’re viewing these concepts entirely from the perspective of the individual, as opposed to the way they are commonly understood - not by definitions found in dictionaries.

Understanding of any concept relies on reason, not definition. Consensus is far more helpful in understanding than individuals interpretations, ie - if someone claims that they are straight, while their behaviour suggests otherwise, they’re lying to themselves, and they’re trying to convince the person they’re making the claim to, knowingly attempting to undermine their understanding of these concepts.

That’s why it’s insidious. I don’t see any of these mens wives that the OP refers to as agreeing with their husbands claims that they are straight. That’s projecting on my part of course, but it’s not an unreasonable assumption in the context of wider Western society, which is putting concepts like sexual orientation in their proper context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

But we do have examples of gay men in longterm sexual relationships with women?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭Packrat

Ok guys.

Very long windy arguments.

@Tax.. Define bisexual. On that single point hinges all argument.

I understand your arguments and accept them to be true *as far as dictionary definitions go, however in the real world Wibbs is correct because whomever wrote and edited those dictionary definitions seems to have cared only about mathematical logic and not at all about the reality of sex and human relationships (which in fairness to them they probably hadn't a lot of experience of)

You seem to care more about linguistical gymnastics combined with this mathematical logic and the dictionary definitions of dead people, than actual real world experience, which is at odds with your self professed broad experience.

I've been here about as long as yourself and have great respect for you as a genuine honest poster, but sometimes we all have to admit that we took the wrong side and rather than doubling down, - accept that we are human and fallible.

Contrary to what you write - I frequently acknowledge and refer to how the words are "commonly understood". Taken great pains to say again - and again and again - that I am perfectly cognizant of how the terms are "commonly understood". And that this is perfectly fine!

All I have said is when you look - and for some reason it has wound many people up - the terms are defined in a slightly broader way than "commonly understood".

I found this interesting - and surprising - and yes even amusing.

Under those definitions - it is linguistically valid to define someone (or oneself) - based on enduring and typical patterns - rather than single isolated exceptions.

Which means that 99.9% of the time the words still remain as people "commonly understand". But allow for slightly more than that too. Such as people who have isolated and entirely atypical exceptions in their life or - which I find more interesting - people who's sexual orientation changes later in their life.

Exactly! Which is why some of the definitions and wiki articles explicitly acknowledge the difference between "sexual orientation" and "sexual behavior". Because the two can at times not be the same.

Your example is a very good one of where that is the case.

The definitions are clear therefore - that such a gay person can absolutely be and identify as gay. The fact they are in a heterosexual relationship does not in and of itself mean they are heterosexual or even bisexual.

Put another way - your sexual orientation is seemingly defined by who your attractions and desires are orientated towards - not who you actually have sex with.

I am not going to define Bisexual. My definitions are my own - irrelevant and boring. Until I read the dictionaries I had - like many people - not really thought about it that deeply in fact! My definitions would have been pretty much close to Wibbs, Dunne and others here.

I am just telling people on this thread what the dictionaries and articles I found define these things as - and discussing how interesting and thought provoking those definitions are given how subtly different they are to how many people might have thought.

To answer your question explicitly therefore:

The text I have cited refer to typical and enduring behaviors. So my understanding of their understanding of bisexuality would be that it would be typical or common or enduring over a time period that this person be attracted to both men and women.

To say the exact same thing but in reverse - the text seems to be saying that a bisexual is not someone who is typically only attracted to one gender but somewhere sometime found a single exception in the other gender and fell for them. But has never been attracted to a single other person of that gender before this time - during this time - or since this time.

It seems most people - on the thread at least - would want to call that person a bisexual. Which is fine. No one here - certainly not me - is telling them otherwise I think.

What I am telling them is that if that person identifies as heterosexual then it is linguistically valid for them to do so given the definitions in play. And I very much do know two people very well in fact who fit this example exactly.

Sorry I only realized you were replying to me just now.

But yes - if you look into the literature on sexual abuse of children - and the literature on treating and rehabilitating perpetrators of such abuse - it is very much acknowledged there that much sexual abuse of children is perpetrated by people who are not actually pedophiles. They detail other motivations and causal factors which can lead a person to sexually abuse a child despite not being a pedophile.

Which is important to treat and rehabilitate such a person. If we make wrong assumptions about what is actually wrong with a person - then rehabilitation of that person is likely to fail. To use an analogy to disease - many diseases can present with exactly the same symptoms. If you treat the symptom and not the disease (like giving an antibiotic to a person who actually has a virus) you will likely fail. You must find out what the disease/problem actually is and treat that.

So yes sexual attraction and behavior are quite distinct things. In the context of this thread this is interesting I think. In the context of something like sexual abuse however - it goes form being interesting to being of monumental and critical importance. Thankfully the literature does not conflate behavior and orientation in the same way the average joe like yourself or myself might.

Very long windy arguments.

True words them. On the subjective level call yourself what you like, but it's making things far more complex than they actually are. Or need to be. If by choice and desire you've only had same sex experiences and have zero interest in opposite sex experiences you're Gay*. If by choice and desire you've only had opposite sex experiences and have zero interest in same sex experiences you're Straight. If by choice and desire you've had both same and opposite sex experiences you're Bi. Covers all bases without going down ever deeper rabbit holes and is actually descriptive.

My biggest takeaway from this thread has been resistance to the Bi label. I suppose I would have some 'bias' here from experience with an ex, who before, during and after our decidely hetero relationship without a flicker of awareness of the cognitive dissonance involved claimed she was Lesbian. Any suggestion that she was Bi was met with strong resistance so I left that hot potato alone after the first time it came up.

We do, but that's more to do with societal, familial and cultural expectations than sexuality in many cases. Gay men and women trying to 'pass' as Straight in a heterosexual society. This was far more common in the past when things were way worse for those who weren't Straight. Again by choice and desire in a 'perfect world' how many of those Gay men and women would be in such relationships? If they would be, then they're Bi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭bokale

But I mean it messes up you trying to say that this could not be:

"So in essence, what I identify as is correct, even if I'm in a long term sexual relationship with a woman I can quite comfortably self describe myself as Gay"

We agree that someone could be a gay man in a longterm sexual relationship with a woman.

I have seen - but experience myself no - resistance to the bi label too.

A lot of the time it is because of negative - or fear of negative - reactions to it. Even on this thread bi sexuals note the judgements and comments and even out right hatred they get for being bi.

Which is very very sad to hear.

But I think people also want words that describe themselves as accurately as possible to those in the world around them. They want to use a label that describes themselves as accurately as possible to the people they talk to. A label that will give the other person the most accurate possible picture of past and future behaviors and patterns. So that other person leaves the conversation with the best possible picture of their future actions and feelings and character.

So if someone is in a relationship with someone of the same sex - has never been interested in that sex before during or since - simply this one individual exception - I can absolutely understand their identifying and wanting to be identifies as heterosexual. And the dictionary allows for that. And it is not because they are resisting the bisexual label. It is simply because they know that someone who has that label for them in their head - has a less than accurate representation of them in their head.

But for those people who are bisexual but resist the label or are scared of the label of have suffered because of that label - that is an entirely different set of human experiences and motivations and I genuinely feel for them.

My definitions are my own - irrelevant and boring.

That’s exactly where I’m coming from, and it’s not that your definitions are your own and linguistically valid and all the rest of it, but that sexual orientation as a concept, must exist independently of individual linguistically valid self-definitions, in order to be of any utility for the purposes for which it is intended - not as any sort of a gotcha or attempt to undermine peoples perceptions, but simply as an observation and categorisation of phenomena.

Individuals referring to themselves as straight, while engaging in what would commonly be associated with or considered homosexual activity or relationships, are outliers, extreme outliers at that in the context of sexual orientation and sex and sexuality and relationships, in Western society.

So far outlier, that while they make for a legitimate study group for people who study human behaviour, psychology, sexuality and all that stuff, they’re not particularly interesting or worthy of note in and of themselves, if that makes sense?

Not gonna lie, it’s a difficult one to articulate 😂

My biggest takeaway from this thread…

My own biggest takeaway from this thread has been the accuracy of this metaphor -

Bushes bigger than the hurdles at Cheltenham…

Nailed it. So to speak 😁

So if someone is in a relationship with someone of the same sex - has never been interested in that sex before during or since - simply this one individual exception - I can absolutely understand their identifying and wanting to be identifies as heterosexual. And the dictionary allows for that. And it is not because they are resisting the bisexual label. It is simply because they know that someone who has that label for them in their head - has a less than accurate representation of them in their head.

While they may prefer to identify as heterosexual it's still perfectly accurate to describe them as bisexual. The former is a personal subjective preference, the latter an impersonal subjective reality: they are capable of and choose to have both same and opposite sex relationships. Whether that be one or more than one. A Straight or Gay person couldn't/wouldn't.