Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

I'm not sure I understand you mate.

I'm not offended in any way.

The people claiming all men are potential murderers were met with derision. Your "opinion" that the whiners on here are just embittered because they can't get a man and aren't as visually or emotionally attractive than eastern european women are also going to be met with derision.

If you complain about unfair generalisations about men and in the next breath make sweeping generalisations of your own against women, it undermines any credibility in your position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,066 ✭✭✭HerrKuehn

I am thinking his statement may have been intended in a way similar to a Zen Koan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭zv2

Hey, what if ALL men bubble wrapped? Could we go for a pint then?

It looks like history is starting up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,461 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I would say a lot of Asians are victims based on their gender

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭john123470

Do you speed read my posts ?

I said above ..

"Youre right about "some" women

The whiners on here are "generally" women who have been overlooked ..."

'Some' and 'generally' do not connote "all"

I am not afraid of "derision", Sir.

You may fear it - i don't

Just reporting on what I observe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,152 ✭✭✭✭anewme

What you actually fail to realise John, your" opinion" gives very much weight to the discussionj put forward by women here and in the media about misogyny and lack of respect.

There were similar opinions on the late late show thread against women speaking out - they are bitter lemons who must be squeezed.

I was embarassed by your posts telling someone that she was let down by men and that she is a guest in this Country and its not your fault that she and women were unhappy. However, those hateful opinions were roasted quicker than a zip firelighter when you had to backpedal. Now you are back with a different angle - Eastern European women great, Irish women - no. The reality is - you dont actually know what nationality the women you are complaining about are?

I will also say that there is no woman here or in the medai who has said anything in any way close to: The whiners on here are generally women who have been overlooked / rejected by men and are permanently embittered.

Why do you think women's happiness should be down to men?

This is the type of attitude that needs to change, or if unable to change, that is challenged every time it is rolled out. By women and men.

Then, maybe then, there will be some progress.

Edited to add: While I do see some posters liking John's obvious "views" (indicting that there are more views like this out there), it is good to see the posters calling it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

But you see, it's not. Plenty of people have had a terrible youth but put it behind them and divert themselves away from a life of crime and drug addiction - sometimes with the help of services, mostly without. So my point is that a guilty as charged person awaiting sentencing whose defence solicitor tugs on the emotional strings of the judge with a sob story in order to gain a suspended sentence or a much reduced one is a tactic that is well played. I could argue that free legal aid solicitors engage in these tactics in the full knowledge that sooner or later they'll have the client back before the judge on further charges and the whole rinse and repeat cycle continues. Meanwhile the solicitor commands a hefty fee for his/her endeavours.

This is alot of where the problems exist in our legal system. I've a few friends who are guards and they'll tell you that they get disillusioned at times putting efforts into catching criminals - repeat criminals, only to have a judge slap them down with a paltry fine. Outside on the court steps the garda will get a sneering smirk and a middle finger from the "poor little thug" that the guard(s) worked hard to get a case into court.

But hey, who gives two hoots about all of this? The free legal aid solicitor? Nah, this is a game for them; the Judge? Nah, they will be going home to gated houses well away from all of the criminality; The criminals? not a hope - they know how to play the theatrics, put on a sob story and laugh afterwards.

Meanwhile, you'll get mouthpieces all over the media pointing the finger at society and in particular native Irish men - the ones who for the most part work hard and pay taxes to keep all this show on the road. The past week I think alot of men have had the time to really take a broad look at all of this and start to question it. They're dead right to start asking these questions and challenge the lazy narratives that are costing them in many ways - their wallet through taxes, their mental health and general reputation through ongoing media onslaughts about how we're constantly treating women like second class citizens.

There needs to be reform and the record needs to be changed.

I have read your posts. In great detail. Which is why I said I don't understand you.

I get the impression that you think you aren't making a sweeping generalisation. When you use the word generally, you are making a generalisation. The words are related.

I'm glad you aren't afraid of derision. I'm not sure why you keep putting it in quotation marks though.

I'll leave it at that. I doubt we will agree so no point in going back and forth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭zv2

Feminism has unleashed a torrent of gender hate against men. Is it just me or does anyone else here see a connection between the feminist hate campaign and men's anger?

It looks like history is starting up again.

Gas. A thread about men being generalised, and your argument is to generalise women based on nationality, and then to excuse yourself by claiming its only your opinion.

What if all those women you are putting down also say it's their opinion that all men are predators (or whatever) is that ok?

It doesn't pull in judges heartstrings!

Judges don't let emotion cloud their judgement. While you may think that the sob story is just emotional, judges and lawyers know that it mitigates 'somewhat' in law. It's not emotion. It is the law.

What about victim impact statements? It's not any emotional response that judges have to them, it is about the actual impact a crime has had on them. So while it may be emotional for the victim, it is fact for judges.

I have lots of friends that are guards too, they should understand how the law and legal system works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

There is a connection no doubt - but anger is probably not the overwhelming response to it. Disappointment and disillusioned along with poor morale are more common reactions than outright anger. I can imagine there are some that are angry with it, but they don't make up the majority of men.

We might get other women to call them out on this ?

What would explain the judge Martin Nolan being known for extremely lenient sentencing? The sentences are certainly not objective, there is a subjective element to it.

In Asia, definitely yes. In the West, not so much. Really depends on which country/culture they're involved with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭kerryjack

I think a set of blinkers and maybe a ring on our nose if we do get out of hand, we could also look at squeezing any males at birth and keep a few for breeding and keep them in cages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,359 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Was talking to my other half last night about the chances of me going to jail at some point for going to a pub or not crossing the road, in jest of course but this point came up.

She said to me that when she goes out for a run she doesnt want all men banned from around her. She would like if a few good strong men are around to help in case some murderer psycho decides not to cross the road and attack her. What on earth is she going to do if there are no other men around to help her out. How do you mark the psychos and the good strong defenders. Somne would say police uniform, but sure you never see them around where we live. The last time they were called for a burglary here they turned up 4 days later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

But posters on here and other threads have already said they don't get involved in other people's business.

In fact, when I suggested that society needs to call out bad behaviour, very few posters agreed.

I honestly believe that if something were to happen to me on the street, there are very few passersby that would bother to intervene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

In relation to the OP, I think a licence for men to go out and socialise is just daft. In my opinion, a vast number of men and women get along fine and the number of men who are just plain bad is probably not as high as the media make out. I would add to that there are plenty of women out there who are just as bad but don't usually kill anyone. Trolling online is one example of how people can go down a bad road without realising it at first. I would have no issues with education programs starting in school about correct behaviour and general politeness and kindness.

Dan.

I assume you would go over and get involved if someone was being assaulted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,770 ✭✭✭circadian

No. I see some men getting up in arms for reasons I can't seem to figure out, unless they themselves are guilty of groping, cat calling, derogatory comments or worse.

The simple fact is, women in general do not feel safe. I see women crossing the street as I'm approaching them on the same side. I wouldn't consider myself to be an intimidating figure but to them I am.

Plenty of women have suffered sexism, sexual assault or discrimination to varying degrees of severity throughout their lives. These stories are shared. Women are aware of the prejeduces they face in society.

Yet here we are. A few fellas think it's absurd to punish people for unwarranted comments to women, which in itself can be very intimidating.

Seriously lads, get your heads out of your holes. They aren't blaming you. Suck it up and let your ego take the hit that something isn't about you for once.

You may not be engaging in this **** but your waving it away and ignoring the bigger issues here certainly add fuel to the fire.

See it for what it is.

Nobody should be afraid when out and about. What a lot of women go through on a daily basis is fundamentally wrong. There is a systemic issue here and there's absolutely no excuse for it. We need to recognise it, take a long hard look at our society and figure out a solution.

Yes. I would. I would ring for Gardai and I would try my best to intervene

Well I think it makes sense to call the Gardai, I don't see why anyone would not do that. If you intervene physically you are of course risking serious injury yourself and I am sure most people would be aware of that. So, I wouldn't hold it against people if they would not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Thats what happens when theres an online , and msm onslaught of (sometimes faux) outrage ....

Im sure there were loads of videos of how outraged all those people that were there were ....

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

This is what is known as shaming. You are essentially saying if someone doesn't agree with you then they are guilty. It is a popular method used to silence people. Ridiculous argument tbf.

There have been some people on both sides of the debate on this thread who have put forward convincing arguments from their perspective. I am guessing you haven't read the thread and just hopped on to wind people up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

I'm a fan of the saying "history doesn't repeat itself, but it rhymes". Happens throughout history in many different areas.

I wonder if we're headed a similar way to where we were historically. 50 years and more ago women were treated poorly in some segments of Irish society. Male only golf clubs, male only swimming areas, women not allowed to vote etc.

Through calls for equality all of those were rightly corrected.

But I can see men being pushed below women in the equality stakes in the future. We're already seeing it with gender quotas in business, politics.

McConkey already questioned if men need a licence to socialise.

I could definitely see calls in future for women only public transport or women only designated streets or pubs/restaurants etc.

Ringing the Gardai doesn't help a person in trouble as the incident will most likely be over before they arrive (if they arrive). If you are not willing to physically intervene then you are not helping the victim.