Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭SamStonesArm

How dare you say that about a woman.

Am I doing it right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭AyeGer

And absolutely the wrong person to wheel out at this sensitive time.

Glad we've managed to make this all about the suffering of men in the world. My sympathy to Ashlings family, I can't imagine it must be terrible time for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,146 ✭✭✭✭anewme

If I tell you I don’t want you to shout at me and you insist on shouting at me, that’s.not disagreeing with me, it’s you not listening to me.

When people set personal boundaries, it’s not an agree/disagree topic.

Feck sake , an acquaintance on Facebook banging on about Facebook taking down the pictures of the murderer from her page. For shite sake, they've no respect at all and it's already after happening that the other fella that was questioned was assumed guilty straight away by these idiots. Leave the guards to their jobs and piss off looking for a few likes on yer fooking pages ya cnuts . 🤬

That's not what happened there though.

The female poster framed a disagreement dishonestly to make it look like the male poster dismissed her opinion because she was a woman. That was simply not true.

Plus if you tell me you don't want to be shouted at but I have my own reasons for shouting, I have listened to you. Ive chosen to ignore you and disagree that your reason is more valid than mine.

Your analogy makes it out that if people listened to you, you'd always get your own way. And it depends on what the personal boundaries are. It can very much be an agree/disagree topic.

I just presumed triggered so didn't bother me arse replying .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭daithi7

Yep, allergic. I flicked into it during breaks a few times, cringe inducing, tangential, tripe, furthering a bunch of feminist agenda favourite gripes.... woeful stuff.

Big sympathies with Ashling's family, students, colleagues & genuine friends. All the others on the media are just attention seeking parasites imho!

Hold on now, I object to be called dishonest.

The poster bwalsh very rudely dismissed my post as "nonsense" without even bothering addressing the questions I asked, (still unanswered) before they then went on the attack.

I definitely believe they reacted this way to what I posted because I was a woman. (My username is a bit of a giveaway).

Before you start telling me I'm wrong, you don't get to tell me how I feel.

But ironically, isn't that a big part of the problem here? Women being told by men how they should feel.

I was accused of "looking to start a row" when I actually wasn't, I ducked out of the thread then, because I knew its a waste of time, but I won't stand by and be called dishonest.

"Before you start telling me I'm wrong, you don't get to tell me how I feel. "

Being right or wrong are not feeling s

100 percent.

I’m really not sure what the issue is.

If women are saying that they dont want street harassment , then that’s the end of it, there’s not an agree or disagree choice. It’s not getting through to dine people.

Someone said earlier “mad idea, but how about you just mind your own business” and that’s really it summed up.

Object away.

I definitely believe it was dishonest. And before you tell me I'm wrong, you don't get to tell me how I feel.

We can both do that.

And men aren't telling women how to feel ffs.

Pointing out that the safety issue has been ratcheted up by media and arsehole militant feminists and explaining (not mansplaining) that men are not the enemy is not telling women how to feel.

It's baffling that saying to a guy "you've no idea what it's like to be a woman. Shut up and listen" is accepted.

In this case, they are.

The Dunne just accused me of "framing something dishonestly" to "make it look" like bwalsh dismissed my post because I was a woman.

Some feat of mental gymnastics on their part to think I took the time to manipulate the post that way. Its insulting.

I posted honestly. I never post otherwise. I did, and still feel my post was dismissed because I was a woman.

How I feel about it, is not up for debate, and not up for anyone else to tell me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,539 ✭✭✭TheChizler

(My username is a bit of a giveaway).

I would have bet on Louis or Laurence tbh.

i used the word shouting but I mean whistling or commenting so apologies if it’s unclear.

Scenario. I don’t know you. I don’t need to tell you I don’t want your whistling /commenting etc. you should have the decency and common sense to recognise this and respect others boundaries and just not do it.

its haduc stuff. if you don’t understand this, isn’t the post about the Fella offering Code of conduct lessons/ etiquette lessons bd if people are unsure of basic social etiquette and skills.

How you feel is not up for debate.

Grand. Feel away.

I feel you are being dishonest.

How I feel is not up for debate.

I'm sorry, The Dunne, if you read every post believing the poster is trying to manipulate the discussion.

It must be exhausting for you.

People do usually manipulate conversation by adding to it. It's not necessarily a bad thing. Unless its done dishonestly.

I believe you were being dishonest when you accused the other poster of saying you were speaking nonsense purely because you were a woman.

Trying to shut a poster up by framing them as sexist for not agreeing with you is either dishonest or incredibly stupid and I don't think you are stupid.

I genuinely didn't put 2&2 together there and was unclear as to what you meant.

I understand now but still am at odds with your opinion that it is indecent or senseless to compliment a woman you don't yet know.

I agree with your stance on whistling though. Mostly because I hate the noise.

But how your behaviour in public makes other people feel, is up for debate.

The discussion is around not feeling the need to comment on strangers as they may not feel comfortable with it, or need your validation, good or bad.

The answer is, don’t do it.

but for some reason, that’s proving difficult for some to understand

Some people have such a hard-on for speech to be policed that they would agree that people should be charged with the egregious crime of complimenting a woman they don't know.

That's what's difficult to understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,763 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

maybe it should just be recorded as a non-crime hate-incident, keep everyone happy that way...

It used to be the likes of the ultra-conservative Mary Whitehouse types who would blame sexually explicit films and games for instigating violence and warping minds/ruining culture etc and try to ban films and imagery that was deemed unsuitable for society.

When did the roles reverse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

I find it astonishing that Sam McConkey isn't required to have a licence before he's allowed spout whatever nonsense is going through his mind when he's on tv/radio.

Some of his COVID related claims in the early days were absolutely ridiculous:

"Speaking on RTE [via The Sun], Professor Sam McConkey of the Royal College of Surgeons Ireland spoke of a worst-case scenario that could see four million people infected and up to 120,000 deaths."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,512 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I see Morning Ireland are broadcasting AGAIN from near where the woman died.

RTE obviously don't understand what the family meant when they asked for space to grieve and deal with their loss.

What reason has MI to be in town? It would be exactly same show from Dublin.

But it's what I would expect from rte. They have really latched on to this incident, and been even more ghoulish than usual.

Does my head in that kind of stuff.

The front of the stat yesterday had a picture of the family at the scene. Fook sake, have a bit of cop on and leave the family grieve without taking pictures of the hardest walk that family has ever taking in their lives. It's absolutely sick .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,100 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

RTE nosiness and ghoulishness knows no bounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,335 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i watched 3 mins of dancing with the stars last night , i know it's tv and the probably all met up beforehand and fake the surprise of meeting for the first time, but the male dancer called his partner "hi gorgeus" and looked her up and down telling her she was gorgeus, jaysus my woke alarm was going insane, and on our national station , after all they have been saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭piplip87

Why is it when thousands are killed via suicide bombings world wide each year, it's #notallmuslims but the same people tweeting that are the same blaming all men for the murder of a woman.

The same people only a few weeks ago where tweeting outrage at JK Rowling for suggesting that rapists with penises who think their a woman should not be locked up with women....... They really cared about women's safety but I guess the trans agenda trump's everything these days.

The truth of the matter is our society is getting more violent, everybody is at risk far more men are killed and attacked by men than women. That is not minimising the awful tragedy that unfolded in Tullamore. I also see people asking men to step up and talk to their friends, There's a massive massive difference between a sexist joke and murdering somebody.

Also the amount of virtue signaling about this is just plain wrong. A girl I know organised a vigil over the weekend and advertised it on social media but the tons official one was the night before so feck all people showed to hers, let's just say the meltdown that followed wasn't about Ashling at all.....