Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Do men need a license to be allowed socialise (MOD NOTE IN OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,408 ✭✭✭✭elperello

To all those saying what is a scientist/virologist doing giving his opinion on something outside his specialty.

We have had almost two years of everyone on the internet holding forth with great confidence about his specialty which they know little about.

As for his idea, it's a bit of a non-runner but if it ever comes to pass I know a few who will be getting penalty points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,168 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Hang on, who was lying?

That right there is why so frequently don't report assault or rape, because if (and its a big if) it goes to court and the accused is acquitted then it immediately flips in to 'she was lying'.

Personally I see people who go down that route immediately if a conviction isn't secured know that it's an opportunity to instill a message that women should keep their mouth shut. (And for the record, if a claim is proven to be false, then that person should be charged with having made it)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,386 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

there's pornography on newstalk? what, pat kenny reading out dirty letters in a breathy voice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

The fact that this suggestion was even aired and not immediately ridiculed is what's the most damming thing...

It's utterly ridiculous...

I have had many moments were was felt uneasy walking alone at night, having to cross the road or take my keys out...I'm a man who has been assaulted 4 times in my live...but I don't live in fear of being out at night or when dark...I just do things that would metigate my risk...

Yet my wife, says she is often afraid to be out on her own when it's dark, even walking from the car to the front door which is 6 meters...yet she has never been attacked or assaulted in her life and neither have any of her friend's...

The media and society at large are fuelling an atmosphere of fear at women, and to me it makes no sense...

Random assault victims are typically men not women...

Also on the topic of women being harassed my men in pubs and clubs, I don't for one second condone it, but I'm surely not alone in having my groped by hen parties, but sure I'm a man and I should be happy with any physical contact from women...the double standards in that situation are infuriating to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭growleaves

Claiming that every aspect of how we live our lives is just a detail of an epidemiological matter that non-specialists shouldn't even comment on is not something I ever accepted.

Now these virologists/epidemiologists hold forth on Reformed ecclesiastical doctrine, criminal justice.. what's next?

I agree with anyone saying hes a clown and his opinion ahould be disregarded and therefore no need for outraged reaction

I hope that this is consistent advice for the next time an idiot the other side of things does similar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭john123470

Gospel

Scumbags thrive because of the current architectecture of Law & Order.

The buck is constantly being passed on

M Martin is simply buck passing

There is a female currently holding office as Minister for Justice - Ms Helen McEntee. That is a good as it gets for women who want a stand taken against violence against women (or men for that matter)

Throwing it back onto the people is just political expediency

let us see some Real changes in sentencing with both repeat and serious offenders .. let us see a female politician of such high rank step up to the plate and do what clearly needs doing ..

Helen McEntee has an obligation - both as a female and a politician - to do a bit more than simply spouting on about no stones being left unturned to catch the perpetrator.

Educating scumbags to behave like gentlemen is a long shot

Do your job, I say

I'll hold my breath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭MakersMark

It's not men who attack women.

It's criminal scum that happen to be men.

Mandatory lengthy jail terms for all assaults and burglary will make society safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭PaoloGotti

This is it. The mindset required to kill someone in such a manner cannot be schooled out of someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

the point is the MP felt safe ( career and reputation wise ) in saying it

imagine if she suggested that muslims should be restricted in some way from travelling on Tube trains ?

imagine if a TV panel on the late late show or countless radio panels were asking what travellers are going to do about the criminality within that community , there would be outrage yet men are supposed to be perfectly accepting of the idea that we all as a collective have a responsibility for the vile behaviour of a miniscule number of psychopathic men

thats how insane this whole thing is yet progressive leftists are absolutely shameless in their double standards and hypocrisy , thats what happens when one side controls discourse and sets the parameters of who can and cannot be attacked or criticised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

One of the attempted hottest takes I've seen was on twitter - irish mothers who fed their sons were supposedly to blame for the psychopath murdering Aishling Murphy.

Presumably if you let your sons starve to death you are innocent of any unrelated murders.

Its at over 4000 likes currently. Such utter horsesh1t.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,507 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭Freight bandit

The vetting of people who come to live here should be included too....somehow I don't think that will fly with these types though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Simple solution to Gender based violence. Chop off the weiners at birth. We can all live happily ever after.

s-l400 (1).jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭nj27

There's an idea in there somewhere I think, although classes on how to socialise being mandatory for all men is obviously ridiculous. There could however be a system in place where certain individuals are nominated by friends or family, then put through an educational process of sorts. This would only apply to extreme cases where an intervention is required.

There is a particular individual I know through a friend who would be a candidate for such a scheme. He writes tech articles online for a living and lives alone, so he lacks any outlet for developing social skills. Tipping the scales at over 25 stone and rocking a pube-face beard with an unwashed mop of curly hair he's unlikely to get many hearts a flutter in the lucks department, and he's got a crippling porn addiction locked in, operating at over 5 w@nks at day littering his lair like apartment with jizz tissues. He's alt-right and he drinks his own piss, plus he has the most appalling diet you could imagine, filled with grease and sugar which leaves his fleshy face covered with zits. Recently, as sort of a Christmas gift/gesture of goodwill, my friend and I took him clothes shopping to try and spruce him up a bit, but he was incredibly out of place in public. He basically skulked in the corner wearing dark glasses as we looked through various shirts and jackets (nothing fit him) and when he was asked by a member of staff if he needed help he was unable to muster a word in response.

Is a man like this in need of great aid? I would say yes, although he's unlikely to seek that himself. That being the case, what's wrong with a scheme to re-educate individuals like this and bring them towards a more positive outlook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

All Politians who identify as male have to get castrated...before they can be put forward as a candidate....

You say: overreaction.

I say : Castration is 100% effective at lowering Gender based violence by 2% ....its worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Think you might be right, N.

Women who don’t feel safe walking at night, carry their keys between knuckles, get followed, harassed, assaulted or murdered are all overreacting.

The “media” is driving this fear. Men are great, except the foreign ones, of course.

All the women that the lads on boards know don’t believe in any of this nonsense and just want to get on with their lives.

Does that cover all of it, or have I miss a few bits?

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭M three

The nonsensical media campaign is just attempted deflection.

The real issue is policing and also light sentencing in the courts. But you wont hear that mentioned on rte or mainstream media this week.

Remember gardai cancelled over 200,000 emergency calls, thousands of them from women who were attacked.

In a functioning democracy the justice minister would have been sacked for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

if you ever get robbed, would you be inclined to get a list of the unemployed from social welfare and mass text them to tell them to do better? #NotAllPoorPeople

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

You sound really kind and compassionate. Kudos.

But nobody is saying they are overreacting and yes there is a problem with violence towards women. That's been acknowledged.

You're making assumptions and still missed the point of the OP.

Well, I think unpopular criticisms need to be considered. Look at Irish society and you see a wide range of places where boys/men are influenced by women. It's interesting the way feminists will complain about the numbers of women who have to raise children rather than work outside the home, but there's little consideration about what these mothers are teaching their sons. From childhood to adulthood, we are all either in the home or at school, being influenced by Adults... but the majority of teachers in our schools are female. Why is it that men are supposedly picking up their dismissive attitudes towards women, or feel that they can be violent towards women? How is it that "male culture" has so much importance when it's not other men teaching us these things...?

Because I don't see many ways in society where a male would be on the receiving end of conditioning to see women this way. Unless it really comes down to personality and personal experiences.. but shouldn't that mean we should be examining the interactions that boys have with girls? Perhaps consider the influence that girls/women have on boys/men, etc.

Instead, the focus is almost entirely on the male gender. There is no examination or concern for how women influence men. None. They've managed to escape all responsibility completely, and to suggest that there is such a responsibility, means that someone is victim blaming or whatever.

IF we really want to create a safe society (for everyone), we should be examining all aspects of society and culture. Not ignoring the influence that women have on boys or men.

Putting forward more laws/legislation is not going to change much. Instead, we need to examine what our society is.. what messages are being promoted.. and for God's sake, cut out the double standards (in society).

I am not trying to in anyway undermine women's concerns about violence towards them and I fully accept that there are major issues. I know a few women who've had horrendous abuse happen online in particular when they've posted something that's attracted the psychopathic element of Twitter and I know women who've been attacked, stalked and harassed. I've also seen horrific domestic violence (a neighbour when I was growing up) and the Gardai at the time were frankly as useful as a chocolate teapot. She was being pulverised regularly and they didn't step in. I remember my mam bringing her in and trying to get her to move out, and bringing her to hospital.

So yeah, there is a major issue with violence against women and it does need to be addressed, not just by the public but also by some of the state institutions - notably the Gardai and the court services who aren't following up properly, or certainly didn't in the stuff I've seen, which admittedly is a while back, but even so.

We are totally useless at dealing with stalkers / harassment too. I've seen utterly horrendous cases where the authorities just sat on their hands, tied in knots with utterly archaic and useless legislation that seems to never address the issues.

My other question though is do men really feel safe walking alone at night in some places? I know I really don't. There are areas of Dublin City centre that I don't feel safe in at all and I base that on experience of having been mugged twice and followed and pestered for cash / use of my mobile / 'a light' on numerous occasions.

I've had an actual gun pointed me at random once. I don't know whether it was real or fake, but I didn't wait around to find out and got f**k all assistance when I called 999 about the incident.

I also had a situation where I had to get out of a taxi as the guy was driving like a maniac and I thought I was going to be crashed into a wall. He then tailed me down a street, got out of the cab and started trying to drag me back in! Ended up with bruises on my arms and all sorts of weird crap. I reported him but not only to the regulator in the end.

All I'm saying is the impression I'm getting from discussion is every other guy saunters around O'Connell Street at 2am without a care in the world and goes for jogs down dark lonely lanes without batting an eyelid. Am I just some kind of paranoiac who's had bad experiences, or is that really the case?

I mean the simple reality of it is that some of our cities are dangerous at night and there's a total lack policing resources. We've an issue that's no so badly out of hand on trains that we've had industrial action. Yet, all we seem to do is have hand wringing ... nothing's ever done. It just goes on and on and on.

I think the problem here is we have parallel but related issues. Violence against women is certain one of the issues, but there's a backdrop of just 'aragah sure it's grand' attitudes taken by government on anything to do with tackling violent crime.

We should feel safe in our cities, but we don't and undoubtedly women feel far less safe.

There are multiple issues to be addressed though and they're just not being.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,454 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Is there a problem with violence towards women OR is there a problem with violence in general? I would be interested is seeing some statistics of attacks, muggings, murders etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,408 ✭✭✭✭elperello

There is no reason why you wouldn't have an opinion.

You have every right to express an opinion about anything whether you are right or wrong so has Sam.

I suppose we won't hear as much from virologists/epidemiologists once they stop being invited onto radio/tv panels.

I think it's a bit of both. Society has changed and a subset of men have not changed with the times. They need to change with that and be more respectful and appreciate of the fear women have on a day to day basis.

From what I see, law and order is completely fucked in this country and getting worse. (In Dublin anyway). The lack of action enables awful behaviour as there is no fear of consequence. That's what happens when you have multitudes of people walking the streets with 200+ convictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,412 ✭✭✭sonic85

Tougher sentences aren't worth a toss because we have nowhere to put them. We need to build a new prison with plenty of spaces first and then put anyone guilty of heinous crimes away for good.

Time to start getting properly tough on crime in this country and not pretend the system works in its current guise. The fact that people can rack up multiple convictions some of them for serious offences and still be allowed out to roam amongst ordinary decent people is bloody scandalous to be honest and it needs to be tackled ASAP. Won't hold my breath though. Catchy soundbites and hare brained unworkable ideas are what always win out

TBH I'd be wary of people around me at 2 pm, nevermind about 2 am. Any group of lads (regardless of ethnicity) makes me hyper aware of my surroundings.

I haven't any trouble in a decade, but i'm still very careful of who is around me. Just as I'd never get drunk alone/solo in a bar, or be drunk with a group of strangers (regardless of their gender)... it's simply safer not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭growleaves

Yeah I agree, he has the right to his opinion.

But the reason his opinions receive media magnification is meant to be due to his unique medical background.

Anyway if it wasn't him it'd be someone else...I saw an article calling for 'new legislation' on the first day when only the bare facts of the case were beginning to become known.