If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

A lame duck, OT again and maybe a lady in a bubble: The Late Late Show 14th January 2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭markw7

How in the name of god have you gleaned that nonsense from the posts in here? Seriously go back and read what you've said critically with fresh eyes.

What examples of "banter" are there here and shouting/whistling at women out jogging is not something I or any men I know would do.

Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,410 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

This is the busiest the LLS thread has been in ages, and it's nothing to do with Tubs or the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,090 ✭✭✭Xander10

They did unfortunately release a statement saying they were not looking for anyone else in relation to this matter . Which was to state prematurely that they had the right man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,247 ✭✭✭sporina

I am really glad that the family have asked for privacy to grieve now.. I hope people respect it.

Sure, a lot of people who went out in support for Aisling are sincere - like her fellow musicians, sports persons, MI students and staff, colleagues et al.. but I have a Q around a lot of those groups/movements/organisations - perhaps using this tragedy as an opportunity to push their agendas?

I have to say, if I wer the family I would find some of it rather intrusive and not v respectful.. I dunno.. I am just being honest - thats my feeling on it..

But suffice to say I will never ever watch the Late late again - I rarely ever watch it.. usually just the Toy show but it was awful imo last yr.. I only tuned in last night cos I thought Brenda Fricker was gonna be on it..

I went to bed in disgust.

Please don't get me wrong.. I have nothing but sympathy for Aisling's family and friends.. but all this talk of "women aren't safe".. implying that "men" are dangerous..

This perpetrator is indeed most probably a man.. wow - what are the chances.. its gonna be male or female! And yes most murderers are male. But this was one sick nasty individual or what ever (remains to be seen).. who is probably a man.

Men are targets too to such crimes - this time it was unfortunately a woman (RIP Aisling)..

RIP to all the deceased (male and female) who have lost their lives unprovoked as a result of the actions of nasty sick people..

RANT OVER. HUH.

If Tubs logs on, he will be thinking, it must have been a great show last night.

I suppose a new thread would be shut down. Here we have people hiding in clear daylight

It probably shouldn't be getting discussed in here.

There is usually not threads allowed discussing open cases like this.

Hardly any mods anymore though!

Re: the family asking for space to grieve, I hope rte take heed.

They are been way ott on this. Having Morning Ireland from Tullamore a day or two after the murder was crass and unnecessary.

The mods haven't woken up yet or spotted this chat under the LLS thread.

They would shut down any such conversation about the ongoing case

We're a mini-America sure, feck the fallout/grieving family, money is all that matters now on the Emerald Isle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,823 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Years ago, a very serious murder happened to two well respected individuals, a father and son. They had made friends with their murderer, to the point where he was seen as a family friend. Well, he had issues as well (I think he drank and may have had some form of psychosis- a bad combination). Then murdered them in their home. He was convicted two years later, and won't be seeing daylight for the rest of his days.

After he was arrested, a bunch of locals got together, and went to his family's home. He obviously wasn't there, so they attacked his brother instead. Assaulted him so badly, he ended up in hospital. (Not the brightest people, but then intelligent people don't do what they did). The murderer's parents, and siblings, suffered greatly afterwards, both in terms of health, and by locals. It's very dangerous to cast suspicion on an individual, especially in an area where everybody knows everybody. For someone who's innocent, it's far worse.

I heard about her. Even said some ridiculous stuff like Men bringing flowers to the vigil 'was a start'... What? It's casting them in a bad light before this, then saying 'ah, they brought flowers-they're learning'.

Not what I meant. Just because they have access to those images, doesn't mean they should use them so easily. I want to know were the family even consulted before they splashed her photo all over the place, within 24 hours of her murder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

This is a wild guess but just maybe people might have concerns about the effectiveness of the background checks Irish authorities run on individuals who come from countries where the general attitude towards women are questionable to put it mildly. A long shot I know, but as I said a wild guess.

I think they mean a thread questioning the motivation of the feminazi movement. Not the case so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,247 ✭✭✭sporina

No, I mean discussing an ongoing murder investigation.

They are usually shut down quickly.

Go and check AFTER HOURS or the CURRENT AFFAIRS forums and see if there is anything discussing the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,162 ✭✭✭✭anewme

You go back and read the thread.

There are comments here saying (about comments in the Late Late show, ) oh, there's a women on the show saying “banter” is abuse and others guess we will have oi delete our lads whattsapp (ha ha), other deregotory comments saying a woman on the show must be a closet lesbian (wtf). Even on a thread about the show focusing on why women don't feel safe?

Well, maybe don't "banter" with people out minding their own business, and yes, delete your toxic group (whoever has one).

Many of the conversations had this week are about how women don't feel safe out walking, jogging etc. That is what this coversation has opened. I've seen people I know open up about incidents that happened to them and feel its time now to STOP it.

Not all of it because they feel they are going to be murdered, but because they don't want to wear their jogging shorts or cycling shorts because of the kind of comments and "banter" they get. Well, your banter is unwanted and just stop. And instead of calling out the women who call it out, maybe call out the men who do it.

The assumption here is ha, ha, they will be sorry they blamed "us" because a "fordener" did it, but you are missing the bigger point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭bigroad

National women's council of Ireland need to quiet down and reflect .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Barrita

Most of the "blue ticks" on twitter won't know which side of their mouths to talk out of when this goes public.

Oh sorry I forgot, only bad things happen to women and only men do the bad things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭bigroad

Women were abused by men walking home from the vigil last night.

Katie just said on RTE .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭Barrita

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Finty Lemon

CSO stats 2019

81% of murder victims were men

89% of sexual assaults were women

59% of assault victims were men

87% of violent assault and 98% of sexual assault perpetrators were male

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,162 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Nothing to do with women or men.

The comments HERE are are from men saying oh, I will have to cancel my banter group. So yes, this comment is addressed to them. If a woman came on here and said, I guess I'll have to delete my Whattsapp "banter" group, I'd say, yep, you might be better doing that.

ah and there we go!

last week men were up in arms, because of the rhetoric of all men are violent, and rightly so.

this week I guess we will change our focus to all people of a certain status eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Ger Roe

I have seen that widely circulated, but I honestly can't find that statement. I can see an official statement saying they have a man in custody and their investigation is ongoing. I have also seen a statement saying that they suspect it was a lone male involved. I can't see a Garda statement saying that they were not looking for anyone else.

I saw a video TV news report that included the Garda Commissioner on the steps of Tullamore station saying that they have a man in custody, but their investigations will continue until all avenues are exhausted. He didn't say it was a done deal by any means.

Where is the statement that suggested they had it wrapped up?

What form did this abuse take? Shocking if substantiated.

Was it reported to the guards?