Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda owns man he sees hitting a woman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,783 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

yeah he might have hurt his feelings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,410 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Needs Part 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭Jellybaby_1

Indeed, we don't know any circumstances. It might be that that guard had had enough of these events that night. We don't know how many people he'd had to prevent from pummelling someone. I moan about the guards at times myself but I'm happy to see a bully being read the riot act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭FullyComp

What do you think happened, the lad was just peacefully protesting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Aren’t men and women equals now? Or is that only for the good stuff??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

So being shouted at is now reason for a complaint? Because nothing else happens in the video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,886 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

He was right to call him out on it. People mentioning putting in a complaint. Ah here. Is that a joke?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭hawley

I'm glad that the guard called him out, but it seemed over the top. Can a member of the public shout abuse into a guard's face and behave aggressively toward him/her? If you did abuse a guard like that I suspect you'd be arrested.

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,032 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Real men don’t hit women ? Absolute fûcking joker…There was me thinking assault was illegal regardless as to who is the perpetrator and who is the victim..…just arrest the guy, put him in the car and get on with your job..and quit the fûcking stage show…load of emotive unprofessional bôllocks…roaring in thee street like a lunatic..no wonder their reputation is tanking.

Incidentally when I was the victim of an unprovoked attack by a male in the city and in a separate incident years before I was with a friend who was, the most the Gardai were interested in doing was propping up a wall….probably a great sense of moral chivalry descends on them when a guy assaulted a female…. But you could be left pouring with blood and requiring stitches and they have little interest or sympathy…as we found in both incident…

”sure he’s probably long gone” “did you get a look at him, it’s dark ?” “look, I don’t know what more we can do, no cctv, it’s broken” was the effort I got from the toe rag…

my phone nicked out of the Mater hospital and the goon in mountjoy station not wanting to take a complaint… “ sure stuff is getting nicked all the time , you won’t get it back “

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,410 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Jesus, I thought I was gonna watch a guard kicking the **** out of someone!

he just shouted at him 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭Glock17

Without context you cant really say anything.

If a woman hits a man he is allowed to hit her back imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

Unprofessional engagement with the public by the Garda. A bit of retraining and he'll be grand. Obviously new to the job in a couple of years he won't bat an eyelid or show any interest.

Yeah, without context, that guard is in the wrong.

Unprofessional. And sexist too if we are to go by today's standards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,237 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

Eh isn't this kinda thinking about 20 years out of date?

Shouldn't it be "real men/women" don't hit others when they don't need to?

I would 100% hit a woman if I needed to.

Depends where you live or grew up it seems.

I can’t see anything outrageous about the video, apart from an agitated policeman who clearly needs some time out to calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,315 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

That garda comes across as really unprofessional and lacking restraint, almost abusive actually.

Maybe he needs a reverse talking to like that himself from a superior about being professional.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Oh look, another thread where a man is alleged to have caused harm to a woman (he's not exactly arguing with the Garda here) and the usual suspects are in showing him sympathy.

What a strange take.

Not one person has shown sympathy. Some have said that, without context it's hard to garner a full and informed opinion. One thing it does indicate though, is that the guard acted unprofessionally.

But don't let that stop you trying to make it out that people are clamouring for men to be allowed abuse women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,756 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

so unprofessional, you can't just own people....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,941 ✭✭✭Feisar

Well no. If one has an avenue to escape that's the thing to do. No way of escape and yer being assaulted? Go to the mattresses. On another note I dunno why people carry knives, there's concrete everywhere.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,622 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Seems a bit OTT in fairness, but we don't know what led up to that. Possibly that's a lad that Garda has dealt with numerous times for the same thing. Lad wasn't reacting because there were about 6 Gardai there. Don't know the full story, but I have shouted myself at times when I was one, never to that degree, but sometimes you need to shout over them. Could be loads of reasons behind that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,970 ✭✭✭✭walshb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭mikethecop

thats a very nasty comment from some one who saw a fraction of an interaction with no context , i mean i could surmise all sort of things about you and your life from your post alone couldnt i ?

25 seconds of a video and you make that sort of post

if it was your wife or sister who was assaulted ? for all you know it was a female garda who was assaulted and the guy was arrested after the end of the vid

as for professionalism ? why is it unprofessional to raise your voice on a busy public street at night to reinforce to some one how to act like a human being ,

christ some of ye dont life in the real world at all

I agree with you up until the last bit.

I expect the police to act in a professional manner. Screaming at a man, insulting him and being aggressive and threatening is not the standard I'd expect from law enforcement.

Again context is key but from all evidence available, I think the policeman let himself down.

Would you say same if he hit a man?

beat 7 shades **** out of him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭standardg60

Lol, you go ahead there and form opinions based on your own prejudice.

I didn't see any other guards throwing their weight around in the clip.

The video needs context…

a copper shouting and roaring and losing his cool is all we know.

nobody is condoning assault on anyone here, but what exactly happened before the angry copper outburst?