Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Climate Bolloxolgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,161 ✭✭✭Dinzee Conlee

Would any sort of re wetting need to be agreed by all people in an area, like the greenways? I imagine you couldn't rewet one farm, without impacting your next door neighbour? I stand to be corrected here though, as don't know a lot about bogs, thankfully 😉

On the carbon credits - if the arse fell out of carbon credits, but farming incomes took off - could you drain the land again and start farming I wonder?

Carbon credits won't be going anywhere any time soon.

Came across this tonight while looking for something else, gives a bit of info on bogs, rewetting and the role it all plays in terms of climate impact, might be of interest to some

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,953 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I’m sure plenty here old enough to remember that we had a 5p return on glass bottles here up to late 70’s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Be careful what you wish for. If land owners own the carbon credits does that make farmland even more attractive to large polluting companies with deeper pockets than farmers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭green daries

But that is what he's wishing for its an environmentalists wet dream 🙄ed Sheeran and company who buys up all the dirty polluting farmers land and plant it and hey presto everyone is saved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,008 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Ed Sheeran isn't buying land to save the planet. He's doing it to save his money. Owning land is very tax advantageous, especially when passing on your wealth. Dyson has done the same thing. Even Michael O'Leary is at it here locally and I'm sure many more are too. Land is finite, and it's value nearly always goes the one way - up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Would be better off if there was no carbon trading. Ag and forestry are the only sectors that consume carbon, keep it within the sectors. Let every other sector stop/ reduce producing carbon and the world will be a lot better off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,270 ✭✭✭alps

Think each farmer is entitled to the return from their own farm.

Wouldn't think it would be fair to have a scenario where some can continue to increase emissions on the back of using the reductions of other farms.

Its a bit like when CAP was introduced..there were massive winners and loosers that time. We've got to fair to all on this one.

If farmers had a central trading system, controlled and owned by farmers, those selling credits could have some oversight of market returns, and farmers looking for credits would have access to that farmers carbon stock.

If we get to a point where some farmers increase emissions on the back of others reducing, there needs to be a proper trading system to co.pensate for this. There will be surplus and shortage in such demand, and this is where farmers need that trading system to connect to outside markets....but importantly farmers need to own and control that platform.

Farmers won't own it! Christ lads, cop on. There's no way farmers will be let own this. What will happen is that some "scheme" will be set up and farmers will get a few euro per acre for their work. Lets call it an environmental scheme! And the credits then are controlled by the department who will sell them on to whoever. Probably fossil fuel companies who will then plaster ads all over the shop saying how "green" their fuel is. It's only green because they've bought credits from the government. A few years down the line when this is lucrative business, it will be sold to a private business and the payment in the schemes will reduce/stop.

Bottom line, farmers/landowners will see sweet **** all of the money that will change hands but will still be hamstrung by regulations and limitations as to what they can do on their own land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭green daries

Correct everyone is at it. but ed is spouting off about saving the planet 🙄

Fair point, I guess I was viewing it in terms of airlines, car manufacturers whatever offsetting what they produce into another sector as opposed to doing what they can within.

If it can be kept within sectors what you suggest could happen but I'd imagine if it's broken down into individual entities the argument would be made why should alps or mooooo operation offset against another entity if Micheal O Leary can't.

Great to compare myself to Michael O Leary lol

And he's buying anything that comes up in Westmeath. I know of 4 fields/plots in 3 different parishes that he's bought in the last 12 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Least he’s farming, lots doing same not farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Hes gotten into bother now with the land. He's stretched himself abit thin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I wish. He hasn't enough machinery or men to work the land he has. That's the sort of bother he's in atm

Had the pleasure of a visit there 20 years ago...good farmer too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,497 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

One of my tenants does a good bit of work for him now so it's an ill wind that does no one any good.

Was up there as well. He is in fairness to him, Farm manager is excellent as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,497 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

But he has massively increased his holdings in the last couple of years.

Another local stud farm is reputed to have 5000 acres and buying more.

I know yeah, more tillage is the aim for it afaik. Anyone in that sphere tho where there are negative interest rates etc, land is a big option, esp when he is buying it at somewhat normal prices compared to the likes of coolmore paying double ag values

Use of land as a means of wealth transfer alone is a serious issue. Of course some farmers see this differently, as increasing their land value and some of the "progressive" dairy operators see it as a serious opportunity to lease and set up large dairy operations..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,321 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

All comes down to labour. It rises and falls with labour.

Look at all the farm jobs advertised now looking for labour. People won't work in those jobs.

Same with ground and shed work. Crews are not what they were and the long established firms are barely going for lack of labour.

Back to the thread topic. The big push for re - wilding. (It's a stupid word anyways as it implies nature and agriculture are opposites and not coexisting. ) Is because of the labour issue. It allows whoever owns the land to greenwash to their hearts content. Sit in their office. Put it on their literature, carbon budgets, whatever. And not having to worry about Jimmy or Mary not turning up for work in the morning.

And most likely if they get their way well paid in that office for doing so.

World and especially this country is getting lazier every year. And expecting to be financially rewarded and praised for the laziness. Green politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭ginger22

But what makes Irish land so expensive relative to other parts of Europe. Is it that much more productive than say France, Germany, East Europe. Land much cheaper in other parts.

A good few factors in that, a share of them historical as well. Current one prob the fact that in most other countries, bar those where land is used to pass on wealth, the biggest driver of value is the economic return from agricultural activity which is why it is cheaper in other countries. Also land doesn't change hands often here and when it does a share of the time it is money from outside of ag returns that pays for it.

Plenty of other reasons as well, France is a more socialist country and have controls on land rental and value afaik, other countries its can be sheer scale as well as the likes of Poland only catching up economically recently, aside from political and stability reasons in different countries as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,067 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

I think it's due to irish lads having such a horn for land and general fcuk acting compared to our eu counterparts.

While sitting down and going through budgets, full economic returns and thinking about return per hour worked, capital invested+risk is generally not done anywhere near as much as it should be...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

One of the biggest drivers of land prices is the Agricultural relief on inheritance. You need not even inherit a farm it could be a house in the town, then you can convert the value of the house and buy farmland thus avoiding inheritance tax.

Another driver of land prices is state sponsored forestry, i.e coillte, they have put a baseline price on even the most marginal quality land.

Third reason would again be forestry related whereby there is huge tax relief from forestry investments

other reasons would be small sized land parcels tend to be more common and are more expensive as they are within the reach of many. Also planning and the one off housing that is allowed in the Irish countryside.

Not as much greed and coveting by neighbours but it does exist.

Prices in Ireland are crazy, you can buy Grade A land in England for less money, and I mean Grade A land, far more productive than anything here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭ginger22

Well in fairness England would be nearly as bad as here, but in France for instance prices are more or less controlled by government through "safer" who control who can buy land.