Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

A new coach might prefer to pick their own team but that would be best done with a longer lead in time. Getting a new coach now, after JvG left them in the lurch, means they weren't put looking for a new coach a year in advance and giving them time to assemble their preferred coaching team. It's not going to be an emergency appointment, but it will be less planned than they would like.

Nailing Rountree down means they don't have to find a replacement for him as well. Looking on the bright side, you could say he offers continuity. Nobody has been giving out about him so I presume he's a good coach anyway.

You can't expect anything. But you could hope that he's ready to push for a place in the team quickly and even push for Ireland squads like Ryan and Baird.

But a second row can take time to fill out and settle into the role. Not being a star straight away doesn't mean he can't improve into a top player. It just means he won't be a player who bursts onto the scene ready to play senior level straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,542 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

He's 21 playing pro rugby and thats completely different and several steps above the standard of age grade rugby and many other exceptional young players even some who go on to be some of the best in the pro ranks take a bit longer especially with front 5 players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭sioda

What's the chances of Michael Bradley coming back to Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

If we cannot get the dream team of ROG, Prendergast and POC, I would suggest we go back to the coach who delivered two European Cups. Munster are less than the sum of their parts. They are better than a kicking game and one dimensional tactics close to the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

But sure it would make no sense to keep him solely as a forwards coach having signed him up now and he has also made his ambitions clear.

Munster would be extremely naive if they think van Graan has their best interests as his top priority and they let him continue masquerading as the head coach. He is a lame duck.

e.g. van Graan should have zero say in resigning Beirne, Carbery, Farrell etc. Rowntree should be the one picking the team and involved in contract negotiations.

The situation is a bit of a mess but it's only natural that the Munster players have moved on from JVG and are going to be looking looking to Rowntree for leadership.

I doubt that's the case at all. JVG still has a job to do and he's still being paid tondonthe job. If there's some kind of mutiny then they'd be better off getting rid of him and sending him on gardening leave or something similar until his contract is up.

I'd say he's still very much the coach. That's not the kind of thing that would stay secret for long so we'll probably find out if he's lost the dressing room. I'd say everyone will stay professional and do their job to the best of their ability for the rest of the season, even if the situation isn't ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 595 ✭✭✭jimdemp

Yes its very strange i cant see a serious coach coming in if he cant pick his backroom team. The IRFU wanted to keep Van Gran so much like Farrell was a continuation of Joes work maybe this is a continuation of Van gran

I think young Murray from Connacht is a much better second row

So you dont know the answer? Brumbies were shocking under Larkham

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

Im sure they will stay professional. Players and coaches. It's just the focus will naturally move away from van Graan now.

It makes sense to me that Rowntree is going to be involved outside of his forwards role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,542 ✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Kidney isnt the answer and does he really want to come back for a third go? Id be very surprised if he did. and nostalgia may bring calls for ROG etc but is that really going to be the answer?

ROG would be back already if he wanted to. He clearly see's a pathway for himself and that doesnt include Munster now if it ever will?

Munster need a top quality experienced DOR/Head Coach. That trio isnt that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭cuttingtimber22

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Coaches arrive and work with staff already in place all the time. Tabai Matson is the most recent high profile example at Quins

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

What on earth makes you think that JVG would have a say on Irish internationals signing new contracts? The professional game board and Nucifora will be doing that. Even if JVG wasn't leaving he wouldn't be involved in those negotiations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Rob Baxter please, I think himself and Rowntree would work well together, and if we don't get Prendergast as attack coach I'd like to see Conor McPhilips in the running for it.

Don't think Baxter would work as well outside of Exeter tbh. He's built something amazing but doubt he could replicate it here.

What Munster player or AIL player even could be our Baxter is the question for me. Even though he's never mentioned as a DOR type, Flannery is a bit of a nerd of the sport. With the right support I could see him as DOR.

James Coughlan is quietly building a very nice CV, don't think he's ready for the top job yet, would love to see him as defence coach with a longterm view to moving up.

Absolutely agree but when i say DOR i mean a guy who'll co-ordinate the entire pro side of the team, from feeders into the academy right through. Big jump between coaching and that.

I know DOR isn't really a defined term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭TRC10

Kidney as DOR, with Prendergast as head coach would be a shrewd appointment IMO.

Kidney putting the overarching structure in place, handling recruitment and contracts, promoting academy players and dictating the overall direction of the province. He has the province's D.N.A similar to Cullen at Leinster and he has experience in that role at London Irish.

Prendergast looking after the coaching, game plan and in-game strategy. He's put together a pretty impressive C.V. in France and I'd like to see him given a shot.

Rowntree signing on is great news. He's a top coach and a certain level of continuity is good. Obviously there'd be need for a new defence coach with Ferreira going to Bath. No names jump to mind, but perhaps that's a role for a foreign influence, or maybe promote Costello.

There's a serious crop of talent down at Munster. Get this appointment right and the next few years could be seriously exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

Munster's defence wasn't very good when Costello was defence coach under Foley.

Agree on Kidney as DOR plus someone like Prendergast or Carolan or McNamara as head coach. McNamara looks unlikely with his contract with the Sharks (hopefully he'll be the next Leinster head coach after Lancaster). Carolan might be more open than Prendergast when it comes to bringing through young talent - given his U20s background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭TRC10

Carolan's a good shout too. Him and JVG are polar opposites in terms of their rugby philosophy.

Would love to see Sales defence coach Mike Forshaw at Munster, he's a proper take no shīte coach and a good task master, exactly what the team needs after last Saturday disciplinary display.

• For all the talk here, some one has to really want to do the Job, a lot of people wont want the role. or are happy where they are.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,921 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

20 months out from a RWC the only options in Europe are a coach in a struggling team.

the one name that stands out there with loads of experience all over the world, in a lot of positions including head coach and DOR, is John Mitchell. Currently attack coach in Wasps.

If Kidney wasnt interested in moving back, he would certainly be worth a phone call.

otherwise youre looking to lure someone like Razor out of NZ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,234 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Murray is a very good player but after only 6-8 appearances between them, its a bit early to be Judging them against each other

Ahern has had 2 80 minute games at senior level, In one of them, he was man of the match (admittedly against Zebre)

Ahern is being given time to develop by Munster. We don't want to see the same thing happen to him as what James Ryan has gone through. Getting absolutely hyped out the gate, thrown into huge games and then being targetted by the opposition and getting concussion after concussion putting his career in doubt at the age of 25

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Lsdrugbyfan

hyped out the gate? you mean being an excellent second row and ready for top level rugby at 22?

Yeah the last thing you want is a player to be hyped up, and then live up to the hype so they go straight in the provincial team and international squad. Baird is less than a year older than Ahern and he has 28 provincial and 5 international caps.

Ahern is doing grand, but he hasn't lived up to the hype yet. If he was as good as the hype then he'd have earned more munster opportunities.

Munster have 2 start second rows who have been injured since signing. If you add those 2 ahead of him then I don't see much genuine opportunity for Ahern in the short term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,234 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

And 3 years later seeing a specialist because he's experiencing symptoms from repeated concussions, a career threatening development

Chomsky(2017) on the Republican party

"Has there ever been an organisation in human history that is dedicated, with such commitment, to the destruction of organised human life on Earth?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Lsdrugbyfan

how is that linked to him playing top level rugby from 22?