If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Formula 1 Round 22 Abu Dhabi GP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭tigerboon

No. The event was held and they done the minimum, awarded the points and all that. Technically you are correct, well done. Maybe ask the Belgian fans did they enjoy the "race". I've never been a Mercedes or Hamilton fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,666 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

With all the talk about rules the last day or two it's interesting to see that some people actually don't give a hoot about the actual rules when it doesn't benefit their point of view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭McFly85

Yeah I don’t think there’s anything to complain with about Imola or Spa really. The red flag rules make total sense from a safety point of view and it’s incredibly rare that it would happen while the fastest car on the track is a lap behind the leader.

It was crap we didn’t get a race in Spa but ultimately they followed the rules to dish out the points.

Both drivers have had luck this season, and the last one to benefit was Max.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,837 ✭✭✭quokula

Yeah Max was happy to race and Raikkonen also wanted to race and said he’s raced in much worse conditions many times. Most drivers agreed that grip was fine and were just concerned about visibility, while many just didn’t comment.

Mercedes were the ones that lobbied hardest to have the race abandoned. I was surprised on the Saturday when they said that they were going with a dry set up into parc ferme despite the weather forecast - it’s clear their plan was to dominate if the rain didn’t come and to lobby to have the race cancelled if it did.

What should have happened is that they should have just stayed out behind the safety car long term like they have many times before - this would give a chance for a dry line to form and would also have allowed them to start racing immediately during lulls in the rain - because there were periods when it lightened, just not long enough for the whole 15 minute warning process when everyone is in the pits. If there had been a full race I’d say it was 90% chance that Max gained more points over Lewis than he did for the half race given that Mercedes gambled on a dry setup.

Ultimately the title was decided by a greater margin than Max scored over Lewis in Spa anyway so the race was irrelevant to the championship in the end, though it was huge for Williams and Russell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,601 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

This back and forth between posters is tiresome at this point. Can ye take it to DMs and leave the rest of us be?

I've been thinking about the result all day, my feelings are that the decision that were taken weren't ideal, but play to the whistle to adopt a different sporting analogy. The result was very harsh on Hamilton, but the result is the result. For everyone's sake, Mercedes shouldn't have protested, they stole the sheen off of Verstappen's victory and are coming across as petty at this stage. Wolff not looking good either, which is odd - from watching Drive to Survive and stuff I would have expected him to be the more conciliatory of the 2 principals.

This does leave Formula 1 with a lot of lessons learned though, and clearly better rules need to be in place going forward. I heard somebody say that the rulebook is 99 pages long, but if one of the rules is that the race director can do what they want, then why have the other rules?

One for the nerds here - who has the decision making power to change the rules? Do the teams have any input at all? Do they get to vote on them, do the FIA impose them or is it something else? Because clearly an overhaul is needed. One simple thing that I heard Martin Brundle suggest - if it's a safety car, get the backmarkers to just fall through the pack, rather than going all the way around to un-lap themselves. That would have helped yesterday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭tanko

Bottas is a rubbish driver, he’s just been a doormat for Lewis to walk all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭dmakc

I won't be forced to a closed answer as that's not the framework we're dealing with. Topic is Max v Lewis and their respective runs of luck.

You're using Max's apparent Belgium "luck" to counter Lewis' Imola (-18 Max versus a race where no external incident occured), Silverstone (-18 Max) and Hungary (-15 Max).

I'm saying Belgium didn't sway the title in any direction versus a scenario where they race. If anything Lewis benefited by only conceding 5 to a pole sitting Max in wet weather.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Exactly the point I was trying to make, but for some bizarre reason people choose to ignore/make excuses for.

Thank you.

I'm not comparing Max to Hamilton.

I'm making the point that people who bitch about Max having 'no luck' this season is absolute horseshit. He absolutely had luck and was involved in incidents which massively benefitted him.

And you won't answer the question because you know what the answer is, but you're too stubborn to admit it while trying to ramble on about everything else that's been done to death.

You're now saying Hamilton benefitted by losing out on five points and one race win to his rival? Amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Does anyone know why Perez was retired during the safety car?

He didn't seem to have an answer when he was asked in the interview after the race and seemed pretty surprised when he was told to retire at the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Agree with your points. F1 is a sort of bottom up organisation or used to be in that the teams like to agree things. I think that is the basis of the Concorde agreement, unanimous decisions, etc. There's maybe too much democracy in it. As for improving the rules, there needs to be a clearing up of them. They are contradictory in parts. Was reading today that Hamilton was able to go off the track numerous times in one race before being warned about gaining an advantage. When Verstappen passed him at one point and went off the track, he was ordered to surrender the position. When Hamilton goes off and retains the lead in Abu Dhabi nothing is said. So if its ok for Hamilton to do it, why not everyone?

As for the last part its crazy that a frontrunner like Verstappen would end up behind a load of backmarkers under a safety car. He should be allowed pass them to regain his position in a controlled way, they drop back or else they unlap themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭dmakc

You are calling Belgium a gift/luck towards Max. I countered with the alternative. And if you can't comprehend the maths then I'll leave you to blindly defend sir Lewis versus the rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,539 ✭✭✭TheRona

The thing with Hamilton for me is that he's just a complete PR machine now. My dislike for him started back in his 'monkeys at the back of the grid' days, but maybe he's just matured since then.

The hypocrisy is breathtaking, the same lad said that Hamilton shunting Verstappen off the track wasn’t intentional. Such laughable nonsense.

Yes, but who is the one leading that decision?

The driver, who many have been at their wits trying to claim it's all a front/PR show and that he'll let the suits do whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,837 ✭✭✭quokula

I heard that telemetry showed a small oil leak, he most probably could have made it to the end but the team didn’t want to risk him breaking down and prolonging the safety car.

Right on cue.

He did this in 2007 when McLaren were trying to get two cars who finished ahead of him thrown out, saying he doesn't want to win the title that way.

Why, now, is it just a PR move when he has form for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Totally agree with this, The back markers should have been allowed un-lap from the first/second SC lap. There had 70/80 % of the track distance to do this safely and the delay to allow this (Why?) meant they could only partially complete it then.

The video a few pages back with Alonso clearly demonstrates this and they did not want to be between Max and Lewis and though they should be un-lapping much sooner.

I also think in future it maybe better to leave the back markers fall back to the back of the pack instead, as this could be done a lot quicker? i.e. they do not need to try to speed around to re catch the rear.

The only 'laughable nonsense' is any suggestion that Hamilton punted Verstappen off intentionally, thereby risking his own race.

Honestly, fools like you don't even think before you post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,468 ✭✭✭✭walshb

They never, ever allow the cars unlap themselves when they're actually clearing the track.

The whole point of bringing out the safety car is to bunch up the pack in order to allow the marshals to clear the incident. It's always been once the track was clear that they let the lapped cars go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,163 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

These last few pages would make even Toto blush at the straw clutching.

You’re in no position to accuse anyone of being a fool given the endless stream of rubbish you post on here. I can’t make up my mind which meltdown is funnier to watch since yesterday, yours or Toto Wolffs.

Hamilton, once again, proves he's a stand up fella.

There's no chance he was going to accept a championship won in a court room. It was all Wolff & the suits.

As soon as I saw himself and his father congratulate the Verstappens I knew where he stood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,807 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Lads do you see this yoke?

Lewis Hamilton's name has been etched on it 7 times, Micheal Schumachers name also 7 times there and in the next few days, if it hasn't been done already Max Verstappen's name is getting engraved on it for the first time and there is not a single thing any member of Boards.ie can do to change that.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,426 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Yes.

Max got 12.5 .... Hamilton got 7.5

Why did Max get 5 points more than Hamilton? Because he was fastest in Quali ......

There could be no race due to the weather conditions ... Was that done to suit Max also ??

Once again you are saying that the rules didnt suit 'your' man Lewis .....

247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,792 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

I would imagine it’s the board of Merc, who are under enough pressure as it is.

they also have won the constructors, 8th in a row as well. So I doubt it Lewis who has had any kind of day in it.