Championship showdown this weekend. Will Lewis win his eight title or will Max win his first? All will be revealed on Sunday.
TV Times:
Qualifying Live: 1PM. (Sky Sports)
Race Live: 1PM. (Sky Sports and Channel 4)
Bring! It! On!
That was one of JM balestre more democratic moments.
I wouldn’t say there was anything political about the end of the race. It was a run of the mill safety car scenario and Red Bull outsmarted their opponents on strategy and on race craft on the restart. Mercedes desperately tried to turn it into something it isn’t with all their protestations and attempts to bully the race director into throwing away all standard precedent.
That is an appeal to authority fallacy.
How about telling me what part of my post you disagree with, in your words. Without the attitude.
I wonder will there be a scene above when they eventually make the movie.
'The best decision is my decision'
Just a reminder for anyone that is new to it that it has never been plain sailing - politics always has and continues to play a huge part.
The 1st lap shambles is being forgotten here.
Can't get my head around how that was allowed to go without penalty for Hamilton.
Max made the corner, stayed on track, didn't touch Hamilton. Hamilton drives straight on and comes out far far ahead. No penalty.
If we want to talk about rules, could have been a completely different race if first corner was handled fairly.
The stewards imo did their best to hand championship to Hamilton.
The safety car caused an unforeseen situatîon and Mercedes strategy meant they couldn't cope with safety car.
I think team representations to race control during race should be from 1 individual only and in writing only.
This radio contact with a whinging Wolff or Horner telling masi what to do is just terrible.
Masi not the man for the job but have abit more faith in him after basically telling Christian Wolff to F off
Glad you’re here to clear everything up as you’re clearly more knowledgeable than Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso, sure what would they know with their 6 world championships between them.
Is that the race where Russel was handed P2 ahead of Hamilton, just because??
"the initial reluctance to let lapped cars through immediately like they normally do".
They never let lapped cars through immediately. They clear the accident, make sure the marshalls are off the track, then let lapped cars through. When the final lapped car clears the safety car, they announce that the safety car will come in at end of next lap.
That's the normal procedure.
The marshalls were still on the track on lap 56/58, they looked to be climbing over the barriers at that time. So the track was fully clear sometime around lap 56 or 57. That is the earliest that lapped cars could unlap themselves. There was no delay.
Lewis announces the result was manipulated over the radio and didn't show up to the press conference.
Totto just walked out of the garage, said no words of support to Lewis or any of the team. Went straight into launching appeals and chatting with barristers.
Like someone mentioned before, he knows what to do when the cameras are rolling.
Masi had the last laugh for the "F*** them all" comment.
He was at the race too, right?
Nobody is crying about Max not getting any luck, they are rebuting your waffle. I never mentioned Monza. Nobody handed anybody anything, to suggest that means there's someone pulling strings and blatantly giving someone advantages. Is that what your saying?
You are doing a Toto at the moment. Maybe take a break from the internet if it's winding you up this much.
But your allowed pit on a SC and return on open track to back of pack? So this can't be the only reason?
And that's why I suggested in future to allow cars to drop back instead, as they would remain as a pack.
Hard to see Kallenius NOT get involved. Toto going full Trump was a huge blemish the company did NOT need.
I’d say the protest in general was just out of emotion anyway. They literally had it all wrapped up, and then it’s gone.
Their strategy is as much to blame in this. You can see from the onboard when the SC came out, Hamilton shaking his head. He knew it.
I would imagine it’s the board of Merc, who are under enough pressure as it is.
they also have won the constructors, 8th in a row as well. So I doubt it Lewis who has had any kind of day in it.
Yes.
Max got 12.5 .... Hamilton got 7.5
Why did Max get 5 points more than Hamilton? Because he was fastest in Quali ......
There could be no race due to the weather conditions ... Was that done to suit Max also ??
Once again you are saying that the rules didnt suit 'your' man Lewis .....
Lads do you see this yoke?
Lewis Hamilton's name has been etched on it 7 times, Micheal Schumachers name also 7 times there and in the next few days, if it hasn't been done already Max Verstappen's name is getting engraved on it for the first time and there is not a single thing any member of Boards.ie can do to change that.
What meltdown am I having, exactly?
Hamilton, once again, proves he's a stand up fella.
There's no chance he was going to accept a championship won in a court room. It was all Wolff & the suits.
As soon as I saw himself and his father congratulate the Verstappens I knew where he stood.
You’re in no position to accuse anyone of being a fool given the endless stream of rubbish you post on here. I can’t make up my mind which meltdown is funnier to watch since yesterday, yours or Toto Wolffs.
These last few pages would make even Toto blush at the straw clutching.
They never, ever allow the cars unlap themselves when they're actually clearing the track.
The whole point of bringing out the safety car is to bunch up the pack in order to allow the marshals to clear the incident. It's always been once the track was clear that they let the lapped cars go.
Done grudgingly!
The only 'laughable nonsense' is any suggestion that Hamilton punted Verstappen off intentionally, thereby risking his own race.
Honestly, fools like you don't even think before you post.
Totally agree with this, The back markers should have been allowed un-lap from the first/second SC lap. There had 70/80 % of the track distance to do this safely and the delay to allow this (Why?) meant they could only partially complete it then.
The video a few pages back with Alonso clearly demonstrates this and they did not want to be between Max and Lewis and though they should be un-lapping much sooner.
I also think in future it maybe better to leave the back markers fall back to the back of the pack instead, as this could be done a lot quicker? i.e. they do not need to try to speed around to re catch the rear.
Right on cue.
He did this in 2007 when McLaren were trying to get two cars who finished ahead of him thrown out, saying he doesn't want to win the title that way.
Why, now, is it just a PR move when he has form for this?
I heard that telemetry showed a small oil leak, he most probably could have made it to the end but the team didn’t want to risk him breaking down and prolonging the safety car.
Yes, but who is the one leading that decision?
The driver, who many have been at their wits trying to claim it's all a front/PR show and that he'll let the suits do whatever.
The hypocrisy is breathtaking, the same lad said that Hamilton shunting Verstappen off the track wasn’t intentional. Such laughable nonsense.
The thing with Hamilton for me is that he's just a complete PR machine now. My dislike for him started back in his 'monkeys at the back of the grid' days, but maybe he's just matured since then.