Saturday with Katie Hannon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,674 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

touts wrote: »
    The government send a senior minister (Covney) with more than a couple of brain cells onto the show for the first time in a couple of years and the opposition respond by sending possibly their weakest possible line up they have ever assembled (Carty and Whitmore). The only way Sinn Fein could have selected a worse rep was if they propped Martin Browne up in an office chair and had a couple of his enforcers wheel him into the studio and just leave him there.

Bye election in 3 weeks and Fine Gael want to win it. So they'll be having senior ministers on programmes for the next while and then they'll disappear again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,653 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Fair play to Carty for pulling up presenter on giving Coveney an 18 min uninterrupted broadcast and then allowing him to interrupt everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,903 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

This is exactly how the next election debates will go. FFG will get absolutely hammered on housing. They are both 20 years making a mess of the housing market and people of all age groups are sickened by it.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,198 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Teachers representative on looking for younger Teachers to get priority for vacination, haven't we heard this before, I thought now that teachers off for 3 months holidays we'd hear less of this nonsense.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Pretty drab affair, SF TD utterly out of her depth on every topic, kind of reminded me of a 5th year student in on work experience, Chambers just coming across all nice and sincere with Zero substance, is this chap even shaving? And Alan Kelly muttering down the phone line, just awful to listen too. On the one hand he opposes everything and yet starts every sentence not blaming a minister, government etc, followed by an incoherent rant. The pub rep was sitting in the background, mumbling about more financial aid, everyone including Justin Mc Carthy just ignored him, infact he was even mentioned as a guest in the opening segment :)

Remember that only for "golfgate" Sean O'Rourke would be doing this show and getting 200k per year for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Remember that only for "golfgate" Sean O'Rourke would be doing this show and getting 200k per year for it.

Nah, Sean had retired ,buddy, wouldn’t have ‘sprung back’ that quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,903 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Nah, Sean had retired ,buddy, wouldn’t have ‘sprung back’ that quickly.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rte-and-sean-orourke-cut-ties-with-planned-political-show-cancelled-on-back-of-golf-gate-dinner-39473707.html

RTÉ and broadcaster Sean O'Rourke's relationship is over after a planned political show he was due to front has been cancelled.

Veteran broadcaster Mr O'Rourke had been set to front a new show at RTÉ. However, it was decided not to proceed with the show by mutual agreement - with RTÉ stating they would not be proceeding with plans for future projects with Mr O'Rourke.

Mr O'Rourke hosted the mid-morning show Today with Sean O'Rourke until May when he retired.

Mr O'Rourke was one of 81 people who attended the Oireachtas Golf Society dinner in Clifden last week.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth house?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/rte-and-sean-orourke-cut-ties-with-planned-political-show-cancelled-on-back-of-golf-gate-dinner-39473707.html

RTÉ and broadcaster Sean O'Rourke's relationship is over after a planned political show he was due to front has been cancelled.

Veteran broadcaster Mr O'Rourke had been set to front a new show at RTÉ. However, it was decided not to proceed with the show by mutual agreement - with RTÉ stating they would not be proceeding with plans for future projects with Mr O'Rourke.

Mr O'Rourke hosted the mid-morning show Today with Sean O'Rourke until May when he retired.

Mr O'Rourke was one of 81 people who attended the Oireachtas Golf Society dinner in Clifden last week.

Yes, I’m aware of that but apparently it would have been a more ‘John Bowman’ type show rather than a ‘current affairs’ live one as Saturday with KH is.

That was my understanding anyway.

Yes, I’m aware of that but apparently it would have been a more ‘John Bowman’ type show rather than a ‘current affairs’ live one as Saturday with KH is.

That was my understanding anyway.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/business/media-and-marketing/rt%25C3%25A9-cancels-future-plans-with-broadcaster-sean-o-rourke-over-golfing-dinner-1.4337696%3fmode=amp https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/rte-show-out-of-bounds-for-sean-orourke-jp9cpqpt2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,907 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

There should be a "sackcloth and ashes" type interview coming from SOR shortly I suspect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

padd b1975 wrote: »
    There should be a "sackcloth and ashes" type interview coming from SOR shortly I suspect.

Plus an appearance on the lls where a reflective Sor will hold forth on the effect the whole affair had on his mental health (effect on the pocket won't be mentioned)

Fair play to Colm Brophy, yesterday took no bull from the usual ‘stacked deck’ of Hannon, Whitmore and O’Broin.

Put them in their boxes, well done Minister.

LOL Brendan, seriously 😂😂 not how I saw it, Patronising, incoherent but the best part,

I'll accept if we were wrong, but we're never wong essentially",

Second best moment, we did release information on new supports, no one agreed with that, indeed there still is no information as of this morning.

It was a little like a pantomime.

O yes we Did, O no you you didn't 😁

Brophy was put in his place when he resorted to his usual trick, talking over people.

In fairness to Brophy, he had really little to work with given the chaotic and quite Bizzare nature of the previous few days with regard to this governments performance. What was it Leo said last Wednesday, "I'd be very sceptical of a need for further restrictions" 🤔🤔

Entitled to your opinion Dee.

What this is is a moving target, it requires decisions to be made quickly but given the complexity of those parties involved it is very difficult to have every i dotted and every t crossed before the decision is take.

Otherwise we would never get anything done.

We just cannot see into the future on this and the requests for definite dates and ‘certaintity’ by Hannon and her ilk is just plain stupid.

Minister Brophy only interrupted when incorrect accusations were made by others and indeed Hannon raised the decibels many times shouting down Minister Brophy as he tried to answer questions.

Folk need to remember the is a huge difference between broad policy strategy and the actual minutiae of its actual implementation in terms of covering all the bases.

Takes time folks, can’t just snap your fingers and it happens, as some seem to think.

And your entitled to yours but its striking your quick and consistent defence of Brophy.

I'd think if he had a dump in the Studio you'd still defend him. Let's not forget this chap worked in hospitality and I'd have no doubt if those working in this sector were watching his breath taking arrogance they'd be livid.

Accept it or not, the man just oozes arrogance and is pointedly patronising whenever criticised or questioned on government policy. I actually thought the rest of the panel were quite measured and coherent.

Glad to see Katie back, she wasn't taking any of Brophys nonsense, perhaps that's what annoys you 🤔

We moved from objective to personal very quickly in the quoted post Dee, which I’ll have to say is a trait I don’t particularly like.

Particularly when assumptions are made attributing certain stances to respected posters who say it as they see it.

Thats how I see it Dee, you obviously see it differently, let’s leave to abuse and personalities out of it.

Extraordinary, you wait almost 14 hours after the show was broadcast, come on and make an absolutely absurd observation about Brophys performance and expect no one to call it out 🙄 then you take offence at the correction and swiftly move on to lecture and patronise. Admit it Brendan, your clearly not objective when it comes to all things FG and especially this Brophy chap.

Apologies if I've upset your sensitivities albeit I was being tongue and cheek. I'm absolutely furious at not just this Government but equally, buffoons (hope that's too offensive) like Brophy coming on and no just defending the indefensible but also being arrogant and patronising about it.

Lookit, we’ll have to leave it there………..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

@Dempo1 is spot on here. Comical Brophy made a tool of himself...yet again! Was put back in his massive box at least twice. You know things are bad when that muppet is rolled out.

comlical brophy.jpg

Fantastic Picture 🤣🤣

I was fuming yesterday listening to Brophy, I bit my lip but when I saw this mornings party political broadcast disguised as a post , I was livid. Brophy''s arrogance was breathtaking 😏

The Minister put Whitmore in her box, Dee, and Nooze Hannon did nothing (as usual) to stop her giving out incorrect information, as outlined by Colm.

I had hoped to end this exchange on a lighter note but when some people react as if this was a major disaster kind of says something about the person.

Folk like that need to come down from the mountain and flush the bile and biliousness from their system and try to evaluate

discourse in a ,frankly more adult way.

I honestly suggest you playback the episode, your clearly trying to spin something that did not happen . Folk as you describe me can see with their own eyes that your assertion , Brophys performance was good, let alone acceptable is delusional. Your belief in the cult that is FG is clearly blinding your judgement.

Your post earlier was clearly a Stunt and FG party political broadcast , expecting no response was somewhat naive.

So here we go now, FG is ‘ cult’…. If that’s not way over the top, well, most sensible folk would, I feel, have grave doubts.

Pragmatic evaluation seems to gone out the window, fair and balanced positions seem very scarce, and there seems to be a coterie out there whose only outlook is negativity and biliousness.

People need assess themselves and support those trying to do something, not stults just interested in breaking down everything.

Lol, fair and balanced, is that what you call your assessment of Brophy performance, come now, Brendan, your obsessional support for FG is well known, just wish you'd be more transparent about your agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,491 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

No Breener, he did not, but he put Whitmore in her box, which I was more than pleased about.

Nasty piece of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

F sake!

It's after this bit that Comical B gets the hump, goes into a huff and stays in his box for the rest of the programme.

Hannon was in lightning to rescue Whitmore.

The truth can be painful 😁 the Box entered was the one Brophy was put in, it's not as if the program is not available to listen back to, I actually watched it live on RTE news now and it was all the more pleasurable to watch 😁