Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Schools and Covid 19 (part 5) **Mod warnings in OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Don't put masks on them, the schools won't refuse entry if enough parents push back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Pepsirebel

That's the problem though....enough won't.

If the entire country took a "blue flu" day (apologies to the gardai 😉) would our government take notice or how we feel....wishful thinking I know

Irish people value appearing respectable above all else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭grumpyperson

Not in favour of this. I've gone with the guidelines, got vaccinated, stayed in my 2km when asked etc. but this is too much.

If anyone interested, petition here.

www.change.org/p/dr-tony-holohan-no-to-covid19-masks-for-children-in-irish-primary-school/

Because they cost money and they blew the budget on poxy hand sanitizer last September. So open windows and force masks on children is our whole Covid education policy.

As Professor Paul Moynagh pointed out on prime time, the mask issue is just an irrelevant smokescreen for the much bigger issue of ventilation. The goal for NPHET/Government is hoping masking kicks ventilation to touch for another few months.

There have been teachers, principals, parents screaming for adequate ventilation measures since day one of this. Completely ignored in favour of the cheapo solutions.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Pepsirebel

Maybe it's time to change. Everyone had their price & this codollogy on all kids with this should be ours! Enough, it's time to shout STOP.

No wonder the brits stuck around for so long, it's only when our great grandparents said no more did we rid them. They would be sickened by what they are seeing today.

I'm not a nationalist at all just trying to think when, we as irish people actually stood up for what we believed in and to protect our kids

Apologies, a bit ranty !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭joebloggs32

I cant get my monitor to go green even with all my windows and door open.

Thankfully I'm in secondary level, so all have masks on, but you're right about the cold.

Im considering wearing a beanie hat now the winter is starting to kick in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭hesaidshesaid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,532 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

We had a lovely time with our LCA students today, monitor was red, doors and windows had to be opened, wind and rain coming sideways into us, they where none too impressed (can't bloody blame them). Thank god their wearing masks though :D

Bloody disaster

Started a petition. It's a bring to far from a person who is vaccinated and will be getting a booster.

I can't post links but copy and paste this if you're currently against mask wearing in primary school.

www.change.org/p/dr-tony-holohan-no-to-covid19-masks-for-children-in-irish-primary-school/

That’s all well and good but if government are not prepared to do anything else to prevent the spread of infection, what then?

Schools need to be open, we all agree on that. With 20,000 cases in 5-12 year olds in the past month, things can’t continue like this.

I’d be concerned that they wouldn’t replace masks with any other measure and that school re-opening in January would be threatened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,645 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

Can someone tell me who is enforcing the window open ventilation nonsense please? The stuff I posted about my son has really **** annoyed me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

I never said they couldn't pay for it. I said they didn't want to.

This is not the first time the government has refused to invest in education, it just happens to be the first time it has a day-to-day, tangible effect on the parent

It won't be the last time either.

If posters wonder why teachers are not as outraged as the rest of ye all, it's because we are well used to their sh1t at this stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭ginoginelli

Great post.

Martian Cormican is an absolute menace. I just posted about him on the mask thread. He sits on hiqa too. His solution to everything is just wash your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Car99

It's total b*****xology, in our small school , second and third share the same classroom . So half the kids will be masked and the other half won't in the same room. What sense does that make to anyone. Masking kids what a turnaround in 12 months.

The Dept of Ed sent guidelines to schools about this in Oct 2020 and said they had to be continued this year. They send out inspectors to check that guidelines are being complied with. Their version of dealing with the fact that kids are freezing and can be rained on is to open the windows when they are NOT in the room. Don’t ask. If I don’t keep all the windows and my door open when we’re in the room, the CO2 monitor is in the red zone all the time. So we have all the radiators on full blast, heating air that then sails merrily out the window. I let all the kids wear coats, scarves etc whenever they want, lately some of them are wearing gloves. We’re blessed that the weather has been so mild up to now.

As an aside - parents, if you are angry about open windows, masks for kids etc, please please don’t take it out on your school principal or your kid’s teacher. They probably agree with you, but they have zero chance of getting the kids on side if you make a fuss. And they have absolutely no input into the decisions made by government, much as they would like to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,764 ✭✭✭✭josip

Is it too much to expect that on a thread with an above average number of educated adults, that people read and comprehend linked articles? Is it any wonder kids struggle to answer the questions they are asked?

"...Enda McGorman of Mary Mother of Hope School in Dublin 15 has complained that there is no effective date of implementation mentioned. He says that schools do not know whether children can take their masks off in the yard, or take any mask breaks during the day..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

So I do or don't need to put a mask on my son today?, he's 9 and in fourth class. Should we wait until we get an official email from the principal?

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,279 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

HEPA filters don't filter CO2, so obviously a recirculating HEPA filter isn't going to make any difference to CO2 readings except by mixing the air with its fan.

The air is still cleaner though.

CO2 readings are a proxy for ventilation (air changes), and only for air quality all other things being equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,367 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

Neighbors got a letter from the school last Thursday saying they had cases in the class (Primary 2nd class). But they do not need to take action unless the HSE contact them. They heard from another parent on the whatsapp group whos child is in the class that that whole family have covid now after going fopr PCR tests even though only 2 of them were positive on the antigen tests. Then the whatsapp group lit up with parents saying their child tested positive and now everyone in the house has to go for a PCR test.

Well this morning the count from that whatsapp group is 11 children in the same class out with positive PCR. Also bothers and sisters and parents who had PCR tests all positive except one. More people waiting on pcr results for the rest of the family.

Not one of them has had any contact at all from the HSE connected to the school. They only way they got a test was to ring the local GP and have tell him what was happening and he referred them for PCR tests. Now the local creche where some of those kids went to are now reporting multiple cases of positives.

A few teachers positive in that school now too.

Clearly the schools arent safe anymore. The magic COVID barrier has well and truly been broken. Maybe the minister would give some thought to moving schools into the pubs during the day since they are safer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

The mealy mouthed cowardice coming from our unelected Taoiseach would indicate that it’s entirely up to the school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

The principal just messaged us to say that its optional today as nobody has had any time to prepare for this. They will update forther after discussing with staff today. We'll get him a cloth one in the local pharmacy later today.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

You're right, things can't continue like this.

Eventually all the kids that can get covid19 will get it and it'll be finished for the year. Wearing a non medical grade mask indoors is more or less pointless and harms children's' emotional development.

We don't count the number of sore-throats each day...

Post edited by grumpyperson on

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,917 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

This is basically it. And while I am really not advocating for my kids to get it because I am worried about how they will react to it, a bit of me does also think that we should just let it happen. It's hard to know.

I think I will be emailing a few local politicians now over the next few days, on their entire response to date. It's the only way to really put the pressure on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭jrosen

Im really just frustrated at this stage. I suppose like many others. I dont want my kids to have to wear masks. How much more can be asked of people. We are all vaccinated, we have done what has been asked all along, kids have missed school, sports, birthdays, haven't been able to travel to see family. Now this. Its a step too far in my mind. Mask compliance is slipping when out and about. I see more people with no masks and masks on their chin than before.

Why would anyone who hasnt vaccinated their kid do so now? Where is the advantage? The more people I speak too the more are saying they wont bother with the booster because they feel they are now being treated the same as those who didn't get vaccinated so whats the point.

We are all paying for a piss poor health system that has been managed into the ground over years and years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

our school in Dublin said its optional for the kids (mine are both under 9 in the school), but they said if the 9 and ups want to wear them they can, school will review the government decision.

fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,248 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Heard the principal of the senior school here telling kids they ok without masks until Monday . Giving them time to adjust their heads and find masks to suit them . Fair play , she knows her pupils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,431 ✭✭✭bladespin

Just had a mail from the school saying they were adopting a pragmatic approach to it for the time being, really feel for the teachers/principals right now, nasty position to be put in.

We spoke with our 10yo last night and he's all for it, there were a couple of cases in his class (all fine) which has focussed him on it.

Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sadly to a large degree it always has been in this country MM. We love authority. We finally got rid of London, blamed them for all our ills and promptly invited Rome in to fill that need vacuum, then got rid of them and blamed them for all our ills.

Agreed. At this stage I'm near convinced the guy has OCD and it's coming out in handwashing. He's bloody well obsessed with it and has been since the start. The number of howlers from that man since the start and throughout this pandemic beggars belief.

Maybe this school masks and open windows like an old fashioned TB ward nonsense could be the breaking point for many people. I honestly don't know how teachers, parents and kids are dealing with the stress and wild contradictions and about faces from the muppets in government and their advisors.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.