The creeping prominence of the Irish language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

AT THIS point, I disagree slightly. Good teachers encourage and inspire students, and if you get good teachers teaching Irish, you'll get more people speaking it after the finish school.

The issue isn't that people can't is that they choose not to.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

You do realise that your post just backs up my point even further. If there are so many active Irish speakers why can Irish language speakers not access basic services through Irish. That's government services never mind the private sector which is even worse for Irish language provision. A huge amount of companies don't even give the option of selecting Irish as a second language on their online application forms. I'd go even further if there were actually 1 million active Irish language speakers, Irish language support would be unnecessary but we all know that's not the case.

I'm broadly in favour of supporting the Irish language providing those supports are actually effective and the targets set are realistic. But effective language support and realistic targets are the complete opposite of what has happened over the last 100 plus years. Again your post is a perfect example of why Irish language speakers are having difficulty accessing services through Irish. There seems to be an obsession with focusing on people who know a bit of Irish but never speak it instead of actually supporting those that do regularly speak it.

Maybe because Irish is no longer a requirement to work in the civil service. It was removed from the civil service in the 70s and from the Gardai in 2005. The government needs to reverse this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

I appreciate your point and I'd agree and disagree with you. On an individual level top quality teaching does make a difference. So I'd agree you there. However on a broad population level I don't think the best teaching going would make a significant difference to the number of Irish speakers. If you do anything requires interaction with people outside Ireland you are forced to use English. I think even the best teaching going would face an impossible task given the strength of English language ecosystem when compared to the Irish language ecosystem. However I agree with you it is unfair to say it would make no difference just not a significant difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Upforthematch

Schrödinger's language

Interesting quote considering he moved to Dublin to take a leading role in the Dublin Institute of Advanced Studies.

I searched to see whether Schrödinger tried to learn Irish while in Dublin and it appears he did according to this tweet.

Not Schrödinger's language after all, but perhaps this can be a source of consolation to generations of teenagers that have tried to grapple with Gaeilge!!

If he had the digital resources that are freely available today, I think he would have had a much better go of it.

Thanks @PeadarCo but that information isn't focused on the Gaelscoileanna which were the particular target of the quote and your previous posts.

A lot of your later comments are very "macro"; whether there are 10m or a billion English speakers or English pages on Wikipedia has little bearing on the fact that the local shopkeeper or state service will only do business with you in English.

I also don't agree with the either/or argument you make. Yes actual speakers are not supported enough and yes most people don't desire to speak Irish on a regular basis but where is the causal link? Both groups have received support and it is by supporting both groups that Irish is understood as one of the two languages of Ireland even amongst many of those who have no engagement with Irish.

The key point you make is that Irish is up against a wall of English cultural influence. As it was 100 years ago so it is today, those fundamentals haven't changed. The fact that boards.ie is operating via English means squat. I'm a native English speaker but have also become an Irish speaker, it isn't either/or.

Our last interaction a few weeks ago inspired me to go and buy the book I was talking to you about "Labhairt na Gaeilge dúshláin agus réitigh", Speaking Irish, challenges and solutions. https://www.siopaleabhar.com/en/product/labhairt-na-gaeilge-dushlain-is-reitigh/

Haven't read it all yet but it's obvious those cultural barriers caused by the monoglot Anglo culture affect those who have chosen to study Irish at university. I mean if these people find it difficult to speak Irish outside of the classroom and they will graduate with a degree in Irish, I think you're being very harsh on leaving certificate students!!

Just as information, two solutions the author mentions are a move to small group work and oral presentation as the central means of assessment of Irish at university level (quite a shift away from the 'pile 'em high' approach) and the need for social skill development for "Irish as a second language" university learners. The "embarassment of getting it wrong" cripples the second language learner in social settings and the university needs to have 'recreation groups' built into their core programme to help those learners break through that barrier.

Big ask to be honest in a cut-back culture at third level, nevermind second level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭deirdremf

If there are so many active Irish speakers why can Irish language speakers not access basic services through Irish. That's government services

In post 1139, I explained that the State is not the people. In fact, I am of the opinion that the Irish state is generally antipathetic to the people of Ireland, and not only Irish speakers.

In relation to this particular part of your post above, the reason that Irish speakers cannot access basic services through Irish is because the various arms of the State are not organised to provide services through Irish.

If they were, they would employ people to provide such services, and they would train employees to the required standard - just as they currently do in relation to the English-language services that are available today.

This has nothing to do with the number of Irish speakers employed by the State. Unless they are specifically employed to do XYZ (provide a service through Irish in this case) then XYZ will not be done.

For instance, some years back an Irish friend of mine lived in Holland. In fact she lived there long enough to become fluent in Dutch. At work one day, a colleague approached her, and asked her to translate a document into English for him. Now she wasn't employed as a translator, and refused, as was her right.

Similarly in any job - if you have a job description, you are unlikely to take on work outside of that, barring the occasional favour to a friend or a boss that might give you a leg up. Or would you expect the guy you call to clean your drains also to repair your car?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,334 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd largely agree with you on this, though Ireland is not alone in this, that's for sure. Governments almost by their very nature are not benevolent, though things have certainly improved in the west on that score over the last century. One issue with democracy is the politicans are concerned with the next vote and act accordingly, though there aren't any good alternatives.

As for being the most centralised. France is worse as is the UK. In our case it's more down to having a much smaller population and one of the lowest population densities in Europe. Dublin having the greatest concentration at what nearly two million out of five? One driven by a large rural exodus to it in the middle of the last century. We left healthcare and education and other services in the hands of NGO's and the church because at the foundation of the state we were potless and couldn't afford to take those under the public wing. We got used to that. Unfortunately.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,334 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The removal of the requirement in the civil service is a good example of our attitudes to the language. Near overnight with a few holdouts the civil service workers reverted to english. And these were people who could already speak the language. It also reduced their recruitment base.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It's not just about practicallity, though it'salso about expression and the one thing that really seems absent from education is expresion/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,953 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

We left healthcare and education and other services in the hands of NGO's and the church because at the foundation of the state we were potless and couldn't afford to take those under the public wing.

This is a commonly held myth, but it is a myth. Education and health were paid for by taxpayers and ratepayers, as they had been long before the establishment of this state (where did you think the term "national school" came from?)

Churches pay not a cent and never did, sites for schools were usually donated/coerced from local landowners, the state paid for the building costs and the teachers' salaries just as they do today.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,953 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Irish is irrelevant to 99.9% of non-teaching public sector jobs. Imposing a requirement to obtain a job which is not actually necessary to perform that job is discrimination, and illegal.

The last thing we need in this country is to turn the public sector into the plaything of the language lobby, the OLA is bad enough in terms of wasting public money.

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

To be fair it's a little more complex than that. For a start at the foundation of this state the tax and ratepayers revenue was significantly lower than British revenues from that source. We were a poor, undereducated rural agrarian society with bugger all industry save for a region in the north east that was lost under partition. While as you note yes the Irish people through their government certainly supported health and education and other social services through the usual routes, moral, operational and yes quite a bit of economic responsibility for them was offloaded onto the church and charities/NGOs(which were almost entirely church based and controlled). Even the shell game of the Irish sweepstakes was supported by the church. We nationalised things like uitilities and they had to be paid for. They were also a large employer and route to education and social mobility via the clergy. It's not that long ago that the rural family was seen as a success if it had a son in the Guards, another son or daughter in the clergy and another in the civil service(a nurse for bonus points, also controlled by the church). One could even argue that the requirement for Irish in the civil service declined because it became an increasingly urban and suburban entity as our fortunes improved and the number of native rural Irish speakers declined. The church was also one of the few routes to education and social mobility for Irish women. It's no coincidence that as we became richer as a nation the power of the church declined, but we are certainly left with the echoes of that past. The control they have over schools a big one. The overabundance of Irish NGO's another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,171 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I think most people would rather an effective police force that responds to their needs in times of distress, recruits the best people from all backgrounds and overseas talent rather than a handful of people for language enthusiasts to have a chat with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

For the very obvious and simple reason that it does not reflect the reality of language use in the state. We should put Polish in equal prominence on public signage as well, if we are to be guided by use. Followed closely by several other languages. Is that a good enough reason??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

'For instance, some years back an Irish friend of mine lived in Holland. In fact she lived there long enough to become fluent in Dutch. At work one day, a colleague approached her, and asked her to translate a document into English for him. Now she wasn't employed as a translator, and refused, as was her right.

Similarly in any job - if you have a job description, you are unlikely to take on work outside of that, barring the occasional favour to a friend or a boss that might give you a leg up.'

Not the sort of employee I'd have any use for. At all.

You're a good example of someone who hasn't moved with the times. I mentioned Duolingo in my previous post. There are over one million Irish learners on this app - over half of these are outside the country. Don't you think it would be nice if a Garda had at least basic Irish in case a tourist speaks to him?

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

No, it's not. Polish isn't an official language here.

The logic is simple

• Offical languages should be on official signs
    • Irish is an official language
    • Irish should be on the sign

Your argument was that Irish should be in smaller writing than English on the sign. What sort of statement would that make? Why should the Irish speaker have to squint to read the sign?

While I agree with you regard to Irish being obvious rather than Polish, I'd argue that they should be the same size. Why should anyone - English speaker or Irish speaker - have to squint? We're talking roadsigns aimed at drivers, here!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,906 ✭✭✭Evade

It also brings into question why Gaeltacht areas are exempt from having English on their signs.

As far as I know, there is no requirement to have any roadsign in both languages om the basis that the cnostitutions states that provision can be made for sole use of either language in article 8.3. Open to correction on this, but I can't find anything elsewhere.

Section 9 part 3 of the 2003 languages act is about government bodies informing the public via text, which roadsigns seem to fall under, and they can do so in Irish alone or both English and Irish. But if safety for the hypothetical person who cannot read English as well as Irish is a concern the roadsigns in Gaeltacht areas would seem to be dangerous for most of the population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,171 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It would be 'nice' if the guards had a dance troupe or a synchronised swimming team too...'Nice' is not really essential in terms of what guards are supposed to do.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 11,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Of course you ‘are not there yet’, it’s been the best of a hundred years trying and the bitter truth is you are further away not closer! Forty years ago when I had some professional involvement with Irish speaking schools around the country, it was the same story and today some of them don’t even exist!

We either pretend that we are making great progress or we face facts and try to figure out where we are going wrong and try to correct it. I don’t have much hope for it as it’s easier to pretend everything thing is going swimmingly and in a 100 years time Irish will have gone the way of Scottish Gaelic.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 11,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

And all of those people most likely learned another foreign language as well, so are you now going to claim the country is an actively French speaking or what ever , country as well???

A long time ago when I was a kid I could go into the village shop and buy the couple sweets in Irish. Today a change, the Irish speakers are dead and gone and despite all the efforts the young people around the village struggle to speak with you. Wake up to reality before it’s too late.

And your last sentence was a great laugh! Sixty years ago there were Irish clubs of some sort peppered around the country parishes and that is gone too.

Maybe because the Gaeltecht don't want tourists?

Anyway, this seems to be happening in both directions. People can't be arsed - not something I personally would lose sleep over either way.

I was closely familiar with a handful of Educate Together schools in the 2000s. They did stuff to let the pupils know about religious faith systems, but their underlying ethos was atheist/humanist. They were all from among the original handful of schools that existed back in the 1990s - and all from the liberal heartlands of the capital (ah, no cheantar féin - no place like yer own place).

WADR, I'm a West Brit, or at least closer to being one than a lot of the noisy Anglos contributing to this thread - and if it's all the same to yiz all I'm quite proud of it. The noisy Anglos are the only ones bandying about the West Brit term. Insecure much?

And the noisy Gael is the only lableing people who don't agree with them as "noisy anglos" - insecure much? :)

Post edited by Princess Consuela Bananahammock on