If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Off Topic Thread 5.0

• Administrators Posts: 55,703 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Paddy Cosgrave is a tool with an inflated sense of importance. Always has been.

Went to the web summit once, thought it was shite. Never knew much about Cosgrave but making up dead healthcare workers last year was despicable and should have ruined him publicly. Seems he has a pretty unhealthy obsession with certain politicians, but has really taken things to an absurd and deeply unprofessional new low with this stunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

It is a load of shite. I would bet that the overwhelming majority get absolutely nothing out of WebSummit other than a hangover.

Cosgrave tries to paint himself as a big tech CEO, in reality he's an event planner of a sizeable, but not huge event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

TechBro rails against corruption having been laughed out of the room by the Irish government for looking for half of Dublin to be shut down for his Wifi-less tech event.

Next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Got a replacement dive housing for my camera a few weeks ago. The company is Chinese but despite having the item marked as a repair. It seems to have attracted EU Vat on top of and administration charge for import duty it shouldn’t have attracted. Which is then subject to Irish VAT too. I am currently trying to find any sort of contact details to discuss this with FedEx and tell them to shove it up their jaxy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,005 ✭✭✭jacothelad

If ever there was an emperor’s new clothes moment for Johnson his speech provided it, He has made a laughing stock of this country and you have seriously to ask who in their right mind thought the content of that speech was a good idea? It was so butt-clenchingly bad I can’t believe any if his team would allow it which leads me to think that it was the blond buffoon’s idea.

The hunch backed toss pot just cannot do serious. He needs the attention. He needs the laughs. So he started what should have been a plea to world leaders to put aside their self-interest and work constructively together with a reference to James Bond. If he’d stopped at that, he might have got away with it. But Blunderwank is compulsively needy. So the rest of his short speech was peppered with bad gags. Cows farting. Boris the Clown possibly still being prime minister in 2060 when he’s 94. Further references to not everyone being able to look like James Bond.. The Fat Out-Of-Controller is really a lightweight. A balloon of noxious gas in a thin skin. What the hell does Johnson think he's doing at the opening of the crucial COP26? Stupid question, I know; he doesn't think, or even imagine a future beyond next week…and his next freebee from those who openly bribe the Tories to enrich them at our expense.

All of which was met with silence by the world leaders assembled in the marquee. I swear if they had been able to find some eggs they would have thrown them at him. To say Johnson lost the room with his rambling nonsense and die on your arse ‘jokes’ doesn’t come close to how much of a disaster it was. And the quieter it got, the more desperate Johnson became. You could see the flashes of panic in his eyes. Only Boris just can’t do serious. Few things give me greater schadenfreude than the Clown finding himself up against an audience that isn't laughing along. The needy imbecile must f*cking hate it. A PM with more self awareness, and a less massive and fragile ego, would have just said welcome to Glasgow, and then introduced David Attenborough. Just imagine if we could have a PM with the gravitas, intelligence, experience and integrity of Attenborough, and send Johnson to remote corners of the world to film icebergs falling apart or even better. To abseil down into an erupting volcano.

And this is what he has turned the UK into. A laughing stock of a country. Asleep and maskless in some of the photos beside 95 year old David Attenborough. Boris the Moron is a national embarrassment. Just sit with that. Sit with it firmly for he only knows how to act the fool. It is dangerous. He is dangerous. The emphasis on "act", because, like everything in the public eye - including his fake name - is an act. A devious, dangerous and thoroughly amoral man. He's a **** moron, the idiot’s idiot, would be ostracised or ridiculed down the pub, gibbering idiot that he is. The world must look on and think ‘who the hell thought voting for that was a good idea?’.

It was interesting to note just how bad a public speaker he is when his audience isn't jam-packed with sycophants, toadies and fuckwits. The most he can manage is to be the idol of the Daily Heil lot...Sadly there are enough forelock tugging morons around for this shower of **** to carry on robbing us blind until the end..which if they carry on as they are, will be sooner rather than later.. I'd have more confidence following a brain dead slug than this criminally embarrassing clown.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

He has his bad points too, though.

When Bobo makes those speeches, he isn’t addressing the people in the room. He couldn’t care less about them. He’s addressing his base, the ones who don’t believe climate change is real. “Global warming, feels bloody cold to me… something… something… something..” If you believe in sunlit uplands, you’ll happily believe the guff he comes out with.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

He's spent the last few weeks banging on a out how we weren't doing enough to combat climate change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Biden isn't exactly captain coherent either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

And yet he sounds like Pericles compared to the last idiot in charge.

Biden is basically a dementia patient! He's beyond help.

Maybe that’s a good thing, he can’t remember to lie every time he opens his mouth like Trump did.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,153 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Lay off the conspiracy theories, if Biden actually suffered from dementia he would be removed from office.

He has a speech impediment which can make him sound drunk sometimes, put on top of the fact that he is 78 years of age and will make the odd faux pas, some people jump to "mumbling dementia"

Even at this he's exponentially more coherent than the idiot he replaced in office. A guy who simply couldn't form simple sentences and couldn't make a coherent point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

I dunno, he was pretty coherent that time he thought he'd solved the COVID crisis live on television by thinking of injecting bleach and UV into people's lungs.

I think he **** his ghats when he met the pope! What a bumbling baboon!

Whatever about his politics, you've clearly never met someone with dementia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Remember that time when Trump couldn't walk down a ramp unaided? Or that time he called 9/11 7-11? Or that time he repeatedly called for an investigation into the "oranges" of the Mueller probe? Or when he called American soldiers who died in WW1 "suckers" and "losers". Or when he said this about Covid "“Within a couple of days, [infections are] going to be down to close to zero. One day, it’s like a miracle. It will disappear. Not to mention the light inside the body and bleach remarks.

I could go on. Biden is like f*cking Enstein by comparison.

Lol. Your liberalism is beyond amusing. Like every other politician, Biden is a fuktard! Just like Bojo, Yobama, W, Trump.

Trump derangement syndrome!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,578 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

So close to "Five exclamation marks, the sure sign of an insane mind."

Rats.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,153 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Lol!

The problem for Bojo is he is a bumbling moron! But, who is the opposition? How fuq'd are they? I'm waiting to see if Scotland has the exit referendum. What a colostomy bag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭OldRio

Why play whataboutery with Johnson?He is without doubt the most corrupt incompetent 'leader' I have ever known.

Well he may be incompetent and corrupt? What does this say about the electorate?

Corruption is rampant in politics. A scumbag in Connecticut just got arrested this week for misuse of covid funds. The mayor of Fall River, Massachusetts just got sentenced to federal prison. Cuomo too is a sleazy piece of nutphlegm. It's ingrained in the system!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,965 ✭✭✭OldRio

How so! U disagree that politicians are corrupt?

Old Rio what does it say about the voting public? Bojo is an obvious retard and yet he's running crap!

I think that's enough politics for now. Let's move on.