Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Munster joinery

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Acosta

Windows lads. Who's the best out there?

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭Turbohymac

A total ****e company churning out very badly made crap..I have their windows and doors in an old house I refurbished in 04 and the front teak door is barely acceptable..but the back pvc door constantly leaks water into the hall and the pvc windows are pure crap..constantly breaking hinge mechanism that seems to seize up..
    But what keeps them in business is their chep prices..
    I was building a new house in 2009 and they could do all the windows in a big 2 story home for 14k the next cheapest was 24k ..
    People think there getting a bargain but are only buying crap..
    This company wouldn't survive selling their crap in mainland Europe
    Avoid at all costs

• Registered Users Posts: 17,934 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Acosta wrote: »
    Windows lads. Who's the best out there?

Senator, but not cheap

• Registered Users Posts: 13,078 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Not from Cork lads, lots of relatives there though.
    Living far far away from ye.

Anyway saw this thread on home page and have to comment on Munster Joinery.

Bought house with their windows and they are pure shy*e.

I had to get ladder out to climb up to window to help shut it from the outside.

The hinges are pure muck.
    We had them out to supposedly fix the hinges. Not sure what the waster did and what he told the missus, but I might as well have got one to kids out with a set of play tools to have a go at them.

Save yourself time and money and find ANYONE ELSE.

rob316 wrote: »
    Senator, but not cheap

Yes, I've a friend who was in the window game as a rep most of his working like. He's retired now but his comments are as you say. Their installers are also faultless according to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,281 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

had a patio door replaced, used munster joinery (wanted rationel but they refused to come from omagh to install a patio door)

the installers were great and very happy with my triple glazed aluclad patio door.

my original windows were munster in 99 and i think they are crap but they are still in, had the local guy from them in a couple of years ago and he went round and fixed hinges and seals so they worked properly again
    i also insulated their wooden doors properly a while ago (they didnt have insulation standards when we bought them)

a mixed bag really !

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭danoriordan1402

Finally got my MJ double doors replaced last week, ordered from Senator last Sept but Covid delayed everything. Front door locking mechanism finally gave up so spoke to Senator about the order and they could do the works under essential services. Very happy with the job, new front door with side windows, and new sliding patio door and also 2 picture windows that replaced 2 other MJ double doors.
    Guys came in and did a cracking job, left the place spotless as well .

Makes a huge difference to the back room where the MJ doors were just not sealing right, even after replacing seals.

Also I have a good sized roll of door seal left if anyone is looking for some, free to a good home if local in Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Any one know the price of a 6 foot French door supply and fit.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭Acosta

Senator, but not cheap

Cheers. I've sent off an email for a quote.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Dbu

Sky windows, has anyone used them? looking at getting a few prices for windows and doors. thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Odelay

Senator, but not cheap

Would have to agree. They did a faultless job for my parents.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 einstein88

Not too long ago there were 7 pages here, now there seem to be only 4 pages, what happened?

I had bookmarked this link: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058147440&page=7

• Registered Users Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭Mav11

There seems to be more posts in each of the pages, so less pages!

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭corkmans1

Can I get some recommendations please. 5 windows. Cork city area.

• Registered Users Posts: 478 ✭✭costacorta

I used classic in ovens 2 years ago all new windows and French door and found them very good if that helps ? .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

My experience with MJ, their windows and doors are great quality in comparison, the guys that install them can be hit or miss, mostly miss. They can be rough and most of them are not qualified to cut turf never mind installations. Beware of the "touch-up" guys, they are scam artists. Ok so here's the scenario, your sliding doors are installed to a decent enough quality, they open and close with ease etc, however, the new doors are scrapped and full of small dents and larger scuffs. You call the company and complain that your new doors are damaged in areas, you are assured that the quality control guy will follow up in a couple of days to take care of it. Sure enough the guy comes within a few days in a smaller MJ van. He fixes any imperfections with what seems like a miracle touch-up paint and replaces any broken or missing parts. When he's done he calls you out and you will be astonished at the transformation, the doors will look immaculate, no scuffs, scrapes or dents and on his way he goes. about a week or two later after a few days rain etc you'll be heading out to your garden and to your horror will discover most of the dents, scuffs and scrapes have miraculously re-appeared, most people will feel like they are too fussy or "moaners" if they call again and will leave well enough alone. Those who do call will be told that it was fixed and those scrapes etc must be new so theres nothing they can do.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭corkmans1

Thanks guys, any ideas of price difference between triple/double glaze. Will give classic and senator a call and get some prices. Should I add 10 or 30%. Anyone have experience with 2020 windows in ballincollig? Or perfect homes windows and doors? Thanks

Post edited by corkmans1 on

Stay well clear if MJ, I asked the apparent quality guy about the thickness of the panes and he said they are all the same, I asked should 1 at least be thicker or thinner for frequency changes and he had no clue what I was on about. I find there triple glazed seems to echo which is weird

Also the bluffer quality engineer tried to tell me its perfectly normal to force slam a front door, and also told me its perfectly normal to have condensation build up on the internal side of triple glazed windows cos when we breath we let out moisture. I was shocked by his dickhead arrogant and aggressive approach and can see how it probably works on most people.

Wouldn't ever recommend them.

On further research if you are getting new windows, after the window ins make sure you lift or replace the internal window sil and fill it with foam, install insulated plaster board around the internal reveals and if you have money install external insulated cladding to the external reveals and install an insulated external sil over the existing (like they do if wrapping a house with external insulation) this properly seals the windows, not like silicone most installers use

• Registered Users Posts: 24,800 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

My folks used them 13 years ago on a new build.. Faultless but their owner knew the builder who is very well regarded so maybe they went quality plus for us... but the windows, doors, frames are all top quality material and the workmanship was clean and faultless..

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Our estate has them since it was built 20 years ago. If I had my way I'd rip them out and put in decent windows. We changed the Front and back doors a couple of years ago, and there is a massive difference in quality.

There was a case where the 1st floor Window fell out of its frame, narrowly missing a person walking underneath. MJ kept going on that there was a call out fee to inspect the damage, and kept repeating that line until they were threatened with a solicitor. Not the only one for a window to fall out in the estate.

They told me that they provide a one year warranty on their windows.......😲

They finish on the windows is poor, with a lot of scrapes and scratches on, which didn't become apparent until washed. Glass and frames quite badly scratched up. As the estate was being built for another couple of years, we didn't see how bad it was until they were washed the first time. My window cleaner was appalled as we had done the inside as well, and all of a sudden you could see how badly the glass was marked. He was showing me his cleaning equipment to show that there was nothing sharp in it, and that the water was free from debris.

• Registered Users Posts: 58 ✭✭eddie.g

what are MJ sliding PVC sash windows like?

is the quality in them?

• Registered Users Posts: 1 monika.ivers

A horrible, never-ending experience! Incorrect window installation, rain water coming in, window frames scratched and dented, wrong stoppers installed, paint peeling off doors after 1 month, wrong door lock. Non-existent customer service - after calling every month for 1 year the issues are still not fixed! The "fixing team" was sent out (with many delays) several times throughout the year but each time they weren't able to fully complete the fixes (complaining to me that Munster won't pay them, as the job is not complete). Each time I call them they claim they don't have the details of the previous call, as their system has no notes...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

A friend is having a nioghtmare with them. They were singing their praises and recommending them for about 3 years.

Since then the work has started show its bad quality with warps and leaks and they are just being ignored.

THey say that you see the real quality of a company when things go wrong on you. Well this company you dont see at all when things go wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭emy

New residential area, all windows were fitted by this company (nice Government contract). Easy money from Government, high price and low quality. All windows are horrible fitted, all of them have seals broken, many scratches, very bad alignment, no airtight at all. Filled in a complaint about it, a guy came over and made them worse, he should have had a job for demolition windows instead . I had to buy from Lidl airtight seal to fill the gaps left by the "specialist" ...Unacceptable.

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭Grassy Knoll

There are consistently bad vibes re this company q-quality, fitting &:service - saying that, a builder we had for a job said he never had a problem with them - it may have been a case he had a good relationship with the sales side and was looked after in terms of service etc. notwitwstanding that, we went with one of the premium European suppliers and that was not without incident - a glass mismeasurement by them, sliders that were misfitted, sill end caps poorly fitted, but in the final analysis we were happy with the product- I think you pay for what you get and they sorted it out without quibble or cost. Too much of a gamble IMHO …

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭Iguarantee

With respect to the builder you mentioned; he doesn’t have to live in the house he’s built.

Given how shite the Irish weather is, I’d guess that windows installed in July may look and perform quite differently in the following January given the humidity and rain. I’ve always thought of Munster Joinery as cheap, mass produced and low quality. Do they do higher quality windows aside from the house bashing stuff in estates?

I ended up buying Amberline windows about 10 years back. Expensive, they only sell & fit so you can’t just buy windows from them. The windows were absolutely excellent, service from the fitter was good quality but they’d a poor attitude on a follow up quote infor a different property (€10k quote for six windows & two doors, doesn’t include repair work to surrounding concrete/walls and wouldn’t even advise how much to budget for repairs). The guy was a prick to deal with to be honest, which is why I didn’t buy from them.

• Registered Users Posts: 434 ✭✭mburke

Have MJ Aluclad lift and slide door, does anyone know the type of rubber seal that is used and where to purchase it besides from MJ as they want an engineer to call out to put on a seal but not having that.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 Duine_Eigin

Looking for one myself too, if you happen to source the right one. I have two aluclad sliders and one of them is letting a draught in. Also looking to avoid the MJ call out charge.