If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,002 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

I saw that myself - that Gibbon fella is a dose alright and it was very unfair to have him and one of Eamon Ryans's stooges up against Healy-Rae(and i wouldn't be a huge fan of the latter either). Reading an article in the Phoenix recently and it appears the Irish GP is now just made of Ryan lackies with very little knowledge of what goes on beyond the M50. I see even Lord Dunsany(him of the rewild fame) slagged off Ryan recently and said his understanding of the issues doesn't extend beyond bus lanes and bicyles in Dublin 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭green daries

Ya that's a good point and would be my thinking but we will have to c what comes in and what is gotten rid of for the next round of punishment...I mean legislation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,642 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

he is one of the ppl on the environmental council with An Taisce

part of the crew that are objecting to the new Glanbia plant

they have an agenda and that’s cut the cow numbers in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,321 ✭✭✭jaymla627

An taisce rabbit on about moving away from fossil fuels then launch objections to renewable energy projects on a constant yearly basis, http://www.windaction.org/posts/4724-solicitor-joins-an-taisce-in-wind-farm-objection#.YWp_RE_hRPw

Do yourself a favour and don't even read our engage with them you can't win an argument with a complusive liar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

EPA map of nitrates leaching is based on your stock numbers....not on soil data??? far reaching assumption, makie upie maps, jesus wept all right

every soil is different, with out factual data on the soil or actual well water results, how can EPA be allowed create these maps and present it as the national situation??

EPA have marked area in farm where i have PIP1,and the rest is PIP5...nothing factual from their map its hypotical, i would completly disagree with them on which of my fields have a higher chance of leaching....but what would i know im only a dairy farmer with 100 years family experience on the ground

two water wells both in PIP1 here came back at 3.6mg/litre and 5.5mg/litre for nitrates, ballygown spring water is at 9 (per website they qouote 3 on bottle), volvic (french) is 7.3, how does our consumer national agency allow water containing any amount of nitrates to be sold......its safe up to 10....

loosing faith in EPA if not using actual factual data

Well that's the truth 🤣 they are constant contradiction in motion and will defend every new stance like it was the only thing in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,321 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Anyone engaging with them on social media needs to be sticking in them on the above, quote their bollockolgy where they champion renewable energy projects then object at planning stage, it gas you could say to them right the cows are going and windmills are going in and I'll habitat the rest of the farm, they'll object to that too, so what the f**k do they exactly want,they don't know themselves

That’s interesting

never heard that about bottled water before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭straight

https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/changes-to-carbon-footprinting-of-dairy-farms-through-the-sdas/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I see a pig farm in kilkenny won a case with the EPA, judge stating EPA behaviour left a lot to be desired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,002 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

In the real world wind energy needs alot of back up from fossil fuel eg. Germany is near covered with windfarms yet is now desperate to import Russian gas to keep the lights on, similar issues in the UK that has alot of windfarms offshore. Many were built on upland peatlands here which doesn't make sense at all environmentally for obvious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭alps

Any chance you would have a link to that map...pretty shocking news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

go to pressures and activities, nitrates pollution is down the list

Hmm...can see the stocking density of neighbours and also those who are not returning a BP application 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ginger22

did you know that 100 companies are responsible for 71% of the worlds green house gas emissions and the IDIOTS RUNNING THIS COUNTRY WANT TO GET RID OF COWS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

And that social media, is currently responsible for 1.3% of all emissions. Even the the internet is responsible for approx 4.2% of the worldwide emissions. Just goes to show how our modern lifestyle has contributed to the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭Sillycave

Sure this new soil scheme will give them the required information on the soils and the potential for loses, etc.

this was my first though on the scheme that it is been sold as something good for the farmer but is just leaving the farmer open to more gov/epa sh*t

also agree with ur comments btw

They don't. If this morning's info leaks are correct, the "idiots" want a stable herd.

Fecking tax bill is too much. Any major cons to incorporating? I only milk about 75 - 80 cows but I've off farm income and wife is working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Have u kids ye can give a wage to. Our advisor passed a remark with all the lads with big wage bills would they not be better off investing in slurry storage instead of incorporating, fair point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Big disadvantage is if you got big drawings on the farm, you end up getting hammered for tax anyways. However given you have an off farm income and the wife working I assume you don't draw a massive amount from the farm? Looking at a company here next year also, similarly I got off farm income, but the farm is at a mature enough state so I've been drawing down money for investments elsewhere, and I'm not actually sure what's best for me yet (I may have a proper chat with the accountant in the next month or so and bash out all the scenarios).

Kids are a bit small yet. Might start off a private pension for this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

Dunno could you buy silage suitable for dry cows and look to build a reserve to be carried over to 2023..might be a way to cut a bit of fertiliser next year too.

I'm doing the pension already, solar panels I won't have till next year unfortunately. I have no capital allowances, hope to have a shed started by years end but won't be much good for this year's bill.

Any simple things can be done without spending money for the sake of it.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I don't know do others find this, but I have increased numbers last few years. My mp is now between 2 and 2.5, slurry storage, cubicles, handling facilities have been improved. Some amount of people have said to me would u not be better off milking 70 or 80 cows than my current number. Snidey remarks the whole time. Are we fair game when it comes to criticism, as people seem like their entitled to say what they want.

Ya it's been seen as greed to expand a dairy operation in our area and then the beef sheep and tillage lads are murdering one another for a few acres around me it's begrudey simple as

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,092 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Don't worry about what others think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,577 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Leave em off, its the people around you that you know and trust that aren't talking out their rear ends that matter. Would have no problem hopping ideas off a discussion group as no harm to have varied ideas but throwaway comments particularly outside that type of setting are as well off ignored

You’d be the talk of the parish and begrudged around here if you were a dairy farmer that took land

youd be a great lad if you were a tillage farmer and took a bigger block of land

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭cosatron

Do we need a prescription for all antibiotics next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

It's the thinking of people that changes when you mention you're dairy that gets me. Automatically you can see € signs when talking or otherwise communicating going off with them.

You're better off lying and say you're in another enterprise. Haven't done it but sorely tempted.

Dairy farmer in the neighbourhood was looking to rent land and he's in a small way as is. Auctioneer was looking for London off him. He went straight to the landowner and between the auctioneers price and what he paid was €80/acre. Now paid straight to landowner.

A lot of what's reported is bull to keep news going.