Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

I see Coveney is in New York. I wonder what job himself and Zappone are cooking up, 'Supreme viceroy of the downtrodden'? He'll be deleting texts on the flight home for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

If a minister created a job for you, lied about it and deleted texts regarding it, and you claimed you wished to serve Ireland, in the least you would have a duty to clear things up I would imagine. In any case this affair and unwillingness to clear things up shows Zappone to be no better than the like of Coveney and Varadkar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Yosser Hughes.... Gis a job Simo!

Only private citizen that seemed to be aware that the restrictions allowed for her get-together at the time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Deleted. Wrong thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,138 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Have you no shame, cheating on your liveline thread colleague's 🤣

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Poor Simon can't escape this nightmare, even in new York 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,107 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Outstandingly brilliant riposte.

When is a private citizen not a private citizen? When the mob says so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

There never was a slimy backroom deal with FG fingerprints on it that blanch didn't waste a sunny day defending. He'll swing back around to tell us all about chilling populism any second now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,090 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

No it's when a private citizen is a former minister who tried to finagle a job that never existed and never will existed, and who also claimed fraudulent expenses as a minister.

But not a normal private citizen like you or I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 rocjohn

Would a private citizen have the telephone numbers of the Taoiseach,Tanaiste and Minister of Finance on which they conduct sensitive government business and with whom they were in regular contact.?

Would a private citizen have full access to the Secretary to the Dept. of Finance and his staff to arrange the details of employment and remuneration for a job not advertised and which does nt yet exist (at least thats what was evidenced by Lord Coveney of Crosshaven)?

To believe the evidence of Lord Coveney before the Dail Committee the answer to the two questions above would be yes.

Can anyone name one Irish private citizen in the history of our State (apart of course from Zappone) who can answer affirmative to the above.

I have texted several government ministers over the years from a number of political parties on their private numbers. What's the issue with that?

"First they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a socialist.

Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me."

Where will your witchhunts end?

Witch hunts? Would you prefer it if we could not question cronyism because it might offend certain private citizens who are up to their oxters in it and who used to be government ministers. Being an ex government minister should not protect you from scrutiny and answering questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,752 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Its not cronyism, its just the World of politics.

Brendan Howlin used to be accused of this sort of reaction to everything, hit the nuclear button on everything trivial and you have nothing left in your arsenal for the real fights.

This has been trivial, this has been the double quarter pounder of nothing burgers. Its over, its done, everyone is still in the jobs they had, the world carries on as if it never arose.

Pick your fights lads, crying wolf has no credibility.

Only if you fail to mention the internal bleeding in FG and the coalition at large - FG dropping like a stone in polls. Weeks of negative headlines and trust broken within the coalition. Like one of those marriages of convenience where they turn up to family events pretend to be happy for weddings and communions, but everybody knows and whispers, and everyone knows the truth.

Indeed, a treble n0ThinG BUrgeR with cheese, special sauce and a side of taco fries.

No one gives a **** Yurt, theres no election for three and a half years.

By the time it does come around, this stuff will be forgotten dust in the ether and FG and FF will frighten people into not giving SF a workable majority, again, and will lead a new coalition into the 2030s.

I know it and as you read this man, I know you know it too.

I'll eat a boiled shoe if this coalition goes full-term. You're utterly delusional if you think FF will ever countenance a tie-up with FG again or even allow this red-headed stepchild of a coalition go to full-term. Talk to anyone from the grassroots of the FF movement to all the way up to TD level if you can get them to speak frankly. Thier p*ss is boiled by the arrangement, and that's with them in the Taoiseach's seat.

And you're dead right on one thing and one thing only, FG are trying lowball American pollster communication strategies to try to scare the monocle dropping classes out of voting SF, even that's not working. SF as an electoral force, as deeply upsetting as it is to you, has changed the Irish political map forever - and it will be at FG's expense the next election, which is another Zappone moment away from happening.

They say a week and a half is a long time in politics. 3 and a half years is an eternity and with some of the arrogant dunderheads in the blue side of the coalition, the next calamity is just around the corner.

Everything else you posted is from the mind of a daydreaming child.

How can you be so sure about when the next election is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭jay1988

I really wouldn't bother if I was you, the behaviour of the poster you're arguing with and some other FG apologists on this thread has been nothing short of utterly embarrassing and its waste of time even interacting with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭RunningFlyer

Any word who will be her replacement for the envoy gig?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭CDarby

Talk to anyone from the grassroots of the FF movement to all the way up to TD level if you can get them to speak frankly. Thier p*ss is boiled by the arrangement, and that's with them in the Taoiseach's seat.

can confirm this, the knives are out in my local FG branch for Martin and several others who I will leave unnamed for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

You have been calling this a nothing burger for weeks and saying each day that it all over and then you go and make a show of yourself coming back here for a big bite of the flesh and saying its a nothing burger again while its bubbling away

Its the final nail in FGs coffin,they have handed over the reins now to the most corrupt party in the history of the Irish state to try and find a new partner to make up a goverment in the next election.

FG will now go down in history as the defunct party of the wealthy, blueshirt facism and cronyism to be maybe mentioned in the same category to young political students as Ailtiri na HAiseirghe, the PDs and Renua

Well said, I got bored of their nonsense here and on other threads, utterly incoherent claptrap mostly completely unrelated to the actual thread topic but mainly just Gibberish and childish deflection, even when proven wrong and tripped up by their own previous posts, they still persist in embarrassing themselves.

Ultimately the appointment was stopped, FG proven to be playing Shenanigans and latterly silly games. It's not quite over yet, Harris presumably still seriously considering his absurd position and FG damaged (Rightly by this entire fiasco)

The FG defenders are about to have their hands full in the coming few weeks with the a **** show of problems of their making coming down the tracks, I'm looking forward to analysing the next phase of this farcical coalition 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭CDarby

Forgive me as I'm not exactly what you could call a regular in here, but I'll admit to being prone to pop in from time to time, and it's usually when I've got some downtime from work and there's nothing on the TV. However I'm semi-familiar with your posts in here, simply because someone said something very very funny about you using the "nothing burger" phrase, and them being unfamiliar with it as they "didn't watch Nickelodeon" (I'll admit I got a laugh at that)

But what exactly have you been correct about on this thread that went against the grain so to speak?