Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Norm McDonald

• 12-05-2018 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭

This guy is an interesting character.
    Never really got into him (thinking he was another hacky American comedian) but on second look he really calls the bull**** around us out.

He has perfected this aw shucks, folksy style but his comedy is really dark and honest.

Anyone else into him.
    And any recommendations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Find him great. His netflix special was quite decent too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Yeah, he's brilliant at his best and I love his AMAs on reddit.

Not a huge fan of his podcast though and he can a bit predictable in his own way at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I've only ever seen him on high stakes poker

I hear his brother is a bit of a clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I've only ever seen him on high stakes poker

Led to some unusual conversations.

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭qwerty ui op

Some balls on the guy, go to 4.50 for dustin hoffman/philip seymour hoffman, how does he hold it together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,031 ✭✭✭✭bnt

He’s also pretty good on The Orville as Yaphit, a gelatinous blob that has the hots for the ship’s doctor...

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Love him on SNL Celebrity Jeopardy as Burt Reynolds, dunno why but it cracks me up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

And their dad and his bleedin' farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,842 ✭✭✭s8n

unfunniest character on the middle though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,440 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I like him. I think he's one of Conan O'Brien's best guests of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I've never really given him a fair shot. I didn't immediately take to him so never bothered much. I'll go back and listen to him as I know he is highly respected.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Artie Lange told a story of himself and Norm walking out to the edge of the pier in Atlantic City at 6.am. Circa 1999.

They'd been drinking all night and Norm had won 100,000 dollars in the casino.

Norm threw the cash into the ocean.

He told Lange, I'll only lose it anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Artie had another one about Norm. He'd giving up smoking for 2 years, the lads were on a fight to LA,.

Plane lands and Norm goes straight to the airport shop and buys a pack of cigs and sparks up.

Artie asks him what are you doing and he says I just feel like having a smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Thought this thread was about some Linfield player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Jaysus got a fright there for second when I seen his name in an AH thread title, especially as he hasn't been looking the best of late, put on a fair bit of weight over the last year or so, but anyway.. love Norm. On one of those handheld androids at the minute, but there's a great clip of of Norm on the view trolling them all, about Clinton killing a guy, has to be seen. Legend. His interviews on Letterman after he was let go from SNL are class too (was over jokes he made about OJ, as the head of programming was mates with him and believed him to be innocent).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,964 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Who the hell would think an exercise bike with a tiny fist coming out of the saddle is a good idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Footoo

Norms a legend. His “Roast” of Bob Sagan is a masterpiece.

Goes from “wait this isn’t funny at all” to “ oh, oh oh I get it, this is just perfect”

http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/661a77b3da/norm-macdonald-trolls-the-bob-saget-roast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

I've been listening to a lot of Norm recently and this, for me, is the stand out. It's long, but worth it. Fantastic pastiche of country music, but with a gay slant :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I watched his special on Netflix and thought the first twenty minutes or so were somewhat amusing. Then he started really rambling about nothing. I've watched some videos on YouTube and haven't found any of it remotely funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Saw him late at night on Channel 4 c.1994.

"You ever lie for no reason at all? Just all of sudden, a big lie spills out of your evil head. Like a guy will come up to you, 'Hey, did you ever see that movie with Meryl Streep and a horse?' And you go, 'Yes.' In the back of your head, you're like, 'What in the hell am I lying about over here? I stand to gain nothing by this lie.'"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Who the hell would think an exercise bike with a tiny fist coming out of the saddle is a good idea?

September 5th!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,626 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

His SNL monologue - which he was invited back on to do after he was fired from the show - is a pretty legendary smack down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,199 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

Check out his "Dirty Johnny" story. A masterclass in joke telling.

https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x5vaqxy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

One of my favourites, 61, very young. One of the best SNL alumni.

https://youtu.be/jJN9mBRX3uo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Didn't even know he'd been ill. Fvck that anyways.

Thought he was best thing about that Mike Tyson spoof series from a few years back.

Rest in peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭ErnestBorgnine

Norm was hilarious. One of a kind.

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

RIP. Two great comedians (Sean Lock) lost to cancer in less than a month.

He was fantastic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,440 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I read he had cancer for 9 years. That's mad altogether. Rest in Peace Norm.

This one has been doing the rounds on Twitter so I'll leave it here.

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭bewareofthedog

Never gets old watching him sticking it to the auld hags on the view, RIP Norm.

• Registered Users Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

I literally went down a Norm MacDonald YouTube wormhole today and hours later I find out he had died. They don’t make comedians like him anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,161 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Rip norm . The boss! Not sure what video is best for today so let’s post them all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,665 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

The film Chairman of the board took in $180K in the cinema , so Norm wasnt wrong

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,665 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

there are about 12-15min worth of quips at OJ, some good ones in this shorter selection

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Rip Norm. First saw him in Deuce Bigelow and stole the scene as the bartender. Just a naturally funny man. That voice of his could make anything funny it would seem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

cough..Canadian..cough - A pity he's died, likeable and funny, I did always think he looked very old recently and was only 61 or so which is what cancer will do to you. RIP.

Watched a recent improv and he was discussing Covid, very strange hearing it today like he was really talking about cancer

His dirty uncles will be devastated 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,802 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Okay so not that Ronan Mullen

Wonder if he ever considered a name change...

Even just the words Turd Ferguson always make me chuckle. 😊

Very sad for his family, friends - and fans who really love him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

His has been the only celebrity death that i've actually been upset by, I only got into his comedy about 5or6 years ago but I've been obsessed with him since. The ImNotNorm Youtube page has been my go to for whenever I'm stuck for something to watch, it's a goldmine. His appearance on talkshows especially Letterman and Conan are far funnier than his stand up specials IMO. He's just a natural funny conversationalist.

None of his comedy buddies,even his close friends seem to have known he was sick, which makes me wonder if his family knew? I'd imagine it would be close to impossible to have kept a secret like that for so long (9years apparently).

Rest In Peace Norm

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭ltd440

Just found out he died R I P ,brilliant comedian and great when speaking on serious topics too.

A beautiful voice ,I often listen to him when I'm having difficulty sleeping and his dulcet tone always soothes me

• Registered Users Posts: 302 ✭✭ltd440

I'm the same, only got into him about 5 years ago and got obsessed, I love his phone chats on the Dennis Miller radio show https://youtu.be/WGNLRXO3Hd8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭techdiver

He was gifted. It was the way he could spin a yarn or tell a story. If you read the transcript of some of his best jokes they don't seem funny but I'm his hands they were legendary!

The Moth, Bill Cosby & Hypocrisy, etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

SNL Jeopardy is one of my go to on YouTube Norm and Darrell Hammond as Sean Connery torment Will Ferrells Alex Trebek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭kirk.

I didn't really know anything about him before he died

He's a natural storyteller and comic

I literally never heard of him before this thread - and the "Dirty Johnny" joke (thank you @artvanderlay ) has to be one of the worst jokes I have ever heard - as a joke. But the way he told that joke? I was hanging on every single word the whole way. The man clearly had a natural talent in the way Billy or Dave Allen had. But he can tell a joke that keeps you in painful suspense waiting for release in the way "johnny Vegas" has built his much more inferior own act around.

That is my impression of just one video - I can not figure out how I had/have never heard of him before. Another light has gone out in our world.

His interview on WTF with Marc Maron is worth a listen..