Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Norm McDonald

• 12-05-2018 1:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,800 ✭✭✭

This guy is an interesting character.
    Never really got into him (thinking he was another hacky American comedian) but on second look he really calls the bull**** around us out.

He has perfected this aw shucks, folksy style but his comedy is really dark and honest.

Anyone else into him.
    And any recommendations.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Find him great. His netflix special was quite decent too.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,715 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Yeah, he's brilliant at his best and I love his AMAs on reddit.

Not a huge fan of his podcast though and he can a bit predictable in his own way at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

I've only ever seen him on high stakes poker

I hear his brother is a bit of a clown

• Registered Users Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

I've only ever seen him on high stakes poker

Led to some unusual conversations.

• Registered Users Posts: 364 ✭✭qwerty ui op

Some balls on the guy, go to 4.50 for dustin hoffman/philip seymour hoffman, how does he hold it together

• Registered Users Posts: 12,957 ✭✭✭✭bnt

He’s also pretty good on The Orville as Yaphit, a gelatinous blob that has the hots for the ship’s doctor...

From out there on the moon, international politics look so petty. You want to grab a politician by the scruff of the neck and drag him a quarter of a million miles out and say, ‘Look at that, you son of a bitch’.

— Edgar Mitchell, Apollo 14 Astronaut

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Love him on SNL Celebrity Jeopardy as Burt Reynolds, dunno why but it cracks me up.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,220 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

And their dad and his bleedin' farm

• Registered Users Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭s8n

unfunniest character on the middle though

• Registered Users Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I like him. I think he's one of Conan O'Brien's best guests of all time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I've never really given him a fair shot. I didn't immediately take to him so never bothered much. I'll go back and listen to him as I know he is highly respected.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Artie Lange told a story of himself and Norm walking out to the edge of the pier in Atlantic City at 6.am. Circa 1999.

They'd been drinking all night and Norm had won 100,000 dollars in the casino.

Norm threw the cash into the ocean.

He told Lange, I'll only lose it anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Artie had another one about Norm. He'd giving up smoking for 2 years, the lads were on a fight to LA,.

Plane lands and Norm goes straight to the airport shop and buys a pack of cigs and sparks up.

Artie asks him what are you doing and he says I just feel like having a smoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Thought this thread was about some Linfield player.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Jaysus got a fright there for second when I seen his name in an AH thread title, especially as he hasn't been looking the best of late, put on a fair bit of weight over the last year or so, but anyway.. love Norm. On one of those handheld androids at the minute, but there's a great clip of of Norm on the view trolling them all, about Clinton killing a guy, has to be seen. Legend. His interviews on Letterman after he was let go from SNL are class too (was over jokes he made about OJ, as the head of programming was mates with him and believed him to be innocent).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,842 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

Who the hell would think an exercise bike with a tiny fist coming out of the saddle is a good idea?

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭Footoo

Norms a legend. His “Roast” of Bob Sagan is a masterpiece.

Goes from “wait this isn’t funny at all” to “ oh, oh oh I get it, this is just perfect”

http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/661a77b3da/norm-macdonald-trolls-the-bob-saget-roast

• Registered Users Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

I've been listening to a lot of Norm recently and this, for me, is the stand out. It's long, but worth it. Fantastic pastiche of country music, but with a gay slant :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I watched his special on Netflix and thought the first twenty minutes or so were somewhat amusing. Then he started really rambling about nothing. I've watched some videos on YouTube and haven't found any of it remotely funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Saw him late at night on Channel 4 c.1994.

"You ever lie for no reason at all? Just all of sudden, a big lie spills out of your evil head. Like a guy will come up to you, 'Hey, did you ever see that movie with Meryl Streep and a horse?' And you go, 'Yes.' In the back of your head, you're like, 'What in the hell am I lying about over here? I stand to gain nothing by this lie.'"

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Sirsok

Who the hell would think an exercise bike with a tiny fist coming out of the saddle is a good idea?

September 5th!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,340 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

His SNL monologue - which he was invited back on to do after he was fired from the show - is a pretty legendary smack down.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

Check out his "Dirty Johnny" story. A masterclass in joke telling.

https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x5vaqxy

• Registered Users Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

One of my favourites, 61, very young. One of the best SNL alumni.

https://youtu.be/jJN9mBRX3uo

• Registered Users Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Didn't even know he'd been ill. Fvck that anyways.

Thought he was best thing about that Mike Tyson spoof series from a few years back.

Rest in peace.

• Registered Users Posts: 237 ✭✭ErnestBorgnine

Norm was hilarious. One of a kind.

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 12,836 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

RIP. Two great comedians (Sean Lock) lost to cancer in less than a month.

He was fantastic

• Registered Users Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I read he had cancer for 9 years. That's mad altogether. Rest in Peace Norm.

This one has been doing the rounds on Twitter so I'll leave it here.