Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭marty whelan

A quick Google would indicate that this is not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,901 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The proposed salary wouldn't, on its own, be liable for any tax. But yes, when added to her total income from all sources, she would absolutely be taxed on it where she is domiciled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,509 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,141 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

This and other Articles this morning pretty much sum up Leo Varadkar's FG. In essence, he nor his movement (that's what it has become) couldn't give a shite what anyone outside this movement thinks.

Leo himself, whether it be abject stupidity, lack of empathy, arrogance or lack of self awareness (that I don't believe for a moment) has never left many in doubt of where he's at.

More disturbing is the fact, the Party has moved toward his way of thinking. The think in appears on the surface and despite increasing public disquiet and dreadfull polling numbers , to be nothing more than a meek apology to itself followed by collective back slapping , oblivious to any notion of reality or what's going on in the real world.

Time will tell but regardless of how this Thread Topic debacle ends, I'd be astonished if this shower of self serving chancer's retain a fraction of the support they currently have.

As a close, Farmer neighbour of mine, a long time FG supporter said to me over the weekend ......

"They've become a shower of Guttersnipes, led by a total Guttersnipe " 😏

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

Grumpy Alan Kelly coming up on morning Ireland, I won't be doing running commentary for fear of being QUESTIONED about my right to post on this platform 😏

EDIT, apologies, Mary Lou up shortly, for those who want to cover their ears 🤣🤣

Did I mention that Chilling Party, SF having their Think in today 😏

Post edited by Dempo1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,121 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Another day, will we get another version of the Zappone fiasco after yesterday's revelation that the Taoiseach office was informed of the appointment.

Apparently the memo was delivered by way of paper airplane 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Wouldn't be surprised if they claim it was sent by text, and was deleted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,371 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

i'm from planter stock but really considering sin fein basically because everybody else is sh1te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

I have been advising them to vote for Catherine Connolly or the Social Democrat candidate (O'Tuathail). They will never vote FF and unlikely to vote SF.

It depends on the Labour candidate - we had Michael D Higgins for years and he was another honest TD. They are the key attributes for me - honesty and integrity.

Both are very lacking in Fine Gael.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,121 ✭✭✭Floppybits

Honesty and integrity is very lacking in a lot of our politicians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

I had high hopes for the SDs as an alternative when they started out but they seem to be much the same in being power hungry and thinking of themselves and leader ambitions and their most high profile TD joining FF of all partys for a cabinet position.

Will probably vote for them still if i thought they could seriously get traction and run enough candidates to do damage otherwise it will be SF again especially if they can lead to the effective demise of FF/FG after they forced them to join together in the last election

More Egg on face, why can't Leo just shut up , albeit it is fun watching him push back , again and again and again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

Yeah I couldn't believe he came out with that one. His angle always seems to be apologise, but then say it wasn't your fault. Martin has no shame. Anything to hold on to the seat of power.

I can see the coalition collapsing as Varadkar's turn approaches. The most least deserving person and party to hold the top job in Irish history?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭CDarby

Can we assume that all of FF are going to vote confidence in Simon Coveney tomorrow? Surely they're going to regret that come election time, imagine having that thrown in your face at the doors you canvas?

Opposition playing a blinder here forcing Tweedle Dum to have confidence in Tweedle Dee despite the cronyism and web of lies being undeniable now.

FF are officially finished in my humble opinion.

Hard to know, there's a number who've been very critical of the debacle and FG but I equally think part of it was getting a dig in at their own leadership. Everyone knows who they are so voting confidence will be very very difficult to explain and Justify. Jim o callaghan and Barry Cowan in particular will be ridiculed if the vote confidence and rightly so.

There's going to be fireworks tomorrow, should be interesting 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,901 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Are you kidding?

It'll be 90-70 for Coveney. The one thing FFers dislike more than FG giving them a pain, is any chance that SF might bounce them into an election. Absolutely everyone, with the possible exception of McGuinness, who matters not a jot, will play ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

I agree, we, (myself included) often make the mistake of giving too much credit to these politicians. It's about playing poker and holding on to power. In reality the vote has little to do with Coveney's actions.

Yes, I'm not suggesting the motion will succeed, that was never really in doubt, I'm more intrigued as to how the few FF TD's with balls to speak out (at the time) will vote.

They'll have some explaining to do and whilst I don't believe any called for resignations or committed either way on TVONC , they've said enough to suggest Zero confidence in FG generally, abstention is not I believe an option?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Alan Kelly was asked this morning what way he would vote. He said he would not vote no confidence, although he and Labour have no confidence in the government (he kept stressing as though it meant something). Then when asked was it because Bakic went to the the Merrion he said "no, no no, not at all, Ivan has been very upfront about this in the media, she came out and apologised about it and everything"..

Yeah, yesterday, as she knew the Dail was recommencing and she couldn't keep dodging everyone.

Am I missing something, Did he not say Labour will vote No Confidence (albeit begrudgingly) 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,791 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

To be fair, McGuinness was one of the few government TDs in the Dail to defend the national hero Maurice McCabe when other senior TDs in FF and FG were happy to let a corrupt Gardai stitch him up (with help from Tusla). Credit must also go to Leo who could see how disgraceful the situation had become. Enda on the other hand was complicit.

I thought Kelly said he would vote No Confidence. It would be idiotic not to considering they were telling lies and everyone knows it. Or pretending...😉

As far as I know all Opposition parties voting no confidence, unless I've missed something, Kelly is like a petulant child , spouting nonsense about it not being the priority of the Irish People, I suspect he's quite bitter at labour not being the main Opposition party 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,867 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

Drives me bonkers how well the welfare and criminal class are under FFG, along with NGOs and all their defenders keep saying is they will not vote for left leaning politicians because they are soft on crime, pro welfare, woke brigade, etc

I see the late debate back tonight 😏

Yep, the Zappone fiasco up for discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Are TD's allowed to wear paper bags on their heads during the 'walk of shame' tomorrow?