Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

An aspect of your demeanor that you've corrected

• 13-09-2021 11:12am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭

What's an aspect about yourself that you've managed to become aware of and get under control? Whether it be a habit, a mannerism, or a trait to your personality. We know what other peoples' are but we'd never tell them, in spite of how much it would help them get on in life.

Take myself. I have sometimes been a bit sneaky. I'd sometimes try and "land people in it", as in construct a situation that would allow someone to make a fool of themselves. I used to do this because I'd think that they wouldn't know. For example once there was a guy who I knew had been given out to by a certain lady at work. So without looking desperate for the gossip and asking this guy what he thought about her, one day I instead pretended that she had given out to me too... in hopes of getting him to talk. Anyway, the only thing that made me question how obvious this trait of mine was, was when I heard another person giving out about someone else for doing the same thing!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I'd be more concerned about the streak of spite running through you that makes you want to manipulate others to 'land themselves in it'. You didnt stop because you realised it was nasty and spiteful, you stopped because you realised others might cop on to what you were at. Is that spiteful streak still there, though? Maybe have a think about why you wanted to do it in the first place and not what forced you to stop.

Years ago I was very eager to fit-in and would often lie about how I felt about certain things in order to not lose friends.

Thankfully I have rectified that and now am open and honest about my opinions. I would rather have self respect than respect from others which was gained falsely.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone. I guess you won't be sharing any of your own reflections?

They'll respect your courage to differ. And you might even realise that others in the group are doing the same as you were years ago!

lol, I wish that was true.

Sadly, I have lost friends (well people who I thought were friends) and have suffered a lot of abuse for sticking to my guns, but I have gained the respect from other people and my family.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭granturismo

My posture

• Registered Users Posts: 8,909 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I used to always put out my right hand to shake hands with people, as is the normal custom. Obviously, I haven't been shaking hand much for the past 18 months, but when I go back to it, I'm going to make an effort to always put out my left hand, even if they've put out their right first. I feel it will - pardon the pun - shake things up and make every interaction memorable, if awkward. It will define me as a maverick while still retaining an acceptable level of sociability. I won't have refused the handshake; au contraire, I will have initiated it. But it will be solely on my terms, and that's the kind of thing that gets you respect. I'd say it's the kind of thing Genghis Khan did on his rise to the top.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

I think adjusting and tailoring your behavior to avoid repercussions is perfectly acceptable.

We all get out kicks somehow

• Registered Users Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

As I've gotten older I've stopped giving a sh1te what other people think about me. Very refreshing

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Used to have a hair trigger temper. Would deck someone for the mildest thing, got thrown out of primary school was a bit of a thug on the football team. Not sure how it changed, but I realised it and learned to controlled myself. Now i'm very calm and it would take quite a bit of goading for me to snap nowadays.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,356 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Used to fly off the handle at people when a particular topic was being discussed and they expressed a view contrary to my own. Needed to be pulled up on it a few times and was advised to reflect on where all that rage was coming from. Realised it was about my baggage and not the other person. These days I dont take my crap out on others, if that topic is being discussed and I feel myself getting upset I withdraw from the discussion completely.

My question still stands. You modified your behaviour but you didnt actually change anything if the desire to manipulate orhers out of spite is still there. Where does it come from and what do you gain from it? If you really reflect on it you might actually learn something really worthwhile about yourself.

That's one long winded joke. I hope it was worth it! joke.

I guess it makes me feel less bad for my own shortcomings if others around me are shown up for their shortcomings. A bit of entertainment makes you forget your depression! To be fair, I don't think I'd do it to someone if I felt they didn't deserve it anyway.

BTW, do you know how to quote only the part of someone's quote that you want to?

Another thing I've learned is that if I ever make a good joke, and happen to be interrupted at that exact point in time, that it's best to just leave it go rather than trying to repeat it. If there was a bang make by cutlery (or whatever) at the exact time you made the joke, then you can't be sure whether or not someone failed to hear, or pretended not to hear, but it's best to just let it go and put it down to unluckiness. Someone can look desperate when they repeat their quip.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭IrishGrimReaper

I used to walk with my head down, now I walk with my head up.

Viagra is great.

I don't think you can selectively quote on the new site

• Registered Users Posts: 8,909 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

Probably. But if they met, they would have done it to each other, which negates the effect as then it's just two left-handed people shaking hands. It's the main reason I wouldn't have shaken hands with either of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,378 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Used to be a devout Catholic at one point. I'd pray every night before bed, go to Mass on Saturdays/Sundays, and would get annoyed when people would argue that there was no God or question my beliefs. At some point, I just turned away from all of that and now I'm Agnostic. I don't care much for Religion and I find some religious people annoying. The ones who use their religion as a means to hate on others or hide behind their faith like it is some kind've shield p*ss me off.

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭jmlad2020

OP sounds like a great person.

Take myself. I have sometimes been a bit sneaky. I'd sometimes try and "land people in it", as in construct a situation that would allow someone to make a fool of themselves. I used to do this because I'd think that they wouldn't know. For example once there was a guy who I knew had been given out to by a certain lady at work. So without looking desperate for the gossip and asking this guy what he thought about her, one day I instead pretended that she had given out to me too... in hopes of getting him to talk. Anyway, the only thing that made me question how obvious this trait of mine was, was when I heard another person giving out about someone else for doing the same thing!

Ive read this three times and I still don't understand how you landed them in it.

I don't think you can selectively quote on the new site

You can, it's just messier than it used to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭The DayDream

When I first moved to Ireland and someone offered me tea or a biscuit and I wanted it, I would just say, Sure, thanks.

Now I refuse at least two or three times like the rest of you insufferable fools.

BTW, do you know how to quote only the part of someone's quote that you want to?

Copy the bit you want to quote, paste it into where it says "Leave a comment". Highlight it, to the left of the comment box is a symbol that looks a bit like ¶, click it, and then click quote.

I used to be conceited, now I'm perfect.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

hahaha. I am in the same camp. I'm from a very large family, and we learned early to not refuse something out of 'politeness'. When my girlfriend came to my house for tea, first time she refused - out of politeness. My mother, not being the "MrsDoyle" of Father Ted fame, simply said: OK, grand and moved on with the teapot. I taught my kids from an early age to accept graciously if offered - if they wanted a cuppa or whatever.

Of course, some people will ask "would you like a cuppa?" in the hope they won't actually have to make it. "Oh, YES PLEASE!" har har har.

I'm garrulous and have over the last few years tried to put a brake on my motormouth, especially in the pub. I've learned that people can tire of my constant 'interesting' contributions. I still occasionally fall back into the trap, but generally catch myself before eyes start to glaze over. (maybe no one has read this far) :-)

Yeah just say "eh... OK so, thanks a mil!" It's a nice middle ground. The refusal thing is silly "keeping up appearances stuff" but you don't wanna be too direct either. 😊

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭victor8600

I do not use my sarcasm anymore. Simpletons might not understand it, smarter people might get offended. It is just not worth it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire