Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My €100m BEAM scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,746 ✭✭✭maidhc

For any farmer finishing cattle it was a completely unworkable scheme and I think it probably cost those who complied as much as the gained in the BEAM amount.

I’m sure the scheme suited some, but for the most part, farmers only had from Feb when figures started coming online to take corrective actions. I know it was extended, but again, it was a silly badly thought out scheme.

The stories about charging for sheets of paper and ripping people off is nonsense. I’m sure there are some bad eggs, but because the odd farmer mistreated his animals doesn’t make all farmers cruel.

btw I am the solicitor quoted in the article. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,515 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Most finishers managed to comply with it if there payment was fairly substantial. They bough in cattle a little bit later, bought a few less and moved them on a bit earlier. The few lads I see struggling with it is a Suckler farmer.

However it all goes back to the concept of expecting the EU to compensate us when market prices fall, or if weather events causes the failure of crops. Farming is not easy buts it's still a business if lads were willing to look at it that way.

Even looking at present prices for HE and AA stores, these cattle will require a stronger price than was available this year to leave a margin for the lads buying them

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,581 ✭✭✭DBK1

While there were plenty of reasons for complaint with the scheme it wasn’t as unworkable as being made out.

The biggest problem was lads looking at their stock numbers and thinking if they normally fatten 100 cattle then they’d reduce to 95 and everything would be ok. But really no one should have been thinking of it in terms of numbers of heads. The scheme was about nitrates figures, not numbers of live animals, so it’s the nitrates figures that needed to be examined.

There are people who have more cattle now than they did in the reference year and they still qualified for the money because they have younger stock now. There are lads that fattened the exact same amount of cattle as always and still get to keep the money because they knew what to do so they killed their stock earlier than normal and bought back slightly younger stock than they normally would.

A simple excel file is all that was needed and it’s a pity either the department or some of the farm organisations didn’t come up with one and send it to farmers or advisors.

I certainly wouldn’t be as tech savvy as a lot of people but I made up an excel file for my own stock, copied over my stock numbers and their dates of birth from Agfood and worked it out from there. Any time I bought or killed cattle they were added in or taken away. The file I made up was slow to use but I could figure it out using it. Anyone with better knowledge of Microsoft than me would have been able to come up with a file where once you put in the date of birth of an animal and the date they arrive on your herd it would have calculated instantly the amount of nitrogen to be produced by that animal until the end of the required period.

Similar then for factory kills or mart sales, put in the date moved from the herd and it would stop counting that animals figures.

Too many people just signed up for the money and then wanted to put in no thought or effort after that and now want to blame everyone else for them having to pay back their money. Lads need to start taking responsibility for themselves and if they want to apply for these schemes then get the finger out and figure out how they work or else just don’t sign up in the first place.

If you kicked the can down the road the end of June for most farmers it's a fairly simple calculation. Adjust you buying in selling date to you nitrates statement.

The biggest issue is lads are unwilling to take action early enough. They forget that you need over twice the amount of reduction the first of November than now. Moving weanling/ stores 4-6 weeks earlier or selling culls now will get most lads below the threshold. If you sell your stock bull do not replace until January.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

We finish anywhere from 180 cattle up per year. Killed cattle a few weeks earlier last year and didn’t buy any cattle in in March or the first week in April this year and came in well below the 5%.

Killed the same number of cattle last year and this year the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Well done, you worked around it instead of whingeing.

Free money seems to annoy farmers.

It's not really free money. But they worked there heads. It small adjustments to you system to stay under the limit. It was the equivalent to a reduction in 9 cattle. They would have hit the max payment of 10 k. They understand that they could never make that money from within there system on so small a number of stock so they adjusted early.

They did not stick there head in the sand. They put a system in place to allow them get over the line problem is too many lads stick there head in the sand and ass in the air and when they get a massive kick in the hole they complain.

Slava Ukrainii

The BEAM apologists

1) Designed Excel sheets

2) Took the hit of selling unfit cattle

3) Didn't buy cattle according the market but when the could

4) Spent hours calculating and thinking about the scheme

All for scheme supposed to "help" farmers.

My point is that the scheme was not terribly user friendly or predictable. I got 3k from it. I finish about 50 a year. I reduced numbers by 10% and did get about a 4% reduction. I appreciate the discrepancy arose by the fact I had slightly younger stock during the reference year than might be normal, but none of if detracts from the fact you were flying blind most of the time unless you were doing lots of homework. The fact the dept. didn't even bother developing the tools speaks volumes. I could have complied, but only be selling unfit cattle and dealt with grass growing over the ditches for the summer.

I'm frankly surprised at the attitude of some here. Well done, you got it across the line, but can you think of a single other industry subject to this level of officiousness that makes so little money. Id recommend anyone who missed the BEAM to appeal it immediately.

But does the other industries keep doing the same thing and then expect different results?

"if you always do what you always done, you'll always get what you always got."

I'm a small timer but made a handy lump out of beam with no headaches. I let away enough stock last year end at nice money, and bought back in when there was a fortnight lull in prices during late April/early May.

Beam money paid the fertiliser bill and left the other subsidies to go elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,189 ✭✭✭kk.man

I met a 13% reduction and did what advice I was given. I had 23 less cattle this year but I kept more sheep. 2800 was too big to gamble on. I bought in July when I knew it was safe. Bit pied off the advisor for such a reduction but hey that's life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Glad to be finished with the horrible scheme. Met a 7.5% reduction and still have kept the same stock numbers. Couldn't juggle with purchases as I by in calves. Did it by moving culls earlier and mainly by by finishing half the cattle 2-3 months earlier. A few late last summer and a few earlier this spring. ( Got stung due to Feb price cut)

This scheme had many flaws but my gripe was with the lack of support tools to nearly 33000 farmers. Many still couldn't grasp the concept of nitrates Vs stock numbers. Many farmers already working with nitrates tend to have stable numbers all year ( eg milkers and calves in spring). Compared to the variability of beef farmers sales profile. Big difference in figures of a calf and a 2 yr old bullock being sold 2 weeks later than usual.

Data was not provided in an accessible or timely manner to farmers. This prevented many from being able to make the June 30th deadline and probably was the reasoning for the extension.

Verification of where you stood on a monthly position on was always 6 weeks behind the date.

Semi useful KPI's only started to be received in march this year.

I always get the sense the dept were on the back foot with Beam, due to opening a can of worms that they could not get a handle on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

It was a new scheme, The dept had to learn as they went along. If there was another such scheme it would probably run smoother as the problems would be sorted. As usual farmers waited too long to take action

What is with the blaming farmers and apologising for the dept? That attitude is what gets farmers to be at the mercy of everyone. Stop. Please.

What is it with that lads needing there hands held for them, that they need to be spoon fed, there socks pulled up and there laces tied.

I have advised 1-2 lads what they need to do but they just are not willing to change. So ya stop rewarding lads that keep making the same mistake and Beam should not have happened in the first place anyway

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

I certainly will not stop or change my attitude. Any new scheme will have problems that won't become evident until the scheme is in operation. This was never more evident than in the Glas scheme, where the scheme was in operation for more than a year before the commonage framework plan was sorted and then farmers in most cases failed to implement it but still expected to get paid. It was the same with BEAM farmers failed to go by the rules after taking the money. They got an extension and failed to go by the rules again and now a Sinn Fein TD want dept to find some way of letting these farmers keep the money. As the saying goes you couldn't make it up. Price of store cattle is crazy at the moment. At current store prices beef needs to get dearer next spring. If farmers are at the mercy of everyone as you say it is of their own making. They need to wake up and take responsibility for their own actions

Im certainly not a beam apologist but I cannot understand the mentality of someone who signs up to a scheme knowing the rules from the very start and then complaining at the end of the scheme because they didn’t follow the rules.

Why did you expect to get the money for making absolutely no effort? You’re making a snide comment about designing excel sheets in relation to what I said earlier that I had done. I’m by no means a computer whizz kid, far from it but I put together an excel file in a little over an hour one night. It wasn’t a lot of work to have to do in order to get the money.

It’s the lazy attitude of lads like yourself that causes all the problems and makes farmers look like idiots. Why were 90% of participants able to follow the rules and keep the money? It can’t have been that hard to achieve when compliance was that high?

There was also a certain amount of participants that knew from the start they wouldn’t be complying and so they used it as an interest free loan. Nothing wrong with that but take them away from the numbers and there was only a very small amount of non compliance.

For someone that’s a solicitor you’re surely dealing with far more complicated issues on a daily basis than the simplicity of just reducing the nitrogen produced on your farm? Is there someone to hold your hand and guide you through all them things as well or do you have to stand on your own 2 feet and deal with them yourself? I’d imagine it’s the latter or you wouldn’t be very successful in business so it’s baffling that you couldn’t figure out BEAM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

Well at least one TD is highlighting whats going on. All the rest of them, not a squeak.

There are a few keyboard warriors here blasting lads for not reading the t&c's, but aspects like exporting nitrates still caused confusion even to those who had read them. One warrior here even claiming to be a great Mathematician yet fails himself to have anything near correct grammar in his posts.

Grammar and calculations are two different aspects, I assume you must be better in grammar than you are in maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,858 ✭✭✭893bet

A bit of straw man argument going on. Resorting to grammar insults.

I am reasonable confident that I have more letters after my name than 99 percent of people on here. Spelling and grammar do be average enough. I rarely proof read a post.

So 90 percent of people complied. 10 percent didn’t. And a large percentage of the 10 percent didn’t bother to try comply as it didn’t suit them to reduce numbers (includes me).

Remainder were

1) Too stupid to understand the terms. And they weren’t that complicated. I have several 70-80 year olds neighbours that managed to understand and comply.

2) Too mean to pay for an hour with an advisor who could have detailed how to comply.

It’s a noisy minority still complaining.

Solicitors and politicians understand words, accountants and engineers understand maths. There are thousands of farmers that have to do nitrates calculations every year. It not just those in derogations. They only have to watch the upper limit of 250 which is a hard level to reach. Most farmers in Derogation need never heed limits as they are stocked at 18o-220N/HA The real lads watching nitrates are drystock farmers stocked heavily or lower stocked dairy farmers not in a derogation as they are drawing GLAS. They must remain below 170 and may have to export slurry to reach that limit. For those in GLAS using LESS they have to do that calculation in the next few weeks if they want to paid GLAS in this finiancial year. Often they not just calculate there own but also the stock nitrates levels of the farm they are exporting into.

Slava Ukrainii

If you have to resort to trying to find problems with someone’s grammar due to not being able to argue anything that’s in their post then I think that says a lot more about you than them.

Exporting nitrates made no difference to BEAM so you had absolutely no need to be trying to calculate anything to do with exports.

It was very simple, you produced “x” amount of nitrates in the reference period, produce 5% less this year to get the money.

You didn’t have to look at anything to do with exports, imports, land, hectares, nothing like that. Basically just how much s**t is coming from every animal in your herd. That was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Grammar nazi's were never tolerated on F&F and IMO it's rudimentary of any poster to highlight another post/refer to same. The majority of F&F posters are able to have quality discussions even if they are heated at times without reverting to personal slights - it's simply bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭green daries

The point I’m making is that it was a flawed scheme that cost farmers money and time. I can see from the responses here that is correct.

I am also correct in saying the dept devised a system that they themselves could not fully comprehend. Sure there was “rough reckoners” and diy kludges, but we can’t even say right now what methodology was used to calculate the N.

Fair play to those that “complied”, but my point is that this was all half chance. I take exception to the suggestion I made “no effort”, I reduced stock by over 10%. It still didn’t cut it. I could see from feb there may be an issue, but I had my stock by then and wasn’t minded to waste time money and energy in selling.

i am disappointed though to see the lack of unity here, it’s as if the farmers who did comply want to see those that didn’t be penalised, even though it makes no odds to them. This can only mean compliance cost them more than they like to admit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭Easten

Listen Archimedes you've made your point several times, take a break from keyboard Warrior for a while instead of jumping down peoples throats. Yes we all know the t&c's now but it wasn't as clear to many folks at the time. It's a bit rich to be claiming a Nazi amnesty on grammar while at the same time harping on about how lads should read the t&c's

BS. Nitrates are calculated on per animal per day. As well it's BS about your analysis about the department not know. There problem was they needed to put a calculator in place that they could incorporate into there software systems that could analyze nitrates for 50k+ farmers. That a bit different from Joe Soap going away and getting his nitrates done for his 15-20 Suckler cow herd or his 50-500 drystock business.

The problem with a minority of farmers( and it is a minority here) they want to leave everything to the last minute, whether it's the BPS application, slurry spreading or hedge cutting and then when it's rains( metaphor) the want an extension or an amnesty. What are the odds that even with the present weather there are still lads with full slurry tanks.

The department should have said from the start with this scheme

'' lads there are the terms and conditions read them. Here are you nitrates for the 30th June calculate from there''.

It's even easier at present if you took the extension the calculation is from start of the year.

Like I said I a baby wipe my ar5e for me and pull up my socks is the attitude of a small vocal minority

Slava Ukrainii

If you are referring to me as Archimedes, I am take the compliment. I am not jumping down anybody throat. However it sickens my sh!t to see lads unwilling to help themselves and that is the issue here. It's not rocket science. Lads got a second bite at the cherry. It's up to them to take it. Nitrates adjustment are about corrective action early in the time period as you need to do less to hold onto the payment.

Slava Ukrainii

Ok. You have made your point. From my view if I was to concede you were correct in anyway we would both be wrong, so we will park it there!

Out of interest do you know if the dept calculated the N from the birthday of the animal or from a point at each month? What point of the month? I don’t know. Which did you do? That alone could have cost people.

i have never said that BEAM could not be complied with, but the ROI on availing of it was miserable and if was cost to impossible to calculate the N with certainty without keeping “well below” the threshold.