Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,198 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

The entire letter unusual 😳,

I seem to recall he's a fluent Irish speaker

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

You'd have to really wonder does Leo actually stop to think, there's no doubt he signed off on this tripe ,yet again proving how out of touch he is, hope Gift Grub do a skit on this whinging, pathetic letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

Making a complete gilly of himself. I'd say Varadkar orchestrated or at least approved it. The 'poor me' might work if he wasn't lacking empathy, arrogant and detached from the public. He criticised the British model, oversaw the continued lock down of festivals in Ireland, then went and attended a festival in the UK. I don't think he's tone deaf, I think he's well aware but couldn't care less. I'd say the 'picking a winner' photo has him more peeved.

O dear God, nearly chocked on my dinner "Picking a Winner" 🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,716 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Just when the No Burger was about to go away, another angle pops up dragging in another politician. We now know why MM is acting the way he is. I wonder what else will pop up over the next few days and weeks. When will the first casualties appear? It's only a matter of time before a head or heads roll.

The only way Leo will keep his seat is if people with no empathy (like him) vote for him. Is there many of those around?

What's really galling to me is the constant "The people want us to deal with important issues", from the leaders of the parties.

Well f*@k you lads, cronyism is an important issue which has blighted Irish politics for years no matter of which of FF or FG have been in power.

I say this as someone who does despise FFG but has massive respect for Coveney as Foreign Affairs Minister. He's played a blinder throughout Brexit issues and in his brief. Which makes his absolute blindingly stupid actions around the "envoy" job for mates all the harder to understand

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

Lol, I was actually discussing the very subject of the pot calling the kettle black, earlier on today 😅

Watch out, using the term black might be seen as racist by certain members on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,261 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

LV is a liability to FG at this stage.

keep digging that hole Leo, keep at it..

You'd have to wonder what grass roots membership (honestly) thinks about Leo and his antics, I can see to a certain extent (small) his appeal years ago but my god he's been an arrogant clown for quite some time.

I just don't get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,261 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The fg grassroots never wanted Leo in the first place.

The public were told LV was so so popular, almost a phenomenon on par with Bertie Ahern’s popularity - all complete horse manure

I see Bertie also out stirring things for FF Grass roots this morning 🙄

Post edited by Dempo1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

We have already had the sexism and the homophobic cards levelled at posters,we might as well get the aul racism card thrown in now and be done with it

Save it been thrown in later on to stop ye talking about Leo the Lion and his difficulties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Ah, you've ruined the topic of discussion for the wee hours of the morning, I was so looking forward to reviewing the nightly rant over Sunday breakfast 😒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I didn't think this lad had much political capital in the first place but whatever he did have, is well and truly burned up now.

"IT IS A BIG, MASSIVE NOTHING BURGER!"

"It is a nothing patty, in-between two baps of toasted nothing. Believe me, I know my burgers"

comlical brophy.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,811 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

A chara, – The notion that the right to privacy is one which is conditional on the attitudes, sensibilities and prejudices of another is both ridiculous and dangerous. The individual who photographed the Tánaiste does not have a right to violate this merely because she believed it was justified and consistent with her own beliefs about what constitutes appropriate behaviour.

Ive read the first line of that letter several times now and I havent the foggiest of what Matt Barrett is on about. Like who ever said anything about "the notion that the right to privacy is one which is conditional on the attitudes, sensibilities and prejudices of another" being "both ridiculous and dangerous" and what is that even supposed to mean ? Why is he coming out with a strawman argument that literally nobody has ever made? There is a real pong of spin off that opening line, like it passed by not just Varadkar but his team of seven over paid special advisors as well. Is that really the best they could come up with? Its just one step short of invoking the GDPR security blanket so favoured by Fine Gaelers when one of their own is caught out rotten.

It is also pretty extraordinary that Varadkar is now using his boyfriend as an attack dog in the Irish media. You never saw Enda Kennys wife do that, nor Michael Martins wife either. I cant remember any political leader in this country having their wife write attack letters to a newspaper on their behalf, its bizarre. We are in G.U.B.U territory with this intervention by Matt Barrett on Varadkars behalf.

It is extraordinarily pathetic, its clear Barrett through Varadkar is hinting prejudice is at the heart of the infamous photo, a greater pile of Gik , I've rarely come across (apart from ......👀👀👀 🙄)

I only learned tonight, the lady who posted the photo (well done her) has put her twitter account on private and apparently gone into hiding.

There's clearly no end to Varadkars shameful deflection tactics, it's just beggars belief. Both he and his partner clearly clueless about public sentiment. Bad enough he stuck his two fingers up to the Irish entertainment industry, Bad enough he was caught picking his nose in public (not the first time I might add) but now getting his partner to pen such pathetic garbage is just mind boggling.

Christ his cabinet colleague's must be cringing, I'd say as hard as it is to believe, even Coveney must be mortified at this stage.

Night all 😏

Great cartoon to sign off with 😁

Screenshot_20210911_232855_com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox.jpg

One thing we do know it would have been involved is Zappone swanning around Manhattan with unvouched expenses and a credit card sponsoerd by the Irish taxpayer. No doubt she would have bashed the sh1t out of that credit card to bring any number of UN employees and diplomats out to Michelin starred restaurants to wine and dine them and brown nose her way into her next job. We would have all paid for that handsomely and FG didnt bat an eyelid to the scam that was going down, in fact they were setting it up.

Zappone had already proved herself untrustworthy by claiming extra travel expenses when she lied to SIPO about the most straighforward travel route to Dail Eireann, Her house in Brittas, Co.Dublin was 500 metres away from the N81 which is a national primary route into Dublin city centre but Zappone claimed it was not the most direct route. The only other direct route was the N7, also a national primary route into the city centre but even that route was two kilometres under the 25 kilometre threshold.

So Zappone literally went and found a route that actually drove away from County Dublin and into County Wicklow before going back into County Dublin towards the Dail all so that she could justify dipping the Irish taxpayer for an extra 80,000 euros of travel expenses that she was not entitled to. If she did that in the UK she would be in police handcuffs, they threw Tory peer Lord Taylor into prison in 2012 for fiddling 11k worth of expenses.

Whereas here FG knew all about Zappones fiddle and were trying to set her up for yet another scam on the taxpayer except this time they were giving her a free credit card in New York. Had this gone ahead she could have easily clocked a million quid on that credit card all while brown nosing whoever she wanted to as Irelands makey uppey UN envoy, of that I have no doubt. Shame on Fine Gael for even attempting to set this scam up, the absolute cheek of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,173 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

The only burgers that lad is interested in are whoppers, story is he has a fridge at one side of the bed and a microwave on the other,

Varadkars approval rating in the Sunday Times opinion poll has taken quite a hit over his behaviour attending that festival in London. Even Labours Alan Kelly is now more popular than Varadkar.

Untitled Image

I cant wait for next Sundays edition where Matt Barrett writes in a letter complaining about opinion polls 👍️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭satguy

FG , a party kept in power by the D4 & RTE set,, Oh, and Micheál Martin, and maybe their brothers on the bikes, the ones that like to nod off at important meetings. 

They make the old FF of Charles Hughey look like Boy Scouts, Their owner won't pay any tax here, and now that we are all watching the little treats FG would push Dinny's way,, They have resorted to feathering their own nests,, and those of their vulture fund buddies.

Come on Mary Lou, save us from these shysters. 

Gosh, a little quiter last night 😁 a spot of licking of wounds I suspect.

What's all this about🤔 more deflection, not necessarily topic related but the timing quite curious as to is Dr Maitiú Ó Tuathail being described as a "Friend" of Leo's 🤔

With friends like Leo, who needs enemies.

Screenshot_20210912_072642_com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox_edit_280557157014481.jpg Screenshot_20210912_072628_com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox.jpg

The shameful Shenanigans, The cover ups, the festival photo, the picking of noses might not rattle FG parliamentary party but poll results like this will certainly focus minds 😏

I'm sure Leo & Barrett up all night already drafting their next "Woe always us Letter" 😏

Excellent piece, honestly you need to consider writing to the Irish Times on "Most" of our behalf 😏

I wasn't fully aware of Zappone’s past & Vast Expenses gravy Train, I wondered did she also claim Toll expenses on that rather bizzare route she claimed from Brittas to the the Dail 😏

Great Post!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

When you look at it that she actually gave a route that would take her away from the Dail to claim and steal that amount of the tax payer you would have to say it is criminal and she should have been in handcuffs

Ivor Callely went to jail for falsifying expenses for trivial amounts compared to this scam