Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Why do people back into car park spaces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,232 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Reversing out is much more difficult and dangerous because you potentially have moving cars coming up behidn you out of nowehere

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭85603

How can you be named after one of the worlds most brass necked individuals, yet still not know some people will willfully ignore indicators.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,865 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

anyone who has ever driven a forklift will know it's easier to steer precisely when it's the trailing wheels doing the steering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,923 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

its easier to back into something than to back out of something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭Heart Break Kid

It's easier and it looks impressive for those that don't care

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭Andrea B.

If you are speaking of car park slots: You are always legally in the wrong when in reverse. So if someone drives/walks in to you while you are reversing, you are liable.

Easier then to reverse in to slot as you have a good view all around and same with exiting if driving forward out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭saabsaab

It just makes sense. Some have the offset parking spaces, at an angle to allow driving in and better view when reversing out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭KGLady

Rules of the Road - RSA

https://www.rsa.ie/Documents/RotR%20BOOK%20for%20web%202019.pdf

When parking in your own driveway or in a car park, you should, where possible, reverse 'in' which enables you to safely drive out.

The Rules of the road are why I reverse into spaces in car parks and my own drive, unless I need boot access. I would be actually be questioning why some people don’t correctly reverse into parking when it’s plainly stated the laws and best practices in the RotR.

Only imbeciles that can’t drive go front first into spaces. Complete nuisances reversing back out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

One of my pet hates are car parks deliberately laid out to encourage the habit of people driving straight forward into parking slots. It panders to a dangerous habit. The other thing that furls my brow is someone reversing out in front of me in a carpark or on street parking and they haven't a fecking clue what's behind, they just back out blindly and hope you'll stop for them.

On the plus side it often amuses me to reverse into a parking space and then on coming back later, see several adjacent cars likewise parked thus. People are like sheep in that way, they'll copy what other drivers have done.

If I had my way, I'd slap a hefty fine and penalty points on lazy parkers who insist on reversing back into the traffic flow!!!

a ding is mathematically more probable if reversing in. as you have two points with limited distance between them, which must be negotiated while operating with reduced visibility, and an optical distortion (items in mirror may be closer than they appear).

whereas when reversing out those two points (bumpers of cars on either side) become increasingly irrelevant. and can initially be largely left out of the equation until you have a wider selection of potential arcs to follow (less limited). also the two points can be seen directly without distortion on entry, and from a closer proximity during the entry.

the so called 'danger' some associate with reversing can be reduced by simply taking your time. (and if you're reversing in you'll most definitely be taking up this same time).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Why don't you focus on the thing that you have control of, your car, rather than the parked cars either side that aren't moving.

The rear wheels following the front wheels simply can't follow as tight an arc as steerable front wheels following the back wheels, so unless the driver is completely incompetent, reversing in will always get you into a tighter space than turning nose into either a perpendicular or parallel space. With herringbone, nose in always.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,970 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

You shouldn't be dinging things while parking, either forwards or in reverse 🙄

If the space is so tight that reversing in makes the difference then you're only going to get your doors dinged by your neighbor. Probably not the best choice. Find another space, unless its a serious last resort.

Somewhere out there in insurance land is a record of all the parking dings and I'll bet my middle ball its composed mostly of reversing numpties who misjudged the length of their car.

The reason going straight in is perceived as easier by every human on the planet without a single exception is because the information is clearer (direct vision, obstacle closer proximity to driver) and clear information makes for better decisions. Coming out is always going to be a breeze, no real repositioning unlike when entering with reverse - which costs time. Just do it reasonably slowly, usually just the opposite of how you got in. More time efficient, less probability of a minor bump.

You see the struggle so often with people reversing in. back back back, they stop, they go for it, oh ... no, try again, the sound of the gears grinding, up a bit, oh now the front with swing out too much, forward and over a bit, back back back, brake lights, forward. And you're sitting there thinking 'will this gobshyte just'. Just roll in. Stop the misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭ghoulfinger

In my experience many people are indeed rubbish drivers when it comes to reverse parking. In fact many seem asleep at the wheel.

On one note, I would be interested to know how many commenters here are actual drivers rather than left-seat ones who tend to block our view as you try to turn right onto a road. I'm an experienced driver, I held a pilot's license, I flew helicopters under supervision, I have a powerboat cert. All that, I can assert there is a small challenge in reversing into a space unappreciated by those without a genuine clue. My current car is fairly high tech with a reversing camera and sensors which make fairly light work of the task. The same tech assists in reversing out of a space. Things are being enhanced, but be careful out there. Nothing in manoeuvring any vehicle is a breeze.

jaysus thats a very good point. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

My current and last workplaces actually require reverse parking in the name of safety, for me I would only do it occasionally otherwise. Wrapping the world in cotton wool should be discouraged.

In the US it's the complete opposite and often places will have signs banning backing in. Nose in only, in the name of keeping the traffic moving as it takes longer to reverse in than out, and possibly also to avoid claims from people reversing into poles, trees, shopping trolleys and the like.

It definitely isn't always easier - driving in can be the easier option (and more practical later for loading bags in the boot). Depending on the space, the reversing manoeuvre into a parking space can be as obstructive and risky as the one leaving a space. Assuming someone is a bad driver because they drive into a space? Usual dishonest hysteria. Course ye do! 😆

But I still usually reverse in, as it's just so handy to be able to drive out.

I would suggest that I have a higher level of driving then most here, and reversing into a parking spot, is the most correct and safest

You're looking at parking in isolation from exiting the space there

the information is clearer (direct vision, obstacle closer proximity to driver) 

You drive past the space, get a good view in make sure its empty and add a lot of confidence to the limited view you'll have in the mirrors and reversing camera, swing your front wheels away from the space, reverse in with a single movement with the most precise control possible in a typical car. When you need to leave, you have the best view possible to safely exit.

Compated to being completely unsighted as to whats in the space, a shopping trolley, a moped, etc... as you come around the car on the near side of the space already half way in, who the **** left that there, **** moron, etc, etc.... Even if you make it in in one swing, there's no way you're straight unless the space and/or the road/aisle are huge so you're reversing back out into a zone thats in control of oncoming traffic, a space that you would have been in control of if you had reversed in. Rinse and repeat for leaving the space, the amount of uncertainty that develops in a large open space, with passing traffic, in the time it takes to get into the car, start the engine, select reverse and start to move off vs when you have an opportunity to have a full check of the space you're going to move into, quick flick into reverse and bobs your teapot.

All that said, if I'm parking all day on a cold winters day, I'll try to park facing south west or west as the risk of a frosted windscreen on return is minimised.

I do it myself many times, other times, it doesn't quite suit the situation. Driving well over 30 years here.

Exactly, "wrapping the world in cotton wool" is the perfect term. More nonsense from bullshtters in hi-viz vests.

The two person lifting of an empty box in manual handling comes to mind. Look around, is the area clear.

In my experience over about the past 8 months, it's been nothing short of a miracle at times for drivers in front of me to proceed through a newly changed green light, and for a red to signal "come right on". I opened a thread about this before.

Multi story car park, parking spaces to your right. One free - in between two occupied. That's the spot you pick. You have to drive on a few feet, reverse, then complete a two-point turn. It's definitely worth it for when you leave, but how is that reversing manoeuvre so significantly safer than the one out of a parking space?

Reversing in, you're in control of the space and reversing into a space without traffic. Reversing out, oncoming traffic is in control of the space you want to move into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭John.G

A little off topic but how many people actually use this method when reversing into a spot between two cars, even your car length + say 4 ft enables it to be done in two manoeuvres, reverse in and pull up. I see dozens of people positioning their car properly but neglecting to turn the steering wheel before reversing in, they then drive off and leave a nice spot for me.

In part the reversal for a space is into oncoming traffic also though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭John.G

Its definitely easier IMO to drive into a parking space as you are sitting in the front looking through a windscreen, I sometimes drive in and sometimes reverse in but always reverse into my driveway as its on a pretty busy road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,645 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

its easier and quicker to escape in whatever bs emergencies business plan on happening at their premises and hence a lot of companies mandate it.