Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kids in coffee shops - yay or nay

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭wildwillow

Old people are very quick to judge children. A few years ago I was ready to leave a coffee shop with my three year old grandson. He had been very well behaved, chatting and laughing with me.

I handed him his coat to put on before we left. He proceeded to put it on the floor. Two old ladies nearby commented loudly on his bad manners, throwing the coat on the floor.

He was actually putting it down before putting his hands into the sleeves and then flipping it over his head, a method he had been taught. There was plenty of space and he wasn’t bothering anyone.

To my delight he turned to the ladies and told them he wasn’t naughty, just putting on his coat. They had the grace to apologise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭mohawk

As a non childless person I agree.

Different public places have different appropriate behaviours and kids learn these behaviours by being brought places and facing consequences if they don’t. With smaller kids sometimes they can be unpredictable and just need to leave when they act up

In a public place it’s the parents that completely ignore their kids or laugh and their misbehaving that annoy me and tbh those parents are the problem not the kids themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

I was working from home and there was a car horn being constantly being beeped for a good 10 minutes. Went out to see what was going on. There was a women sitting in her car with a child smacking on the horn. I looked at her to say WTF, she yells he is only 6 months old, yelled back but you aren't. She let this go on for another 20 minutes and other neighbours had said something to her too. She didn't care. Lots of people are like this with their kids in public

• Registered Users Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭JimmyVik

If mine get to the level that I know they are bothering other people then I will leave.

Nothing worse than parents who sit there and let their kids get noisy and annoy other people.

Simple rule of life is, if other people are bothered by yours or your kids behaviour, then generally you are the the problem if you do not notice and do something about it.

Nobody's morning was ruined at our end and there was no real confrontation, just a few comments made in passing to balance out the passive aggressive and judgmental nonsense we had to listen to. I was pretty happy with myself leaving the place.

Antsy means she wanted to get out of the restricted space after she had finished eating. She wanted to move. No screaming or roaring.

We were gone within five minutes of this regardless and were there no more than 20 minutes in total. I am not stupid and am always conscious of other people.

There is no other side to the story. I'm sure both people had visions of a languid latte in the company of Barry Egan and young children weren't part of the fantasy. The male especially seemed triggered from the get go.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

I used to work in a restaurant so I'm a little bias when it comes to it. As others have mentioned, when a child sits in their seat and isn't excessively loud, it's fine. However, there are a huge amount of parents that let their kids run around and expect staff to deal with it. On a regular basis, we were pulling other people's children out of the kitchen, down the stairs, off the bar, and away from the banisters that run along a blind corner of the road. That's not to mention getting pushed, tripped and on one occasion actually slapped by a child. I'm not sure any member of staff when I was there hadn't had to spill what they were carrying onto themselves to avoid spilling it on an out of control child, and it wasn't always cold things! People have no idea how dangerous the likes of restaurants and coffee shops are for children running amok, and I had more than enough heart stopping moments when a kid puts itself directly into harms way and the parents are entirely oblivious. Majority of the parents that let their kid run riot take serious offence and cause a scene if you ask them to actually mind their own children too.

TL;DR... children are fine so long as they're supervised and reasonably behaved.

I agree that the older man's reaction was OTT. But I think yours and your wife's response to it was unnecessary too, calling him ignorant to a 2 year old (who I'm sure has no clue what ignorant means) and telling him to go off down to the library.

So I think there are a pair of you in it.

I guess I was thinking of a neighbour of mine who is a full time carer to his elderly wife with advanced alzheimers. His only respite is to get out to a coffee shop for an hour once or twice a week, while the home help stays with her.

You said you had a stressful week, did either of you stop to wonder maybe his was too?

Maybe it wasn't and maybe he was just a cranky old tosser, but tossing "have a nice day!" over your shoulder with a big smile would have been much better response, imo.

I'm very happy with the way I dealt with the situation, and even more so with the benefit of more time to reflect.

Obviously, I don't agree with much of the above but that's why I posted this here - to hear alternative takes and to make sure I was seeing all angles.

We'll have to agree to disagree. Take care.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Em I don't know, as a parent if little Johnny can't find his poo poo (looses his shít) either me or my wife have it hit the road with him, it's just common cutesy. The lies of Starbucks say they are selling you an experience rather than an over priced coffee*, a screaming anyone doesn't fit in with this, however that's on Starbucks to refund me. Having said that I accept when i go somewhere there will be other people who may not act in a manner that doesn't disturb me, that's life.

*Can't remember where I read that, they don't actually say that, I think it was someone commenting on their business model.

First they came for the socialists...

You should have punched him in the throat.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,828 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I don't agree with kids being allowed everywhere, but I don't like them so I'm biased. There was a point where I was actively strongly against the idea, but I've grown up a bit and realised that people won't change, so I changed and I generally avoid areas where kids will be present. But, I still 100% agree that there should be no kids at evening meals, ie: apres 8pm. But I also hate the loud drunks, the gaggle of hens and all the other people who just don't know how to behave in a quiet manner when out for a meal (not in a bar/restaurant, an actual restaurant). But I hate kids the most in those situations.

Someone on page one said if you don't like the sound of a child then you must be a prick. Well sign me up, I'll be Supreme Commander Prick if you want, I hate most noises that come from a child, including laughter. High pitched wailing, even the happy type, just goes through me. The constant questioning does my head in. The audible reactions to simple stuff... I just can't. And then people thinking that their lovely little angle deciding to spread the meal everywhere but in their mouth is the cutest thing... it's fecking disgusting, clean your child and area ffs! Worse are those who share those lovely images (or the accident ones, ie: child and a puddle of puke/shyte) on social media... ugh!

Oh, and someone else mentioned it, the kid may be quiet, but I don't want to hear what's currently happening in the land of Dora the fecking Explora, or the repetative sound of something happening in whatever free game you found on the cheap tablet you use to distract your kids from you. Give them headphones!!!

So yeah, I avoid most things in general. People suck.

That's me! Seriously though, there's nothing wrong with feeling annoyed by a child being very noisy - I'd bet most people find it annoying. However I accept that parents will have to bring their kids out and about and I just have to suck it up, and it's mannerly to be tolerant and hide any annoyance, because it's not easy for the parent(s). That's what counts. The man complaining loudly in the the OP's post - what a weasel. Well done for calling him out on it.

Children who are allowed to misbehave - it happens but it's rare in my experience. Most of the time, the parent is doing their best to keep them as quiet as possible, and it's not easy.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭The DayDream

You are perplexed by the old people being annoyed at your child, thinking they should not make audible complaints because 'kids make noise.'

Well, old people complain. Especially about noise. That's what they do. It's the circle of life, man.

But, as has been established, no corporate coffeehouse is gonna bar you for having a noisy child. So I'm baffled as to why you didn't just carry on with your (supposedly) only mildly noisy time and pay no heed to them. Confronting the man and leaving in a huff was both unnecessary and silly.

You need to accept the possibility that your child is much more annoying sounding to others than it is to you. I know this has to be the case with parents because if their kids annoyed them as much as they annoy me I don't imagine so many kids would live to become adults.

But if I'm in a coffee shop and a kid is being annoying I still comfort myself with the thought that I don't have to live with a gremlin like that full time

I didn't leave in a huff. We had decided that it was time to go anyway. It wasn't much of a confrontation!

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,894 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

As a parent I am hyper aware of people who might be around me not liking kids in indoor places.Because the general vibe from many adults in Ireland in public is we don't like kids, we don't want them around us, can you not teach them to behave, why did you bring them.

But as an adult I am bored out of my skull sitting in playgrounds, and I hate indoor playcentres because there are absolute germ spreaders (long before Covid - funny that), and in addition the behaviour of this country's adults in the last year towards the children living here, has both sickened and infuriated me.My kids will never learn to behave well in public if I can't bring them places,(as the last 12 months showed me) so these days I just bring them, I do my best (I have a high expectation of them), I will remove them if they are messing or kicking up a fuss or running around, but outside of that, everyone else is just going to have to be a bit more tolerant and put up with the fact that they are there.And try to remember that all adults were kids once and people had to put up with us then too.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,762 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Check out their prices, up themselves to the n'th.

And he gives good reasons why.

"“The roastery is basically 1,000 kilos of cast iron, like an open pizza oven, kids have no interest in it because it’s a big hot machine, adults are only going to tell them don’t touch and stand back,” he says."

"...Andrews is a fan of the “third place” philosophy, the idea that after home and work we need another space to go to, which in Ireland has traditionally been the pub. He’s trying to create an alternative alcohol-free venue where adults can take time out, relax, learn about coffee and get some head space....."

You know, that doesn't actually sound like such a terrible idea. I dislike pubs (don't drink anyway) and they rarely sell good coffee. I'm more of a "to-go" coffee drinker, but I could see a market for more places like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,828 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'll admit that the place is pretentious and I dislike coffee so it would be wasted on me, but I do enjoy the idea of kid free places in general. Look, we understand you need to bring them out in public to get used to it, that's grand, we don't have much of an issue with that. But you see what happens when someone makes a business a child free zone? They're outed, and people give out stink. It's like when the vegan cult came to Ireland and suddenly every place HAD to do vegan friendly food. If a place doesn't want kids, and you have them and want to bring them, then go somewhere else. It's more entitlement culture, when a business shouldn't have to cater to absolutely everyone. Parents are asking us kid-free people to be understanding, but won't let it work the other way around...

If anyone ever opens a cafe or restaurant near me that is child free, as long as it's not pretentious, upper market or just nonsensically expensive, it would be my first port of call. When I had notions years ago of opening a restaurant, it was 100% going to be child free. Having to clean up a table after some parents and their children who seemed to have painted every surface with whatever food they were supposed to eat, to the ones who seem to think the floor is the best place for the food, more hassle than it was worth imo!

• Registered Users Posts: 47 Parentalunit

If our kids are acting up and the other customers are showing signs of annoyance then we'll finish up quickly and leave, other times one of us will take them outside in the hope they'll calm down.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,710 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

And your kids are bored out of their skulls sitting around in adult cafés!

That's why family restaurants exist.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,712 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Of course children and babies should be welcomed in coffee shops (otherwise parents with children would be social outcasts). It helps children to learn how to behave in public settings etc.

However, children probably do get bored quicker than adults and are probably not fans of sitting at a table for more than 30 mins or so. But sure the parent knows their own child and can make a plan to get in for a coffee and refreshment and then head on to the park or playground or whatever they have planned.

Having said all that, given the times we are living in, it is prob best that most people take their coffee outside so it may be the best of both worlds for parents to take their coffee and sandwich away and enjoy it in the park while their kids climb trees or if they are babies, enjoy being out in the air with plenty to see.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,838 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Out yesterday for a bite to eat, it was busy outside the cafe bar where there were around 18 tables and 3 waiting staff. The people beside us had a dog who was happy lying at their feet only moving occasionally to drink from its bowl. The table opposite had a little hyper lad about 6 who was constantly back and forth to pet the dog who was patient and relaxed and the kid back to tell his parents and their mates and back and forth again every minute... I’d guess there may have been a bit of an issue he literally never stopped and perhaps ADHD might have contributed I dunno but there seemed something wrong...

the dog was at the table beside the entrance so the kid kept getting in the way of the servers... who were trying to carry huge trays of food with multiple dishes on their shoulders, the parents looking over seeing a couple of near misses but actually laughing, thinking ohh how cute...that their kid may have hurt himself, hurt the server or another member of the clientele with plates of food falling on them.. the server was actually by the end, muttering under his breath ‘ for fûck sake, Jesus, ‘ giving the parents daggers and looking quite perplexed as even we were for a time watching...

if your kids behave, bring them, if they sometimes misbehave, manage them, PARENT them....if they are a nightmare for staff and customers of any establishment, and won’t behave or you can’t be arsed enabling their good behavior simply don’t take them... until they are of the ability to behave..or you are of the ability and want, to, you know, parent.

We were beside the door where the servers were bringing the food from and as I said then, if a tray or it’s contents comes down on top of us, I’m going over, asking the father to identify himself and by way of a parental wake up call, launching my fist into his cerebellum, I know it’s 2021 and desperately unfashionable for parents to... parent, but fûcking get a grip.

Restaurant, coffee shop, if they can behave and you will enable that grand, if no in either scenario, keep them and you away and let people enjoy their coffee / food.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Agree with you to a point -

But kids are not built to sit down and be quiet. If thats what you are expecting, then you have unrealistic and unfair expectations.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,894 Mod ✭✭✭✭shesty

Which we never do!!We would be maximum 15 or 20 minutes in a coffee shop and we don't go to restaurants -any - as I feel my youngest is not a good age for a restaurant still.But 15 or 20 mins in a coffee shop is plenty to teach them how to sit and behave and still respect that they are kids and they won't last for long there.

Parents do also appreciate child free places.Believe it or not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭em_cat

This is something I deal with a lot, I go to cafes that allow my dog to sit with me inside, I’ve spent a huge amount of time training her for this, she gets her treat while I’m enjoying mine and all is well until some child barrels their way over to her, I have to intercept that child with a very firm no or stop, mostly because the parent(s) are totally unaware what their darling is doing. I love it when the parent then tries to ‘engage’ me… let’s just say I point blank say, teach your child how to act in public and how NOT to approach strange dogs. TBH, the places I go tend to be tolerant of children but are more likely to throw out a child rather than a misbehaving dog….

TD:LR You can train children the same as we train dogs…

• Registered Users Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

You're high up on the grumpy shite list all the same.