Katherine Zappone Envoy Gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,198 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

What is it he needs to apologise for? Optics will have social media in a tailspin for a while but nothing illegal in that. Not his fault that Electric Picnic was cancelled, that would be a set of figures from NPHET and Laois CC. There are plenty of reasons to dislike or have issues with Varadkar as FG leader but having a private life is not one of them.

Lol

I suppose Leo should have interfered in the planning process to make picnic go ahead yeah?

He's as entitled as anyone else to enjoy himself on holidays

Btw what has this to do with Zappone?

I've not said he needs to apologise, infact I'm quite sick of his apologies, they've become quite tiresome and frankly Hollow at this stage.

Are you seriously believing the Optics of this are acceptable, where have you been for the past 17 months. It was Leo who flew kites offering absurd false hope EP could go ahead, then went predictably quite when it was clear, like many other absurd notions, it was another damp squib.

Besides this, Leo's abject lack of self awareness is Breathtaking. He once led from the front, offering patronising words of comfort & sincerity led by that God awful Cliché "Where all in this Together", he's an absolute clown of the highest order and clearly living in cuckoo land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,480 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

He is entitled to do what he wants. But the optics of this and it's relation to the Zappone affair is that it just bolsters the image that Leo did what he wanted right throughout the pandemic while preaching to others about personal responsibility, something loudly parroted here and imploring that we are all in this together. From cans in the park to the Merrion, to this.

Thats made up nonsense befitting of the twitter shinners

Picnic could have gone ahead were it not for the planning process

There's an army of saints who would never have qualified if subjected to this level of moralising. He has a private life, which someone has linked to an event that he had nothing to do with. It's just another avenue of somewhat blind outrage. What transpired with that contract or the topic of this thread are means to judge his performance and behaviour, him at a gig in another country are not. TBH if Leo at a gig is the reason someone will not vote for his party, they really need to look at what the purpose of an election is. Anyway point taken, you see it as an outrage, I see it as yet another Twitter meltdown(probably a mini-one though) and we move on.

I never mentioned the Picnic, I'll think you'll find.

And I think it is those involved in the entertainment business who are most annoyed and frustrated on Twitter.

This is just one more little bit of grist to the mill, that it was never 'we're all in this together'.

Optics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I'm not disputing that he had every right to attend - nothing illegal in what he did, but the optics are undeniably wrong, the Tanaiste of the state should imo have a bit more gumption and cop on than to feck off to England to join revellers at a music festival on the same weekend as the largest one in Ireland should be taking place. There was nothing illegal in Merrion Gate either btw, but Leo still made a grovelling apology for that attendance too, and you can be as sure as night follows day, he'll issue an apology for this lack of self awareness too, it's a given.

Leo in another no win situation, because if he doesn't apologise the optics aren't good, and if he apologises the optics aren't good either. He really is a very stupid and dimwitted individual, you would think some of his extravagantly well paid advisers would have advised him how this would look to the public.

(Oh and btw, wasn't me introduced his attendance at the gig into this thread, I merely commented on a post made about it, the same way you made a post about my post commenting on it ffs, if you're going for a "gotcha" angle, try a less hypocritical one than this.) 🤐

More nonsense

You replied to a thread within a thread about the picnic

Well they are back from tomorrow in some form, but EP has been used as a rallying call. They don't have a monopoly on frustration, we all have varying levels of it.

If I didn't know your postings here well enough,I'd think you were sympathising with him there...

And I never mentioned the Picnic.

He is entitled to do what he wants. But the optics of this and it's relation to the Zappone affair is that it just bolsters the image that Leo did what he wanted right throughout the pandemic while preaching to others about personal responsibility, something loudly parroted here and imploring that we are all in this together. From cans in the park to the Merrion, to this.

Don't confuse sympathy with laughing my sack off marine layer.

FG cheerleaders be like......

1_rlOoMsbLIp47B-dBaRyHVQ.jpeg

The upper echelons within FG must be seething with such a swivel eyed gombeen "front of house".

I've no idea if they are,but I doubt they're trying to win a vote like yours,to be honest

I'm not interested in winning your love either

C'est la vie

No one disputes he's entitled to a private life but he's equally entitled not to be such clown, its got to the stage we're I'm beginning think he does these silly things deliberately, although surely no one could be that stupid 🤔 I only reference EP given how those in in the entertainment sector and on the very day EP was to occur, Leo is off to a festival in the UK, albeit looking a little lonely.

As an aside, few FG cult members ever ask the question why Leo gets such negative attention, it's really quite simple, he has a canny ability to say (normally covertly via leaks and mixed massaging) and do silly things, it's just bizzare given his well publicised Department Spin Machine.

With all due respect, you know absolutely nothing about me in a personal or professional capacity, and if you did, you would know that my vote is exactly the kind FG canvassers would be trying to catch.

The second last sentence is just bizarre to be honest. I'm a happily married man in his early 40s Marine, I'm touched that you feel comfortable enough to state who's love you may or may not be trying to win, but this isn't tinder, no swiping to the left or right here champ. You're well and truly out of steam now boy. 😝

Its true though

Random internetter says something and claims moral high ground

Random internetter says yeah right

Great tool for such sport

Have to say, nothing more enjoyable than a beautiful Sunday morning, looking out over the Slieve Bloom mountain's, Healthy Breakfast whilst browsing the latest uncomfortable FG headlines and getting some enjoyment & giggles from die hard FG can do no wrong contributers 😁

Off now for a Brisk walk, fresh air, you should try it, living in a FG bubble, surely must full of Hot stuffy Air 😏

Its not a bubble actually

If you can find me an electable centre party in Ireland other than FG that fits my ideology better I'm there,you won't

But if you want to insult me instead just because I don't agree with your world view,I'm not going to be there

Not insulting you just giving as good as your giving . If FG is all that politically represents you, I truly despair.

My world view is really quite simple, I'm quite Liberal certainly no lefty but I expect transparency in my public representatives , sadly lacking at the highest echelons in the FG parliamentary party ,this bad enough but the arrogance to top that off is just astonishing

University educated, worked in numerous managerial positions in my specific field across the world from Australia to Saudi Arabia, came back to Ireland just over 10, years ago, partner in a small business I co-established, which now has just under half a dozen employees, (we're actually trying to get a van driver at present is you're interested) and am married to university educated professional with her own successful career (completely different industry to mine) both recession proof industries.

Mortgage payers, parents, car owners, family pets, the works.

Exactly the kind of vote FG would be trying to catch, stereotypical, but not surprising you would assume otherwise just because I call out their, and your BS.

Carry-on though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭BackOfMyBag

did that snake varadker take the govt jet to this infamous music festival ? ? ? surely if true , thats it for the sham government ,?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,812 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

All we know so far is that Flight Radar have logged the government jet as flying from Ruislip in London to Baldonnell this morning, it departed at 11.37am and landed at 12.23pm. If Varadkar and his posse were on board the Lear Jet mucking up the cream leather seats and carpets after coming from a music festival then we're going to need more popcorn 😂 Surely he cant be that stupid to take the Government jet to a music festival?

Meanwhile Kate o'Connell didnt miss the opportunity to launch a two footed tackle on Varadkar

Speaking on RTÉ’s Brendan O’Connor radio show on Sunday, she said that she thought that the images of the Fine Gael leader at the Mighty Hoopla festival in Brockwell Park in London on Saturday were “jarring”.

“I do think that the pictures, to my mind, show a serious lack of self-awareness, I think the week that’s in it and I think if you’re a policy maker making decisions that are affecting all of our lives, and then you leave the country within which you make those decisions for to have your jolly elsewhere, I think it’s jarring,” she said. “I think it was completely tone deaf"

“It just doesn't really correlate with what people are feeling or the way people are living right now in Ireland.”

“I think it’s about leadership and showing example. I think a point comes where you have to be mature and say, ‘How will this look?’”

She said that the public has been “culturally neutered” for the last 18 months.

“Maybe he didn't mean any harm by it, but to my mind, you’d have to consider, how would you think that’s an ok thing to do yesterday?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/completely-tone-deaf-kate-oconnell-slams-varadkar-attendance-at-uk-festival-40819985.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,487 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

why would he fly back when he due there tmw? Tánaiste to lead Enterprise Ireland and IDA Trade Mission to UK, France and Germany https://enterprise.gov.ie/en/News-And-Events/Department-News/2021/September/20210903.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Shebean

I'd say Coveney is delighted Varadkar's latest popped up so soon.

Martin really is waste.