If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Blindboy cancels himself.

No difference?

Discussing a public figure and calling him a hypocritical liar and a bellend because of his public statement (which you yourself labelled a lie) which exposes himself as just that.

Coming online onto a thread about the above and choosing to be condescending and "nasty" to others because you disagree with them.

No difference?

Says it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,928 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

I still use the word regularly, and typically when im talking to my GF.

you should go to the spa, and did you have a good time at the spa?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,328 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Get Real

Enjoyed the Rubberbandits in the day. Personally I think their songs are quite smart, and satirical.

I think though the thread was created as Blindboy claimed he didn't know what the word meant. That's bollocks.

He knew what spastic meant, he associated with the words "physically retarded" in an interview.

But, the context of the song, was how the hawks don't accept this particular hawk because he is different. Which I thought was the message of the song, and relates to our society.

But don't come out and say you didn't know.

He knew. It's not some new, edgy realisation all of a sudden. It's not that long ago. It's something he knew, and we knew as a society was a controversial title.

Imo its equivalent to my mate coming along and saying "glad I quit smoking, didn't realise ten years ago it caused cancer" and everyone going "wow, he really says it like it is". I mean..duh. Its not as if we were in the dark ages ten years ago.

Link: https://www.hendicottwriting.com/music/interview-rubberbandits/

(also not saying his story is true or not, just pointing out, he explained spastic hawk by referring to a physically retarded hawk. Now claims he didn't know what it meant) 

It's the dishonesty to save his newfound reputation as some left wing messiah that irks me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

This weird obsession with 'left wing' 'right wing' angles is getting worse on here.

People banging on about Donald Trump and Nigel Farage and then seemingly taking glee from the fact that someone they view as being on the 'other side' is talking shite. Ten minutes later they'll be whinging on about some supposed cancel culture.

Can't a lad with a plastic bag on his head just be a bit of a gobshite?

For the record Spastic Hawk is still a bit of a banger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,322 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

As the old saying goes...."Never trust a man with a plastic bag over his head"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

I sat on a flight the other day next to a young girl and she was listening to his podcast.

God help us if the next gen are looking up to this fool ...

I'm a bit of an eejit for subscribing to the left/right bullshit. It's just shorthand at this stage due to being constantly labelled "far-right" by some twats on here.

I do agree though, its reductive and doesn't lend itself to conversation. I cheerily retract calling Blindboy a left wing messiah. It'd be more accurate to call him a messiah to absolute gobshites.

And I also agree, some of the RubberBandit songs were quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Aren't we lucky that someone as virtuous as you is willing to lower yourself into the "cesspool" and "nasty, toxic" and "full of vitriol" thread to educate us. And to tell us that there is no such thing as woke. Aren't we so blessed, teach us more, oh wise one??

Blindboy is a massive bellend. The sooner he disappears back to wherever him and his plastic bag came from, the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

I find his guests good sometimes, but I generally find his schtick turns me off. Last one I listened to had 15 minutes of waffle before he got to the point.

But is it ok for someone who claims to be a feminist use the word "cúnt" all the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,990 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Your comments are the nastiest ones here. It reflects very badly on you.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

If I was a public figure and saw this level of vitriol towards me here I'd take it as a massive compliment.

When the usual crowd around here get this angry towards someone, it generally means they're doing something right.

Lol. Brilliant.

"When the people I don't like don't like something, that must mean its good"

Good little hive mind you have going on there.

Some nasty rumours going around parts of Cork now that this fella isn't even blind. If true, he has played us all for fools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,322 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I knew Kim Jong Un was a good lad alright when everyone here was having a go at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,338 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Doesn't he refer to women as bitches here:

I suppose he didn't know it was a misogynistic slur then either. Or maybe he'll claim he was talking about dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,741 ✭✭✭Effects

I guess if he's reinventing himself, he probably has a lot of things like this he should feel he needs to apologise for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭superflyninja

Im so delighted. I saw this thread and thought "lawks it'll be full of woke praise of BB, what a great guy", how wrong I was.

I never really liked Rubber Bandits or the music and have just generally avoided BB, not purposefully, I just didn't care either way.

Until.....I LOVE the Adam Buxton podcast and BB was a guest. Holy feck what a gobshite. Over intellectualising, up his own hole, wannabe. Listened to a bit more of him to make sure and yep, woke idiot full of shite. That he claims he didnt know what spastic meant and was specific to Limerick is just insultingly stupid. Absolute dope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,821 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

considering the theme tune to the london paralympics was Spasticus Autisticus by Ian Drury this reflects poorly on BB, Ian drury defended that song up to his death!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,206 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

To be honest I haven't looked at any threads to do with him, I'm talking more about when a vaguely progressive person says something, this place is filled with reactionary and vitriolic stuff from auld lads who don't like their world views being challenged.

my favourite BB podcast was Limmy, he didn't let BB speak at all!

Vaguely progressive? What world views does he challenge?

Blindboy, a man from limerick who wears a **** plastic bag on his face, sang about spastics, then said he didn't knew what it meant. Loads of "auld lads" get on to say how much of a prick he is and how he is devoid of morals and would promote any opinion once it furthered his career.

Then we have a handful of his devotees come on and defend him because they love to be seen as "progressive" despite acknowledging that his excuse was a lie.

I did not know Limmy was on one. Might give that a listen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭bewareofthedog

As someone said a lot of these woke types when the curtain is pulled turn out to be nasty dishonest people, far worse than those they try to lecture on what's morally right and wrong.

It's no surprise to me why this happens, they see a profitable opportunity that also brings with it ego and control over people and take advantage of it - human nature. I doubt they believe or take seriously 5% of the crap they write but it doesn't matter since they are protected from criticism for being on the "right side".

Those defending such people have very shallow morals themselves.

might as well had been tubridy interviewing because limmy just kept talking, he was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,902 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

It's worth listening to,Limmy is great in it. A couple of times he called out BB when he was spouting some surreal nonsense about having an odd phobia and Limmy would pull him up on it and ask him to explain what he meant. BB tried and only managed to dig himself further into a hole, I could sense him sweating and squirming in his chair. It was glorious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

That statement he released, it's extremely similar to the type of statement's that these modern politician's get their PR departments to release when one of them is caught talking/doing out of both sides of their mouth/arse. Feigning apologies, ludicrous excuses, blaming anybody or everybody else.

Bullet The Blue Shirts