Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Blindboy cancels himself.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users Posts: 13,996 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

He seems to have forgotten the 'satire' bit himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭archfi

An Irish lad didn't know what the word spastic meant?

Pull the other one, irritating gobby baghead.

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

Does anyone know who this guy is? Is he really a Limerick skanger or some middle class dickhead taking the piss put of poor people?

• Registered Users Posts: 722 ✭✭✭French Toast

He's loved by people who put their pronouns in their Twitter bio.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,836 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

It didn't take long for someone to mention begrudgery where there isn't any.

• Registered Users Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

Middle class dickhead. He's fake as **** man. Most of his fan base are kids in college who have no clue of the real world so nothing new here. It's easy to see right through the lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭batman_oh

It's the default go to for everything somebody says against anything!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,433 ✭✭✭touts

Another chancer making money off the mental health bandwagon. He is to mental health what Donal Skeehan is to fine dining.

I suppose they will both be battling it out for the number one in the book charts this Christmas along with every retired singer and sports star in the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭TheDavester

He should reinvent himself as Visually Impaired Boy, put a recycled environmentally friendly bag on his head and record songs like "I've a four-legged quadruped outside"

• Registered Users Posts: 15,281 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

He’s a fraud, a fake, a phoney and has been since he first became well known

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I wonder will he mention that Monty Python was banned in Ireland from 1979 for 8 years or will he be all about millennials and Gen Z people cancelling things.

Do you think he'll mention the removal of Martin Luther King Speeches from the curriculum in Texas?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

I reckon the other lad, Mr Chrome kept him in check back in the day when they were actually brilliant. Since they parted ways he's almost disappeared completly up his rectum. And I say that as a fan, well a former fan.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Lads, like him or loathe him, but BB podcast has been downloaded 30M times since he started. That's a lot of people interested in his take on things and for those who think he is 'on the mental health bandwagon', maybe you should actually listen to him discuss the topic and see if your opinion might be changed through having an open mind. When a journalist suggested he shouldn't be talking about the topic recently, lots of medical professionals spoke positively on Twitter about how capable he was in discussing the topic.

As I said earlier, it doesn't surprise me a certain cohort have a problem with him. I'd be surprised if they didn't.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I've a hard time hating someone who comes up with something this catchy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭archfi

Do mental health media gurus now believe it's a help to lie and be false as fcuk?

Times have changed for sure.

The issue is never the issue; the issue is always the revolution.

The Entryism process: 1) Demand access; 2) Demand accommodation; 3) Demand a seat at the table; 4) Demand to run the table; 5) Demand to run the institution; 6) Run the institution to produce more activists and policy until they run it into the ground.

And I would be equally as surprised if you weren't defending him.

Operating on "an enemy of my enemy is my friend" mentality rather than admitting that he is a twat. And then you go on about having an open mind. Irony.

Just because the "cohort" you don't like happen to hate him, doesn't mean you need to strap on your armour and jump on your steed to defend him.

He's an absolute knob and only the steadfastly blinkered would not admit that.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,141 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

One of the most talentless eejits in Irish history to ever gain "celebrity" status.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Or that one about wanting a black man in his gang, "doing black man thangs".

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

I remember him being on one of the talk shows, think it was the Late Late and he was being pandered to as if he was coming out with some of the most profound thoughts of our time.

Dunning-Kruger in full swing.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Was that the young men "need feminism" shtick?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Curse These Metal Hands

If you want to do the whole woke thing and apologise for stuff that happened years ago then whatever, but claiming you didn't know the connotations of the word is pretty embarrassing. Maybe he just genuinely isn't as intelligent as he pretends to be.

It can be summed up as this:

"I said some stuff years ago when it was popular to say such stuff because I wanted people to like me. Now that stuff isn't popular so I hate that stuff and love the opposite. Can I still be popular please?"

It's hypocritical at best and **** absurdly evil at worst. Willing to throw people under the bus for holding views or for saying **** you previously endorsed just to establish or maintain a career?

The fucker should perhaps think of putting less ventilation in those bags he uses.

Maybe he just grew as a person,and has accepted responsibility and apologised for any offence caused,dont for one second believe he didnt know what word meant though(unlike eoin mcdermott,whom disappered into the sunset with serious enough accusations hanging overhead)

He deos seem fond of his own voice like,but i guess that comes with the territory as regards having podcasts?....hes no anothony daly like

• Registered Users Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Stupid boardsies. Very negative here tonight.

I think he's class

• Registered Users Posts: 37 Senior

As someone who only listened to his podcasts in recent times and had little knowledge of him before that, I would agree.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but I don't get the dislike for him on this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,313 ✭✭✭Tefral

I went to school with him in Ardscoil Rís. I honestly didn't think he was bullied at all in school. No more than anyone else anyway. He also definitely knew what the word spastic was, half of Limerick used to use it to slag people in the same way someone might say "Go way you , you Gay".

We hadn't a clue then the kinda hurt words like that would cause someone I suppose, but it was never meant to be sinister, it was just terminology and we were kids really so also didn't really understand anything.

The world has utterly changed, and words we used to just throw around are now not deemed acceptable, and for good reason in alot of cases. I think if he just said that and left it at that most people would have acknowledged we have moved on.

Jesus. Regardless of whether you like Blindboy or not, a lot of these comments are needlessly harsh.

Maybe. But it's very **** doubtful. **** still wears a bag on his head. Not much personal growth there.

Apologising for something that you said when you were younger and when it was acceptable, just so people don't give out to you now is cowardly.

Lying and saying that you didn't know it was a boo-boo word which had a negative meaning is not cowardly. It's dishonest, it's a **** lie and it's only accepted by fuckwits who know they can't live up to the impossible standards they want to set for the people they oppose.

He's a bell end.